Provincial Offences Act

What is the Provincial Offences Act?

The Provincial Offences Act is a provincial statute that sets out procedures for the prosecution of offences under other provincial statutes and regulations and municipal by-laws. Under a Memorandum of Understanding, municipalities are responsible for the administration of courts hearing Provincial Offences Act (POA) matters and the prosecution of certain POA cases on behalf of the Attorney General.

What are the rights to French language services for Provincial Offences Act matters?

The officially bilingual court system in Ontario, as prescribed by the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43, continues, including the provision of a prosecutor who speaks French and English when a bilingual trial is requested on a charge that is covered by the Transfer Agreement. In areas that are or become designated under the French Language Services Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. F.32, out-of-court services in French must be provided at the same levels as are provided by the Attorney General.

In other words, if a Francophone who committed a provincial offence demands a bilingual proceeding, the person that engages legal proceedings against this person has to speak French and English. The right to a bilingual trial is the same as the one in accordance with the Courts of Justice Act.

Back to:

Loi sur les infractions provinciales

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les infractions provinciales?

La Loi sur les infractions provinciales est une loi provinciale qui fixe la procédure applicable aux poursuites relatives aux infractions prévues par d’autres lois et règlements provinciaux et par les règlements municipaux. En vertu d’un protocole d’entente, les municipalités administrent les tribunaux qui entendent les affaires prévues par cette loi et poursuivent certaines de ces affaires au nom du procureur général.

Quels sont les droits à des services en français en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales ?

Le système de tribunaux officiellement bilingue de l’Ontario continue, comme le prescrit la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires, L.R.O. 1990, c. C.43, et prévoit, entre autres, que lorsqu’un procès bilingue est demandé pour une infraction concernée par l’accord de transfert, un poursuivant qui parle le français et l’anglais y soit affecté. Dans les zones qui sont désignées ou en cours de désignation en vertu de la Loi sur les services en français, L.R.O. 1990, c. F.32, des services hors cours en français équivalents à ceux offerts par le ministère du Procureur général doivent être fournis.

En d’autres mots, si un(e) francophone ayant commis une infraction provinciale a demandé une instance bilingue, la personne qui engage les poursuites judiciaires contre cette personne doit parler français et anglais. Le droit à un procès bilingue est le même qu’en vertu de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires.

Voir aussi