David Walter Mundell (1914-1984)

Text: Larger | Smaller

David Walter Mundell was born on July 2, 1914 in Moosomin, Saskatchewan.

He obtained his LL.B. from the University of Saskatchewan in 1936, attended Exeter College at Oxford on scholarship where he obtained his B.C.L. and was admitted to the Bar of Saskatchewan in 1939. He married Beryl Mary Seddon of Oxford England on June 1, 1940. He later married Audrey Allworth Silcox.

He worked for the federal Department of Justice in Ottawa from 1939 to 1953, arguing seminal cases in constitutional law before the Supreme Court of Canada. He left the federal government to join the firm of Manning, Mortimer, Mundell & Read (later Manning, Mortimer, Mundell & Bruce) where he practiced from 1953-1959. In 1959, he joined the faculty of Osgoode Hall Law School where he remained until 1969.

In 1969 he joined the Ministry of the Attorney General of Ontario and was appointed the first Director of Constitutional Law in 1976 although illness prevented him from staying in that position for long.  As the former Deputy Attorney General Allan Leal said, David "left a great and rich legacy" to public service.  In particular, David Mundell was a key figure in the constitutional debates that culminated in the Constitution Act, 1982.

David Walter Mundell passed away on September 15, 1984, leaving his wife Audrey Mundell, his children Jillian Gardner, Richard Mundell and Linda Barrett, his step-child Laurence Weldon and his grand-children Andrea and Jennifer Barrett, and Laurel, Kaljo, Christine and Allison Weldon. His wife, Audrey passed away October 13, 2003.

David Walter Mundell (1914-1984)

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

David Walter Mundell est né le 2 juillet 1914 à Moosomin, en Saskatchewan.

Il a obtenu sa licence en droit de l'Université de la Saskatchewan in 1936 et a fréquenté le collège Exeter College à Oxford comme boursier, où il a décroché un B.C.L. Il a été admis au Barreau de la Saskatchewan en 1939. Il a épousé Beryl Mary Seddon d'Oxford (Angleterre), le 1er juin 1940. Il a épousé en deuxièmes noces Audrey Allworth Silcox.

M. Mundell a travaillé pour le ministère fédéral de la Justice, à Ottawa, de 1939 à 1953, ayant plaidé dans plusieurs affaires qui ont fait autorité en droit constitutionnel, devant la Cour suprême du Canada. Il a quitté le gouvernement fédéral pour entrer au cabinet d'avocats Manning, Mortimer, Mundell & Read (plus tard nommé Manning, Mortimer, Mundell & Bruce), où il a exercé de 1953 à 1959. En 1959, il s'est joint au corps professoral de l'Osgoode Hall Law School, où il est resté jusqu'en 1969.

En 1969, M. Mundell est entré au ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario et a été nommé premier directeur du droit constitutionnel en 1976. Pour des raisons médicales, il n'a pas pu conserver ce poste pendant longtemps. Comme l'ancien sous-procureur général Allan Leal l'a fait observer, David « a laissé une marque indélébile et riche » à la fonction publique. En particulier, David Mundell était aux avant-postes dans les débats constitutionnels qui ont abouti à la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982.

David Walter Mundell est décédé le 15 septembre 1984, laissant derrière lui sa femme Audrey Mundell, ses enfants Jillian Gardner, Richard Mundell et Linda Barrett, sa belle-fille Laurence Weldon et ses petits-enfants Andrea et Jennifer Barrett, ainsi que Laurel, Kaljo, Christine et Allison Weldon.  Sa femme, Audrey, est décédée le 13 octobre 2003.