Glossary

Text: Larger | Smaller

This legal glossary is a basic guide to common legal terms. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you about your legal rights and responsibilities.

Different terms may have different meanings based on the specific area of law or the context in which they are being used. For legal terms not referred to in this glossary, or for more comprehensive definitions, you may wish to refer to a legal dictionary or to an internet resource.

Browse the glossary

To browse the glossary alphabetically, use the following links:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y

Search the Glossary

Search the glossary for term/phrase:



Court
A place where justice is administered.
Supreme Court of Canada
The Supreme Court of Canada is Canada's final court of appeal. It hears appeals from provincial and territorial courts of appeal and from the Federal Court of Appeal.
Court of Appeal for Ontario
The highest court in the province. It hears appeals from lower Ontario courts. Decisions of the Court of Appeal may be further appealed on a question of law to the Supreme Court of Canada, if the Supreme Court agrees. In criminal matters, a person who is convicted of an indictable offence may also appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada as of right on any question of law on which a judge of the Court of Appeal dissents.
Superior Court of Justice
The Superior Court of Justice hears criminal prosecutions of indictable offences, summary conviction appeals, bail reviews, estates, civil suits (over $25,000), and, where the Family Court branch of the Superior Court of Justice does not exist, the court also hears family cases other than child protection, secure treatment, adoption cases and appeals of child protection cases.
Divisional Court
The Divisional Court is a branch of the Superior Court of Justice. The court hears appeals and reviews of decisions by government agencies, tribunals and boards, as well as some appeals.
Family Court
The Family Court is a branch of the Superior Court of Justice. It hears all family cases. Where the Family Court does not exist, jurisdiction over family matters is divided between the Superior Court of Justice and the Ontario Court of Justice.
Small Claims Court
The Small Claims Court is a branch of the Superior Court of Justice. The court hears civil actions for claims up to $25,000.
Ontario Court of Justice
This court hears criminal and Provincial Offences Act prosecutions, Provincial Offences Act appeals, and, in areas where the Family Court branch of the Superior Court of Justice does not exist, the court also hears family cases other than cases that contain claims for divorce or division of property.

Glossaire

Ce glossaire constitue un outil de base pour la compréhension des termes juridiques courants. L’avocat est la personne la mieux qualifiée pour vous conseiller sur vos droits et responsabilités.

Un même terme peut avoir plusieurs sens selon le domaine du droit ou le contexte dans lequel il est employé. Si le terme recherché n’est pas dans ce glossaire, ou pour obtenir une définition plus complète, veuillez consulter un dictionnaire juridique ou une autre ressource Internet.

Consulter le glossaire

Pour consulter le glossaire par ordre alphabétique, utiliser le menu ci-dessous :

A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T V

Recherche le glossaire

Rechercher un terme ou une phrase dans le glossaire :



cour
Lieu où on administre la justice.
Cour suprême du Canada
Tribunal de dernière instance du Canada qui entend les pourvois des cours d’appel provinciales et territoriales et de la Cour d’appel fédérale.
Cour d’appel de l’Ontario
Tribunal de plus haute instance de la province qui entend les appels des tribunaux inférieurs de l’Ontario. Sa décision peut faire l’objet d’un pourvoi fondé sur une question de droit devant la Cour suprême du Canada, si celle-ci y consent. En droit criminel, quiconque est déclaré coupable d’un acte criminel peut aussi se pourvoir de plein droit devant la Cour suprême du Canada relativement à toute question de droit au sujet de laquelle un juge de la Cour d’appel est dissident.
Cour supérieure de justice
Tribunal qui entend les poursuites relatives aux actes criminels, les appels en matière de déclaration sommaire de culpabilité, les révisions en matière de mise en liberté sous caution, les affaires successorales, les poursuites civiles de plus de 25 000 $ et, là où la Cour de la famille (une section de la Cour supérieure de justice) est absente, les causes en droit de la famille qui ne touchent pas la protection de l’enfance, le traitement en milieu fermé, l’adoption ni les appels relatifs à la protection de l’enfance.
Cour divisionnaire
Section de la Cour supérieure de justice qui entend les appels et les révisions relatives aux décisions des tribunaux, des commissions et des organismes gouvernementaux ainsi que certains autres appels.
Cour de la famille
Section de la Cour supérieure de justice qui entend toutes les causes en droit de la famille. Là où elle est absente, la compétence en matière de droit de la famille est attribuée à la Cour supérieure de justice et à la Cour de justice de l’Ontario. Synonyme : « Cour unifiée de la famille ».
Cour unifiée de la famille
Voir « Cour de la famille ».
Cour des petites créances
Section de la Cour supérieure de justice qui entend les actions civiles dans lesquelles on réclame jusqu’à 25 000 $.
Cour de justice de l’Ontario
Tribunal qui entend les poursuites criminelles, les poursuites intentées et les appels interjetés en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales et, dans certaines régions où la Cour de la famille (une section de la Cour supérieure de justice) est absente, les affaires en droit de la famille qui ne touchent pas les demandes de divorce ni le partage de biens.