Arranging Legal Representation under Section 3 of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992

INFORMATION UPDATE:

The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee has a duty to arrange legal representation for persons alleged to be incapable in proceedings before the Superior Court of Justice under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 where so ordered by the Court. This bulletin explains this function of the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee.

Legal Aid Ontario has a duty to arrange legal representation for persons alleged to be incapable in proceedings under the Health Care Consent Act, 1996 before the Consent and Capacity Board where so ordered by the Board. Information about Legal Aid Ontario can be obtained from their website. Their address is set out at the end of this document.

  1. LEGAL REPRESENTATION:

    Section 3 of the Substitute Decisions Act 1992, S.O. 1992, c.30, as amended, states:
    1. Counsel for person whose capacity is in issue – If the capacity of a person who does not have legal representation is in issue in a proceeding under this Act,
      1. the Court may direct that the Public Guardian and Trustee arrange for legal representation to be provided for the person; and
      2. the person shall be deemed to have capacity to retain and instruct counsel.
    2. Responsibility for legal fees – If legal representation is provided for a person in accordance with clause (1)(a) and no certificate is issued under the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 in connection with the proceeding, the person is responsible for the legal fees.
    3. Nothing in this section affects any right of the person to an assessment of a solicitor’s bill under the Solicitors Act or other review of the legal fees and, if it is determined that the person is incapable of managing property, the assessment or other review may be sought on behalf of the person by,
      1. the person’s guardian of property; or
      2. the person’s attorney under a continuing power of attorney for property.

    Section 81 of the Health Care Consent Act, 1996 states:

    1. Counsel for incapable person – If a person who is or may be incapable with respect to a treatment, managing property, admission to a care facility or a personal assistance service is a party to a proceeding before the Board and does not have legal representation,
      1. the Board may direct Legal Aid Ontario to arrange for legal representation to be provided for the person; and
      2. the person shall be deemed to have capacity to retain and instruct counsel.
    2. Responsibility for legal fees – If legal representation is provided for a person in accordance with clause (1)(a) and no certificate is issued under the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 in connection with the proceeding, the person is responsible for the legal fees.
    3. Nothing in this section affects any right of the person to an assessment of a solicitor’s bill under the Solicitors Act or other review of the legal fees and, if it is determined that the person is incapable of managing property, the assessment or other review may be sought on behalf of the person by,
      1. the person’s guardian of property appointed under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992; or
      2. the person’s attorney under a continuing power of attorney for property given under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992.
  1. PROCESS
    1. Notification to the Public Guardian and Trustee

      For Court Orders, counsel appearing on behalf of any of the parties are expected to notify the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee as soon as possible and provide a copy of the Judge’s endorsement and/or the issued and entered Order, to:

      Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
      Suite 800, 595 Bay Street
      Toronto, Ontario M5G 2M6
      Attention: Legal Services Branch
      RE: Arranging Legal Representation


      Telephone: 416-314-1717
      TTY: 416-314-2687
      Facsimile: 416-314-2695

    2. Public Guardian and Trustee's Procedure for Arranging Counsel

      Upon receipt of an Order made under section 3 of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992, the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee will arrange for a lawyer, send the Order and additional information to the lawyer and confirm that steps have been taken to notify other counsel of record or parties who have appeared in person in the proceeding and the respective Area Director of Legal Aid Ontario.
      Whenever possible, the materials shall be sent by facsimile transmission or electronically. Otherwise, notice of the Order will be given by telephone and followed by mail.

      Legal Aid Certificates

      Regarding payment of legal fees in the absence of a private retainer, the lawyer must assist his or her client to complete an application for a legal aid certificate and submit it to the Area Director of the Legal Aid Office indicated on the materials from the PGT in advance of the return date of the Court proceeding wherever possible. Application forms may be obtained from the local Legal Aid Office.

      Usually, a certificate will be issued for a financially eligible client.  If the client is not eligible for free assistance, the application may be refused or the client (or his/her substitute decision maker) may be asked to sign a payment agreement.  The lawyer will be asked to assist with signing the payment agreement and should notify the area office immediately if unable to arrange a signature.  If an application is refused, the lawyer should pursue a private retainer.

      Situations Where the Public Guardian and Trustee is Guardian of Property

      If the Public Guardian and Trustee is the person’s guardian of property, the lawyer that has been arranged to represent the person by the Public Guardian and Trustee will be so notified and will be provided with the name and telephone number of the person’s Client Representative. Counsel should contact the Client Representative to discuss retainer arrangements.

    3. Questions and Answers
      1. What is the role of the Public Guardian and Trustee under section 3 of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992

        The Public Guardian and Trustee’s role is limited to arranging a lawyer for the person, not representing the person or paying the lawyer’s fees. It is important to note the person is deemed to have the capacity to retain and instruct counsel.
      2. What happens if the client fires the lawyer and is unrepresented again before the Court proceeding is completed?

        In such a case, the Court has the discretion under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 to direct the Public Guardian and Trustee to arrange legal representation for the person again. However, the Court is not obliged to make such a direction and may decide to continue the proceeding and adjudicate even if the person is unrepresented.
      3. What is the role of the lawyer?

        Representing a client pursuant to an Order made under section 3 of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 can be a particularly challenging role.  The lawyer may wish to consider his/her obligations as set out in the Rules of Professional Conduct and the Commentaries to the Rules.  The lawyer may wish to review case law, scholarly works and continuing education materials touching upon the subject of legal representation in this context and capacity law issues generally.

        The lawyer should attempt to determine the client’s instructions and wishes directly from the client wherever possible. In some situations, the lawyer may attempt to determine the client’s wishes and directions through third party sources such as medical practitioners, family members, caregivers and friends of the client. If the client’s wishes or directions in the past or at present have been expressed to others, then consideration should be given to presenting the evidence in Court.

        The lawyer must not become a substitute-decision maker for the client in the litigation; that is, the lawyer cannot act as litigation guardian to make decisions in the proceeding even if it appears to be in the best interests of the client. Depending on the circumstances, the lawyer should consider testing whether the evidentiary and procedural requirements are met, even where no instructions, wishes or directions at all can be obtained from the client. However, the lawyer’s actions cannot override a client’s express wishes especially in light of the presumption of capacity to retain and instruct counsel.
      4. What happens if the lawyer discovers that the client has funds to pay legal fees but a financial assessment has already been submitted and a legal aid certificate has already been issued?

        The regulations of the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 provide that where any circumstances come to the attention of the lawyer which indicate that the client failed to make full disclosure of his or her financial circumstances, and accordingly may not have been entitled to the certificate, or which indicate that the client may no longer be entitled to the certificate, the lawyer shall forthwith notify the Area Director.

        Where the certificate is terminated because the lawyer notifies the Area Director, the lawyer may enter into a retainer directly with the client or his or her substitute decision-maker. In such case, the client (or his or her substitute decision-maker) would be responsible for the payment of legal fees directly to the lawyer. In the event the lawyer is unable to enter into a retainer with the client or his or her substitute decision maker, the lawyer should contact the area director. 
      5. Some helpful references:

        Information about Legal Aid Ontario can be obtained from their website www.legalaid.on.ca, including access to panel standards and related information and forms. 

        Legal Aid Ontario
        Provincial Office

        Atrium on Bay
        40 Dundas Street West
        Suite 200
        Toronto, ON
        M5G 2H1
        Telephone:
        Toronto: (416) 979-1446
        Toll free: 1-800-668-8258
        Fax: (416) 979-8669
        TTY*:
        Local: (416) 598-8867
        Toll free: 1-866-641-8867
        (* Telephone device for the deaf)

        Information about the Consent and Capacity Board can be obtained from their website at www.ccboard.on.ca.

        Information about the Public Guardian and Trustee can be obtained at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/family/pgt/.

The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
Duty of the Public Guardian and Trustee to Arrange
Legal Representation
Reprinted in 2011
Disponible en français

Obligation d'organiser la représentation en justice

BULLETIN D'INFORMATION:

Le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public a l'obligation de prendre des dispositions pour faire représenter par un avocat des personnes prétendument incapables, dans des instances introduites devant la Cour supérieure de justice en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui, lorsque le tribunal le lui ordonne.

Aide juridique Ontario a l'obligation de prendre des dispositions pour faire représenter par un avocat des personnes prétendument incapables, dans des instances introduites devant la Commission du consentement et de la capacité en vertu de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé, lorsque la Commission le lui ordonne. Consultez le site Web d'Aide juridique Ontario pour plus de renseignements sur cet organisme. L'adresse d'Aide juridique Ontario est indiquée à la fin du présent document.

  1. REPRÉSENTATION EN JUSTICE

    L'article 3 de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui, L.O. 1992, c.30, telle que modifiée, stipule ce qui suit :
    1. Avocat représentant une personne dont la capacité est en cause – Si la capacité d'une personne qui n'est pas représentée par un avocat est une question en litige dans une instance introduite en vertu de la présente loi :
      1. le tribunal peut ordonner que le Tuteur et curateur public prenne des dispositions pour faire représenter la personne par un avocat;
      2. la personne est réputée capable de retenir les services d'un avocat et de le mandater.
    2. Paiement des honoraires d'avocat – Si une personne est représentée par un avocat conformément à l'alinéa (1) a) et qu'aucun certificat n'est délivré en vertu de la Loi de 1998 sur l'aide juridique relativement à l'instance, les honoraires d'avocat sont à la charge de la personne.
    3. Le paragraphe (2) n’a pas pour effet de porter atteinte au droit de la personne à la liquidation du mémoire d’un procureur prévu par la Loi sur les procureurs ou à un autre examen des frais de justice et, s’il est déterminé que la personne est incapable de gérer ses biens, la liquidation ou l’autre examen peut être demandé au nom de la personne :
      1. soit par son tuteur aux biens;
      2. soit par son procureur constitué en vertu d’une procuration perpétuelle relative aux biens.

    L'article 81 de la Loi de 1996 sur le consentement aux soins de santé déclare :

    1. Avocat représentant l’incapable – Si une personne qui est ou peut être incapable à l’égard d'un traitement, de la gestion de ses biens, de son admission à un établissement de soins ou d'un service d'aide personnelle est partie à une instance devant la Commission et n’a pas de représentant en justice :
      1. d’une part, la Commission peut ordonner qu'Aide juridique Ontario prenne des dispositions pour que soient fournis à la personne les services d’un représentant en justice;
      2. d’autre part, la personne est réputée avoir la capacité de retenir les services d’un avocat et de le mandater.
    2. Paiement des frais de justice – Si les services d'un représentant en justice sont fournis à une personne conformément à l'alinéa (1) a) et qu'aucun certificat n'est délivré en vertu de la Loi sur l'aide juridique relativement à l'instance, les frais de justice sont à la charge de la personne.
    3. Le paragraphe (2) n'a pas pour effet de porter atteinte aux droits de la personne de faire liquider le mémoire d'un procureur en vertu de la Loi sur les procureurs ou de faire autrement examiner les frais de justice et, s'il est établit que la personne est incapable de gérer ses biens, la liquidation ou l'autre examen peut être demandé au nom de celle-ci par :
      1. soit son tuteur aux biens nommé en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui;
      2. soit son procureur constitué en vertu d'une procuration perpétuelle relative aux biens donnée en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui.
  1. PROCESSUS
    1. Avis au Tuteur et curateur public

      Pour les ordonnances du tribunal, les avocats plaidant au nom de l'une ou l'autre des parties sont priés d'en aviser le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public le plus rapidement possible et de lui fournir une copie de l'inscription du juge ou de l'ordonnance rendue et entrée, à l'attention du :

      Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public
      Bureau 800, 595, rue Bay
      Toronto (Ontario) M5G 2M6
      À l'attention de : Direction des services juridiques
      Objet : Représentation en justice

      Téléphone : 416-314-1717
      ATS : 416-314-2687
      Télécopieur : 416-314-2231

    2. Processus suivi par le Tuteur et curateur public pour trouver un avocat

      Dès réception d'une ordonnance rendue en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui, le Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public prendra des dispositions pour trouver un avocat, enverra l'ordonnance et tout autre renseignement supplémentaire à l'avocat et confirmera que des mesures ont été prises pour aviser l'autre avocat inscrit au dossier ou les parties qui ont comparu en personne dans l'instance ainsi que le directeur régional d'Aide juridique Ontario.

      Chaque fois que possible, les documents seront envoyés par télécopieur ou par transmission électronique. Sinon, l'avis de l'ordonnance sera communiqué par téléphone, puis envoyé par la poste.

      Certificats d'aide juridique

      En ce qui concerne le paiement des frais d'avocat en l'absence d'un mandat privé, l'avocat peut être tenu d'aider son client à remplir une demande de certificat d'aide juridique et à la soumettre au directeur régional du bureau d'aide juridique indiqué sur les documents provenant du Tuteur et curateur public, avant la date de convocation de l'instance devant le tribunal, dans la mesure du possible. Les formulaires de demande peuvent être obtenus auprès des bureaux locaux d'aide juridique.

      Généralement, un certificat est délivré pour un client admissible selon des critères financiers. Si le client n'est pas admissible à de l'aide gratuite, soit la demande peut être refusée soit le client (ou la personne qui prend les décisions à sa place) peut être prié de signer une entente de paiement. On demandera à l'avocat d'aider à obtenir la signature de l'entente de paiement et d'aviser sans délai le bureau régional s'il ne peut pas obtenir de signature. Si la demande est refusée, l'avocat devrait essayer d'obtenir un mandat privé.

      Situations dans lesquelles le Tuteur et curateur public est tuteur aux biens

      Si le Tuteur et curateur public est le tuteur aux biens de la personne, l'avocat qui a été retenu par le Tuteur et curateur public pour représenter la personne en sera avisé et sera également informé du nom et du numéro de téléphone du représentant des clients de la personne. L'avocat devrait contacter le représentant des clients pour discuter des dispositions à prendre concernant le mandat.

    3. Questions et réponses
      1. Quel est le rôle du Tuteur et curateur public en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui?

        Le rôle du Tuteur et curateur public se limite à prendre des dispositions pour faire représenter une personne par un avocat. Ce n'est pas lui qui représente la personne ni qui acquitte les honoraires d'avocat. Il est important de souligner que la personne est réputée capable de retenir les services d'un avocat et de lui communiquer ses instructions.
      2. Que se passe-t-il si le client renvoie l'avocat et se retrouve à nouveau sans représentation avant la fin de l'instance devant le tribunal?

        Dans un cas pareil, le tribunal a la discrétion, en vertu de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui, d'ordonner au Tuteur et curateur public de prendre des dispositions afin de trouver un autre avocat pour la personne. Néanmoins, le tribunal n'est pas obligé de donner un tel ordre et peut décider de poursuivre l'instance et de rendre sa décision même si la personne n'est pas représentée par un avocat.
      3. Quel est le rôle de l'avocat?

        Représenter un client dans le cadre d'une ordonnance rendue en vertu de l'article 3 de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui peut être difficile. Il serait utile pour l'avocat de passer en revue ses obligations énoncées dans le Code de déontologie et des commentaires afférents au Code. L'avocat peut aussi étudier la jurisprudence, les ouvrages des spécialistes et le matériel d'éducation continue sur le sujet de la représentation juridique dans ce contexte, ainsi que le droit applicable aux personnes incapables en général.

        Si possible, l'avocat devrait tenter de déterminer les souhaits et les instructions du client en les obtenant directement de celui-ci. Dans certains cas, l’avocat l'avocat peut essayer de déterminer les souhaits et les instructions du client selon les renseignements fournis par des tiers, tels que les médecins, les membres de la famille, les soignants et les amis du client. Si les désirs ou les instructions avaient été, par le passé, exprimés d'une façon claire et constante, il faut envisager de produire les éléments de preuve devant le tribunal.

        L'avocat ne doit pas prendre les décisions à la place du client dans la procédure; c'est-à-dire que l'avocat ne peut pas agir comme tuteur à l'instance pour prendre des décisions dans l'instance, même si cela semble être dans le meilleur intérêt du client. L'avocat devrait s'assurer que les exigences, sur le plan des preuves et des procédures, sont remplies, même lorsqu'aucune instruction ou directive ne peut être obtenue du client.
      4. Que se passe-t-il si l'avocat découvre que le client a suffisamment d'argent pour payer les honoraires d'avocat, mais qu'une évaluation financière a déjà été soumise et un certificat d'aide juridique déjà délivré?

        Les règlements de la Loi de 1998 sur les services d'aide juridique stipulent que lorsque l'avocat prend connaissance de circonstances qui indiquent que le client n'a pas divulgué entièrement sa situation financière et qu'en conséquence il n'aurait pas dû avoir droit au certificat, l'avocat doit en aviser le directeur régional.

        Lorsque le certificat est annulé à la suite de l'avis de l'avocat au directeur régional, l'avocat peut accepter un mandat directement du client ou de la personne qui prend les décisions à sa place. Dans ce cas, le client (ou la personne qui prend les décisions à sa place) devra payer les honoraires d'avocat directement à l'avocat. Au cas où l'avocat ne peut pas obtenir un mandat du client ou de la personne qui prend les décisions à sa place, il devrait en aviser le directeur régional.
      5. Quelques références utiles :

        Des renseignements sur Aide juridique Ontario peuvent être obtenus sur son site Web, à www.legalaid.on.ca. Les avocats y trouveront des informations au sujet des normes applicables aux listes d’avocats et des formulaires.

        Aide juridique Ontario
        Bureau provincial

        Atrium on Bay
        40, rue Dundas Ouest
        Bureau 200
        Toronto (Ontario)
        M5G 2H1

        Téléphone:
        Toronto : 416 979-1446
        Sans frais : 1 800 668-8258
        Téléc. : 416 979-8669

        ATS*:

        Appel local : 416 598-8867
        Sans frais : 1 866 641-8867
        (* Appareil téléphonique pour les sourds)

        Des renseignements sur la Commission du consentement et de la capacité sont consultables sur le site de la Commission, à www.ccboard.on.ca.

        Des renseignements sur le Tuteur et curateur public sont consultables sur le site www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/family/pgt/.

BUREAU DU TUTEUR ET CURATEUR PUBLIC
OBLIGATION DU TUTEUR ET CURATEUR PUBLIC
D'ORGANISER LA REPRESENTATION EN JUSTICE
ISBN 978-1-4249-4101-8
Réimprimé en 2011
Available in English