Ontario’s Plan for Justice Centres

Text: Larger | Smaller

As part of Ontario’s commitment to build safer communities, we will establish justice centres in various locations across the province to address the root causes of crime, break the cycle of offending, and tackle gun and gang violence.

Justice Centres

Justice centres move justice out of the traditional courtroom into a community setting. The centres bring together justice, health, and social services to address the root causes of crime, break the cycle of offending, and improve community safety.

Justice centres hold individuals accountable for their offences while connecting them to services (such as health, mental health, addictions, housing, and employment supports) that reduce the risk of re-offending. Central to the justice centre model is a commitment to better support victims and communities harmed by crime.

Justice centres have been established in over 70 different communities around the world. These centres have reduced crime rates, decreased gang participation and activity, supported frontline officers and service providers, and contributed to healthier and safer communities.

Background

Ontario’s plan for justice centres builds on past conversations with communities, including community needs assessments conducted in Toronto-downtown East, Kenora, and London in 2017 and 2018. You can read the community needs assessment reports to learn about what we heard during these consultations:

Locations

The government will establish justice centres in four communities: (1) Toronto-downtown East, (2) Toronto-Northwest, (3) Kenora, and (4) London.

Community Health Focus in Toronto-Downtown East

Our needs assessment demonstrated that communities in Toronto’s downtown east are hard at work breaking cycles of offending and victimization for Ontarians affected by homelessness, poverty, and mental health and addiction issues.

To help local justice, health, and social service partners, we are exploring approaches that seek to improve both urban community health and criminal justice outcomes. Our focus will be on breaking the cycle of offending by addressing both criminogenic factors and social determinants of health.

Gun Crime and Violence Reduction Focus in Toronto-Northwest

Neighbourhoods in Toronto’s Northwest are experiencing escalating gun crime and violence that often involve youth and young adults. We will be undertaking a crime response scan and community assessment as a first step towards establishing a justice centre in these communities. As part of this work, we will explore gun violence intervention and prevention strategies, as well as programs that provide employment, education, and skills training, so that at-risk youth have new alternatives to criminal activity and better opportunities to improve their social and economic futures.

Indigenous Justice Focus in Kenora

Our needs assessment demonstrated that Kenora’s criminal justice system has become a holding place for Indigenous people who often face challenges rooted in forced relocation, loss of culture, involvement in the child welfare system, systemic discrimination, racism, and sexual abuse. Each of these factors can inform how an Indigenous person may experience the justice system, particularly in the context of the Kenora region.

In response to these complex issues, we are exploring a bicultural justice approach with parallel criminal and Indigenous restorative justice processes. These two streams would increase Indigenous leadership in restorative justice practices, provide multi-disciplinary trauma-informed supports, and facilitate access to culturally-appropriate services run by local service providers, Indigenous organizations and First Nations leadership.

Youth-in-Transition Focus in London

Our needs assessment demonstrated that many young adults in London are falling through the cracks once they age out of child protection or teenage social and health services. Young adults aged 18-25 account for a disproportionate share of criminal charges and Mental Health Act apprehensions in London, and young adults in London are much more likely to not be in employment, education, or training when compared to young adults in other communities in Ontario.

In response, we are exploring approaches that address the relationship between the adult criminal justice system, the child protection system, and the youth justice system. Our focus will be on helping young people avoid and exit the adult criminal justice system through stronger collaboration with justice, health, education, child protection, and social service providers.

Implementing Justice Centres with Each Community

Each justice centre will be designed by and for the community it serves - with residents, police officers, justice partners, health and social service providers, community groups, victims organizations, businesses, and Indigenous leaders.

We will be taking a phased approach to designing, piloting, evaluating, and expanding each justice centre, and measuring the performance of each justice centre to ensure they are delivering results. This staged, evidence-informed approach will ensure we make smart investments that move Ontario closer to a more integrated and sustainable criminal justice system. Updates on phases and next steps for each community are forthcoming.

How to get involved

If you would like to receive general updates on Ontario’s plan for justice centres, including opportunities to participate in the design and implementation of justice centres, please contact us at justicecentres@ontario.ca.

If you would like to receive updates about opportunities to participate in the design and implementation of a particular Justice Centre, please contact us at:

Plan de l’Ontario pour les centres de justice

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

L’Ontario s’est engagé à bâtir des collectivités plus sûres, et c’est dans cette optique que nous allons établir à divers endroits dans la province des centres de justice qui s’attaqueront aux racines de la criminalité, viendront briser le cycle délictuel, et lutteront contre la violence armée et les bandes criminalisées.

Centres de justice

Les centres de justice permettent de faire passer la justice d’une salle d’audience traditionnelle à un cadre communautaire. Ils réunissent des services judiciaires, des services sociaux et des services de santé pour combattre le crime et ses causes profondes, briser le cycle délictuel, et renforcer la sécurité publique.

Si les centres de justice tiennent chaque contrevenant responsable de ses actions, ils lui proposent aussi des services qui l’aideront à ne pas récidiver (par exemple dans le domaine de la santé mentale ou physique, des dépendances, du logement et de l’emploi). L’engagement de mieux soutenir les victimes et les communautés touchées par le crime est au cœur du modèle de centres communautaires.

Des centres de justice ont été mis en place dans 70 collectivités à travers le monde, où ils ont réduit le taux de criminalité, réduit le recrutement et les activités des bandes criminalisées, soutenu les policiers de première ligne et les fournisseurs de services, et contribué à la santé et à la sécurité de la population.

Contexte

Le plan de l’Ontario pour les centres de justice se bâtit sur des consultations passées auprès de la population, et notamment des évaluations des besoins qui ont été menées à Kenora, à London et dans l’est du centre-ville de Toronto en 2017 et 2018. Consultez les rapports d’évaluation des besoins communautaires pour savoir ce qui s’est dit lors des consultations :

Emplacements

Le gouvernement établira des centres de justice à quatre endroits : (1) l’est du centre ville de Toronto, (2) le nord-ouest de Toronto, (3) Kenora et (4) London.

Est du centre-ville de Toronto : priorité à la santé communautaire

L’évaluation des besoins a fait ressortir les efforts considérables déployés par les communautés de l’Est du centre-ville de Toronto pour briser le cycle de la criminalité et de la victimisation chez les personnes démunies, itinérantes ou souffrant de problèmes de santé mentale ou de dépendance.

Pour aider les partenaires locaux de la justice, de la santé et des services sociaux, nous étudions des mécanismes visant à améliorer les résultats en matière de santé communautaire en milieu urbain et de justice criminelle. Notre objectif sera de briser le cycle de la délinquance en tenant compte à la fois des facteurs criminogènes et des facteurs sociaux déterminants pour la santé.

Nord-ouest de Toronto : priorité à la réduction de la violence et du crime armés

Les quartiers du nord-ouest de Toronto connaissent une recrudescence de la violence et du crime armés, qui impliquent souvent des adolescents et jeunes adultes. C’est pourquoi, comme première étape de l’établissement d’un centre de justice, nous procéderons à une analyse de la réponse au crime et à une évaluation de la collectivité en général. Dans le cadre de ce travail, nous examinerons des stratégies de prévention et d’intervention en matière de violence armée, et étudierons la possibilité d’offrir des programmes d’aide à l’emploi, d’études et de formation professionnelle aux jeunes pour les détourner des activités criminelles et leur permettre d’améliorer leurs perspectives sociales et économiques.

Kenora : priorité à la justice pour les autochtones

L’évaluation des besoins a mis en lumière le fait que le système de justice pénale de Kenora est devenu un passage presque inévitable pour les Autochtones qui sont souvent aux prises avec des difficultés causées par une relocalisation forcée, la perte de leur culture, l’intervention des services de protection de l’enfance, la discrimination systémique, le racisme et la violence sexuelle. Chacun de ces facteurs a un impact sur les contacts qu’une personne autochtone pourrait avoir avec le système de justice, dans la région de Kenora.

En réponse à ces problèmes complexes, nous proposons une approche biculturelle qui combinera les processus de justice pénale et ceux de justice réparatrice autochtone. Ces deux volets accordent une place centrale au leadership autochtone dans l’adoption de pratiques de justice traditionnelle et réparatrice; proposent des soutiens multidisciplinaires adaptés aux traumatismes; et facilitent l’accès à des services culturellement adaptés fournis par des fournisseurs de services locaux, des organisations autochtones et des dirigeants des Premières Nations.

London : priorité aux jeunes en transition

L’évaluation des besoins a montré que nombre de jeunes adultes à London sont laissés à eux-mêmes une fois qu’ils ont passé l’âge de la protection de l’enfance ou des services sociaux et de santé pour adolescents. Les 18 à 25 ans sont surreprésentés lorsqu’il s’agit d’accusations pénales et d’appréhensions en vertu de la Loi sur la santé mentale à London. De plus, London affiche le taux le plus élevé de jeunes adultes qui sont sans emploi et qui ne sont ni aux études ni en formation, comparativement aux jeunes adultes d’autres collectivités de l’Ontario.

C’est pourquoi nous étudions des mécanismes qui tiennent compte de la relation entre le système de protection de l’enfance, le système de justice pour les adolescents et le système de justice pénale pour adultes. L’objectif sera d’aider les jeunes à éviter le système de justice pénale pour adultes ou à en sortir grâce au renforcement de la collaboration entre les fournisseurs de services sociaux, de justice, de santé, d’éducation et de protection de l’enfance.

Établissement de chaque centre de justice dans son milieu

Chaque centre de justice sera conçu par et pour la communauté qu’il doit servir : y participeront les résidents, les policiers, les partenaires de la justice, les fournisseurs de services de santé et de services sociaux, les groupes communautaires, les organisations de victimes, les entreprises, et les dirigeants autochtones.

Nous adopterons une approche progressive pour concevoir, mettre à l’essai, évaluer et faire croître chaque centre de justice, et pour vérifier que ceux-ci produisent bien les résultats espérés. En procédant ainsi par phases et à la lumière de données probantes, nous nous assurerons de faire des investissements judicieux qui permettront à l’Ontario de se rapprocher de son objectif : intégrer et viabiliser son système de justice pénale. Des nouvelles suivront sur la teneur des phases et sur la suite des choses pour chaque centre de justice.

Comment participer

Si vous souhaitez recevoir des nouvelles sur le plan de l’Ontario pour les centres de justice, dont de l’information sur les occasions de prendre part à la conception et à la mise en place des centres de justice, écrivez-nous à justicecentres@ontario.ca.

Si vous souhaitez recevoir des mises à jour sur la possibilité de participer à la conception et à la mise en place d'un centre de justice en particulier, veuillez nous écrire à :