Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee Service Standards

Text: Larger | Smaller

Pledge

The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee (OPGT) endeavors to provide accessible quality services. Service will be provided with courtesy, integrity, respect, and fairness, acting in the best interest of the incapable person.

Performance Objectives

a) Responding to allegations of serious harm

The OPGT helps to protect mentally incapable adults who are suffering, or at risk of suffering serious harm. Severe self-neglect, physical abuse and financial exploitation of incapable people are some of the problems that this service can, in certain circumstances, help to resolve.

Anyone may contact the Investigations Unit of the OPGT to report that they believe that a mentally incapable adult is at serious risk of harm. The telephone number is 416-327-6348 or toll-free at 1-800-366-0335. TTY: 416-314-2687.

The address is:
Guardianship Investigations Unit
Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
595 Bay Street, Suite 800
Toronto ON M5G 2M6

Once a report is received, the Investigations Unit will respond by trying to contact the person who made the report to gather more information. This first step will help to determine whether the OPGT will initiate an investigation for the purpose of deciding whether the Office should apply to court for an order of guardianship.

Our goal, in most cases, is to make contact with a person who makes a report within one business day from the time the report is received by the Investigations Unit.

b) Responding to requests to make substitute health care decisions

The OPGT is responsible for making health care decisions for persons who are unable to make those decisions for themselves as a result of mental incapacity. When our Office receives a request for such a decision from a health care professional, it is our goal to contact the health care professional within 24 hours.

Health practitioners may contact the Treatment Decisions Unit in the applicable area of the province, as noted below. The program operates from 8:30 am to 5:00 pm Monday to Friday, and 8:45 am to 1:30 pm on weekends and holidays.

Greater Toronto
Tel: 416-314-2788
Toll-free: 1-800-387-2127
TTY: 416-314-2687
Fax: 416-314-2637

Hamilton Region
Tel: 905-546-8300
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0502
Fax: 905-546-8301

London Region
Tel: 519-660-3140
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0504
Fax: 519-660-3148

Ottawa Region and Northern Ontario
Tel: 613-241-1202
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0506
Fax: 613-241-1567


Performance Results 2014-15

In 2014-15, the following performance was achieved:

  • 98% of the time, contact was made with a person who reported an allegation of serious harm, within one business day from the time the report was received by the Investigations Unit, against a target of 95%.
  • 99% of the time, contact was made with a health care professional within 24 hours of receiving a request to make substitute health care decisions, against a target of 97%.

OPGT Complaint and Redress Process

The OPGT is committed to providing accessible and timely service. We welcome feedback about meeting our standards.

Method of Providing Feedback

Feedback may be provided in person, at any one of the OPGT's local offices, by telephone, or in writing. Contact information is contained below.

Review Process

All feedback is reviewed by an OPGT staff member. If the feedback constitutes a complaint about the service standards, an attempt will be made to respond immediately. If the complainant is not satisfied with the response, the complaint will be forwarded to the manager of the applicable OPGT business unit to review and respond within ten business days using the same means of communication that was used to provide the feedback. All reasonable efforts will be made to resolve the complaint.

Feedback is used to facilitate continuous improvement in the way we provide service.

Contact Information:

Greater Toronto
595 Bay Street, Suite #800
Toronto, ON M5G 2M6
Tel: 416-314-2800
Toll-free: 1-800-366-0335
TTY: 416-314-2687
Fax: 416-327-0366

Hamilton Region
119 King Street West, 9th Floor
Hamilton, ON L8P 4Y7
Tel: 905-546-8300
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0502
Fax: 905-546-8301

London Region
199 Dundas Street,
1st Floor, Suite 100
London, ON N6A 1G4
Tel: 519-660-3140
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0504
Fax: 519-660-3148

Ottawa Region
351 Preston Street, Suite 200
Ottawa, ON K1S 2E6
Tel: 613-241-1202
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0506
Fax: 613-241-1567

Sudbury Region
199 Larch Street, Suite 602
Sudbury, ON P3E 5P9
Tel: (705) 564-3185
Toll-free: 1-800-891-0503
Fax: (705) 564-3193

Thunder Bay Region
189 Red River Road, Suite 101
Thunder Bay, ON P7B 1A2
Tel: (807) 343-7230
Fax: (807) 343-7223


The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee is authorized under the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act, sections 38(2) and 41(1)(b), to collect and use the information provided in your complaint about the Public Guardian and Trustee's programs and services. We do this to make sure we are providing the best customer service possible. Some of the information which you provide may be your personal information. We will use this information only to review, investigate and respond to your complaint. We care about protecting your privacy. If you have any questions about the complaint process, please contact:

Program Coordinator, Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
595 Bay Street, 8th Floor
Toronto, ON M5G 2M6
Telephone: 416-314-2761
Fax: 416-326-1366

Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public normes de service

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

Promesse

Le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public (BTCP) promet de fournir des services de haute qualité accessibles. Les services seront offerts avec courtoisie, intégrité, respect et égalité, dans l'intérêt véritable de la personne incapable.

Objectifs de performance

a) Répondre à des allégations de préjudice grave

Le BTCP aide à protéger les adultes atteints d'incapacité mentale qui subissent ou risquent de subir un préjudice grave. Le BTCP peut, dans certaines circonstances, éliminer certains problèmes, comme l'auto-négligence grave, les mauvais traitements physiques et l'exploitation financière des personnes incapables.

N'importe qui peut contacter l'Unité des enquêtes du BTCP pour l'informer qu'il soupçonne qu'un adulte atteint d'incapacité mentale est exposé à un grave risque de préjudice. Le numéro de téléphone de l'unité est le 416 327-6348 ou sans frais le 1 800 366-0335, ATS : 416 314-2687.
L'adresse est la suivante :
Unité des enquêtes relatives à la tutelle
Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public
595, rue Bay, bureau 800
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2M6

Une fois l'information reçue, l'Unité des enquêtes répond en essayant de contacter la personne qui a donné l'information afin d'obtenir d'autres renseignements. Ces renseignements aideront le BTCP à déterminer s'il doit mener une enquête ou non afin de décider s'il y a lieu de demander au tribunal une ordonnance de tutelle.

Notre objectif, dans la plupart des cas, est de communiquer avec la personne qui a fourni l'information au plus tard un jour ouvrable après qu'elle a contacté l'Unité des enquêtes.

b) Répondre à des demandes de prendre des décisions en matière de soins de santé au nom d'autrui

Le BTCP a la responsabilité de prendre des décisions en matière de soins de santé pour les personnes qui ne peuvent pas prendre ces décisions pour elles-mêmes en raison de leur incapacité mentale. Lorsque notre Bureau reçoit une demande de ce genre d'un professionnel de la santé, il essaie de contacter ce professionnel de la santé dans les 24 heures.

Les praticiens de la santé peuvent communiquer avec l'Unité des décisions relatives au traitement dans la région applicable de la province, comme indiqué ci-dessous. Les bureaux du programme sont ouverts de 8 h 30 à 17 h, du lundi au vendredi, et de 8 h 45 à 13 h 30 les fins de semaine et jours fériés.

Région du grand Toronto
Tél. : 416 314-2788
Sans frais : 1 800 387-2127
ATS : 416 314-2687
Téléc. : 416 314-2637

Région de Hamilton
Tél. : 905-546-8300
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0502
Téléc. : 905-546-8301

Région d'Ottawa et du Nord de l'Ontario
Tél. : 613-241-1202
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0506
Téléc. : 613-241-1567

Région de London
Tél. : 519-660-3140
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0504
Téléc. : 519-660-3148


Résultats en matière de performance 2014-2015

En 2014-2015, les résultats en matière de performance étaient les suivants :

  • 98 % du temps, des contacts ont été établis avec la personne qui a signalé une allégation de préjudice grave, dans un délai d'un jour ouvrable après que l'unité des enquêtes a reçu le signalement, par rapport à une cible de 95 %.
  • 99 % du temps, des contacts ont été établis avec un professionnel de la santé dans les 24 heures après avoir reçu une demande de prise de décision en matière de santé au nom d'autrui, par rapport à une cible de 97 %.

Processus de plainte et de redressement du BTCP

Le BTCP est déterminé à fournir des services accessibles et rapides. Nous vous encourageons à nous faire part de vos commentaires sur la qualité de nos services.

Méthode de rétroaction

Les commentaires peuvent être communiqués en personne, dans l'un des bureaux locaux du BTCP, par téléphone ou par écrit.

Processus d'examen

Tous les commentaires sont examinés par un membre du personnel du BTCP. Si les commentaires constituent une plainte au sujet des normes de service, le bureau tente d'y répondre immédiatement. Si le plaignant n'est pas satisfait de la réponse, la plainte est transmise au chef de l'unité d'activités concernée du BTCP, qui l'examinera et y répondra, dans un délai de dix jours ouvrables, par la même voie de communication que celle qu'a utilisée le plaignant. Tout sera mis en œuvre, dans les limites du raisonnable, pour régler la plainte.

Les commentaires nous aideront à améliorer constamment la prestation de nos services.

Coordonnées :

Région du grand Toronto
595, rue Bay, bureau 800
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2M6
Tél. : 416 314-2800
Sans frais : 1 800 366-0335
ATS : 416 314-2687
Téléc. : 416 327-0366

Région de Hamilton
119, rue King Ouest, 9e étage
Hamilton (Ontario) L8P 4Y7
Tél. : 905 546-8300
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0502
Téléc. : 905-546-8301

Région de London
199, rue Dundas,
1er étage, bureau 100
London (Ontario) N6A 1G4
Tél. : 519-660-3140
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0504
Téléc. : 519-660-3148

Région d'Ottawa
351, rue Preston, bureau 200
Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 2E6
Tél. : 613-241-1202
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0506
Téléc. : 613-241-1567

Région de Sudbury
199, rue Larch, bureau 602
Sudbury (Ontario) P3E 5P9
Tél. : (705) 564-3185
Sans frais : 1 800 891-0503
Téléc. : (705) 564-3193

Région de Thunder Bay
189 Red River Road, bureau 101
Thunder Bay (Ontario) P7B 1A2
Tél. : (807) 343-7230
Téléc. : (807) 343-7223


Le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public est autorisé, en vertu du paragraphe 38 (2) et de l'alinéa 41 (1) b) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la protection de la vie privée, à recueillir et utiliser l'information fournie dans votre plainte au sujet des programmes et services du tuteur et curateur public. Son objectif est de fournir le meilleur service à la clientèle possible. Une partie des renseignements que vous fournissez pourrait constituer des renseignements personnels. Nous n'utiliserons ces renseignements qu'aux fins d'examiner, d'enquêter et de répondre à votre plainte. Nous attachons une grande importance à la protection de votre vie privée. Si vous avez des questions au sujet du processus de plainte, veuillez communiquer avec le:

Coordonnateur des programmes, Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public
595, rue Bay, 8e étage
Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2M6
Téléphone : 416 314-2761
Téléc. : 416 326-1366