Glossary

Text: Larger | Smaller

This legal glossary is a basic guide to common legal terms. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you about your legal rights and responsibilities.

Different terms may have different meanings based on the specific area of law or the context in which they are being used. For legal terms not referred to in this glossary, or for more comprehensive definitions, you may wish to refer to a legal dictionary or to an internet resource.

Browse the glossary

To browse the glossary alphabetically, use the following links:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

Search the Glossary

Search the glossary for term/phrase:



Custody
  1. The care and control of a thing or a person. For example, in criminal matters, a person is taken into custody upon arrest or while awaiting trial.
  2. In family law cases, this describes the arrangement made for the care of children when parents separate or children are found in need of protection. Different types of child custody arrangements include:
    Joint Custody
    The children live primarily with one parent and the other parent spends regular time with the children. However, the parents jointly make decisions about the children.
    Shared Custody
    Where both parents are involved in decision-making about the children and share in their on-going care. According to the Child Support Guidelines, shared custody is where the children live at least 40% of the time with each parent.
    Sole Custody
    The children live with one parent, and that parent has the right and responsibility to make major decisions about the child's care, education, religious instruction and welfare. The other parent usually has access to the child.
    Split Custody
    When the parents have more than one child together and each parent has custody of one or more of those children.

Glossaire

Ce glossaire constitue un outil de base pour la compréhension des termes juridiques courants. L’avocat est la personne la mieux qualifiée pour vous conseiller sur vos droits et responsabilités.

Un même terme peut avoir plusieurs sens selon le domaine du droit ou le contexte dans lequel il est employé. Si le terme recherché n’est pas dans ce glossaire, ou pour obtenir une définition plus complète, veuillez consulter un dictionnaire juridique ou une autre ressource Internet.

Consulter le glossaire

Pour consulter le glossaire par ordre alphabétique, utiliser le menu ci-dessous :

A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T V

Recherche le glossaire

Rechercher un terme ou une phrase dans le glossaire :



garde
  1. Fait de prendre soin d’une chose ou d’une personne et de la surveiller. Par exemple, en droit criminel, on met une personne sous garde à son arrestation ou jusqu’à son procès.
  2. En droit de la famille, dispositions prises relativement au soin des enfants lorsqu’ils sont réputés avoir besoin de protection ou que les parents se séparent. Les types de garde d’enfant comprennent les suivants :
    garde conjointe
    Les enfants vivent principalement avec un des parents et l’autre passe régulièrement du temps avec eux, mais les deux parents prennent conjointement les décisions qui les concernent.
    garde partagée
    Les deux parents participent à la prise des décisions relatives aux enfants et en prennent soin. Selon les Lignes directrices sur les aliments pour les enfants, les enfants doivent vivre au moins 40 pour 100 du temps avec chacun des parents.
    garde exclusive
    Chacun des enfants vit avec un des parents, qui a le droit et l’obligation de prendre les décisions majeures relatives à ses soins, à son éducation, à son enseignement religieux et à son bien-être; l’autre parent a généralement un droit de visite.