Francophone Seniors

In 2001, Francophones aged 65 years and over in Ontario accounted for 5.3% of the total Ontario population aged 65 years and over, and 13.8% of the province’s total Francophone population.

Francophones 65 years and over live primarily in the regions of Eastern Ontario (38.5%), Northeastern Ontario (27.0%) and Central Ontario (23.9%).

Women make up 57.4% of the Francophone population 65 years and over.

In Ontario as a whole, 33.3% of Francophone seniors are between 65 and 69 years of age, 28.2% are between 70 and 74, 21.3% are between 75 and 79, 11,2% are between 80 and 84, and 5.9% are 85 or older.

Nearly one third (30.5%) of Francophones 65 years and over are widowed and 82.8% of these are women.

There are 1,595 Francophones 65 years and over who are members of a visible minority (2.2%). More than three quarters belong to the Black (24.1%), Chinese (19.3%), Southeast Asian (18.1%) or Arab (17.4%) minority groups.

Most Francophones 65 years and over who are members of a visible minority live in Central (61.1%) or Eastern (35.1%) Ontario.

A very large proportion of Francophone immigrants 65 years and over were born in Europe (61.8%), followed by Asia (15.1%) and Africa (14.0%).

A large number of Francophone immigrants 65 years and over obtained landed immigrant status prior to 1961 (44.0%).

Among Francophones 65 years and over, 20.0% moved between 1996 and 2001. Of this group, 41.2% are migrants, 92.7% of which are internal migrants and 7.3% external migrants.

Nearly all Francophone 65 years and over do not attend school (99.1%). Moreover, 42.4% have less than Grade 9 education, and 30.5% have between Grade 9 and Grade 13 education.

Nearly a quarter of Francophones 65 years and over living in Central (24.9%) or Eastern Ontario (24.2%) have attended college or university.

The major field of study of Francophone 65 years and over is applied science technologies and trades (20.6%). Other fields are: commerce, management and business administration (20.4%); educational, recreational and counselling services (17.5%); health professions and related technologies (11.2%); humanities and related fields (10.0%); and social sciences and related fields (6.5%).

Francophones 65 years and over who are active in the workforce work in retail trade (10.4%), agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting (10.0%), other services (except public administration) (9.4%) and manufacturing (7.4%).

Among Francophones 65 years and over, 51.6% have total incomes between $12,000 and $24,999. Among Francophone women 65 years and over, 55.1% have incomes in this range. A proportion of 18.6% have total incomes of less than $12,000, rising to 24.6% for women.

In the Francophone population 65 years and over, 12.3% report income of $40,000 or more compared with 7.9% of Francophone women in the same age group. These individuals are located primarily in Eastern Ontario.

Back to:

Francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus

En 2001, les francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus en Ontario représentent 5,3 % de l’ensemble de la population ontarienne âgée de 65 ans et plus, et 13,8 % de la population francophone totale de la province.

Les francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus résident surtout dans les régions de l’Est (38,5 %), du Nord-Est (27,0 %) et du Centre (23,9 %).

Les femmes constituent 57,4 % de la population francophone âgée de 65 ans et plus.

Pour l’ensemble de l’Ontario, 33,3 % des francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus ont entre 65 et 69 ans ; 28,2 %, entre 70 et 74 ans ; 21,3 %, entre 75 et 79 ans ; 11,2 %, entre 80 et 84 ans ; et 5,9 %, de 85 ans et plus.

Presque le tiers (30,5 %) des francophones de 65 ans et plus sont veufs et 82,8 % d’entre eux sont des femmes.

L’on compte 1 595 francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus appartenant à une minorité visible (2,2 %). Plus des trois quarts appartiennent aux groupes Noir (24,1 %), Chinois (19,3 %), Asiatique du Sud-Est (18,1 %) et Arabe (17,4 %).

La plupart des francophones de 65 ans et plus appartenant à une minorité visible habitent les régions du Centre (61,1 %) et de l’Est (35,1 %).

Un très grand nombre d’immigrants francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus est né en Europe (61,8 %), suivi de l’Asie (15,1 %) et de l’Afrique (14,0 %).

Un grand nombre d’immigrants francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus a obtenu le statut d’immigrant reçu avant 1961 (44,0 %).

Il y a 20,0 % de francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus qui sont déménagés entre 1996 et 2001. De ce pourcentage, 41,2 % sont des migrants, dont 92,7 % migrants internes et 7,3 % migrants externes.

La quasi-totalité des francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus ne fréquentent pas l’école (99,1 %). De plus, 42,4 % ont un niveau de scolarité inférieur à la 9e année et 30,5 % un niveau se situant entre la 9e et la 13e année.

Près du quart des francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus vivant dans le Centre (24,9 %) comme dans l’Est (24,2 %) ont effectué des études collégiales ou universitaires.

Le principal domaine d’études des francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus est celui des techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées (20,6 %). Les autres domaines sont : le commerce, la gestion et administration des affaires (20,4 %), l’enseignement, les loisirs et l’orientation (17,5 %), les professions de la santé et les technologies connexes (11,2 %), les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes (10,0 %), et les sciences sociales et les disciplines connexes (6,5 %).

Les francophones qui font partie de la population active des 65 ans et plus travaillent dans le commerce de détail (10,4 %), l’agriculture, la foresterie, la pêche et la chasse (10,0 %), les autres services, sauf les administrations publiques (9,4 %) et la fabrication (7,4 %).

Les francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus sont 51,6 % à avoir un revenu total entre 12 000 $ et 24 999 $. Ce sont 55,1 % des femmes francophones âgées de 65 ans et plus qui ont un tel revenu. Mentionnons que 18,6 % des francophones âgés de 65 ans et plus ont un revenu total de moins de 12 000 $ et ce pourcentage grimpe à 24,6 % chez les femmes francophones dans la même catégorie d’âge.

12,3 % de la population francophone âgée de 65 ans et plus déclare un revenu de 40 000 $ et plus comparativement à 7,9 % chez les femmes francophones dans la même catégorie d’âge. Ceux-ci se trouvent le plus souvent dans l’Est qu’ailleurs dans la province.

Source : Linda Cardinal, Nathalie Plante et Anik Sauvé, Les francophones de l’Ontario de 65 ans et plus : un profil statistique, Ottawa, ministère du Procureur général, octobre 2006, 40 p.

Données spécifiques selon les groupes

Voir aussi