Francophone Youth

As of 2001, Francophones aged 24 years and under make up 25.7% of the province’s total Francophone population or 3.7% of youth in Ontario.

Francophone youth live primarily in Eastern Ontario where they make up 45.8% of the population of young Francophone Ontarians, followed by 25.6% in Northeastern Ontario, 23.5% in Central Ontario, 4.0% in Southwestern Ontario and 1.1% in Northwestern Ontario.

More than half of youth in Eastern Ontario live in Ottawa Division (58.1%) and more than one third in Central and Northeastern Ontario live in Toronto (37.0%) and Greater Sudbury (33.6%) respectively. A proportion of 43.9% of young Francophones are found in the province’s urban centres.

The Francophone youth population is made up of 69,055 women (50.9%) and 66,728 men (49.1%).

More than two thirds of Francophone youth are aged 10 to 24 years: 22.4% from 10 to 14 years, 22.3% from 15 and 19 years and 22.4% from 20 to 24 years. Only 18.8% are aged 5 to 9 years and 14.1%, from 0 to 4 years.

The vast majority of youth are single (98.2%), while a small proportion are married (1.6%). A proportion of 3.6% live in common law relationships.

There are 19,289 (or 14.2%) visible minority Francophone youth compared to 7.8% in the total Francophone population.

Visible minority Francophone youth identify primarily with the Black (39.2%), Chinese (14.5%), South Asian (13.6%), Arab (13.1%) and Latin American (6.1%) minority groups. They live primarily in Central (53.4%) and Eastern (40.5%) Ontario.

In Toronto Division, one in two youths (50.3%) belongs to a visible minority compared to one in five (20.5%) in Ottawa.

Ontario’s Francophones include 13,551 immigrant youth, or 10.0% of the total Francophone population aged 24 and under.

Most Francophone immigrant youth were born in Asia (34.2%), Europe (33.1%) or Africa (19.6%).

The most significant period of immigration for Francophone youth in Ontario is between 1996 and 2001 (41.0%).

The principal places of birth of immigrant youth arriving between 1996 and 2001 are Europe (32.7%), Africa (29.7%) and Asia (29.5%).

Close to half (49.5%) of young Francophones aged 5 to 24 years in Ontario moved compared to 43.3% of the total Francophone population.

The proportion of young external migrants from 5 to 24 years (18.9%) is higher than in the general Francophone population (15.1%).

Toronto Division has the greatest proportion of young Francophone external migrants in the province (50.5%).

Among Francophone youth aged 15 to 24 years, 40,015 (or 65.9%) attend school, 92.1% of them full-time. Proportions are similar in all regions with the exception of Northwestern and Southwestern Ontario, where a greater number of Francophone youth do not attend school, 41.9% and 40.4% respectively.

Young Francophone women have higher levels of education in terms of certificates, diplomas and degrees held, in all fields of study. Hence, 37.7% who have attended university hold a bachelor’s or higher degree compared to 34.9% of all Francophone youth who have done so.

A proportion of 5.6% of Francophone youth have a trade certificate or diploma in Northeastern Ontario, 3.1% in Eastern Ontario and 2.8% in Central Ontario.

The percentage of Francophone youth who have attended college or university is highest in Central Ontario (43.5%), followed by Eastern (42.6%), Southwestern (38.4%), Northwestern (32.7%) and Northeastern (31.1%) Ontario.

The major fields of study of Francophones aged 15 to 24 years who hold a postsecondary qualification with a specialization are: applied science technologies and trades (20.6%), commerce, management and business administration (18.0%), social sciences and related fields (15.9%), educational, recreational and counselling services (9.1%), humanities and related fields (8.6%) and health professions and related technologies (8.5%).

A smaller proportion of young Francophone women are present in applied science technologies and trades (4.4%). Young Francophone women are most present in social sciences and related fields (19.8%), followed by commerce, management and business administration (19.7%), educational, recreational and counselling services (12.9%), health professions and related technologies (11.8%), humanities and related fields (11.5%) and fine and applied arts (8.9%).

Francophone youth in Northeastern Ontario specialize in applied science technologies and trades (30.6%), followed by commerce, management and business administration (15.3%), and social sciences and related fields (15.1%).

Francophone youth in Central and Eastern Ontario specialize in commerce, management and business administration (respectively 19.9% and 18.5%), followed by social sciences and related fields in Central Ontario (16.0%) and applied science technologies and trades in Eastern Ontario (18.4%).

The highest rate of labour force activity among Francophone youth is in Northwestern, Eastern and Southwestern Ontario.

Young Francophones in the labour force work primarily in retail trade (22.3%), accommodation and food services (15.3%), manufacturing (8.0%), public administration (6.7%), administrative and support, waste management and remediation services (5.9%) and health care and social assistance (5.5%).

We note that young Francophone women are employed in retail trade (23.5%) and accommodation and food services (18.5%), followed by health care and social assistance (8.6%), public administration (6.9%), educational services (5.7%) and professional, scientific and technical services (5.0%).

The average employment income of young Francophone Ontarians is $11,024 compared to $35,792 for the total Francophone population. Their average total income is $11,085 compared to $32,518 for the total Francophone population.

Young Francophone women have an average employment income of $9,804 and an average total income of $10,112.

A large proportion of young Francophones in Northeastern Ontario have total incomes of $4,999 and under (42.1%) or from $5,000 to $9,999 (24.5%).

A significant number of youth in Eastern Ontario have incomes between $10,000 and $19,999 (24.1%).

We note that 18.7% of Central Ontario youth have incomes between $20,000 and $39,999.

Back to:

Francophones âgés de 24 ans et moins

En 2001, les francophones âgées de 24 ans et moins de la province représentent 25,7 % de la population francophone totale ou 3,7 % des jeunes ontariens.

Les jeunes francophones résident principalement dans la région de l’Est où ils constituent 45,8 % de la population totale des jeunes francophones de l’Ontario, suivi du Nord-Est (25,6 %). du Centre (23,5 %), du Sud-Ouest (4,0 %) et du Nord-Ouest (1,1 %).

Plus de la moitié des jeunes habitant la région de l’Est résident dans la division d’Ottawa (58,1 %) et plus du tiers des jeunes habitant les régions du Centre et du Nord-Est résident dans les divisions de Toronto (37,0 %) et du Grand Sudbury (33,6 %). Ce sont 43,9 % des jeunes francophones qui se trouvent dans les centres urbains de la province.

La population de jeunes francophones est composée de 69 055 femmes (50,9 %) et de 66 728 hommes (49,1 %).

Plus des deux tiers des jeunes francophones sont âgés de 10 à 24 ans : 22,4 % ont entre 10 et 14 ans, 22,3 %, entre 15 et 19 ans et 22,4 %, entre 20 et 24 ans. Ils sont seulement 18,8 % à avoir entre 5 et 9 ans et 14,1 %, entre 0 et 4 ans.

La très grande majorité des jeunes est célibataire (98,2 %) et une faible proportion est mariée (1,6 %). Ils sont 3,6 % à vivre en union libre.

Les jeunes francophones sont 19 289 (ou 14,2 %) à appartenir à une minorité visible comparativement à 7,8 % au sein de la population francophone totale.

Les jeunes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible s’identifient principalement aux groupes Noir (39,2 %), Chinois (14,5 %), Sud-Asiatique (13,6 %), Arabe (13,1 %) et Latino-Américain (6,1 %). Ils résident principalement dans le Centre (53,4 %) et l’Est (40,5 %).

Dans la division de Toronto c’est un jeune sur deux (50,3 %) qui appartient à une minorité visible comparativement à un sur cinq (20,5 %) à Ottawa.

L’Ontario francophone comprend 13 551 jeunes immigrantes et immigrants, soit 10,0 % de l’ensemble de la population francophone âgée de 24 ans et moins.

La plupart des jeunes immigrantes et immigrants francophones de l’Ontario sont nés en Asie (34,2 %), en Europe (33,1 %) et en Afrique (19,6 %).

La plus forte période d’immigration des jeunes francophones en Ontario est entre 1996 et 2001, (41,0 %).

Les principaux lieux de naissance des jeunes immigrantes et immigrants arrivés entre 1996 et 2001 sont l’Europe (32,7 %), l’Afrique (29,7 %) et l’Asie (29,5 %).

Près de la moitié (49,5 %) des jeunes francophones de 5 à 24 ans en Ontario a déménagé comparativement à 43,3 % au sein de la population francophone totale.

La part de jeunes migrants externes de 5 à 24 ans (18,9 %) est plus élevée qu’au sein de la population francophone en général (15,1 %).

La division de Toronto compte la plus forte proportion de jeunes francophones migrants externes de la province (50,5 %).

Parmi les jeunes francophones de 15 à 24 ans, 40 015 (ou 65,9 %) fréquentent l’école dont 92,1 % à plein temps. Les proportions sont sensiblement les mêmes dans les régions à l’exception du Nord-Ouest et du Sud-Ouest, où un nombre de jeunes francophones plus important qu’ailleurs dans la province ne fréquentent pas l’école, soit 41,9 % et 40,4 % respectivement.

Les jeunes femmes francophones ont les plus hauts niveaux de scolarité atteints avec certificat ou diplôme et ce, dans toutes les catégories d’études. Ainsi, 37,7 % de celles qui ont fait des études universitaires détiennent un baccalauréat ou un diplôme supérieur comparativement à 34,9 % chez les jeunes francophones en général.

Les jeunes francophones sont aussi 5,6 % à avoir obtenu un certificat ou un diplôme d’une école de métiers dans la région du Nord-Est, 3,1 % dans l’Est et 2,8 % dans le Centre.

Le pourcentage des jeunes francophones ayant fait des études collégiales et universitaires est plus important dans la région du Centre (43,5 %), suivi de l’Est (42,6 %), du Sud-Ouest (38,4 %), du Nord-Ouest (32,7 %) et du Nord-Est (31,1 %).

Les principaux domaines d’études des francophones de 15 à 24 ans possédant un diplôme/certificat d’études postsecondaires et ayant spécifié une spécialisation sont : les techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées (20,6 %), le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires (18,0 %), les sciences sociales et les disciplines connexes (15,9 %), l’enseignement, le loisirs et l’orientation (9,1 %), les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes (8,6 %) et les professions de la santé et les technologies connexes (8,5 %).

Une faible proportion de jeunes femmes francophones est présente dans le domaine des techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées (4,4 %). Leur premier domaine en importance est celui des sciences sociales et des disciplines connexes (19,8 %), suivi du commerce, de la gestion et l’administration des affaires (19,7 %), de l’enseignement, des loisirs et de l’orientation (12,9 %), des professions de la santé et des technologies connexes (11,8 %), des lettres, sciences humaines et des disciplines connexes (11,5 %) et des beaux-arts et arts appliqués (8,9 %).

Les jeunes francophones vivant dans la région du Nord-Est sont spécialisés dans le domaine des techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées (30,6 %), suivi de loin par le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires (15,3 %), les sciences sociales et les disciplines connexes (15,1 %).

Les jeunes francophones des régions du Centre et de l’Est sont spécialisés dans le commerce, gestion et administration des affaires (respectivement 19,9 % et 18,5 %), suivi des sciences sociales et les disciplines connexes dans le Centre (16,0 %) et des techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées dans l’Est (18,4 %).

Les plus taux d’activité les plus élevés chez les jeunes francophones se trouvent dans le Nord-Ouest, l’Est et le Sud-Ouest.

Les jeunes francophones au sein de la population active travaillent principalement dans le commerce de détail (22,3 %), l’hébergement et les services de restauration (15,3 %), la fabrication (8,0 %), les administrations publiques (6,7 %), les services administratifs, les services de soutien, les services de gestion des déchets et les services d’assainissement (5,9 %) et les soins de santé et l’assistance sociale (5,5 %).

Mentionnons que les jeunes femmes sont davantage actives dans les domaines du commerce de détail (23,5 %) et de l’hébergement et les services de restauration (18,5 %) suivi des soins de santé et l’assistance sociale (8,6 %), les administrations publiques (6,9 %), l’enseignement (5,7 %) et les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (5,0 %).

Le revenu d’emploi moyen des jeunes francophones de l’Ontario est de 11 024 $ comparativement à 35 792 $ pour la population francophone totale. Leur revenu total moyen est, quant à lui, de 11 085 $ comparativement à 32 518 $ au sein de la population francophone totale.

Les jeunes femmes francophones ont quant à elles un revenu d’emploi moyen de 9 804 $ et un revenu total moyen de 10 112 $.

Une grande proportion de jeunes francophones de la région du Nord-Est a un revenu total de 4 999 $ et moins (42,1 %) et de 5 000 $ à 9 999 $ (24,5 %).

Une part importante des jeunes de l’Est a un revenu se situant entre 10 000 $ et 19 999 $ (24,1 %).

Mentionnons que 18,7 % des jeunes de la région du Centre ont un revenu entre 20 000 $ et 39 999 $.

Source : Linda Cardinal, Nathalie Plante et Anik Sauvé, Les jeunes francophones de l’Ontario : un profil statistique, Ottawa, ministère du Procureur général, octobre 2006, 42 p.

Données spécifiques selon les groupes

Voir aussi