Guidelines - Bans On Publication

Bans On Publication

The media is constitutionally entitled to publish information about court cases, but there are exceptions to this right. The court may (and frequently must) impose publication bans to protect the fairness and integrity of the case, the privacy or safety of a victim or witness, or the identity of a child or youth.

In addition to the presiding judge's discretion to control court proceedings to ensure a fair trial, provisions in various federal and provincial laws, such as the Criminal Code, the Youth Criminal Justice Act, the provincial Mental Health Act and the Child and Family Services Act, permit or require publication bans. Under the common law, a judge also has the authority to order a publication ban where various principles, including the effects on the accused’s right to a fair trial, on the right to freedom of expression, and on the administration of justice, are weighed.

The legal issues surrounding publication bans can be complicated. Reporters covering legal proceedings are urged to familiarize themselves with the subject and the governing law relating to publication bans. In some cases it may be necessary to consult with editors and obtain legal advice depending on the circumstances of the case. There are serious consequences for breaching publication bans.

(A) Publication bans provided for in legislation
Many publication bans are provided for in legislation. For example, under the Criminal Code, publication bans are common for bail hearings, preliminary hearings, and voir dires (a hearing within the trial where the judge decides whether evidence is admissible). Reporters should be aware of the relevant provisions in various laws that relate to publication bans. While not an exhaustive list, some of these include:

(i) Criminal Code
There are various sections in the Criminal Code that allow for bans on publication.  They include:  s. 276.3 (evidence of complainant’s sexual activity); s. 278.9, (production of complainant’s or witness’ personal records (O’Connor application)); ss. 486.4 and 486.5, (sexual offences and proper administration of justice); s. 517 (judicial interim release (bail) hearings); ss. 539 and 542 (preliminary hearings); s. 631(6) (jury selection); s. 648(jury not present ), ss. 672.51 and 672.501, (Mental Disorder / Review Board hearings).

When a publication ban is imposed, the court record is available, subject to any other court orders limiting access, to any member of the public upon request to view and photocopy. It’s important to note that although the court record may be viewed and photocopied, details covered by the publication ban cannot be published, broadcast or transmitted within the meaning of the Criminal Code.

Some publication bans prohibit the publishing, broadcasting or transmitting of information.  Section 278.9, for example, prohibits the publication of certain personal information in records protected from disclosure by law.  Section 486.4 provides for orders restricting publication of information that could identify a complainant or witness in a sexual offence . Section 486.5 deals with publication bans on information revealing the names of victims, witnesses and justice system participants, where the order is deemed necessary for the proper  administration of justice.

Temporary publication bans prohibit the publication of information for a specified period.  Section 517 publication bans may be ordered at bail hearings, and typically cover all evidence, information, what’s said in court by all the parties, and the reasons for release or detention given by the justice. A section 517 publication ban is a temporary ban which extends until the accused is discharged after the preliminary inquiry or the trial is completed, subject to any other court orders .  The purpose of the ban is to preserve the rights of the defendant to a fair trial, and the presumption of innocence. Further, the ban prevents public dissemination of information or evidence so that jurors make their decisions based only on admissible evidence presented during the trial. It is also intended to maintain the integrity of the evidence of any potential witness who may be called to testify in the case.

Members of the public and media are permitted to view and photocopy court files covered by a section 517 publication ban but, again, details covered by the ban cannot be published in any document, or broadcast or transmitted in any way until the ban ends.

All publication bans are noted in the court record. The Information or charging document (in the Ontario Court of Justice) or Indictment (in the Superior Court of Justice) is endorsed with "PUBLICATION BAN" and the appropriate section number of the Criminal Code is noted. Ministry staff are instructed to inform members of the public and the media wishing to have access to the court record that the matter is subject to a publication ban.

Where an appellate court orders a publication ban, a publication ban sheet noting the applicable section is placed in the court file. In the Court of Appeal, publication bans are reflected in the endorsement.

(ii) Matters Involving Youth Under 18 - Under the federal Youth Criminal Justice Act (YCJA), the name of the young person or any other information that could or would identify the young person as having been dealt with under the Act cannot be published. Publication is permitted if the young person received an adult sentence; see section 110 of the YCJA. Also under the YCJA, the name of a child or young person or any other information that could or would identify the child or young person as having been a victim or a witness in a youth justice court matter cannot be published. There are some limited exceptions to this rule. When the young person turns 18 and consents to publish or causes to be published his/her name and information that information can then be published. Similarly, where the parents of a child under 18 or of a child who has died consent to publish or cause to be published the child’s identity, then that information can also be reported (s. 111 of the YCJA). The bans pursuant to sections 110 and 111 take effect without a motion from either the prosecutor or defence.

The YCJA generally allowsinformation (including confirming charges or court dates) about a youth criminal justice matter to be provided only to those who have a direct interest in that matter. Parties with a direct interest include the judiciary, counsel, police, victims and the accused. The media is not one of the groups identified as having a direct interest. Unless otherwise ordered, members of the public and media can be in court to hear first hand how a case is proceeding.

In addition, in Ontario, the Provincial Offences Act provides that no person shall publish the name or any information that would identify a young person as having been dealt with under the Act (see s. 99 of the POA).

(iii) Child and Family Services Act (CFSA) – All child protection hearings are held in the absence of the public, unless the court orders otherwise. The Act also says that no person shall publish or make public information that has the effect of identifying a child who is a witness at, or a participant in, a hearing or the subject of a proceeding. The child’s parent(s) or foster parent(s) or family members also cannot be identified (s. 45 of the CFSA). 

The court may make an order excluding any or all media from a hearing, or prohibiting the publication of any information about the hearing if the court is satisfied that publication would cause emotional harm to a child who is a participant, witness or subject of the proceeding (s. 45(7) of the CFSA).

B)  Publication Bans Pursuant to the Common Law:
Beyond the legislation referred to above, courts also have authority under the common law to order publication bans.  Such orders may be made where it is necessary to prevent a serious risk to the proper administration of justice and where reasonably alternative measures will not prevent the risk. Courts will weigh the various rights and principles – the right to a fair and public trial, the right to freedom of expression, and the efficacy of the administration of justice – in determining whether such a ban is necessary.

Inquiries Regarding the Existence of a Publication Ban:

Questions about whether a publication ban exists in a particular case may be directed to staff at the court office where the case is being heard. However, court staff are not able to provide legal advice about publication bans or other matters.

For media seeking information or documents at local courthouses, the first point of contact is the local court counter staff.

Any media questions or issues that cannot be resolved by counter staff should be raised with local Managers of Court Operations (MCOs) in person at the courthouse. MCOs are designated local media contacts who will provide information and facilitate access to documents. Counter staff and MCOs are not ministry spokespeople. For on-the-record comment or information about ministry policies, practices, programs and positions, media should contact Brendan Crawley at 416-326-2210.

Lignes directrices - interdictions de publication

Interdictions de publication

Les médias ont le droit, consacré par la constitution, de publier des renseignements au sujet d’affaires devant les tribunaux, sous réserve de certaines exceptions. Le tribunal peut (et, souvent, doit) imposer une interdiction de publication afin de protéger l’impartialité et l’intégrité d’une affaire, la vie privée ou la sécurité d’une victime ou d’un témoin, ou l’identité d’un enfant ou d’un adolescent.

Outre le pouvoir discrétionnaire du juge président de contrôler les instances judiciaires afin d’assurer un procès impartial, des dispositions de diverses lois fédérales et provinciales, comme le Code criminel, la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents, la Loi sur la santé mentale (Ontario) et la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (Ontario), autorisent ou exigent la délivrance d’ordonnances de non-publication. En vertu de la common law, le juge a aussi le pouvoir de rendre une ordonnance de non-publication après pondération de divers principes, dont les effets sur le droit de l’accusé à un procès impartial, sur le droit à la liberté d’expression et sur l’administration de la justice.

Les questions juridiques entourant les interdictions de publication peuvent être complexes. Il est indispensable que les journalistes qui couvrent des instances juridiques se familiarisent avec le sujet et le droit applicable aux ordonnances de non-publication. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire de consulter les rédacteurs et d’obtenir des conseils juridiques selon les circonstances de l’affaire. Le non-respect d’une interdiction de publication peut entraîner des conséquences graves.

(A) Interdictions de publication prévues par la loi
De nombreuses interdictions de publication sont prescrites par la loi. Par exemple, aux termes du Code criminel, des interdictions de publication sont souvent imposées dans le cadre d’enquêtes sur le cautionnement, d’audiences préliminaires et de voir dires (audience au sein du procès où le juge décide si un élément de preuve est admissible ou non). Les journalistes devraient être au courant des diverses dispositions légales qui se rapportent aux interdictions de publication. Voici quelques-unes de ces dispositions :

(i) Code criminel
Diverses dispositions du Code criminel prévoient des interdictions de publication :  art. 276.3 (preuve concernant le comportement sexuel du plaignant); art. 278.9 (communication de dossiers personnels du plaignant ou d’un témoin (demande O’Connor)); art. 486.4 et 486.5 (infractions d’ordre sexuel et bonne administration de la justice); art. 517 (enquêtes sur la mise en liberté provisoire par voie judiciaire (cautionnement)); art. 539 et 542 (audiences préliminaires); par. 631 (6) (formation de la liste du jury) et art. 648 (absence du jury), art. 672.51 et 672.501 (troubles mentaux / audiences devant la Commission d’examen).

Lorsqu’une interdiction de publication est imposée, le public peut, sur demande, consulter et photocopier le dossier du tribunal concerné, sous réserve d’une autre ordonnance judiciaire limitant cet accès. Il est important de souligner que même si le dossier du tribunal peut être consulté et photocopié, les renseignements protégés par l’ordonnance de non-publication ne peuvent pas être publiés, diffusés ou transmis au sens du Code criminel.

Certaines ordonnances de non-publication interdisent la publication, la diffusion ou la transmission d’information. L’article278.9, par exemple, interdit la publication de certains renseignements personnels contenus dans des dossiers protégés par la loi. L’article 486.4 traite des ordonnances limitant la publication d’information susceptible d’identifier un demandeur ou un témoin dans des infractions d’ordre sexuel. L’article 486.5 prévoit des ordonnances limitant la publication d’information révélant les noms de victimes, de témoins et de personnes associées au système de justice, lorsque l’ordonnance est réputée nécessaire pour la bonne administration de la justice.

Les interdictions de publication temporaires interdisent la publication d’information pendant une période précisée. Les interdictions de publication sous le régime de l’article 517, imposées dans des enquêtes sur le cautionnement, visent généralement la preuve recueillie, les renseignements fournis ou les observations faites devant le tribunal et, le cas échéant, les raisons données ou devant être données par le juge de paix. L’ordonnance de non-publication rendue en vertu de l’article 517 est une interdiction temporaire qui dure jusqu’à la mise en liberté du prévenu après l’enquête préliminaire ou après l’instruction, sous réserve d’une autre ordonnance judiciaire contraire. L’objet de l’interdiction est de protéger le droit du défendeur à un procès impartial et la présomption d’innocence. De plus, l’interdiction empêche la diffusion publique d’information ou de preuves de sorte que les jurés puissent rendre leurs décisions en se fondant uniquement sur les preuves admissibles produites pendant le procès. L’interdiction a également pour objectif de préserver l’intégrité du témoignage de tout témoin qui serait appelé à la barre dans l’affaire.

Les membres du public et les représentants des médias sont autorisés à consulter et photocopier des dossiers judiciaires visés par une interdiction de publication en vertu de l’article 517, mais là aussi les renseignements couverts par l’interdiction ne peuvent pas être publiés, diffusés ou transmise, de quelque façon que ce soit, tant que l’interdiction n’est pas levée.

Toutes les ordonnances de non-publication sont consignées dans le dossier du tribunal. La dénonciation ou le document d’accusation (à la Cour de justice de l’Ontario) ou l’acte d’accusation (à la Cour supérieure de justice) est marqué de la mention « INTERDICTION DE PUBLICATION » et l’article pertinent du Code criminel est indiqué. Le personnel du ministère doit informer les membres du public et les représentants des médias souhaitant consulter le dossier que son contenu fait l’objet d’une interdiction de publication.

Lorsqu’une cour d’appel rend une ordonnance de non-publication, une feuille indiquant l’article de la loi applicable est insérée dans le dossier du tribunal. À la Cour d’appel, les interdictions de publication sont mentionnées dans le visa.

(ii) Affaires concernant un adolescent de moins de 18 ans – Sous le régime de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents (Canada), il est interdit de publier le nom d’un adolescent ou tout autre renseignement de nature à révéler qu’il a fait l’objet de mesures prises sous le régime de cette loi. La publication est autorisée si les renseignements concernent un adolescent à qui a été imposée une peine applicable aux adultes; voir l’article 110 de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents (la Loi). Également en vertu de la Loi, il est interdit de publier le nom d’un enfant ou d’un adolescent ou tout autre renseignement de nature à révéler le fait qu’il a été victime d’une infraction commise par un adolescent ou a témoigné dans le cadre de la poursuite d’une telle infraction. Il y a quelques exceptions à cette règle. La victime ou le témoin peuvent, en tout état de cause, consentir à publier ou faire publier de tels renseignements après qu’ils ont atteint l’âge de dix-huit ans. De même, si les parents d’un enfant de moins de 18 ans ou d’un enfant qui est décédé consentent à publier ou font publier l’identité de l’enfant, ces renseignements peuvent être rapportés. (Voir l’article 111 de la Loi.) Les interdictions imposées aux termes des articles 110 et 111 entrent en vigueur sans que le poursuivant ou la défense ait déposé une motion à cet effet.

La Loi autorise généralement que des renseignements au sujet d’une affaire pénale (y compris la confirmation des accusations ou les dates des audiences) soient communiqués uniquement aux personnes qui ont un intérêt direct dans l’affaire. Il peut s’agir des juges, des avocats, de la police, des victimes et de l’accusé. Les médias ne sont pas considérés comme un groupe ayant un intérêt direct. Sous réserve d’une ordonnance contraire, les membres du public et les représentants des médias peuvent assister aux audiences.

Par ailleurs, en Ontario, en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales, nul ne doit publier le nom de l’adolescent qui fait l’objet de mesures prises sous le régime de cette loi ou un renseignement permettant d’établir son identité (voir l’article 99 de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales).

(iii) Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (LSEF) – Toutes les audiences en matière de protection de l’enfance se tiennent à huis clos, sous réserve d’une ordonnance judiciaire contraire. La LSEF prévoit également que nul ne doit publier ni rendre publics des renseignements qui ont pour effet d’identifier un enfant qui témoigne, qui participe à une audience ou qui fait l’objet d’une instance, ou son père ou sa mère, son père ou sa mère de famille d’accueil ou un membre de la famille de l’enfant(art. 45 de la LSEF).

Le tribunal peut rendre une ordonnance qui exclut un représentant des médias de la totalité ou d’une partie de l’audience, ou qui interdit la publication d’un rapport de l’audience ou d’une partie définie de celle-ci s’il est d’avis que la présence du ou des représentants des médias ou que la publication du rapport, selon le cas, causerait des maux affectifs à l’enfant qui témoigne, qui participe à l’audience ou qui fait l’objet de l’instance (par. 45 (7) de la LSEF).

B)  Interdictions de publication en vertu de la common law :
Outre les lois mentionnées ci-dessus, les tribunaux disposent aussi du pouvoir, en vertu de la common law, d’ordonner des interdictions de publication. Ces ordonnances sont rendues dans les cas où l’interdiction de publication est nécessaire pour éviter un risque grave à la bonne administration de la justice et lorsque des mesures alternatives raisonnables ne permettraient pas de prévenir le risque. Les tribunaux doivent peser les divers droits et principes en jeu - le droit à un procès impartial et public, le droit à la liberté d’expression et l’efficacité de l’administration de la justice – afin de déterminer l’opportunité d’imposer l’interdiction.

Questions concernant l’existence d’une interdiction de publication :

Les questions concernant l’existence d’une interdiction de publication dans un cas particulier peuvent être adressées au personnel du greffe du tribunal où l’affaire est entendue. Toutefois, le personnel du tribunal ne peut pas donner de conseils juridiques au sujet des interdictions de publication ou de toute autre question.

Les représentants des médias qui souhaitent obtenir des renseignements ou des documents dans un tribunal local doivent communiquer avec le personnel du greffe du tribunal local.

Les questions des médias ou toute autre question auxquelles le personnel du greffe ne peut pas répondre devraient être adressées en personne au chef de l'administration des tribunaux, sur place. Les chefs de l’administration des tribunaux sont désignés pour traiter avec les médias et leur faciliter l’accès aux dossiers et renseignements. Le personnel du greffe et les chefs de l’administration des tribunaux ne sont pas des porte-parole du ministère. Pour obtenir des commentaires ou des renseignements officiels au sujet des politiques, des pratiques, des programmes et des positions du ministère, les représentants des médias peuvent s’adresser à Relations avec les médias, au 416 326-2210.