The Role of the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee

The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee (“OPGT”) delivers a unique and diverse range of services that safeguard the legal, personal and financial interests of certain private individuals and estates. It also plays an important role in helping to protect charitable property in Ontario. Operating within the Victims and Vulnerable Persons Division of the Ministry of the Attorney General, the OPGT has almost 400 staff located in six offices throughout Ontario. Services are provided by multi-disciplinary teams of dedicated staff with experience in the health care, social work and financial planning fields. They receive professional support from lawyers, accountants and investigators. A brief description of many of the services offered by the OPGT is set out below.

Protecting The Rights And Interests Of Mentally Incapable Adults

Conducting Investigations

The OPGT will conduct an investigation when it receives information that an individual may be incapable and at risk of suffering serious financial or personal harm and no alternative solution is available. An investigation may result in the OPGT asking the court for authority to make decisions on the person’s behalf on a temporary basis.

Managing Finances

The OPGT manages the financial affairs of incapable people who have no one else who is authorized to do so. In this role, which is called “guardian of property”, the OPGT makes all the financial decisions and conducts transactions that these individuals would otherwise handle themselves. This includes receiving and depositing income, making investments, maintaining and selling property, applying for benefits, filing tax returns, paying bills and acting in legal proceedings if required.

Making Decisions About Personal Care

Very occasionally the court will order the OPGT to make decisions of a personal nature for an incapable person in order to protect him or her from extreme physical risk. Such cases typically involve the OPGT being given custodial authority in order to remove the individual from a situation of harm or to prevent access by third parties who are abusing the person. In this role the OPGT will usually also be responsible for making decisions about health care, place of residence, nutrition, hygiene and clothing.

Appointing Private Guardians of Property

The OPGT is authorized to appoint a client’s relative to act in its place as statutory guardian of property. The proposed guardian must submit an application which includes a detailed plan to show that the incapable person’s finances will be handled appropriately. The proposed guardian may be required to post a surety bond.

Arranging Legal Representation in Capacity Proceedings

The OPGT locates lawyers to act for people who are the subject of a proceeding under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 if ordered to do so by the court.

Making Decisions About Treatment and About Admission to Long-Term Care

The OPGT is responsible for making decisions on behalf of incapable people where medical treatment is proposed and there are no other people, such as a relative, who are available, capable and willing to do so. The OPGT provides a similar service when admission to a long-term care facility is proposed and it is not possible to obtain informed consent from another authorized person, such as a relative.

Reviewing Accounts

The OPGT reviews accounts when they are submitted by private guardians of property and estate trustees to the court for approval. The OPGT then informs the guardian, estate trustee and the court of any issues or concerns which may need to be addressed.

Acting As Litigation Guardian or Legal Representative

The OPGT may be appointed by the court to make decisions on behalf of individuals who are involved in lawsuits but who lack sufficient capacity to properly instruct a lawyer or to make decisions about significant issues such as a potential settlement. The OPGT acts in this role – which is referred to as 'Litigation Guardian' - only in situations where there are no suitable alternatives.

The OPGT may be appointed by the court to make decisions on behalf of individuals who are involved in lawsuits but who lack sufficient capacity to properly instruct a lawyer or to make decisions about significant issues in the litigation, such as a potential settlement. The OPGT acts in this role – which is referred to as 'Litigation Guardian' – only in situations where there are no suitable alternatives.

Administering Estates

The OPGT protects the interests of potential heirs when an Ontario resident dies leaving an estate and there is no one who can administer it.

The OPGT will apply to be appointed estate trustee if:

  1. the deceased was an Ontario resident or owned real estate here; and
  2. the deceased did not make a Will or the deceased did make a Will but the executor has since died or become incapable; and
  3. there are no known next-of-kin living in Ontario or the next-of-kin are minors or mentally incapable adults; and
  4. the estate is valued at a minimum of $10,000.00 after payment of the funeral and all debts owing by the estate.

Operation Of The Accountant Of The Superior Court Of Justice

The OPGT operates the Accountant of the Superior Court of Justice. The Accountant holds trust funds for children under the age of majority and for parties to litigation in the Superior Court of Justice, Small Claims and Family Court, and also serves as a depository for all mortgages and securities paid into, or lodged with, the Superior Court of Justice.

Charitable Property

This program plays a role in helping to protect charitable assets. This includes reviewing applications by organizations who wish to be given charitable status to check that the activities of the organization are, in fact, those which the law defines are "charitable". The program also assists in resolving situations where gifts to charities are left in a Will but the charity is not named or no longer exists. The program investigates complaints about alleged mis-use of charitable property and is involved in court cases if necessary to represent the charitable interest.

Maintaining Trust Accounts For Cemeteries

Cemetery owners in Ontario may have the OPGT manage the trust funds which they are required by law to keep for the "perpetual care" and maintenance of the grounds and monuments. Cemetery owners receive the income earned on these trust funds, on an annual basis, to cover these costs.

Capacity Assessment Office

The Capacity Assessment Office (CAO) is responsible for the training of capacity assessors, for the maintenance of a roster of qualified capacity assessors, and for operating a financial assistance program to assist individuals who cannot afford to pay the full cost of an assessment. Capacity assessors are not employees of the CAO — they are independent professionals who are either doctors, nurses, psychologists, registered social workers, or occupational therapists who have received the training and been designated as capacity assessors. To obtain information on applications for financial assistance or rosters of qualified assessors, call 416-327-6766, TTY: 416-314-2687 or toll free at 1-866-521-1033.

Outreach And Education

Every year, the OPGT conducts numerous outreach sessions to provide public education on issues such as mental incapacity, guardianship processes and powers of attorney. The OPGT also has a wide variety of written material available on these and related topics (see below).

How To Contact The OPGT

To request an information session with OPGT staff, please contact the Area Manager in the OPGT regional office closest to you. Telephone numbers and addresses are listed below.

Toronto Regional Office
595 Bay Street, Suite 800, Toronto, ON M5G 2M6
Tel: 416-314-2800
Toll Free: 1-800-366-0335
Fax: 416-314-2619
TTY: 416-314-2687

Guardianship Investigations Unit – Tel: 416-327-6348
Treatment Decisions Unit – Tel: 416-314-2788

Hamilton Office
119 King Street West, 9th floor, Hamilton, ON L8P 4Y7
Tel: 905-546-8300
Toll Free: 1-800-891-0502
Fax: 905-546-8301

London Office
199 Dundas Street, 1st Floor, Suite 100, London, ON, N6A 1G4
Tel: 519-660-3140
Toll Free: 1-800-891-0504
Fax: 519-660-3148

Ottawa Office
351 Preston Street, Suite 200, Ottawa, ON K1S 2E6
Tel: 613-241-1202
Toll Free: 1-800-891-0506
Fax: 613-241-1567

Sudbury Office
Government Building, 199 Larch Street, Suite 602, Sudbury, ON P3E 5P9
Tel: 705-564-3185
Toll-Free: 1-800-891-0503
Fax: 705-564-3193

Thunder Bay Office
189 Red River Road, Suite 101, Thunder Bay, ON P7B 1A2
Tel: 1-800-891-0503
Fax: 807-343-7223

For More Information

For more detailed information about the programs offered by the OPGT please visit our website at: to view copies of our brochures and publications:

  • Power of Attorney Kit
  • A Guide to the Substitute Decisions Act
  • The Register of Guardians
  • Duty of the Public Guardian and Trustee to arrange legal representation
  • Duties and Powers of a Guardian of Property
  • When the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee becomes your Guardian of Property 
  • Estates Administration
  • Role of the OPGT in Guardianship Investigations
  • Role of the OPGT in Providing Property Guardianship Services
  • Becoming a Guardian of Property
  • Role of the OPGT in Making Substitute Health Care Decisions
  • Accountant of the Superior Court of Justice
  • Powers of Attorney - Questions and Answers
  • The Capacity Assessment Office - Questions and Answers
  • Charities Bulletins - Bulletins 1 to 8

You can obtain a copy of the Substitute Decisions Act online at

Information about how to apply to the Consent and Capacity Board can be obtained from the Board’s website at: or by calling the Ministry of Health Information Line at 416-314-5518 or 1-800-268-1154 Toll Free in Ontario.  TTY:  1-800-387-5559.

Please be advised that the OPGT cannot give individuals, professionals, facilities or organizations legal advice about specific cases or their own legal obligations. These questions should be directed to a lawyer. The Law Society Referral Service (LSRS) can put you in touch with a lawyer for a half-hour at no charge. Information about how to be referred to a lawyer through the LSRS is available at A request to the LSRS may be made by completing the online request form at A crisis line is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. The crisis line is intended for people who are unable to use the online service, such as those without access to the internet. The phone number for the crisis line is 416-947-5255 (toll free 1-855-947-5255).

Alternatively, you may contact JusticeNet which is a not-for-profit service promoting increased access to justice for low and moderate-income Canadians. The lawyers in the program offer their skills at a reduced fee to clients of limited means, based on a sliding scale that takes into account both income and number of individuals supported. They can be contacted at: Toll Free: 1-866-919-3219 or by e-mail at

History of the Office

For more than 500 years, English Common Law has given governments a special responsibility to protect the interests of mentally incapable adults, children and charities. This tradition has continued in Canada.

In 1919, the Attorney General of the day appointed Kenneth Waked Wright as Ontario's first Public Trustee. Mr. Wright was given responsibility for administering the estates of patients of psychiatric facilities, managing the estates of those who died without a will in Ontario and without known next of kin, and ensuring that charitable property was protected.

Throughout this century, the Public Trustee's responsibilities have evolved. Until the 1960s, most clients were patients of psychiatric facilities. In the last few decades, factors such as, de-institutionalization and an aging population have changed the nature and complexity of the types of decisions made by the Public Trustee.

On April 3, 1995, the laws on incapacity were updated to fill gaps and inconsistencies in the old legislation. Now known as the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee, the Office plays a more vital role than ever in representing and protecting the personal and property interests of incapable people.

The Public Guardian and Trustee is appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, and must be a lawyer who has been a member of the Ontario bar for at least ten years. The current Public Guardian Trustee is Kenneth R. Goodman. Mr. Goodman oversees the delivery of operations by the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee through its three-hundred staff in six local offices located throughout the province.

Le rôle du bureau du tuteur et curateur public

Le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public (« BTCP ») offre une gamme unique et variée de services visant à protéger les intérêts juridiques, personnels et financiers de certains particuliers et successions. Il joue aussi un rôle important dans la protection des œuvres de bienfaisance en Ontario. Le BTCP relève de la Division des services aux victimes et aux personnes vulnérables du ministère du Procureur général. Son effectif, qui compte presque 400 personnes, est réparti dans six bureaux, situés dans les quatre coins de l’Ontario. Les services sont offerts par des équipes multidisciplinaires composées d’employés dévoués et expérimentés dans les domaines des services de santé, du travail social et de la planification fiscale. Ces équipes peuvent compter sur l'aide de professionnels, comme des avocats, des comptables et des enquêteurs. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une brève description des nombreux services offerts par le BTCP.

Protection des droits et des intérêts des adultes mentalement incapables

Réalisation d’enquêtes

Le BTCP procédera à la réalisation d’une enquête lorsqu’il est informé qu’un particulier, susceptible d'être incapable, risque de subir un grave préjudice financier ou personnel et qu'il n'existe aucune autre solution. Après son enquête, le BTCP peut demander au tribunal le pouvoir de prendre temporairement des décisions au nom de cette personne.

Gestion des finances

Le BTCP gère les affaires financières des personnes incapables, en l'absence de toute autre personne ayant l'autorité requise. Lorsqu'il remplit ce rôle de « tuteur aux biens », le BTCP assume la responsabilité de toutes les décisions financières et réalise les opérations que ces particuliers géreraient normalement eux-mêmes. Ce rôle consiste notamment à encaisser les revenus, à déposer les recettes, à s’occuper des placements, à se charger de l'entretien et de la vente de biens immeubles, à entreprendre les démarches nécessaires pour obtenir les prestations auxquelles la personne a droit, à remplir les déclarations d'impôt, à régler les factures et à représenter la personne dans les poursuites judiciaires, le cas échéant.

Prise de décisions relatives aux soins de la personne

Il arrive parfois que le tribunal ordonne au BTCP de prendre des décisions de nature personnelle au nom d'une personne incapable afin de la protéger d'un préjudice physique extrême. Dans de tels cas, le tribunal place généralement la personne sous la garde du BTCP afin de l'éloigner des situations dangereuses ou d'empêcher son accès par des tiers qui la maltraitent. Lorsqu'il assume ce rôle, le BTCP prend aussi généralement les décisions relatives aux soins, au lieu de résidence, à la nutrition, à l'hygiène et à l'habillement.

Nomination d'un particulier comme tuteur aux biens

Le BTCP est autorisé à nommer un membre de la famille d’un client pour remplacer le bureau dans son rôle de tuteur légal aux biens. Le tuteur proposé doit présenter une demande, accompagnée d'un plan détaillé indiquant que les finances de la personne incapable seront administrées de façon appropriée. Le tuteur proposé peut être tenu de consigner un cautionnement.

Représentation légale dans les instances sur la capacité

Le BTCP se charge de trouver des avocats pour représenter les personnes faisant l’objet d’une instance en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui, si le tribunal le lui ordonne.

Décisions relatives au traitement et à l'admission en établissement de soins de longue durée

Le BTCP est responsable de prendre des décisions au nom des personnes incapables à qui on propose un traitement médical lorsque personne d'autre (un membre de la famille, par exemple) ne peut ou ne veut le faire pour elles. Le BTCP offre un service semblable lorsqu'on propose l'admission en établissement de soins de longue durée à une personne incapable, et qu'on ne peut obtenir le consentement informé d'une autre personne autorisée, par exemple un membre de la famille.

Examen des comptes

Le BTCP examine les comptes soumis à l'approbation du tribunal par des particuliers agissant comme tuteurs aux biens ou fiduciaires. Le BTCP avise ensuite le tuteur, le fiduciaire de la succession et le tribunal, des problèmes ou questions à régler.

Tuteur à l’instance ou représentant judiciaire

Le BTCP peut être nommé par le tribunal pour prendre des décisions au nom de personnes qui sont parties à des poursuites judiciaires, mais qui n'ont pas la capacité mentale suffisante pour donner des instructions claires à leur avocat ou avocate ou pour prendre des décisions sur des questions importantes au cours du litige, comme un règlement éventuel. Le BTCP n'assume ce rôle de « tuteur à l’instance » que s'il n'y a pas d’autre solution.

Le BTCP peut aussi être nommé « représentant judiciaire » d'une personne incapable dans les causes touchant au droit de la famille. Lorsqu'il remplit ce rôle, le BTCP ne prend pas de décisions pour la personne incapable, mais agit comme son porte-parole et s'assure que les droits que reconnaît la loi à cette personne sont protégés et que le tribunal est informé de ses désirs.

Administration des successions

Le BTCP protège les intérêts des héritiers potentiels lorsqu'un résidant ou une résidante de l’Ontario décède en laissant une succession et qu’il n’y a personne pour l’administrer.

Le BTC demandera à être nommé fiduciaire de la succession si :

  1. la personne décédée résidait en Ontario ou était propriétaire de biens immeubles en Ontario;
  2. la personne décédée n’a pas laissé de testament ou la personne décédée a laissé un testament mais son exécuteur ou exécutrice testamentaire est décédé(e) depuis ou est devenu(e) incapable;
  3. il ne se trouve aucun plus proche parent en Ontario ou les plus proches parents sont des mineurs ou des adultes mentalement incapables;
  4. la succession est estimée à au moins 10 000 $, une fois acquittés les frais d'obsèques et toutes les créances payables par la succession.

Comptable de la Cour supérieure de justice

Le BTCP gère le programme du comptable de la Cour supérieure de justice. Le comptable est le dépositaire des fonds en fiducie des mineurs et des fonds des parties à une instance devant la Cour supérieure de justice, la Cour des petites créances et la Cour de la famille, de même que de toutes les hypothèques et valeurs mobilières consignées, ou déposées, à la Cour supérieure de justice.

Biens aux fins de bienfaisance

Ce programme aide à protéger les biens destinés à des fins de bienfaisance. Il comprend l’examen des demandes présentées par des organismes qui souhaitent obtenir le statut d’œuvre de bienfaisance, afin de s'assurer que leurs activités correspondent effectivement à la définition qu'en donne la loi. Ce programme s'occupe aussi de régler les situations où des biens sont légués par testament à des œuvres de bienfaisance, mais qu'aucune œuvre n'est nommée ou que l'œuvre nommée n'existe plus. Le programme peut enquêter sur les plaintes visant un présumé usage abusif des biens aux fins de bienfaisance et participe à des affaires judiciaires, lorsqu'il est nécessaire de représenter une œuvre de bienfaisance.

Administration des fonds en fidcuie des cimetières

Les propriétaires de cimetières de l'Ontario peuvent faire appel au BTCP pour administrer les fonds en fiducie qu'ils sont tenus, aux termes de la loi, de conserver pour « l'entretien perpétuel » des terrains et des monuments. Les propriétaires de cimetières reçoivent le revenu gagné sur ces fonds de fiducie, chaque année, pour couvrir ces frais.

Bureau d'évaluation de la capacité

Le Bureau d’évaluation de la capacité (BEC) est responsable de la formation des évaluateurs de la capacité, de la tenue d'un registre d'évaluateurs de la capacité qualifiés, et de l’exploitation d'un programme d'aide financière à l'intention des personnes qui n'ont pas les moyens d'assumer le coût intégral d'une évaluation. Les évaluateurs de la capacité ne sont pas employés par le BEC, mais sont des praticiens indépendants qui sont des médecins, des infirmiers, des psychologues, des travailleurs sociaux inscrits ou des ergothérapeutes ayant reçu la formation nécessaire et ayant été nommés comme évaluateurs de la capacité. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements concernant le régime d’aide financière et la liste d’évaluateurs de la capacité, il suffit de composer le 416-327-6766, ATS : 416-314-2687 ou, pour la ligne sans frais, le 1-866-521-1033.

Information et sensibilisation

Chaque année, le BTCP organise de nombreuses séances d’information afin de sensibiliser le public aux questions portant sur l'incapacité mentale, les processus de tutelle, et les procurations. De plus le BTCP publie un vaste éventail de brochures traitant de ces sujets et de sujets apparentés (voir ci-dessous).

Comment communiquer avec le BTCP

Si vous désirez assister à une séance d’information avec le personnel du BTCP, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du BTCP le plus proche de chez vous. Vous trouverez ci-dessous les numéros de téléphone et adresses des bureaux régionaux.

Bureau régional de Toronto
595, rue Bay, bureau 800, Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M6
Tél. : 416-314-2800
Sans frais : 1-800-366-0335
Téléc. : 416-314-2619
ATS : 416-314-2687

Unité des enquêtes relatives à la tutelle — Tél. : 416-327-6348
Unité des décisions relatives au traitement — Tél. : 416-314-2788

Bureau de Hamilton
119, rue King Ouest, 9e étage, Hamilton, Ontario L8P 4Y7
Tél. : 905-546-8300
Sans frais : 1-800-891-0502
Téléc. : 905-546-8301

Bureau de London
199, rue Dundas, 1er étage, bureau 100, London, Ontario N6A 1G4
Tél. : 519-660-3140
Sans frais : 1-800-891-0504
Téléc. : 519-660-3148

Bureau d’Ottawa
351, rue Preston, Bureau 200, Ottawa, Ontario K1S 2E6
Tél. : 613-241-1202
Sans frais : 1-800-891-0506
Téléc. : 613-241-1567

Bureau de Sudbury
Édifice du gouvernement, 199, rue Larch, bureau 602, Sudbury, Ontario P3E 5P9
Tél. : 705-564-3185
Sans frais : 1-800-564-0503
Téléc. : 705-564-3193

Bureau de Thunder Bay
189, rue Red River, Bureau 101, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7B 1A2
Tél. : 1-800-891-0503
Téléc. : 807-343-7223

Complément d’information

Pour obtenir un complément d’information sur les programmes offerts par le BTCP, visitez notre site Web à: http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/family/pgt/

Vous y trouverez nos brochures et publications :

  • Trousse de procurations
  • Guide de la Loi sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui
  • Le Registre des tuteurs
  • Obligation du Tuteur et curateur public d'organiser la représentation en justice
  • Pouvoirs et responsabilités liés à la tutelle aux biens
  • Lorsque le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public devient votre tuteur aux biens
  • Administration des successions
  • Le rôle du Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public dans les enquêtes relatives à la
  • tutelle
  • Le rôle du Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public dans la prestation de services de
  • tutelle relative aux biens
  • Nomination des tuteurs aux biens
  • Le rôle du Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public dans la prise de décisions au nom
  • d'autrui en matière de soins de santé
  • Le comptable de la Cour supérieure de justice
  • Procurations – Quelques questions et réponses
  • Le Bureau de l’évaluation de la capacité : Questions et réponses
  • Programme des biens aux fins de bienfaisance – Bulletins no 1 à 8

Vous pouvez obtenir un exemplaire en ligne de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui sur le site Web suivant : www.ontario.ca/fr/lois

Pour savoir comment présenter une demande à la Commission du consentement et de la capacité, veuillez visiter le site Web de la commission à www.ccboard.on.ca ou appeler la Ligne INFO du ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée au 416-314-5518 ou 1-800-268-1154 (sans frais en Ontario). ATS : 1-800-387-5559.

Veuillez noter que le BTCP ne peut pas fournir aux particuliers, aux professionnels, aux établissements, ni aux organismes, des conseils juridiques sur des cas particuliers ou sur leurs propres obligations légales. Il faut s’adresser à des avocats pour ce genre de questions. Le Service de référence du Barreau (SRB) peut vous mettre en contact avec un(e) avocat(e) pour une consultation téléphonique gratuite d’une demi-heure. Vous pouvez obtenir de l'information sur la façon d'être mis en contact avec un(e) avocat(e) par l'intermédiaire du SRB, consultez son site à l'adresse www.lsrs.info. Il est possible de présenter une demande auSRB en remplissant le formulaire se trouvant à l'adresse www.lawsocietyreferralservice.ca. Vous pouvez communiquer avec la ligne téléphonique d'urgence du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 17 h. La ligne d'urgence est destinée aux personnes qui ne sont pas en mesure d'utiliser le service en ligne, comme celles qui n'ont pas accès à Internet. Le numéro de téléphone de la ligne d'urgence est le 416-947-5255 (sans frais : 1-855-947-5255).

Vous pouvez également communiquer avec JusticeNet, service sans but lucratif, qui facilite l’accès aux services juridiques pour les Canadiens à faible revenu ou à revenu moyen. Les avocats du programme offrent leurs services à frais réduits pour les clients dont les ressources sont limitées. Ces frais sont calculés selon une échelle qui tient compte du revenu et du nombre de personnes à charge. Pour rejoindre le personnel de ce programme, veuillez téléphoner sans frais au 1-866-919-3219 ou envoyer un courriel à www.justicenet.ca.

Historique du Bureau

Pendant plus de cinq siècles, la common law, le système juridique britannique, a accordé aux gouvernements une responsabilité spéciale pour protéger les intérêts des adultes mentalement incapables, des enfants et des oeuvres de bienfaisance. Cette tradition se poursuit au Canada.

En 1919, le procureur général de l'époque a nommé Kenneth Waked Wright premier curateur public de l'Ontario. M. Wright était responsable de l'administration des successions des patients d'établissements psychiatriques, de la gestion des successions des personnes qui décèdent sans testament en Ontario et sans proche parent connu, et de la protection des biens détenus par des oeuvres de bienfaisance.

Au cours de notre siècle, les responsabilités du curateur public ont évolué. Jusqu'aux années 1960, la plupart des clients étaient des patients d'établissements psychiatriques. Pendant les dernières décennies, des facteurs comme la désinstitutionnalisation et le vieillissement de la population ont modifié la nature et la complexité des types de décisions prises par le curateur public.

Le 3 avril 1995, la législation en matière d’incapacité a été mise à jour pour combler les lacunes et contradictions figurant dans l’ancienne loi. Le bureau du tuteur public, qui porte maintenant le nom de Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public, joue plus que jamais un rôle essentiel pour représenter les incapables et protéger leurs intérêts personnels et leurs biens.

Le Tuteur et curateur public est nommé par le lieutenant gouverneur en conseil et doit être un avocat membre du barreau de l’Ontario depuis au moins dix ans. La tutrice et curatrice publique actuelle est Kenneth R. Goodman. Monsieur Goodman surveille le déroulement des opérations par le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public en comptant sur son effectif de 300 employés dans six bureaux établis dans les différentes régions de la province.