Ministry of the Attorney General Français
Ministry of the Attorney General

Guardianship Investigations: The Role of the Public Guardian and Trustee

Public Guardian and Trustee

Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee Guardianship Investigations

ISBN 0-7794-3011-5

© Queen’s Printer for Ontario, 2006
Reprinted in 2016

Disponible en français

Questions and Answers

  1. What is the purpose of the Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee’s (OPGT) guardianship investigation service?

    This service helps to protect mentally incapable adults who are suffering, or at risk of suffering, serious harm. Severe self-neglect, physical abuse and financial exploitation of incapable people are some of the problems that this service can, in certain circumstances, help to resolve.

  2. How does this service work?

    People concerned about an adult who may be mentally incapable and at serious risk can contact the OPGT.

    If it appears that a person is mentally incapable and at serious risk of harm, the OPGT will conduct an investigation if no alternative solution can be found.

    It is important to note that this is not an immediate, emergency crisis response service. The OPGT has no authority to make decisions for the person during an investigation or while the matter is before the courts. The investigation may result in the court appointing the OPGT as the incapable person’s guardian on a temporary basis. This allows the office to make important decisions on the person’s behalf.

    The investigation may result in the court appointing the OPGT as the incapable person’s guardian on a temporary basis. This allows the office to make important decisions on the person’s behalf.

  3. What is the legal basis for this service?

    This service is mandated under the Substitute Decisions Act which was proclaimed in 1995.

  4. How does the OPGT become aware of these situations?

    Anyone may contact the OPGT to express concerns about a person who may be incapable and at serious risk by contacting the Guardianship Investigations Unit:

    Telephone: 416-327-6348
    Toll-Free:1-800-366-0335
    Fax: 416-314-5301
    TTY: 416-314-2687

    Address:

    Guardianship Investigations Unit
    The Office of the Public Guardian and Trustee
    595 Bay Street, Suite 800
    Toronto, ON
    M5G 2M6

    E-mail: jus.g.fjs.pgt.guardianshipinvestigation@ontario.ca

  5. Will the identity of the person making the referral to the OPGT remain confidential?

    In accordance with the Freedom of Information and Privacy Act, the OPGT tries to safeguard the privacy of people who make referrals. The office cannot guarantee, however, that their identities, or the nature of the concerns, will remain confidential. If the OPGT applies to court to become the guardian then the information given to the court becomes available to the public.

  6. Aren’t people entitled to choose how they live, even if it involves risk?

    Personal autonomy and the right to make individual choices – even “bad” choices — are fundamental values in our society. But some people — due to illness, injury or other causes — lack the mental capacity to make their own choices. As a result, they are extremely vulnerable to neglect, abuse and exploitation.

    The key is finding the balance between respecting the rights of capable adults while protecting those who cannot protect themselves.

    The law has safeguards, including a court process, to ensure that people’s decision-making rights are not altered without careful consideration and due process.

  7. When is a person considered to be “mentally incapable”?

    A person is mentally incapable of managing property if they cannot understand relevant information or cannot appreciate what may happen as a result of decisions they make, or do not make, about their finances.

    A person may be able to make certain types of decisions, but not others. For example, a person may be unable to make decisions about finances, but may still be able to make decisions about personal matters such as where to live.

  8. What level of harm must be alleged before an investigation can be initiated?

    The law requires the OPGT to investigate if a person is alleged to be incapable and suffering, or at risk of suffering, “serious adverse effects” of a financial or personal nature as a result.

    With respect to finances, “serious adverse effects” includes “loss of a significant part of one’s property or failure to provide the necessities of life for oneself or dependents”. Incapacity may, for example, lead a person to give large sums of money away to strangers or to face loss of their home for failure to pay taxes. An incapable person may face starvation or eviction if they cannot look after paying rent or buying food.

    With respect to personal welfare, “serious adverse effects” includes “serious illness or injury, or deprivation of liberty and personal security”. Incapacity may, for example, result in a person being unable to remove themselves from a very dangerous situation or to take steps to stop physical or sexual abuse.

  9. Is a guardianship investigation and application to court the only solution to these problems?

    No. There are often other solutions that are more appropriate in particular situations.

    This is especially true if there is an immediate physical crisis. As noted above, an investigation will be of no assistance if a crisis response service is needed in an emergency.

    For example, if a person is experiencing an acute and immediate medical crisis, a health professional may be able to provide treatment on an emergency basis, without consent.

    If the criteria for involuntary examination at a psychiatric facility are met, a doctor, a Justice of the Peace or a police officer can require an examination.

    In some circumstances, the local Community Care Access Centre may be able to arrange a crisis admission to a long-term care facility.

    If there are concerns that a guardian or a person handling a power of attorney is mismanaging an incapable person’s money, anyone can ask the court to review the matter. This is usually the most appropriate course of action when there is a dispute among family members about how one member is handling a power of attorney for an incapable relative.

    If an incapable person needs a guardian of property, this can sometimes be accomplished through a capacity assessment process without the need for an investigation. More information about the process is contained in the information pamphlet entitled “The Capacity Assessment Office” which can be obtained by calling 416-327-6766, TTY: 416-314-2687 or toll-free at 1-800-366-0335.

    There are often other solutions available in addition to the ones described above. It always depends on the particular situation.

    A guardianship investigation can be an intrusive step and is considered a last resort, after everything else has been attempted.

  10. How does the OPGT decide which cases should be investigated?

    When the OPGT is contacted, staff will interview the person who made the referral. This is usually done over the telephone and is intended to obtain relevant background information. If the case does not appear to fall within the OPGT’s mandate, information about other appropriate resources will be provided, if possible.

    If initial inquiries suggest that both incapacity and serious risk may exist, then all the appropriate alternative solutions to the problem will be discussed with the person making the referral.

    If no alternative solution exists, the matter will be referred to an OPGT investigator.

  11. How is an investigation conducted?

    An investigation involves detailed fact gathering. Relevant sources of information are explored.

    The investigator will usually try to meet with the alleged incapable person to assess the situation and obtain information directly from them, if this is possible. Investigators have a legal right of entry for this purpose.

    Other individuals who may have knowledge of the person’s situation — such as family members, health professionals, neighbours, bank staff, caregivers, service providers and landlords — will also be asked for information. Sometimes they are interviewed in person.

    The investigator will review applicable records and documents. The OPGT has the legal right to obtain copies of most financial and medical records relating to the person.

    The investigator may try to arrange to have the person’s capacity assessed by a qualified health practitioner, on a voluntary basis.

    Throughout the investigation, the investigator tries to facilitate solutions that will serve to protect the person without the need for a formal court process. Respect for the dignity of the person and objectivity about the circumstances are paramount considerations in every investigation.

    Once the investigator has gathered all the available information, the facts are reviewed to decide whether the next step – an application to the court for guardianship – will be taken. This will only happen if there is:

    • sufficient and reliable evidence of mental incapacity
    • evidence of serious risk
    • no less intrusive alternative available
    • evidence that guardianship will be able to meet the person’s needs

    In these cases, the court will then be asked to temporarily appoint the OPGT as the person’s “guardian of property” or the “guardian of the person” or both, depending on the nature of the person’s incapacity and decision-making needs.

  12. Is the person who made the referral kept informed about the progress of the investigation and the results?

    The OPGT will not disclose information that it acquires during an investigation unless it is absolutely necessary to do so.

    Once the investigation is completed, the OPGT will usually tell the person who made the referral whether or not the OPGT intends to proceed with a court application for temporary guardianship.

  13. How long does an investigation and court application usually take?

    This depends entirely on the individual circumstances of the case. If the case is clear and the evidence readily available, the investigation may only take a short time. Preparing the materials for court and obtaining a date for a court hearing usually takes at least a few weeks.

    In most cases, however, the situation is more complicated and requires the investigator to contact many people, visit the person who is alleged to be incapable, track down various leads and review different types of records. Sometimes third parties who have essential information are hard to reach or take a long time to respond to the investigator’s requests. The person’s condition or situation may appear to stabilize for a period during which the investigation will not be active. As a result, an investigation may remain open for a number of months.

  14. Can the OPGT make decisions for the person while the situation is being investigated?

    No. The OPGT does not have any right to make decisions for the person until a court appoints it as guardian.

  15. Is the person who is alleged to be incapable entitled to know about the investigation and the court application?

    The OPGT usually informs the person about the process, but there are some exceptions. The person would not be told, for example, if this would put the person at risk by alerting someone who is abusing them.

  16. How long does a temporary guardianship last?

    Guardianship can be granted, by the court, for up to 90 days. At the end of that time, the OPGT will either allow the guardianship to lapse because the situation has been taken care of, ask for an extension of the guardianship or ask the court to make the guardianship permanent.

  17. What powers does the OPGT have when it is guardian?

    This depends on the type of guardianship – property or personal care – and the directions that have been given by the court.

    If the OPGT is only appointed as the guardian of property, it will be authorized to secure and manage the person’s assets and other financial resources but will not be able to make any personal care decisions. If the OPGT is appointed as the guardian of personal care it will usually be authorized to make decisions about matters such as medical treatment and housing. Guardianship of personal care may also include the right to make custodial decisions that involve the person being taken to a place of safety with the assistance of the police.

  18. Does the OPGT provide care services directly to incapable people?

    No. The OPGT’s role is to be a decision maker and facilitator. Although the office can make arrangements for services to be provided, it does not provide any care services directly to its’ clients.

  19. How do I get more information?

    You can access the OPGT’s website at: www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/family/pgt/

    You can obtain a copy of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 online at www.ontario.ca/laws

Please be advised that the OPGT cannot give individuals, professionals, facilities or organizations legal advice about specific cases or their own legal obligations. These questions should be directed to a lawyer. The Law Society Referral Service (LSRS) can put you in touch with a lawyer for a half-hour at no charge. Information about how to be referred to a lawyer through the LSRS is available at www.lsrs.info. A request to the LSRS may be made by completing the online request form at www.lawsocietyreferralservice.ca. A crisis line is available Monday to Friday, 9:00 am to 5:00 pm. The crisis line is intended for people who are unable to use the online service, such as those without access to the internet. The phone number for the crisis line is 416-947-5255 (toll free 1-855-947-5255).

Alternatively, you may contact JusticeNet which is a not-for-profit service promoting increased access to justice for low and moderate-income Canadians. The lawyers in the program offer their skills at a reduced fee to clients of limited means, based on a sliding scale that takes into account both income and number of individuals supported. They can be contacted at: Toll Free: 1-866-919-3219 or by e-mail at www.justicenet.ca.

To request an information session from OPGT staff please contact the Investigations Unit at 416-327-6348 or toll-free at 1-800-366-0335 or TTY: 416-314-2687.

This brochure provides a very general overview of the mandate and operation of the OPGT’s guardianship investigation services. It does not include all of the details of the law, policies, procedures or exceptions that may apply in a particular case. For information about the law, please refer to the applicable statutes and consult your lawyer.

Alternate formats of this brochure are available upon request. Please contact 416-314-2803 or toll free 1-800-366-0335.

Ministère du Procureur général English
Ministère du Procureur général

Les Enquêtes Relatives à la Tutelle : Le rôle du Tuteur et curateur public

Bureau Du Tuteur et Curateur Public

Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public

Les enquêtes relatives à la tutelle ISBN 0-7794-3011-5

© Imprimeur de la Reine pour l’Ontario 2006 Réimprimé en 2014

Available in English

Questions et Réponses

  1. Quel est l’objet du service d’enquête sur la tutelle du Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public (BTCP)?

    Ce service aide à protéger les adultes incapables qui subissent ou risquent de subir un préjudice grave. Les cas graves de négligence de soi, les mauvais traitements physiques et l’exploitation financière sont quelques-uns des problèmes que ce service peut, dans certaines circonstances, aider à résoudre.

  2. Comment fonctionne ce service?

    Les personnes qui s’inquiètent au sujet d’un adulte qui semble mentalement incapable et qui risque de subir de graves préjudices peuvent communiquer avec le BTCP.

    S’il semble que la personne soit mentalement incapable et qu’elle risque de subir des préjudices graves, le BTCP procédera à une enquête si aucune autre solution n’est possible.

    Il importe de souligner qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un service d’intervention immédiate en situation de crise. Le BTCP n’est pas autorisé à prendre des décisions au nom de la personne durant l’enquête ou pendant que l’affaire est devant les tribunaux.

    À l’issue de l’enquête, le tribunal peut nommer le BTCP comme tuteur de la personne incapable, à titre temporaire. Cette mesure permet au BTCP de prendre des décisions importantes au nom de la personne incapable.

  3. Quelle est l’autorité légale régissant ce service?

    La Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui, qui est entrée en vigueur en 1995, confère ce mandat au BTCP.

  4. Comment le BTCP prend-il connaissance de ces situations?

    N’importe qui peut communiquer avec le BTCP pour exprimer ses inquiétudes au sujet d’une personne qui semble incapable et qui risque de subir des préjudices graves en contactant l'Unité des enquêtes relatives à la tutelle :

    Téléphone : 416-327-6348
    Sans frais : 1-800-366-0335
    Télécopieur : 416-314-5301
    ATS : 416-314-2687

    Adresse : Unité des enquêtes relatives à la tutelle
    Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public
    595, rue Bay, Bureau 800
    Toronto, Ontario
    M5G 2M6

    Courriel : jus.g.fjs.pgt.guardianshipinvestigation@ontario.ca

  5. L’identité de la personne signalant le cas au BTCP restera-t-elle confidentielle?

    En conformité avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée, le BTCP essaie de sauvegarder la confidentialité des personnes qui signalent des cas au BTCP. Le bureau ne peut toutefois pas garantir que leur identité ou la nature de leurs préoccupations resteront confidentielles. Si le BTCP demande la tutelle au tribunal, les renseignements donnés au tribunal sont en même temps rendus publics.

  6. Les gens n’ont-ils pas le droit de choisir comment ils veulent vivre, même si cela comporte des risques?

    L’autonomie de la personne et le droit de faire ses propres choix, même s’il s’agit de « mauvais » choix, sont des valeurs fondamentales dans notre société. Mais certaines personnes, en raison de maladie, de lésions ou d’autres causes, ne possèdent pas la capacité mentale leur permettant de faire leurs propres choix. Par conséquent, elles sont extrêmement vulnérables à la négligence, aux mauvais traitements et à l’exploitation.

    Le défi consiste donc à trouver un juste équilibre entre le respect des droits des adultes capables et la protection de ceux qui ne peuvent se protéger eux-mêmes.

    La loi comporte des protections, y compris un processus judiciaire, pour veiller à ce que l’on ne porte pas atteinte au droit de prendre ses propres décisions sans un examen approfondi de la situation et sans un processus établi.

  7. Quand considère-t-on qu’une personne est « mentalement incapable »?

    Une personne est mentalement incapable de gérer ses biens si elle ne peut comprendre les renseignements pertinents, ni évaluer les conséquences qui pourraient découler d’une décision (ou de l’absence de décision) relativement à ses affaires financières.

    Une personne peut être en mesure de prendre certains types de décisions, mais pas d’autres. Par exemple, elle pourrait être incapable de prendre des décisions de nature financière tout en étant capable de prendre des décisions relatives à des questions personnelles, comme l’endroit où elle vit.

  8. Quelle est la gravité des préjudices allégués pouvant justifier une enquête?

    Selon la loi, le BTCP est tenu de faire une enquête sur toute allégation indiquant qu’une personne est incapable et qu’elle subit, ou risque de subir, des « conséquences préjudiciables graves » sur le plan de ses affaires financières ou de son bien-être personnel.

    Pour ce qui est des affaires financières, les « conséquences préjudiciables graves » comprennent « la perte d’une partie importante des biens d’une personne ou le défaut, pour une personne, de se procurer les objets de première nécessité ou d’en procurer aux personnes à sa charge ». Par exemple, l’incapacité pourrait mener une personne à donner de grosses sommes d’argent à des étrangers ou à perdre sa maison parce qu’elle ne paie pas l’impôt foncier. Une personne incapable pourrait négliger son alimentation ou être évincée de son logement si elle est incapable de payer le loyer ou de faire ses emplettes.

    Pour ce qui est du bien-être personnel, « les conséquences préjudiciables graves » comprennent « une maladie ou une lésion graves, ou une atteinte à la liberté ou à la sécurité de la personne ». Par exemple, l’incapacité pourrait faire en sorte qu’une personne soit incapable de se sortir d’une situation très dangereuse ou de prendre des mesures pour mettre fin à des mauvais traitements de nature physique ou sexuelle.

  9. L’enquête relative à la tutelle et la requête au tribunal sont-elles la seule solution à ces problèmes?

    Non. Il y a souvent d’autres solutions qui conviennent mieux à certaines situations.

    Cela s’applique en particulier aux situations de crise immédiate. Comme il a déjà été mentionné, une enquête ne peut être d’un grand secours si on a besoin d’une intervention urgente en situation de crise.

    Par exemple, si une personne est soudainement frappée d’un trouble de santé aigu et urgent, une praticienne ou un praticien de la santé pourrait être en mesure de fournir un traitement approprié en cas d’urgence, sans obtenir son consentement.

    Si la situation correspond aux critères requis pouvant justifier un examen obligatoire dans un établissement psychiatrique, un médecin, une ou un juge de paix ou une agente ou un agent de police peuvent ordonner l’examen.

    Dans certaines circonstances, le centre d’accès aux soins communautaires de la localité peut être en mesure de prendre des dispositions en vue d’une admission urgente à un établissement de soins de longue durée.

    S’il existe des raisons de craindre que la tutrice ou le tuteur ou la personne ayant une procuration gère mal les biens de la personne incapable, n’importe qui peut demander au tribunal d’examiner la situation. Cette solution est souvent la meilleure marche à suivre en cas de différend au sein de la famille au sujet de la façon dont un de ses membres s’acquitte de ses obligations de procureur au nom de la personne incapable.

    Si une personne incapable a besoin d’une tutrice ou d’un tuteur aux biens, il est parfois possible d’organiser la tutelle au moyen d’une évaluation de la capacité, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de procéder à une enquête. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur ce processus, veuillez consulter le document d’information intitulé « Le Bureau de l’évaluation de la capacité » que vous pouvez vous procurer en téléphonant au 416-327-6766, ATS : 416-314-2687, ou, sans frais, au 1-800-366-0335.

    Il existe souvent d’autres solutions possibles en plus de celles que nous venons de décrire. Tout dépend toujours de la situation particulière.

    Une enquête relative à la tutelle peut être une mesure perturbatrice que l’on devrait envisager en dernier recours, lorsqu’on a essayé toutes les autres solutions.

  10. Comment le BTCP décide-t-il des cas sur lesquels il faut procéder à une enquête?

    Lorsqu’une personne signale un cas au BTCP, les membres du personnel s’entretiennent avec elle, généralement par téléphone, afin de réunir les renseignements généraux pertinents. Si le cas ne semble pas relever du mandat du BTCP, le personnel donne à la personne des renseignements sur d’autres ressources qui pourraient être utiles, si c’est possible.

    Si l’entretien initial indique qu’il semble exister à la fois un état d’incapacité et un risque grave, le personnel discute de toutes les autres solutions appropriées avec la personne qui a signalé le cas.

    S’il n’existe aucune autre solution, le dossier est confié à une enquêteuse ou un enquêteur du BTCP.

  11. Comment les enquêtes sont-elles effectuées?

    Pour faire enquête, on cherche à recueillir des faits détaillés en explorant toutes les sources pertinentes de renseignements.

    Les enquêteurs essaient habituellement de rencontrer la personne en cause pour évaluer la situation et obtenir des renseignements venant d’elle directement, si c’est possible. À cette fin, les enquêteurs ont un droit d’entrée.

    On demande aussi des renseignements à d’autres personnes susceptibles de connaître la situation, comme les membres de sa famille, les praticiens de la santé, des voisins, le personnel de la banque, des soignants, des fournisseurs de services ou ses propriétaires. Parfois on procède à des entrevues en personne.

    Les enquêteurs examinent également tous les dossiers et documents pertinents. Le BTCP a le droit d’obtenir des copies de la plupart des dossiers financiers et médicaux concernant la personne.

    Les enquêteurs peuvent essayer de prendre des dispositions pour faire évaluer la capacité d’une personne de façon volontaire par un membre qualifié d’une profession de la santé.

    Tout au long de l’enquête, les enquêteurs essaient de favoriser des solutions qui pourront protéger la personne sans recourir à un processus judiciaire formel. Le respect de la dignité de la personne et l’objectivité relativement aux circonstances sont des considérations primordiales dans chaque enquête.

    Une fois que les enquêteurs ont réuni tous les renseignements disponibles, ils examinent les faits et décident s’il y a lieu de passer à la prochaine étape, c’est-à-dire la demande de tutelle au tribunal. Cette mesure est prise uniquement si les critères suivants sont réunis :

    • l’enquête a établi de manière suffisante et fiable que la personne est mentalement incapable;
    • l’enquête a révélé l’existence de risques graves;
    • aucune autre solution moins perturbatrice n’est disponible;
    • la tutelle devrait permettre de répondre aux besoins de la personne.

    Dans ces cas, on demande au tribunal de nommer le BTCP, à titre temporaire, comme « tuteur aux biens » ou « tuteur à la personne », ou les deux, selon la nature de l’incapacité et des besoins décisionnels.

  12. La personne qui a signalé le cas est-elle tenue au courant du déroulement et des résultats de l’enquête?

    Le BTCP ne divulgue pas les renseignements recueillis au cours d’une enquête, à moins que cela ne soit absolument nécessaire.

    Une fois que l’enquête est terminée, le BTCP informe habituellement la personne qui a signalé le cas de sa décision de demander ou non la tutelle temporaire au tribunal.

  13. Combien de temps dure habituellement le processus d’enquête et de demande de tutelle?
  14. La durée dépend essentiellement des circonstances propres à chaque cas. Si l’affaire est claire et les preuves facilement disponibles, l’enquête peut se faire assez rapidement. Il faut ensuite compter quelques semaines pour préparer les documents juridiques et obtenir une date d’audience.

    Dans la plupart des cas, cependant, la situation est assez complexe et les enquêteurs doivent communiquer avec plusieurs personnes, rendre visite à la personne présumée incapable, suivre diverses pistes et examiner divers types de dossiers. Parfois des tiers qui possèdent des renseignements cruciaux sont difficiles à joindre ou tardent à répondre aux questions des enquêteurs. La condition ou la situation de la personne peut sembler se stabiliser pour une période pendant laquelle l’enquête est mise en veilleuse. Il arrive donc qu’une enquête puisse rester ouverte pendant plusieurs mois.

  15. Le BTCP peut-il prendre des décisions au nom de la personne durant l’enquête?

    Non. Le BTCP n’a pas le droit de prendre des décisions au nom de la personne avant que le tribunal ne le nomme tuteur.

  16. La personne présumée incapable a-t-elle le droit d’être informée de l’enquête et de la requête de tutelle présentée au tribunal?

    Le BTCP informe habituellement la personne du processus, mais il y a quelques exceptions. Par exemple, si une personne subit des mauvais traitements, on pourrait ne pas l’informer de l’enquête afin d’éviter de la mettre davantage en danger en alertant ses agresseurs.

  17. Quelle est la durée d’une tutelle temporaire?

    Le tribunal peut accorder une tutelle pouvant aller jusqu’à 90 jours. À la fin de cette période, le BTCP peut laisser la tutelle prendre fin parce que la situation est réglée, ou il peut demander une prolongation de la tutelle temporaire ou demander au tribunal de lui accorder une tutelle permanente.

  18. Quels sont les pouvoirs du BTCP en tant que tuteur?

    Les pouvoirs varient selon le type de tutelle – tutelle aux biens ou tutelle à la personne – et les directives données par le tribunal.

    Si le BTCP est seulement nommé tuteur aux biens, il est autorisé à protéger et à gérer les éléments d’actif de la personne et ses autres ressources financières, mais il ne peut prendre aucune décision relative aux soins de la personne. Si le BTCP est nommé tuteur à la personne, il est habituellement autorisé à prendre des décisions sur les questions comme les traitements médicaux et le logement. La tutelle à la personne peut aussi comprendre le droit de prendre des décisions concernant la garde de la personne, y compris la possibilité de conduire la personne dans un lieu sûr avec l’aide de la police.

  19. Le BTCP offre-t-il des services de soins directement aux personnes incapables?

    Non. Le rôle du BTCP est de prendre des décisions et de faciliter la recherche de solutions. Bien que le bureau puisse prendre des dispositions pour que la personne obtienne des services, il ne dispense pas de services de soins directement à ses clients.

  20. Où puis-je trouver de plus amples renseignements?

    Vous pouvez visiter le site Web du BTCP à : www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/family/pgt/

    Vous pouvez obtenir un exemplaire en ligne de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui sur le site Web suivant :

    Vous pouvez obtenir un exemplaire en ligne de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d’autrui sur le site www.ontario.ca/laws.

Veuillez noter que le BTCP ne peut pas fournir aux particuliers, aux professionnels, aux établissements, ni aux organismes, des conseils juridiques sur des cas particuliers ou sur leurs propres obligations légales. Il faut s’adresser à des avocats pour ce genre de questions. Le Service de référence du Barreau (SRB) qui vous mettra en contact avec un(e) avocat(e) pour une consultation téléphonique gratuite d’une demi-heure. Vous pouvez obtenir de l'information sur la façon d'être mis en contact avec un(e) avocat(e) par l'intermédiaire du SRB, consultez son site à l'adresse www.lsrs.info. Il est possible de présenter une demande au SRB en remplissant le formulaire se trouvant à l'adresse www.lawsocietyreferralservice.ca. Vous pouvez communiquer avec la ligne téléphonique d'urgence du lundi au vendredi de 9 h à 17 h. La ligne d'urgence est destinée aux personnes qui ne sont pas en mesure d'utiliser le service en ligne, comme celles qui n'ont pas accès à Internet. Le numéro de téléphone de la ligne d'urgence est le 416-947-5255 (sans frais : 1-855-947-5255).

Vous pouvez également communiquer avec JusticeNet, service sans but lucratif, qui facilite l’accès aux services juridiques pour les Canadiens à faible revenu ou à revenu moyen. Les avocats du programme offrent leurs services à frais réduits pour les clients dont les ressources sont limitées. Ces frais sont calculés selon une échelle qui tient compte du revenu et du nombre de personnes à charge. Pour rejoindre le personnel de ce programme, veuillez téléphoner sans frais au 1-866-919-3219 ou envoyer un courriel à www.justicenet.ca.

Pour demander une séance d’information donnée par le personnel du BTCP, communiquez avec l’Unité des enquêtes au 416-327-6348 ou, appelez sans frais le 1-800-366-0335 ou ATS : 416-314-2687.

La présente brochure offre un aperçu très général du mandat et du fonctionnement du Bureau du Tuteur et curateur public au sujet des enquêtes relatives à la tutelle. Elle ne comprend pas tous les détails des lois, des politiques, des procédures ou des exceptions qui pourraient s’appliquer à un cas particulier. Pour des renseignements de nature juridique, veuillez consulter les textes législatifs et communiquer avec votre avocat.

Vous pouvez obtenir cette brochure en médias substituts sur demande. Pour ce faire, veuillez téléphoner au 416-314-2803 ou au 1-800-366-0335 (sans frais).