Information for Court Orders or Agreements

Introduction

Orders and agreements can be made for a wide range of supervised access arrangements. These include:

  • use of Ministry funded access centres to supervise visits onsite and to supervise the exchange of children between parents;
  • use of third parties, including family members, friends, or clergy, to supervise visits in the community or their homes and to transport children between parents;
  • use of private agencies and individuals to supervise visits in the community or their own location and to transport children between parents.

Supervision can only take place when a third party or agency has agreed to be directly involved in the visit or exchange. Exchanges or transfers directly by the parties in public places, including police station parking lots, are not supervised and do not provide the same level of oversight as exchanges that are overseen by an access supervisor

Regulation of Supervised Access Centres

Supervised access services in Ontario are not regulated or certified.  There are supervised access centres in each jurisdiction in Ontario that are funded by the Ministry of the Attorney General and that are therefore accountable to the Ministry. Other access providers are not accountable to any one governing body or regulatory framework.  Children Aid Societies may provide supervised access services for children in their care.

When Might Supervised Visits Occur?

Supervised access can be used to address a number of different situations, which may arise in custody and access disputes. These include cases where: there are concerns about the safety of the child and/or the custodial parent; the non-custodial parent has a drug or alcohol problem or a mental health condition; there has been a lengthy separation between the parent and the child; or there is a risk of abduction.

When Might Supervised Exchanges Occur?

When there is unresolved conflict between the parents, a neutral place to transfer the children from one parent to the other for visits can make access easier to arrange and reduce the tension for the child. Supervised exchanges may also be appropriate when it is necessary to determine if the parent who is visiting with the child is under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In other cases, there may be a concern about the safety of the custodial parent during the exchange.

The Legislative Framework for Supervised Access

The CLRA (Children’s Law Reform Act) subsections 34 (1) and 34 (2) provide the legislative framework for supervised access in custody and access matters.

Basic Considerations When Making an Order for Supervised Access

When making arrangements for supervised access, the following questions should be taken into consideration:

  1. What kind of access would be most beneficial for the child?
  2. Is supervised access in the child’s best interests?
  3. Does the suggested plan take into account the level of risk or the other factors that have made supervised access necessary?
  4. Does the proposed plan/supervisor provide for the safety and well being of the child and all other parties?
  5. To whom or how is the proposed supervisor accountable for carrying out the supervised access order?  If it is not a MAG funded centre or a registered professional who is a member of a college, who is the supervisor accountable to in carrying out their duties?
  6. How is the order to be enforced? Supervised access providers cannot enforce orders; they can only facilitate their implementation.
  7. What is the time frame or plan for reviewing whether there is a continuing need for supervised access?
  8. Will observation notes or reports be required for the court’s future review of the access arrangements?

Considerations When Using Supervised Access Centres Funded by the Ministry of the Attorney General

Supervised access centres funded by the Ministry of the Attorney General are provided by community-based organizations such as the YM-YWCA, children’s mental health centres or child and family services. Services take place in child friendly places such as daycare centres and community centres. There are toys and games available for all age groups. Some centres have special rooms for older children, kitchen facilities for meal preparation or fridges and microwaves or fully fenced outdoor play areas, which can only be entered from the building.

The parties never have contact with one another because they are required to arrive and depart at staggered intervals of about fifteen minutes. Most centres have separate parking areas and/or entrances for the parties. Staff checks bags and parcels coming into the centre before permitting them into the visit area.

While Access Centre staff are always within sight and hearing of the participants while they are at the Centre, the staff will not necessarily hear everything that is said during a visit.

Hours, Days Duration:

Except in special circumstances, court orders should set out the number of hours and the number of visits per week and whether the visits or exchanges are on the weekend or mid-week, but they should not specify actual days or times. This allows Access Centres to offer service during times and days that are immediately available and reduces the possibility of families being placed on a waiting list. In addition, centres have limited hours of operation and may not be open during the exact hours or days specified in an order.

A two-hour maximum for visits is generally recommended (although some Centres allow a maximum of 2.5 - 3 hours). Longer visits in the Centre are often difficult for children and adults due to the limited nature of the facilities.

Services:

Orders or agreements must specify whether it is the exchanges or the visits that are to be supervised. Centres provide on-site supervision for visits and exchanges in a group setting i.e. more than one family is on-site at the same time.  As a result:

  • Access Centre staff may not be able to provide service in cases where the access parent is an alleged or convicted sexual offender. The Ministry requires that all sexual offenders whether alleged or convicted be supervised on a one-on-one basis when no other families or children are on site. If a centre cannot provide these conditions then the centre cannot provide service to that family.
  • Access Centre staff do not provide counselling, mediation, parenting skills training or assessment, but they may have information about such services to provide to parents.
  • Access centres are managed locally. Each Centre will have its own best practices that depend on their staffing, geography and facilities.
  • Trained staff and volunteers monitor participants on site at all times during visits and exchanges, including when a parent takes children to use the washroom or during diapering..
  • Access Centre staff do not do drug or alcohol testing but will deny service if there is a suspicion of use immediately prior to or during the visit or exchange.
  • Access Centre staff may suspend or end service to a family if one of the parties does not comply with centre rules and/or the family’s agreement for service or if there is a safety concern that the staff feel cannot be addressed.
  • Access Centre staff record factual observations and can provide reports or copies of observation notes on request, but they do not make recommendations or give opinions.
  • Access Centre staff cannot assess the family situation or determine if families continue to require service. Therefore, final orders for supervised access are discouraged. 

Fees for Visits/Exchanges:

  • Centres charge fees for service on a sliding scale and will waive the fee if a party demonstrates financial hardship.
  • Centres will require half of the family fee from each party unless the order or agreement specifies otherwise.  Each party pays according to their ability.

Fees for Reports:

  • Reports of factual observations of the child/parent interaction at the access centre will be provided to both parties at the request of one of the parties or their lawyers at an additional cost. Legal Aid will reimburse the cost of reports for legally aided clients.
  • Unless specified in a court order or agreement, the access centre will charge the report fee to the requesting party but send it to both parties or their lawyers.
  • If the Office of the Children’s Lawyer (OCL) is involved in the case, the parties can provide a copy of the access notes/report to the OCL or the OCL can request a copy of the notes from the Access Centre staff.
  • Reports must be requested in advance and paid for prior to release.

Helpful Tips:

  • Access centre contact information is available in the Family Law Information Centre (FLIC)
  • See http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/family/supaccess.php  for listings.
  • Each party must contact the Centre to arrange for an intake interview and complete any necessary documents.  Some courts have found it useful to include in the order time frames within which the parties must contact the Access Centre.
  • Access Centre staff’s agreement is required for services to be provided.  Centre staff can only decide whether the case is appropriate for service after intake interviews have been completed with each party.
    • Services may be refused to a family if it is felt that service cannot be provided safely to all adult and child clients.
    • Services will be refused if there is an on-going investigation being conducted by the CAS or the police.

REVIEW MECHANISMS

Supervised Access Centre staff cannot advise families about whether or not they should continue supervised visits or exchanges. They also cannot advise whether a family should move from visits to exchanges or increase the duration of visits.  As a result, a family may remain at the Centre when supervision is no longer necessary, simply because they are not aware that they can ask the court to change the supervised access order.

As a result, it has been found to be helpful when:

  • Court orders contain a mechanism for reviewing the ongoing need for supervised access.
  • Temporary court orders specify the number of supervised visits or exchanges to occur in addition to a return date.
  • Final court orders specify that there is supervised access until such time as the parties agree to a change in the access arrangement or a court order has changed the existing arrangements.

OTHER ISSUES TO ADDRESS IN ORDERS

Addressing the following issues in a court order or agreement may reduce misunderstandings and the chance that a matter will have to return to court or require legal intervention.

Holidays:

Access arrangements should specify what happens on long weekends, school holidays, family vacations, and religious holidays.

Make –up visits and exchanges:

Unless specified in an order, any cancellation of supervised visits and exchanges by either party will be made up in accordance with the procedures and policies established by the Access Centre.

Child Car Restraints:

Supervised Access Centres require that anyone driving children to or from the Access Centre have proper child car seats. Many parents do not agree on who is responsible for providing the car seat/booster. Therefore, including this in an order can help avoid disputes.

Medication:

Responsibility for provision and administration of medication during supervised visits should be specified in the court order. In the absence of such instructions, the custodial parent will be expected to provide the required medication and usage instructions and the non-custodial parent will administer it. Centre staff and volunteers will not administer medications except in an emergency.

Photographs:

Are photographs of the child allowed to be taken and/or are they to be provided by the custodial parent? Many parents often disagree as to whether photographs can be taken at the Access Centre. The taking of photographs, if permitted, will be in accordance with any rules established by the supervised access provider. (Note: Video cameras, tape recorders, cell phones, pagers and other electronic devices are not allowed in the Access Centres.)

Gifts and Food:

Unless specified in the order, the provision of gifts and/or food by the non-custodial parties will be conducted in accordance with any rules established by the Access Centre.

Visitors:

Orders should specify who (if anyone), other than the named parties, is allowed to attend visits at the Access Centre, subject to the Centre’s agreement. The ability of Centres to accommodate visitors is based on sufficient notice, availability of space and visitors’ willingness to sign a service agreement requiring them to follow Access Centre rules and maintain confidentiality.

Who can Pick-up and Drop–off Child at the Centre:

Orders should specify who (if anyone), other than the named parties, is allowed to attend at the Access Centre to pick up or drop off the child.

Considerations When Using Non- Ministry Funded Supervisors

Other Paid Supervisors:

  • What services do they provide and where?
  • What is their experience and professional background, if any?
  • Training – Do they know the laws for reporting child abuse; the impact of domestic violence and conflict on children; the signs of sexual and child abuse; how to supervise visits/exchanges; basic child development?
  • Insurance and licence – Can they provide proof of valid professional and/or general liability insurance and vehicle licence and insurance if transporting the parties and/or children?
  • Safety plan – Do they know what to do if: someone does not return a child; someone becomes confrontational or violent; there is an abduction or attempted abduction; someone arrives intoxicated or under the influence of drugs?
  • Unbiased – Do they understand that they should not take sides with one party over the other, particularly in the presence of children? Are they dependent on any party for their financial well-being?
  • Police check – Can they provide proof of successful completion of a police records check, including sexual offender registry and child abuse registry or CPIC with vulnerable persons check?
  • Do they have all information regarding the reasons why a decision has been made that access must be supervised? Do they understand what is expected of them as a supervisor?
  • Will they have a written agreement signed by each party before service begins concerning the terms of the access, including times, dates, places and fees and expectations and responsibilities?
  • Do they understand that they are expected to maintain the family’s confidentiality except with written releases or as required by law?

Unpaid Supervisors (family and friends; clergy; community contacts)

  • Minimum suggested age – 21
  • Do they have any experience with children?
  • Will they have all information regarding the reason why a decision has been made that access must be supervised? Do they understand what is expected of them as a supervisor?
  • Safety plan – Do they know what to do if: someone does not return a child; someone becomes confrontational or violent; there is an abduction or attempted abduction; someone arrives intoxicated or under the influence of drugs?
  • Driver’s licence and car insurance – Do they have and can they provide proof of valid licence and car insurance if driving the child/children?
  • If they are transporting children do they have required car seats?
  • Unbiased – Do they understand that they should not take sides with one party over the other, particularly in the presence of the children? Are they dependent on any party for their financial well-being?
  • Do they understand the need for discretion and that they should not share information obtained in the course of their supervision (e.g. information about new partners or other personal information that the child might reveal)?
  • Do they understand that they have a duty to report if they suspect child abuse?
  • Is there any reason why they may not be an appropriate supervisor? For example, have they been subject to a supervised access order any time in the past five years? Have they had a peace bond or restraining order taken out against them in the past five years?
  • Police Check – Can they provide proof of successful completion of a police records check, including sexual offender registry and child abuse registry or CPIC with vulnerable persons check? Have they been convicted of a criminal offence related to their ability to supervise the parent and child in the past five years? e.g. Impaired driving, use of illegal substances, assault?

Renseignements sur les ordonnances du tribunal ou les accords

Introduction

Le tribunal peut rendre une ordonnance et les parties conclure un accord et choisir parmi diverses modalités de visites surveillées, notamment en ayant : 

  • recours aux centres de visites surveillées financés par le ministère pour assurer la surveillance des visites sur place et l’échange des enfants entre parents;
  • recours à des tiers (p. ex., membres de la famille, amis ou membres du clergé) pour assurer la surveillance des visites dans la communauté ou chez eux, et le transport des enfants entre les parents;
  • recours à des organismes privés et des particuliers pour assurer la surveillance des visites dans la communauté ou chez eux, et le transport des enfants entre les parents.

La surveillance ne peut être assurée que par des tiers et des organismes qui ont accepté de participer directement aux visites ou échanges. Les échanges ou transferts directs entre parties qui ont lieu dans des endroits publics, tels que l’aire de stationnement d’un poste de police, ne sont pas surveillés et n’offrent pas le même degré de sécurité que les échanges qui sont surveillés par un fournisseur de services de ce type.

Règlementation des centres de visites surveillées

En Ontario, les services de visites surveillées ne sont ni réglementés ni agréés. Il existe des centres de visites surveillées dans chaque compétence de la province, ils sont financés par le ministère du Procureur général à qui ils doivent rendre des comptes. Les autres fournisseurs de services de ce type n’ont de comptes à rendre à aucun organe directeur ou structure de réglementation. Les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance peuvent également assurer les visites surveillées des enfants confiés à leurs soins.

Quand recourir aux visites surveillées?

Pour régler diverses situations où la garde et le droit de visite sont contestés. Voici quelques exemples : la sécurité de l’enfant et/ou celle du parent qui a la garde est compromise; le parent qui n’a pas la garde a un problème de drogue ou d’alcool ou souffre d’un trouble mental; le parent et l’enfant ont été séparés pendant une longue période de temps; il y a un risque d’enlèvement.

Quand recourir aux échanges surveillés?

Lorsque les parents ont des rapports conflictuels. Le fait d’avoir un endroit neutre où déposer et venir chercher les enfants facilitera le déroulement des visites et réduira la tension pour les enfants. Les échanges surveillés sont aussi une bonne façon de déterminer si le parent qui rend visite à l’enfant est sous l’emprise de la drogue ou de l’alcool. Dans certains cas, surveiller l’échange peut être nécessaire pour assurer la sécurité du parent qui a la garde.

Cadre législatif des visites surveillées

Dans les affaires de garde et de droit de visite, les visites surveillées sont régies par les paragraphes 34 (1) et (2) de la Loi portant réforme du droit de l’enfance.

Facteurs de base à prendre en considération lorsqu’on rend une ordonnance de visites surveillées :

Lorsqu’on planifie des visites surveillées, il faut prendre en considération ce qui suit :

  1. Quel genre de visites conviendrait le mieux à l’enfant?
  2. Les visites surveillées sont-elles dans l’intérêt véritable de l’enfant?
  3. Le plan proposé tient-il compte du degré de risque ou des autres facteurs qui ont rendu les visites surveillées nécessaires?
  4. Le plan/le fournisseur de services proposé tient-il compte de la sécurité et du bien-être de l’enfant et de toutes les autres parties?
  5. À qui et comment le fournisseur de services proposé rend-il compte lorsqu’il exécute une ordonnance de visites surveillées? S’il ne s’agit pas d’un centre financé par le ministère du procureur général, ou d’un professionnel agréé membre d’un ordre, à qui le fournisseur rend-il compte de ses activités?
  6. Comment l’ordonnance est-elle exécutée? Les fournisseurs de services de visites surveillées ne peuvent exécuter les ordonnances, ils peuvent uniquement veiller à leur mise en oeuvre.
  7. A-t-on fixé une date ou élaboré un plan pour évaluer s’il est nécessaire de poursuivre les visites surveillées?
  8. Le tribunal aura-t-il besoin de notes d’observation ou de rapports pour évaluer les modalités de visite?

Facteurs à prendre en considération lorsqu’on a recours à un centre de visites surveillées financé par le ministère du procureur général

Les centres de visites surveillées financés par le ministère du Procureur général sont administrés par des organisations communautaires, comme le YM-YWCA, les centres de santé mentale pour enfants ou les services à l’enfance et à la famille. Ces services sont dispensés dans des endroits adaptés aux enfants, tels que garderies et centres communautaires. On y trouve des jouets et des jeux pour tous les groupes d’âge. Certains centres ont des salles spéciales pour les enfants plus âgés, une cuisine où préparer des repas, des réfrigérateurs et fours à micro-ondes, ou encore des aires de jeux en plein air entièrement clôturées auxquelles on ne peut accéder que par l’entrée du bâtiment.

Les parties ne se rencontrent jamais parce qu’elles doivent arriver et repartir selon un horaire échelonné d’environ quinze minutes. La plupart des centres ont des aires de stationnement et/ou des entrées distinctes. Le personnel vérifie le contenu des sacs et paquets avant de permettre l’accès au centre.

Les participants qui viennent au centre sont tout le temps à portée de vue et d’écoute du personnel, mais cela ne veut pas dire que le personnel entendra tout ce qui se dit au cours de la visite.

Heures, jours, durée :

Sauf circonstances exceptionnelles, les ordonnances du tribunal doivent préciser le nombre d’heures et de visites autorisées par semaine, et indiquer si les visites ou échanges auront lieu en fin ou en milieu de semaine, mais elles ne doivent pas fixer de jours ni d’heures spécifiques. De cette façon, les centres de visites pourront offrir leurs services aux jours et heures immédiatement disponibles, et moins de familles devront être sur une liste d’attente. Par ailleurs, les centres ont des heures ouvrables limitées et ne sont pas toujours ouverts aux jours et heures spécifiques fixés dans l’ordonnance.

En règle générale, les visites ne doivent pas dépasser deux heures (bien que certains centres permettent jusqu’à 2,5 ou 3 heures). Les visites qui durent plus longtemps sont souvent difficiles à gérer pour les enfants comme pour les adultes, car l’espace est limité dans les centres.

Services :

Les ordonnances ou accords doivent préciser si ce sont les échanges ou les visites qui doivent être surveillés. Les centres assurent la surveillance des visites et échanges en groupe, c.-à-d., qu’ils surveillent plus d’une famille à la fois. Par conséquent :

  • Le personnel ne sera peut-être pas en mesure d’offrir ses services si le parent qui rend visite est présumé, ou a été reconnu, coupable d’un délit sexuel. En effet, le ministère exige que tous les délinquants sexuels, présumés ou reconnus coupables, soient surveillés individuellement et en l’absence d’autres familles ou enfants sur les lieux. Si un centre ne peut remplir ces conditions, il ne pourra offrir ses services à une famille dans cette situation.
  • Le personnel n’offre pas de services de counseling, de médiation, d’apprentissage des compétences familiales et parentales, ni d’évaluation. Il peut toutefois fournir aux parents des renseignements sur ces services.
  • Les centres de visites sont administrés localement. Chaque centre a ses propres pratiques exemplaires qui dépendent de divers facteurs : dotation en personnel, emplacement géographique et type de locaux.
  • Le personnel et des bénévoles expérimentés surveillent sans interruption les participants au programme pendant les visites et les échanges, même lorsqu’un parent emmène ses enfants aux toilettes ou change leurs couches.
  • Le personnel ne fait pas de dépistage de la consommation de drogue ou d’alcool, mais il refusera de servir toute personne qu’il soupçonne d’avoir consommé de la drogue ou de l’alcool immédiatement avant ou pendant la visite ou l’échange.
  • Le personnel peut cesser temporairement ou définitivement de servir une famille si l’une des parties ne se conforme pas aux règles du centre et/ou à l’accord de service conclu, et/ou s’il existe un problème de sécurité qu’il estime ne pouvoir résoudre.
  • Le personnel consigne ses observations factuelles et peut fournir des rapports ou copies de ses notes sur demande, mais ne fait pas de recommandations ni ne formule d’opinions.
  • Le personnel ne peut évaluer la situation des familles, ni déterminer si elles continuent d’avoir besoin de services. Il n’est donc pas recommandé de rendre des ordonnances définitives en matière de visites surveillées. 

Frais à acquitter pour les visites/échanges :

  • Les centres facturent des frais de service selon une échelle mobile, ces frais seront levés si une partie peut prouver qu’elle a des difficultés financières.
  • Les centres demanderont à chaque partie d’acquitter la moitié des frais, sauf indication contraire dans l’ordonnance ou l’accord. Chaque partie paie en fonction de ses moyens.

Frais à acquitter pour la production de rapports :

  • Si l’une des parties, ou son avocat, demande au centre de lui fournir un rapport sur les interactions entre l’enfant et le parent, ce rapport sera remis aux deux parties moyennent rémunération. Les personnes qui bénéficient de l’aide juridique seront remboursées de ces frais.
  • Sauf indication contraire dans l’ordonnance du tribunal ou l’accord, les centres de visites factureront les frais de production du rapport à la partie qui en a fait la demande, et remettront le rapport aux deux parties ou à leurs avocats.
  • Si le Bureau de l’avocat des enfants (BAE) est impliqué dans une affaire, les parties pourront lui remettre une copie des notes/du rapport sur les visites, ou le BAE pourra en demander une copie au personnel du centre concerné.
  • Les rapports doivent être demandés d’avance et acquittés avant d’être remis.

Conseils utiles :

  • On peut obtenir les coordonnées des centres de visites auprès du Centre d'information sur le droit de la famille (CIDF).
  • La liste des centres se trouve sur le site : http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/family/supaccess.php.
  • Chaque partie doit communiquer avec le centre pour organiser une entrevue d’accueil et remplir les documents nécessaires. Certains tribunaux ont trouvé utile de fixer dans leurs ordonnances le délai dans lequel les parties doivent communiquer avec le centre de visites.
  • Le personnel du centre de visites doit donner son accord avant de pouvoir offrir ses services. Le personnel ne pourra décider s’il est en mesure d’offrir ses services qu’après avoir procédé à l’entrevue d’accueil des deux parties.
    • Le personnel peut refuser d’offrir ses services à une famille s’il craint de ne pouvoir assurer la sécurité de tous les adultes et enfants.
    • Le personnel refusera ses services si la famille fait l’objet d’une enquête de la société d’aide à l’enfance ou la police.

Mécanismes d’examen

Le personnel des centres de visites surveillées ne peut conseiller aux familles de continuer ou non les visites ou échanges surveillés, ni leur dire qu’il est temps de passer des visites aux échanges, ou de prolonger la durée des visites. Certaines familles continuent de venir au centre bien qu’elles n’aient plus besoin de surveillance parce qu’elles ignorent qu’elles peuvent demander au tribunal de modifier l’ordonnance de visites surveillées.

Pour pallier ce genre de situations, on a trouvé utile que :

  • les ordonnances prévoient un mécanisme d’examen pour évaluer s’il est nécessaire de poursuivre les visites surveillées;
  • les ordonnances provisoires fixent le nombre de visites ou d’échanges surveillés, et la prochaine date de comparution des parties;
  • les ordonnances définitives précisent que les visites surveillées seront maintenues jusqu’à ce que les parties conviennent d’en modifier les modalités, ou jusqu’à ce qu’une ordonnance modifie les modalités actuelles.

Autres questions à régler dans les ordonnances

En réglant des questions suivantes dans l’ordonnance ou l’accord, on limitera les malentendus et les risques de nouvelle comparution ou d’intervention juridique.

Congés :

Les modalités de visite doivent être très claires sur les longues fins de semaine, les congés scolaires, les congés familiaux et religieux.

Rattrapage des visites et échanges manqués :

Sauf indication contraire dans l’ordonnance, les visites et échanges surveillés annulés par une partie devront être rattrapés conformément aux procédures et politiques du centre de visites.

Siège de sécurité pour enfants :

Les centres de visites surveillées exigent de toutes les personnes qui déposent ou viennent chercher un enfant qu’elles aient un siège de sécurité réglementaire dans leur véhicule. Souvent, les parents ne s’entendent pas sur celui des deux qui doit fournir le siège. On évitera les différends en clarifiant cette question dans l’ordonnance.

Médicaments :

L’ordonnance doit préciser qui fournira et administrera les médicaments pendant les visites surveillées. Si ces instructions ne figurent pas dans l’ordonnance, il reviendra au parent qui a la garde de fournir les médicaments et les instructions nécessaires pour leur administration, et au parent qui n’a pas la garde de les administrer. Le personnel du centre et les bénévoles n’administreront pas les médicaments sauf en cas d’urgence.

Photos :

Est-il permis de prendre des photos de l’enfant au centre de visites et/ou ces photos doivent-elles être fournies par le parent qui a la garde? Les parents sont souvent en désaccord sur cette question. La prise de photos, si elle autorisée, se fera selon les règles établies par le fournisseur de services. (Nota : l’usage de caméras vidéos, d’enregistreurs magnétiques, de cellulaires, de téléavertisseurs et autres appareils électroniques est interdit dans les centres de visites.)

Cadeaux et aliments :

Sauf indication contraire dans l’ordonnance, le parent qui n’a pas la garde offrira les cadeaux et/ou les aliments apportés pour l’enfant selon les règles établies par le centre de visites.

Visiteurs :

Les ordonnances doivent préciser (le cas échéant) qui, en dehors des parties nommées, peut participer aux visites surveillées, sous réserve de l’autorisation du centre. Les centres accueilleront les visiteurs à condition d’avoir été prévenus à temps et d’avoir l’espace nécessaire, ils demanderont aussi aux visiteurs de signer une entente de service dans laquelle ils s’engagent à respecter les règles du centre et les exigences de confidentialité.

Qui peut déposer et venir chercher l’enfant au centre :

Les ordonnances doivent préciser (le cas échéant) qui, en dehors des parties nommées, peut déposer ou venir chercher l’enfant au centre de visites.

Facteurs à prendre en compte lorsqu’on a recours à des services de surveillance non financés par le ministère

Autres fournisseurs services de surveillance rémunérés :

  • Quels services offrent-ils et où?
  • Quelle expérience ont-ils et quels sont leurs antécédents professionnels, le cas échéant?
  • Formation – Connaissent-ils les lois régissant le signalement des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants; les retombées de la violence et des conflits familiaux sur les enfants; savent-ils comment surveiller les visites/échanges; ont-ils des connaissances de base sur le développement des enfants?
  • Assurance et permis – Peuvent-ils fournir une preuve d’assurance professionnelle et/ou d’assurance responsabilité civile générale valides, ainsi qu’un permis de conduire et une assurance automobile valides s’ils assurent le transport des parties et/ou des enfants?
  • Plan de sécurité – Savent-ils quoi faire : si une partie ne ramène pas l’enfant; si quelqu’un se montre agressif ou violent; en cas d’enlèvement ou de tentative d’enlèvement; si une personne arrive ivre ou sous l’emprise de la drogue?
  • Impartialité – Savent-ils qu’ils ne doivent pas prendre parti pour l’un ou l’autre parent, surtout en présence des enfants? Dépendent-ils de l’une ou l’autre partie sur le plan financier?
  • Vérification policière – Peuvent-ils fournir la preuve qu’ils ont passé avec succès une vérification policière (registre des délinquants sexuels et registre de l’enfance maltraitée, ou registre des infractions contre des personnes vulnérables du CPIC)?
  • Ont-il tous les renseignements nécessaires sur les raisons ayant mené à la décision de faire surveiller les visites? Comprennent-ils ce qu’on attend d’eux sur le plan de la surveillance?
  • Obtiendront-ils l’accord signé de chaque partie sur les modalités de visite, notamment les heures, dates, lieux, frais, attentes et responsabilités, avant de fournir les services?
  • Comprennent-ils qu’ils doivent assurer la confidentialité des renseignements sur la famille, sauf s’ils ont une décharge écrite ou si la loi l’exige?

Fournisseurs de services de surveillance non rémunérés (famille et amis, membres du clergé, organismes communautaires)

  • Âge minimal suggéré – 21 ans.
  • Ont-ils une expérience quelconque des enfants?
  • Ont-il tous les renseignements nécessaires sur les raisons ayant mené à la décision de faire surveiller les visites? Comprennent-ils ce qu’on attend d’eux sur le plan de la surveillance?
  • Plan de sécurité – Savent-ils quoi faire : si une partie ne ramène pas l’enfant; si quelqu’un se montre agressif ou violent; en cas d’enlèvement ou de tentative d’enlèvement; si une personne arrive ivre ou sous l’emprise de la drogue?
  • Permis de conduire et assurance automobile – Ont-ils et peuvent-ils fournir la preuve qu’ils ont un permis de conduire et une assurance automobile valides pour conduire le ou les enfants?
  • S’ils assurent le transport des enfants, leur véhicule est-il équipé des sièges de sécurité règlementaires?
  • Impartialité – Savent-ils qu’ils ne doivent pas prendre parti pour l’un ou l’autre parent, surtout en présence des enfants? Dépendent-ils de l’une ou l’autre partie sur le plan financier?
  • Comprennent-ils qu’ils doivent être discrets et ne divulguer aucun renseignement obtenu au cours de la surveillance (p. ex., que le parent a un nouveau partenaire ou tout autre renseignement personnel que l’enfant a pu révéler)?
  • Comprennent-ils qu’ils sont tenus de signaler tout soupçon de mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants?
  • Y a-t-il une raison les empêchant d’assurer la surveillance? Par exemple, ont-ils eux-mêmes fait l’objet d’une ordonnance de visites surveillées au cours des cinq dernières années? A-t-on émis à leur endroit un engagement de ne pas troubler l’ordre public ou une ordonnance de non-communication au cours des cinq dernières années?
  • Vérification policière – Peuvent-ils fournir la preuve qu’ils ont passé avec succès une vérification policière (registre des délinquants sexuels et registre de l’enfance maltraitée, ou registre des infractions contre des personnes vulnérables du CPIC)? Ont-ils été reconnus coupables d’une infraction criminelle liée à leur aptitude à surveiller les visites entre parents et enfants au cours des cinq dernières années? (p. ex., conduite avec facultés affaiblies, consommation de substances illégales, agression.)