Francophone Women

Francophone women make up 52.7% of the Francophone population in Ontario and 4.8% of the total population of women in the province. They live primarily in Eastern Ontario (41.8%), followed by Central (26.9%), Northeastern (24.3%), Southwestern (5.7%) and Northwestern (1.4%) Ontario).

Close to one third (31.1%) of Francophone women in the province are aged 29 years and under: 13.5% are between 0 and 14 years and 17.6% are between 15 and 29 years. The majority (53.7%) are between 30 and 64 years.

The proportion of Francophone women aged 65 years and over is 15.1% compared with 13.8% for the total Francophone population. They make up 57.4% of the Francophone population aged 65 years and over, 62.5% aged 75 and over, 67.3% aged 80 and over and 70.0% aged 85 years and over.

Southwestern Ontario has the highest proportion of Francophone women aged 65 years and over, at 23.8%.

Eastern Ontario has the lowest proportion of married Francophone women (41.3%) and the highest proportion of single Francophone women (39.8%).

The proportion of Francophone women who are divorced is highest in Central Ontario (8.0%), followed closely by Southwestern (7.7%), Eastern (7.1%), Northwestern (6.5%) and Northeastern (6.2%) Ontario.

In total, 82.4% of widowed Francophones are women. The region with the greatest proportion of widows is Southwestern Ontario (14.2%).

Some 6,739, or 2.4%, of Francophone women in Ontario declare an Aboriginal identity. Theses women are primarily found in Northeastern Ontario (46.9%), followed by Central (21.6%) and Eastern (21.2%) Ontario.

Of the 7.8% of Francophone women who belong to a visible minority, 38.3% belong to the Black minority, followed by the Arab (16.2%), Chinese (13.4%) and South Asian (10.5%) minorities.

The proportion of visible minority Central Ontario Francophone women who live in Toronto is 58.7% while 95.7% of visible minority Eastern Ontario Francophone women live in Ottawa.

Francophone immigrants make up 11.5% of the population of Francophone women in the province. The greatest proportion come from Europe (42.0%), followed by Asia (22.7%) and Africa (21.6%).

In Central Ontario, the proportion of Francophone women who are immigrants is 27.1%, followed by Southwestern (10.9%), Eastern (8.1%), Northwestern (3.7%) and Northeastern (0.6%) Ontario.

The Francophone immigrant population is primarily concentrated in large cities: 56.7% of Central Ontario Francophone immigrant women live in Toronto Division and 90.5% of Eastern Ontario Francophone immigrant women live in Ottawa Division.

In Central and Eastern Ontario, two distinct trends are observable in the places of birth of Francophone immigrant women who obtained immigrant status between 1996 and 2001. A proportion of 42.2% of those in Central Ontario were born in Europe, 26.9% in Asia and 25.3% in Africa. In Eastern Ontario, the proportions are reversed: Francophone immigrant women there primarily originate from Africa (44.3%), followed by Europe (23.9%) and Asia (17.4%).

Between 1996 and 2001, like the Francophone population in general, the majority of Francophone women aged 5 years and over did not move (57.1%).

Of Francophone women aged 15 years and over in Ontario,15.7% attend school compared to 14.9% of the total Francophone population. Of this percentage, 34.9% attend school part-time compared with 32.4% for the Francophone population as a whole.

Francophone women make up 60.3% of the Francophone population attending school part-time.

Central Ontario has the greatest proportion of Francophone women attending school (17.1%), followed by Eastern (16.8%), Northeastern (13.3%), Northwestern (13.3%) and Southwestern (11.7%) Ontario.

Northwestern (45.7%) and Central (39.9%) Ontario have the greatest proportions of women attending school part-time compared with Northeastern and Southwestern Ontario where the greatest proportions of Francophone women attending school full-time are found, 72.3% and 66.1% respectively.

The greatest proportions of Francophone women who have attained an educational level less than Grade 9 or a level from Grade 9 to Grade 13 without a high school graduation certificate are in Northeastern, Northwestern and Southwestern Ontario.

Francophone women living in Central and Eastern Ontario have higher levels of education. In Toronto, 45.2% of Francophone women have attended university and 39.6% of those in York Regional Municipality have attended university. In Eastern Ontario, 32.9% of Francophone women living in Ottawa Division and 32.7% of those living in Frontenac County have attended university.

The major field of study for Francophone women, as in the general Francophone population, is commerce, management and business administration. The proportion of Francophone women who have chosen this field is 26.1% compared with 21.1% for the total Francophone population.

The other major fields of study for Francophone women are educational, recreational and counselling services (17.5%), health professions and related technologies (15.5%), social sciences and related fields (12.4%), and humanities and related fields (9.8%). They are less often found in engineering and applied sciences (1.5%), mathematics, computers and physical sciences (2.6%) and in applied science technologies and trades (4.1%).

The rate of labour force participation for Francophone women is greatest in Central Ontario (64.0%), followed by Eastern (61.7%), Northwestern (60.2%), Northeastern (53.3%) and Southwestern (50.9%) Ontario.

Francophone women aged 15 and over are employed in the health care and social assistance industry (15.3%), educational services (13.1%), public administration (12.3%), retail trade (10.8%), and accommodation and food services (7.1%). In Eastern Ontario Francophone women are notable for their greater concentration in public administration (20.6%).

Francophone women represent 82.2% of Francophones working in the field of health care and social assistance and 70.4% of those working in educational services.

The average employment income of Francophone women in Ontario is $28,562 compared with $35,792 for the Francophone population as a whole. The average total income of Francophone women is $25,734 compared with $32,518 for the Francophone population as a whole.

Francophone women are concentrated primarily in the group having total incomes of $19,999 and under (51.3%) compared with 41.7% for the Francophone population as a whole. They represent 64.3% of Francophones with incomes of $19,999 and under.

Eastern Ontario has the greatest proportion of Francophone women with incomes of $40,000 and over (25.1%), followed by Central (24.9%), Southwestern (16.5%), Northwestern (14.7%) and Northeastern (13.3%) Ontario.

In regions with lower total incomes, approximately 60% of Francophone women have incomes of $19,999 and under: 61.5% in Northeastern Ontario, 59.6% in Northwestern Ontario and 56.3% in Southwestern Ontario.

Back to:

Femmes francophones

Les femmes francophones constituent 52,7 % de la population francophone de la province de l’Ontario ou 4,8 % de la population totale des femmes de la province. Elles vivent principalement dans l’Est (41,8 %) suivi du Centre (26,9 %), du Nord-Est (24,3 %), du Sud-Ouest (5,7 %) et du Nord-Ouest (1,4 %).

Près du tiers (31,1 %) des femmes francophones de la province est âgé de 29 ans ou moins : 13,5 % ont entre 0 et 14 ans et 17,6 % ont entre 15 et 29 ans. La majorité (53,7 %) a entre 30 et 64 ans.

La proportion de femmes francophones de 65 ans et plus est de 15,1 % comparativement à 13,8 % pour la population francophone totale. Elles constituent 57,4 % de la population francophone âgée de plus de 65 ans ; 62,5 % des 75 ans et plus, 67,3 % des 80 ans et plus et 70,0 % des 85 ans et plus.

La région du Sud-Ouest présente la proportion la plus élevée de femmes francophones de 65 ans et plus, soit 23, 8 %.

L’Est comprend la plus faible proportion des femmes francophones mariées (41,3 %) et la proportion de célibataires la plus élevée (39,8 %).

La proportion de femmes francophones divorcées est plus élevée dans la région du Centre (8,0 %) suivi de près par celles du Sud-Ouest (7,7 %), de l’Est (7,1 %), du Nord-Ouest (6,5 %) et du Nord-Est (6,2 %).

En tout, 82,4 % des veufs francophones sont des femmes. La proportion la plus importante de veuves se trouve dans le Sud-Ouest (14,2 %).

Un nombre de 6 739 ou 2,4 % des femmes francophones de l’Ontario déclarent une identité autochtone. Elles se trouvent principalement dans le Nord-Est (46,9 %), suivi du Centre (21,6 %) et de l’Est (21,2 %).

Des 7,8 % de femmes francophones qui appartiennent à une minorité visible, 38,3 % sont du groupe Noir, suivi des groupes Arabe (16,2 %), Chinois (13,4 %) et Sud-asiatique (10,5).

Toronto regroupe 58,7 % des femmes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible dans la région du Centre comparativement à Ottawa qui comprend 95,7 % des femmes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible dans celle de l’Est.

Les immigrantes francophones constituent 11,5 % de la population des femmes francophones de la province. La plus forte proportion vient d’Europe (42,0 %) suivi de l’Asie (22,7 %) et de l’Afrique (21,6 %).

Dans la région du Centre, la proportion d’immigrantes francophones est de 27,1 %, suivi du Sud-Ouest (10,9 %), de l’Est (8,1 %), du Nord-Ouest (3,7 %) et du Nord-Est (0,6 %).

Les immigrantes francophones sont surtout concentrées dans les grandes villes : 56,7 % des femmes immigrantes francophones dans la région du Centre se trouvent dans la division de Toronto. Dans la région de l’Est, 90,5 % des femmes immigrantes francophones vivent dans la division d’Ottawa.

Dans les régions du Centre et de l’Est, deux tendances distinctes sont observables quant au lieu de naissance des immigrantes francophones ayant obtenu le statut d’immigrante reçue entre 1996 et 2001. Une proportion de 42,2 % d’immigrantes francophones dans le Centre vient d’Europe, 26,9 % sont originaires de l’Asie et 25,3 % de l’Afrique. Dans l’Est, les proportions sont inversées. Les immigrantes francophones sont principalement nées en Afrique (44,3 %), suivi de l’Europe (23,9 %) et de l’Asie (17,4 %).

À l’instar de la population francophone totale, entre 1996 et 2001, les femmes francophones de 5 ans et plus sont majoritaires à ne pas déménager (57,1 %).

Les femmes francophones de 15 ans et plus en Ontario sont 15,7 % à fréquenter l’école comparativement à 14,9 % pour la population francophone totale. De ce pourcentage, elles sont 34,9 % à fréquenter l’école à temps partiel comparativement à 32,4 % pour la population francophone générale.

Les femmes francophones représentent 60,3 % de la population francophone fréquentant l’école à temps partiel.

Le Centre comprend la plus grande proportion de femmes francophones fréquentant l’école (17,1 %), suivi de l’Est (16,8 %), du Nord-Est (13,3 %), du Nord-Ouest (13,3 %) et du Sud-Ouest (11,7 %).

Les régions du Nord-Ouest (45,7 %) et du Centre (39,9 %) comprennent les plus fortes proportions de femmes fréquentant l’école à temps partiel comparativement aux régions du Nord-Est et du Sud-Ouest où l’on trouve les plus fortes proportions de femmes francophones fréquentant l’école à plein temps, soit 72,3 % et 66,1 % respectivement.

L’on trouve les plus importantes proportions de femmes francophones ayant un niveau inférieur à la 9e année, ou un niveau entre la 9e et la 13e année et sans certificat d’études secondaires dans les régions du Nord-Est et du Nord-Ouest et du Sud-Ouest.

Les femmes francophones vivant dans les régions du Centre et de l’Est ont les niveaux de scolarité les plus élevés. À Toronto, 45,2 % de femmes francophones ont fait des études universitaires et 39,6 % dans la municipalité régionale de York. Dans l’Est, 32,9 % des femmes francophones vivant dans la division d’Ottawa et 32,7 % dans le comté de Frontenac ont fait des études universitaires.

Le principal domaine d’études des femmes francophones, à l’instar de la population francophone, est le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires. Elles sont 26,1 % à choisir ce domaine d’études comparativement à 21,1 % pour la population francophone totale.

Les autres domaines d’études des femmes francophones sont : l’enseignement, les loisirs et l’orientation (17,5 %), la santé et les technologies connexes (15,5 %), les sciences sociales et les disciplines connexes (12,4 %), les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes (9,8 %). On les trouve moins souvent dans les domaines du génie et des sciences appliquées (1,5 %), des mathématiques, de l’informatique et des sciences physiques (2,6 %) et des techniques et des métiers des sciences appliquées (4,1 %).

Le taux d’activité des femmes francophones est plus important dans le Centre (64,0 %), suivi de l’Est (61,7 %), du Nord-Ouest (60,2 %), du Nord-Est (53,3 %) et du Sud-Ouest (50,9 %).

Les femmes francophones de 15 ans et plus sont surtout actives dans l’industrie des soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale (15,3 %), suivi de l’enseignement (13,1 %), des administrations publiques (12,3 %), du commerce de détail (10,8 %), et de l’hébergement et de la restauration (7,1 %). Les femmes francophones de l’Est se démarquent en raison de leur plus grande concentration dans les administrations publiques (20,6 %).

Les femmes francophones représentent 82,2 % des francophones travaillant dans le domaine des soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale et 70,4 % de ceux qui sont dans l’enseignement.

Le revenu d’emploi moyen des femmes francophones de l’Ontario est de 28 562 $ comparativement à 35 792 $ pour la population francophone. Le revenu total moyen est quant à lui de 25 734 $ comparativement à 32 518 $ au sein de la population francophone.

Les femmes francophones sont concentrées dans les tranches de revenu total de 19 999 $ et moins (51,3 %) comparativement à 41,7 % de la population francophone. Elles représentent 64,3 % des francophones ayant un revenu de 19 999 $ et moins.

Dans l’Est, une plus grande proportion de femmes francophones a un revenu de 40 000 $ et plus (25,1 %), suivi du Centre (24,9 %), du Sud-Ouest (16,5 %), du Nord-Ouest (14,7 %) et du Nord-Est (13,3 %).

Dans les régions présentant des revenus totaux en général moins élevés, ce sont environ 60 % des femmes francophones qui ont un revenu de 19 999 $ et moins : 61,5 % dans la région du Nord-Est, 59,6 % dans le Nord-Ouest et 56,3 % dans le Sud-Ouest.

Source : Linda Cardinal, Nathalie Plante et Anik Sauvé, Les femmes francophones de l’Ontario : un profil statistique, Ottawa, ministère du Procureur général, octobre 2006, 49 p.

Données spécifiques selon les groupes

Voir aussi