Help   Sitemap         Français
The Cornwall Public Inquiry This is an archive of the Cornwall Public Inquiry website, which was last updated in December 2009 and will not be updated further. If you have difficulty accessing any material, please contact the ministry
 Home   
 About 
 Media 
 Legal  Information 
 Hearings 
 Phase 2 
   Report 
  Right Arrow  Commissioner    Commission Counsel    Commission Staff    Offices    FAQs
Webcast




Commission Counsel

Peter Engelmann

Peter Engelmann, Lead Commission Counsel, is a partner with Sack Goldblatt Mitchell. Peter is a leading labour, human rights and employment lawyer.

Peter was called to the Bar in 1982, and since then, he has argued leading cases before the Supreme Court of Canada, the Ontario courts, the Federal Court and Administrative Tribunals.

Peter is the co-author of Trade Union Law in Canada and has taught human rights, labour law and arbitration, and advocacy. He also speaks regularly at legal seminars on labour and human rights topics.

Peter is a member of the Canadian Bar Association, the Canadian Association of Labour Lawyers and the Advocates Society.




Pierre R. Dumais

Pierre R. Dumais, Commission Counsel, was a partner with the law firm of Bourgeault Brunelle Dumais Boucher where he specialized in criminal law, appeals and Charter litigation.

Pierre has been retained as a special Prosecutor for the Ministry of Transportation and the Ministry of Natural Resources. He has been involved in providing legal advice to Northern Cochrane Addiction Services for the past ten years. He also serves as a duty counsel panel member for Legal Aid Ontario and is past president of the Clinique juridique Grand-Nord Legal Clinic.

Pierre was called to the Bar in 1991. He is fluent in both French and English and represents his clients in court in both official languages.

For three years, Pierre taught Law and Business Administration at the University of Hearst.




Maya Hamou

Maya Hamou, Commission Counsel, obtained a Bachelor of Laws (Cum Laude, 2005) from the University of Ottawa and was called to the Bar of Ontario on July 12, 2006.

Maya summered and articled with the Toronto office of Ogilvy Renault, LLP. She acquired a broad litigation experience, which included patent prosecution, trademark protection, insolvency and bankruptcy, competition law, and commercial law. On secondment during her articling term, Maya also attended the Montréal office of Ogilvy Renault, LLP.

Maya is a member of the Ontario division of the Canadian Bar Association and a member of the Association des Juristes d'Expression Francaise de l'Ontario. She served on the executive of the Francophone Common Law Student Association and the Jewish Law Student Association. She received the Lieutenant Governor's medal 1997. Maya is perfectly fluent in French and English.




Mary Simms

Mary Simms, Commission Counsel, obtained a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Toronto in 2001. She was called to the bar in 2002, having completed articles at Lerners LLP, Toronto Office.

Since her call, Mary has practiced in civil litigation and administrative law in Toronto, and, more recently, Ottawa. In addition to representing plaintiffs in a wide variety of civil actions, Mary has gained particular experience in mental health law, representing psychiatric survivors before the Consent and Capacity Board and Ontario Review Board.

Mary serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Options Bytown, a supportive housing provider, and Harmony House, a second stage shelter for survivors of domestic violence.




Suzanne Sinnamon

Suzanne Sinnamon obtained a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Toronto in 2001. Following her call to the Ontario Bar in 2002, Suzanne practised civil litigation at Osler, Hoskin and Harcourt LLP in Toronto.

In May 2005, Suzanne joined the Ipperwash Inquiry as a legal analyst where she reviewed and analyzed oral and documentary evidence and assisted in the preparation of the report.

Suzanne recently completed her Masters of Law at the University of Toronto, specializing in constitutional law and human rights with particular emphasis on the state use of emergency powers during times of crisis. Her thesis examined the ongoing development of a Bill of Rights in Northern Ireland and the particular challenges posed by the historical divisions and decades of violence in Northern Ireland.








Subscribe to Commission updates


What is new
©2010 The Cornwall Public Inquiry

Aide   Plan du site         English
The Cornwall Public Inquiry Il s'agit d'une archive du site Web de l'Enquête publique sur Cornwall qui a été mis à jour pour la dernière fois en décembre 2009. Il ne sera pas actualisé davantage. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés à accéder à l'information, veuillez contacter le ministère.
 Accueil   
 L'Enquête 
 Médias 
 Info juridique 
 Audiences 
 Phase 2 
   Rapport
  Right Arrow  Commissaire    Avocats    Personnel    Bureaux    FAQ
Webcast




Avocats de la Commission

Peter Engelmann

Peter Engelmann, avocat principal de la Commission, fait partie du cabinet Sack Goldblatt Mitchell, où il est spécialisé dans le droit du travail et les droits de la personne.

Depuis son admission au barreau en 1982, il a plaidé des causes majeures devant la Cour suprême du Canada, la Cour fédérale, des tribunaux de l'Ontario et des tribunaux administratifs.

Il est coauteur de Trade Union Law in Canada. Il a enseigné les droits de la personne, le droit du travail, l'arbitrage des conflits ouvriers et la défense des droits, et est régulièrement invité à prendre la parole à des séminaires.

Il est membre de l'Association du Barreau canadien, de l'Association canadienne des avocats du mouvement syndical et de l'Advocates Society de l'Ontario.




Pierre R. Dumais

Pierre R. Dumais, avocat de la Commission, était associé de l’étude Bourgeault Brunelle Dumais Boucher, où il s’était spécialisé dans le droit pénal, les appels et les litiges en vertu de la Charte.

Pierre a été mandaté comme procureur spécial pour le ministère des Transports et le ministère des Richesses naturelles. Conseiller juridique des Northern Cochrane Addiction Services ces dix dernières années, il figure sur la liste des avocats de service d’Aide juridique Ontario et a été président de la Clinique juridique Grand-Nord Legal Clinic.

Membre du Barreau depuis 1991, Pierre maîtrise parfaitement le français et l’anglais. Il représente des clients devant les tribunaux, dans les deux langues officielles.

Pendant trois ans, Pierre a enseigné le droit et l’administration des affaires à l’Université de Hearst.




Maya Hamou

Maya Hamou, avocate de la Commission, a obtenu son Baccalauréat en droit (Cum Laude, 2005) de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle a été admise au Barreau de l’Ontario le 12 juillet 2006.

Maya a travaillé comme étudiante d’été et comme stagiaire dans le bureau de Toronto du cabinet Ogilvy Renault, LLP. Elle y a acquis une vaste expérience des litiges, ayant touché à plusieurs domaines : poursuites dans le domaine des brevets, protection des marques, insolvabilité et faillite, droit de la concurrence et droit commercial. Dans le cadre d’un détachement durant son stage, Maya a travaillé dans le bureau de Montréal d’Ogilvy Renault, LLP.

Membre de la division de l’Ontario de l’Association du Barreau canadien, Maya est également membre de l’Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario. Elle a siégé au conseil exécutif de la Francophone Common Law Student Association et de la Jewish Law Student Association. Elle a reçu la médaille du lieutenant-gouverneur en 1997. Bilingue, Maya maîtrise parfaitement le français et l’anglais.




Mary Simms

Mary Simms, Mary Simms, avocate de la Commission, a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Toronto, en 2001. Elle a été admise au Barreau en 2002, après avoir fait son stage dans le cabinet Lerners LLP, à Toronto.

Depuis qu’elle est membre du Barreau, Mary a pratiqué le droit civil et le droit administratif à Toronto, et récemment à Ottawa. Elle a représenté des demandeurs dans diverses actions civiles. S’occupant de dossiers de survivants psychiatriques devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité et la Commission ontarienne d'examen, Mary a acquis une expérience particulière dans le domaine du droit de la santé mentale.

Mary siège au conseil d’administration d’Options Bytown, un fournisseur de logements avec services de soutien, et de Harmony House, un refuge transitoire pour les survivants de violence familiale.




Suzanne Sinnamon

Suzanne Sinnamon a obtenu un baccalauréat en droit de l’Université de Toronto en 2001. Après être devenue membre du Barreau de l’Ontario en 2002, Suzanne a pratiqué le droit civil au sein du cabinet Osler, Hoskin et Harcourt s.r.l. de Toronto.

En mai 2005, Suzanne s’est jointe à la Commission d’enquête sur Ipperwash en tant qu’analyste juridique où elle a examiné et analysé les preuves orales et documentaires, en plus de participer à la préparation du rapport.

Suzanne a récemment terminé une maîtrise en droit à l’Université de Toronto qui porte sur le droit constitutionnel et les droits de la personne et met l’accent sur l’utilisation par l’état de ses pouvoirs en cas d’urgence durant les périodes de crise. Sa thèse examine l’élaboration continue d’une déclaration des droits en Irlande du Nord et les défis particuliers posés par les divisions historiques et les décennies de violence dans ce pays.








Subscribe to Commission updates


Quoi de neuf?
©2010 L'Enquête publique sur Cornwall