Francophone Visible Minorities

As of 2001, 41,598 Ontario Francophones belong to visible minorities. They make up 7.9% of the total Francophone population in Ontario and 1.9% of its visible minority population.

Visible minority Francophones live primarily in Central (55.6%), Eastern (38.4%) and Southwestern (4.5%) Ontario. Only 1.4% live in Northeastern Ontario and 0.2%, Northwestern Ontario.

Visible minority Francophones living in Central Ontario make up 16.7% of the total Francophone population there, followed by 7.3 % in Eastern Ontario, and 6.1% in Southwestern Ontario.

They are primarily concentrated in large urban centres – the divisions of Ottawa and Toronto but also in Essex County.

The visible minority Francophone population is made up of 21,575 women (51.9%) and 20,023 men (48.1%).

Visible minority Francophones are young compared to the total Francophone population. Thus, 27.1% of visible minority Francophones are aged 14 years and under, 27.7% are aged from 15 to 29 years, 41.3% are aged 30 to 64 and 3.8% are 65 years and over.

Close to one in three visible minority Francophones in Eastern Ontario is aged 14 years or under (31.7%). In Central Ontario, 24.2 % of visible minority Francophones are in this age group.

The majority of visible minority Francophones are single (57.8%); 33.5% are legally married.

Only 2.5% of visible minority Francophones live in common law relationships.

In Francophone Ontario, the strongest visible minority is the Black (37.6%) minority group, followed by the Arab (16.4%), Chinese (13.5%) and South Asian (11.2%) groups.

Visible minority Francophones represent 67.8% of the immigrant population. The greatest proportions come from Asia (41.9%), Africa (35.3%) and the Caribbean and Bermuda (12.3%).

The majority (56.4%) of visible minority Francophone immigrants obtained their landed immigrant status between 1991 and 2001.

Among visible minority Francophones, 11,023 (or 36.4%) attend school, 74.8% do so on a full-time basis.

Visible minority Francophones have high levels of schooling. Indeed, 62.6% have attended college (18.5%) or university (44.1%). The latter percentage is considerably higher than that found in the Francophone population as a whole (22.8%).

At the provincial level, 21.8% of visible minority Francophones have undertaken studies in commerce, management and business administration, 13.5% in social sciences and related fields, 10.7% in engineering and applied sciences and 10.5% in humanities and related fields.

Visible minority Francophone women have chosen similar fields, with the exception of engineering and applied sciences. They are, however, more concentrated in commerce, management and business administration (26.3%), humanities and related fields (14.2%), social sciences and related fields (14.0%), health professions and related technologies (13.2%) and educational, recreational and counselling services (8.8%).

Labour force participation in the visible minority Francophone population is 67.0%, slightly higher than in the total Francophone population (65.0%).

The unemployment rate for visible minority Francophones is 11.9% and 13.2% for women. This percentage is double the 6.3% unemployment rate found in the total Francophone population. The rate in Eastern Ontario is 14.9% and it is 9.4% in Central Ontario.

Visible minority Francophones, like Francophones in general, work most often in manufacturing (13.1%), followed by retail trade (10.3%), health care and social assistance (9.2%), professional, scientific and technical services (8.6%), public administration (8.1%) and educational services (8.0%).

Visible minority Francophone women work primarily in health care and social assistance (13.7%), followed by retail trade (11.0%), educational services (9.7%), manufacturing (9.5%), public administration (9.1%) and finance and insurance (7.9%) .

The average employment income of visible minority Francophones is $29,537 compared with $35,792 for the total Francophone population. The average total income is $26,290 compared with $32,518 for the total Francophone population.

Francophone immigrant women’s average employment income is $22,526 and their average total income is $20,331. By way of comparison, the average employment income of Francophone women in Ontario is $28,562 and the average total income is $25,734.

The visible minority Francophone population aged 15 years and over has a proportion of 11.7% with no income compared with 4.5 % for the total Francophone population, or nearly three times that of the latter.

A proportion of 13.3% of visible minority Francophone women have no income compared to 6.0% of Francophone women in general.

Visible minority Francophones are also strongly concentrated in lower income groups. Thus, 11.0% have incomes under $2,000 compared with 5.9% for the general Francophone population.

We note that 56.8% of visible minority Francophones in Eastern Ontario have incomes of $19,999 and under compared with 50.8% in Central Ontario. In the $20,000 to $39,999 group, we find 27.1% in Central Ontario and 21.0% in Eastern Ontario. And in the $40,000 and over group, we find 22.2% in Central Ontario and $21.9 in Eastern Ontario.

Back to:

Francophones appartenant à une minorité visible

En 2001, 41 598 francophones de l’Ontario appartiennent à une minorité visible. Ils représentent 7,9 % de la population francophone totale de l’Ontario et 1,9 % de l’ensemble des personnes appartenant à une minorité visible au sein de la province.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible résident surtout dans les régions du Centre (55,6 %), de l’Est (38,4 %) et du Sud-Ouest (4,5 %). Seulement 1,4 % habitent la région du Nord-Est et 0,2 %, la région du Nord-Ouest.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible dans le Centre représentent 16,7 % de la population francophone totale suivi de 7,3 % dans l’Est, et de 6,1 % dans le Sud-Ouest, 6,1 %.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible sont surtout concentrés dans les grands centres urbains, soit dans les divisions d’Ottawa, de Toronto mais aussi dans le comté d’Essex.

La population francophone appartenant à une minorité visible est composée de 21 575 femmes (51,9 %) et de 20 023 hommes (48,1 %).

La population francophone appartenant à une minorité visible est jeune comparativement à la population francophone dans son ensemble. Ainsi, 27,1 % des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible sont âgées de 14 et moins, 27,7 %, ont entre 15 et 29 ans, 41,3 %, ont entre 30 et 64 ans et 3,8 % ont 65 ans et plus.

Près d’un francophone sur trois appartenant à une minorité visible dans la région de l’Est est âgé de 14 ans ou moins (31,7 %). Dans le Centre, 24,2 % des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible font partie de ce groupe d’âge.

La majorité des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible est célibataire (57,8 %) comparativement à 33,5 % qui sont légalement mariés.

Seulement 2,5 % des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible vivent en union libre.

En Ontario, la minorité visible francophone la plus forte en proportions vient du groupe Noir (37,6 %), suivi des groupes Arabe (16,4 %), Chinois (13,5 %) et Sud-Asiatique (11,2 %).

La population francophone appartenant à une minorité visible comprend 67,8 % d’immigrantes et immigrants. Les plus fortes proportions viennent de l’Asie (41,9 %), de l’Afrique (35,3 %) et des Caraïbes et Bermudes (12,3 %).

La majorité (56,4 %) des immigrantes et immigrants francophones appartenant à une minorité visible a obtenu son statut d’immigrant reçu entre 1991 et 2001.

Parmi les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible, 11 023 (ou 36,4 %) fréquentent l’école dont 74,8 % à plein temps.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible ont un niveau de scolarité élevé. En effet, 62,6 % ont effectué des études collégiales (18,5 %) ou universitaires (44,1 %). Ce dernier pourcentage est nettement plus élevé que dans l’ensemble de la population francophone (22,8 %).

Au niveau de la province, 21,8 % des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible ont étudié le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires, 13,5 % les sciences sociales et les disciples connexes, 10,7 % le génie et les sciences appliquées, 10,5 % les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes.

Les femmes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible ont étudié dans des domaines semblables à l’exception du génie et des sciences appliquées. Elles sont cependant plus concentrées dans le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires (26,3 %), les lettres, sciences humaines et disciplines connexes (14,2 %), les sciences sociales et disciplines connexes (14,0 %), la santé et les technologies connexes (13,2 %) et l’enseignement, les loisirs et l’orientation (8,8 %).

Le taux d’activité des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible est de 67,0 %, un taux légèrement plus élevé que celui de la population francophone totale (65,0 %).

Le taux de chômage des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible est de 11,9 % et de 13,2 % chez les femmes. Ce pourcentage représente le double du taux de chômage au sein de la population francophone totale qui est de 6,3 %. Leur taux de chômage dans la région de l’Est est de 14,9 % et de 9,4 % dans le Centre.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible travaillent, à l’instar des francophones en général, surtout dans la fabrication (13,1 %) suivi du commerce de détail (10,3 %), et des soins de santé et d’assistance sociale (9,2 %), les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (8,6 %), les administrations publiques (8,1 %) et l’enseignement (8,0 %).

Les femmes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible travaillent surtout dans les soins de santé et l’assistance sociale (13,7 %), suivi du commerce de détail (11,0 %), de l’enseignement (9,7 %), de la fabrication (9,5 %), des administrations publiques (9,1 %) et des finances et assurances (7,9 %).

Le revenu d’emploi moyen de la population francophone appartenant à une minorité visible est de 29 537 $ comparativement à 35 792 $ pour la population francophone totale. Le revenu total moyen est quant à lui de 26 290 $ comparativement à 32 518 $ au sein de la population francophone totale.

Les femmes immigrantes francophones ont, quant à elles, un revenu d’emploi moyen de 22 526 $ et un revenu total moyen de 20 331 $. Par comparaison, le revenu d’emploi moyen des femmes francophones de l’Ontario est de 28 562 $ et le revenu total moyen de 25 734 $.

La population francophone appartenant à une minorité visible âgée de 15 ans et plus comprend 11,7 % de personnes sans revenu comparativement à 4,5 % dans la population francophone totale, soit près de trois fois plus que cette dernière.

Les femmes francophones appartenant à une minorité visible sont 13,3 % à ne pas avoir de revenu comparativement à 6,0 % pour les femmes francophones en général.

Les francophones appartenant à une minorité visible sont aussi fortement concentrés dans les catégories de revenu les plus faibles. Ainsi, 11,0 % ont un revenu de moins de 2 000 $ comparativement à 5,9 % au sein de la population francophone en général.

Nous constatons que 56,8 % des francophones appartenant à une minorité visible dans la région de l’Est ont un revenu de 19 999 $ et moins comparativement à 50,8 % dans le Centre. Ils sont 27,1 % à avoir un revenu entre 20 000 $ et 39 999 $ dans le Centre comparativement à 21,0 % dans l’Est. Ils sont aussi 22,2 % à gagner un revenu de 40 000 $ et plus dans le Centre et 21,9 % dans l’Est.

Source : Linda Cardinal, Nathalie Plante et Anik Sauvé, Les francophones de l’Ontario appartenant à une minorité visible : un profil statistique, Ottawa, ministère du Procureur général, octobre 2006, 38 p.

Données spécifiques selon les groupes

Voir aussi