Glossary

Text: Larger | Smaller

This legal glossary is a basic guide to common legal terms. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you about your legal rights and responsibilities.

Different terms may have different meanings based on the specific area of law or the context in which they are being used. For legal terms not referred to in this glossary, or for more comprehensive definitions, you may wish to refer to a legal dictionary or to an internet resource.

Browse the glossary

To browse the glossary alphabetically, use the following links:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

Search the Glossary

Search the glossary for term/phrase:



Offence
A violation of the law.
Hybrid Offence
Term applied to a criminal offence which may be tried by summary conviction procedure or by indictment at the option of the prosecutor. A hybrid offence is an indictable offence until the Crown elects to proceed by way of summary conviction. The difference is in the process followed.
Indictable Offence
More serious criminal offences that carry longer maximum sentences and higher fines; these offences are also subject to more complex court procedures, including the right to a preliminary hearing before a trial in the Superior Court of Justice.
Quasi-Criminal Offence
A non-criminal offence that carries a penalty similar to that of a criminal offence, but that is subject to less complex court procedures than are criminal offences. For example traffic and workplace safety offences.
Regulatory Offence
A non-criminal offence that regulates conduct in the public interest, such as securities regulations. Regulatory offences are often dealt with at administrative tribunals and not in a court setting.
Summary Conviction Offence
These criminal offences carry lower maximum penalties and are subject to less complex court procedures. These matters are heard in the Ontario Court of Justice.

Glossaire

Ce glossaire constitue un outil de base pour la compréhension des termes juridiques courants. L’avocat est la personne la mieux qualifiée pour vous conseiller sur vos droits et responsabilités.

Un même terme peut avoir plusieurs sens selon le domaine du droit ou le contexte dans lequel il est employé. Si le terme recherché n’est pas dans ce glossaire, ou pour obtenir une définition plus complète, veuillez consulter un dictionnaire juridique ou une autre ressource Internet.

Consulter le glossaire

Pour consulter le glossaire par ordre alphabétique, utiliser le menu ci-dessous :

A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T V

Recherche le glossaire

Rechercher un terme ou une phrase dans le glossaire :



infraction
Violation de la loi.
infraction mixte
Infraction criminelle qui peut être poursuivie par voie de déclaration sommaire de culpabilité ou de mise en accusation, au choix du poursuivant, mais qui constitue un acte criminel jusqu’à ce que la Couronne choisisse de procéder par voie de déclaration sommaire de culpabilité. La différence réside dans le processus suivi.
acte criminel
Infraction criminelle plus grave qui est punissable d’un emprisonnement plus long ou d’une amende plus élevée et qui fait l’objet d’une procédure judiciaire plus complexe, y compris le droit à une enquête préliminaire avant un procès devant la Cour supérieure de justice.
infraction quasi criminelle
Infraction non criminelle, comme celles liées à la circulation ou à la sécurité au travail, qui est punissable d’une peine semblable à celles prévues pour les infractions criminelles, mais qui fait l’objet de procédures judiciaires plus simples.
infraction réglementaire
Infraction non criminelle aux règles de conduite qui protègent l’intérêt public, comme les règlements sur les valeurs mobilières. L’infraction réglementaire est souvent jugée par un tribunal administratif, par opposition à un tribunal judiciaire.
infraction punissable sur déclaration sommaire de culpabilité
Infraction criminelle qui est punissable d’une peine maximale moins élevée, qui fait l’objet de procédures judiciaires plus simples et qui est jugée à la Cour de justice de l’Ontario.