Francophone Immigrants

In 2001, there were 61,023 Francophone immigrants in Ontario or 2.0% of the total immigrant population in the province.

The Francophone immigrant population represents 11.6% of Ontario’s Francophone population.

Francophone immigrants live primarily in Central Ontario (63.3%), followed by Eastern (29.1%) and Southwestern (5.8%) Ontario.

Women are more numerous than men in the immigrant population, as in the Francophone population as a whole.

Those aged from 30 to 64 years make up 57.3% of the Francophone immigrant population, and those 65 years and over, 13.6%.

A majority of Francophone immigrants are legally married (52.4%); 34.0% are single.

Almost half (28,177 persons or 46.2%) of the Francophone immigrant population belongs to a visible minority. These persons live primarily in Central (59.0%) and Eastern (35.4%) Ontario.

Visible minority Francophone immigrants are primarily members of the Black minority (33.1%), followed by the Arab (18.3%) and Chinese (14.1%) minorities.

Over 40.0% of Francophone immigrants in Ontario are from Europe compared with 23.5% from Asia and 22.8% from Africa.

Of the 14,559 Francophone immigrants who obtained landed immigrant status between 1996 and 2001, 36.2% are from Europe, 32.7% from Africa and 23.5% from Asia.

Of the 34,721 Francophone immigrants who moved between 1996 and 2001, 11,225 (or 32.3%) came from outside the country.

Of Francophone immigrants aged 15 and over, 12,873 (or 23.3%) attend school, 67.7% full-time. The majority live in either Toronto Division (37.9%) or Ottawa Division (29.9%).

Most Francophone immigrants aged 15 and over have a high level of schooling. Indeed, 63.8% have attended college or university compared to 43.7% of the total Francophone population.

Immigrant women, despite generally having a higher level of schooling than the total Francophone population, show proportions somewhat lower than their male counterparts.

A proportion of 25.2% of Francophone immigrant women have a level of schooling between Grade 9 and Grade 13, 5.3% have a trade certificate or diploma, 19.1% have attended college and 42.8% have attended university.

A proportion of 67.8% of immigrant women have a certificate, diploma or degree compared to 53.1% of the general population of Francophone women.

The major field of study reported by the Francophone immigrant population aged 15 years and over in Ontario is management and business administration (19.3%) as it is in the general Francophone population. Other fields of study found in the Francophone immigrant population differ from the general population. Thus, the second most important field is humanities and related fields (12.7%) and the third is engineering and applied sciences (12.5%). The fields of social sciences and related fields (11.0%) and applied science technologies and trades (10.8%) follow.

The Francophone immigrant population makes up 26.8% of the Francophone population with educational qualifications in humanities and related fields. It also comprises 46.7% of the Francophone population holding qualifications in engineering and applied sciences.

Immigrant women also choose to study primarily in the field of commerce, management and business administration (22.7%). They are overrepresented in this field, making up 57.6% of Francophone immigrants with these educational qualifications. They next choose humanities and related fields (18.1%) where they are also over-represented (69.9%). The third major field of study chosen by immigrant women is that of social sciences and related fields (12.3%), followed by educational, recreational and counselling services (11.2%) where they make up 70.2% of Francophone immigrants with these educational qualifications, and finally health professions and related technologies (11.0%) where they are also over-represented (63.6%).

A proportion of 65.9% of Francophone immigrants aged 15 years and over is active in the labour force. This proportion is 68.0% in Eastern Ontario and 66.4% in Central Ontario.

Francophone immigrant women are less active (60.0%) than the Francophone population as a whole. They also show a higher rate of unemployment (10.2%) than the total Francophone immigrant population.

The Francophone immigrant population works in manufacturing (13.0%), professional, scientific and technical services (11.2%), educational services (10.2%), retail trade (9.0%), health care and social assistance (8.0%) and public administration (7.2%).

Immigrant women work in educational services (13.0%), health care and social assistance (12.0%), retail trade (10.6%), professional, scientific and technical services (9.1%), manufacturing (8.5%) and public administration (8.3%).

Francophone immigrant women are distinguished from Francophone women in general by their greater presence in the professional, scientific and technical services sector and by a smaller presence in public administration.

The average employment income in the Francophone immigrant population is $37,859 compared to $35,792 in the Francophone population as a whole. The average total income is $33,888 compared to $32,518 in the Francophone population as a whole.

Francophone immigrant women have an average employment income of $28,980 and an average total income of $25,677. By comparison, the average employment income of Francophone women in Ontario is $28,562 with an average total income of $25,734.

There are significant income gaps within the Francophone immigrant population.

Close to 45% of the Francophone immigrants have incomes of $19,999 and under (44.6%) compared to 41.7% of Francophones in general.

Back to:

Personnes immigrantes francophones

En 2001, la province de l’Ontario comprend 61 023 immigrantes et immigrants francophones soit 2,0 % de la population immigrante totale de la province.

La population immigrante francophone représente 11,6 % de la population francophone de l’Ontario.

Les immigrantes et les immigrants francophones résident surtout dans la région du Centre (63,3 %), suivi de l’Est (29,1 %) et du Sud-Ouest (5,8 %).

Les femmes immigrantes sont plus nombreuses que les hommes immigrants à l’instar des femmes au sein de la population francophone dans son ensemble.

Les personnes âgées de 30 à 64 ans représentent 57,3 % de la population immigrante francophone, et les 65 ans et plus, 13,6 %.

La population immigrante francophone comprend une majorité de personnes légalement mariées (52,4 %) et 34,0 % de célibataires.

Presque la moitié (28 177 personnes ou 46,2 %) de la population immigrante francophone appartient à une minorité visible. Ces personnes résident surtout dans la région du Centre (59,0 %) et dans la région de l’Est (35,4 %).

Les immigrants francophones appartenant à une minorité visible sont principalement du groupe Noir (33,1 %), suivi des groupes Arabe (18,3 %) et Chinois (14,1 %).

Plus de 40,0 % des immigrants et des immigrantes francophones de l’Ontario sont originaires de l’Europe comparativement à 23,5 % de l’Asie et 22,8 % de l’Afrique.

Sur un nombre de 14 559 personnes immigrantes francophones ayant obtenu le statut d’immigrant reçu entre 1996 et 2001, 36,2 % sont originaires de l’Europe, 32,7 % de l’Afrique et 23,5 % de l’Asie.

Des 34 721 immigrantes et immigrants francophones ontariens qui ont déménagé entre 1996 et 2001, 11 225 (ou 32,3 %) sont venus de l’étranger.

Parmi les personnes immigrantes francophones âgées de 15 ans et plus, 12 873 (ou 23,3 %) fréquentent l’école dont 67,7 % à plein temps. La plupart d’entre elles résident dans la division de Toronto (37,9 %) ou dans la division d’Ottawa (29,9 %).

La plupart des immigrantes et des immigrants francophones âgés de 15 ans et plus ont un niveau de scolarité élevé. En effet, 63,8 % ont fait des études collégiales ou universitaires comparativement à 43,7 % au sein de la population francophone dans son ensemble.

Les femmes immigrantes, bien qu’ayant en général un niveau de scolarité supérieur à la population francophone totale, montrent des proportions quelque peu inférieures par rapport à leur contrepartie masculine.

Les femmes immigrantes francophones sont 25,2 % à avoir un niveau de scolarité entre la 9e et la 13e année, 5,3 % à avoir un certificat ou diplôme d’une école de métiers, 19,1 % à avoir fait des études collégiales et 42,8 % à avoir fait des études universitaires.

Les femmes immigrantes sont 67,8 % à avoir un certificat, un diplôme ou un grade comparativement à 53,1 % pour les femmes francophones de façon générale.

Le principal domaine d’études rapporté par la population immigrante francophone âgée de 15 ans et plus en Ontario est, à l’instar de la population francophone en général, le commerce, la gestion et l’administration des affaires (19,3 %). Les autres domaines d’études de la population immigrante francophone diffèrent de la population générale. Ainsi, le second domaine en importance est les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes (12,7 %) et le troisième est le génie et les sciences appliquées (12,5 %). Viennent ensuite les domaines des sciences sociales et disciplines connexes (11,0 %) et les techniques et métiers des sciences appliquées (10,8 %).

La population immigrante francophone forme 26,8 % de la population francophone à avoir un titre scolaire en lettres, sciences humaines et disciplines connexes. Elle comprend aussi 46,7 % de ceux qui détiennent des titres en génie et sciences appliquées.

Les femmes immigrantes ont aussi étudié principalement dans le domaine du commerce, de la gestion et de l’administration des affaires (22,7 %). Elles sont surreprésentées dans ce domaine où elles représentent 57,6 % des immigrants francophones détenteurs de titres scolaires. Elles ont étudié les lettres, les sciences humaines et les disciplines connexes (18,1 %) où elles sont aussi surreprésentées (69,9 %). Le troisième domaine d’études regroupant les femmes immigrantes est celui des sciences sociales et des disciplines connexes (12,3 %), suivi de l’enseignement, des loisirs et de l’orientation (11,2 %) où elles représentent 70,2 % des immigrants francophones détenteurs de titres scolaires, et la santé et les technologies connexes (11,0 %) où elles sont aussi surreprésentées (63,6 %).

Il y a 65,9 % de la population immigrante francophone âgée de 15 ans et plus qui fait partie de la population active. Cette proportion est de 68,0 % dans l’Est et de 66,4 % dans le Centre.

Les immigrantes francophones ont un taux d’activité moins important (60,0 %) que l’ensemble de la population immigrante francophone. Elles ont aussi un taux de chômage plus élevé (10,2 %) que l’ensemble de la population immigrante francophone.

La population immigrante francophone travaille dans les secteurs de la fabrication (13,0 %), des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (11,2 %) et des services d’enseignement (10,2 %), le commerce de détail (9,0 %), les soins de santé et l’assistance sociale (8,0 %) et les administrations publiques (7,2 %).

Les immigrantes francophones travaillent dans les secteurs de l’enseignement (13,0 %), les soins de santé et de l’assistance sociale (12,0 %), le commerce de détail (10,6 %), les services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques (9,1 %), la fabrication (8,5 %) et les administrations publiques (8,3 %).

Les immigrantes francophones se distinguent de l’ensemble des femmes francophones par une plus grande proportion à travailler dans le secteur des services professionnels, scientifiques et techniques et une présence beaucoup moins forte dans les administrations publiques.

Le revenu d’emploi moyen de la population immigrante francophone est de 37 859 $ comparativement à 35 792 $ pour la population francophone totale. Le revenu total moyen est quant à lui de 33 888 $ comparativement à 32 518 $ au sein de la population francophone totale.

Les femmes immigrantes francophones ont, quant à elles, un revenu d’emploi moyen de 28 980 $ et un revenu total moyen de 25 677 $. Par comparaison, le revenu d’emploi moyen des femmes francophones de l’Ontario est de 28 562 $ et le revenu total moyen de 25 734 $.

Il existe des écarts de revenus importants au sein de la population immigrante francophone.

Près de 45 % de la population immigrante francophone a un revenu de 19 999 $ et moins (44,6 %) comparativement à 41,7 % de la population francophone dans son ensemble.

Source : Linda Cardinal, Nathalie Plante et Anik Sauvé, La population immigrante francophone de l’Ontario : un profil statistique, Ottawa, ministère du Procureur général, octobre 2006, 41 p.

Données spécifiques selon les groupes

Voir aussi