Ministry of the Attorney General Français
Ministry of the Attorney General

Part 1: Information Before You Start Your Family Case, The Right Court And Resources

A Guide to Procedures in Family Court

Ministry of the Attorney General

April 2012, Revised July 2015

This guide does not provide legal advice. It is recommended that all parties seek legal advice where possible.

Inside this guide

  1. Information Before You Start
  2. Starting a Family Case
    • Application (General)
    • Simple Application – Divorce only
    • Joint Application
  3. Answers
  4. Financial Statements
  5. Filing Documents
  6. Serving Documents
  7. Required Steps
    • Mandatory Information Program
    • First Court Date
    • Conferences
  8. Motions
  9. Trial

Ce guide est également disponible en français.

ISBN 978-1-4435-8303-9 (Print)

ISBN 978-1-4435-8304-6 (PDF)

Part 1: Information Before You Start Your Family Case, The Right Court And Resources

Family Law

You have a family law matter if you’re faced with issues concerning:

Unless your issues are urgent, it’s a good idea to do some research on the options available to you to resolve your family issues. Talking to a lawyer can help you understand your options and the steps that make the most sense in your case. It will also give you a better idea of your rights and responsibilities.

Options to Resolve Family Law Issues

There are many ways to resolve your family law issues. Options include:

More information about these options can be found on the Ministry website at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Choose your preferred language and select “Family Justice”.

Not all of these options would be appropriate in every circumstance. For example, mediation may not be appropriate where there is domestic violence in the relationship. In these circumstances the best options may be going to court.

Keep in mind that when you go to court, you are asking someone you don’t know and who doesn’t know you to make serious decisions about your family. Court can be expensive and can take a long time. It can also be stressful for you, the other person, and your children.

Overview

The Divorce Act, the Family Law Act, the Children’s Law Reform Act and the Child and Family Services Act, contain much of the law that applies to families. These laws can be found at www.e-laws.gov.on.ca. Some family law is also contained in written decisions of judges, known as “case law”.

You must follow the Family Law Rules in order for your case to proceed. For example, Rule 8 tells you how to start a case. Rule 10 explains how to answer a case that has been started against you. There is a rule for every step in a case and every person using the court is responsible for following the procedures as set out in the Rules.

Generally, each person in a family case must be given the opportunity to receive and respond to the other’s requests from the court and the information that is provided in support of the request. The other person or party in your case must be provided with a copy of any document that you provide to the court. This requirement ensures that the other person will have the opportunity to respond and tell their side of the story.

The role of judges is to decide cases that come before them based on the evidence and the law. Judges must be neutral and impartial and cannot give legal advice or assistance to the parties in a case. You may not contact nor may you discuss your case with the judge outside of your scheduled court appearances. A judge may not accept or consider information not previously shared with the other party.

Common Terms

The person starting a family case is called the applicant. The other person responding to the application is called the respondent.

To start a family case, you must complete an application, which tells the court what you are asking from the court, for example custody of a child, a divorce or spousal support. The application provides important background information about the history of your relationship with the other person and any children you have. It also sets out the facts that you are relying on to support your request. More detailed information about making an application is found at A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 2: Starting A Family Case.

Depending on the issues in your case, the applicant and respondent may be required to attend a Mandatory Information Program (MIP). A MIP is run at each family court location to provide information on the impact of separation on parents and children, alternatives to going to court, legal issues, and the court process. More detailed information about the MIPs is found at A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 7: Required Steps

You must give the respondent a copy of your application together with any other forms and documents supporting the claims that you make in your application. For example, a financial statement must accompany any claim for spousal support. Giving the respondent these documents is called service. Detailed information about service including the timelines you must follow when you serve a document and how you may serve it is found at A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 6: Serving Documents.

The respondent has the opportunity to review the application materials and to respond to the application by completing an answer. If you are a respondent, filing an answer gives you the opportunity to tell the court:

Refer to A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 3: Answers for additional information on completing and serving an answer.

Conferences take place throughout the family court process. Conferences give you, the other party, and your lawyers an opportunity to meet with the judge to talk about the progress of the case and to discuss ways in which some or all of the matters might be resolved.

Conferences also give the judge the chance to make sure you and the other party have provided each other and the court with the information required to move your case forward.

In most cases, the first time you will appear before a judge is for a case conference. It is very important that you and the other party exchange all of the necessary information with each other and the court before every conference. You will do this by completing and serving a conference brief on the other party.

If you are not able to settle all of the issues at a case conference, the next step is usually a settlement conference.

Before a settlement conference, the parties need to exchange settlement conference briefs and other supporting information (for example, net family property statements). At a settlement conference, the judge will usually discuss the issues that are in dispute, the parties’ positions on those issues and ways in which the issues can be resolved.

More detailed information about conferences is found in A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 7: Required Steps.

During the case you or any other party may ask the court for a decision or ruling. This request is called a motion. A motion may be brought at any time after a case conference has been held. In some cases where there is a situation of urgency or hardship, a judge may hear a motion before a case conference.

The person bringing the motion is called the moving party. The person receiving the motion is called the responding party. The moving party starts a motion by serving the other party with a notice of motion. The decision made by the judge on the motion is an order. An order can be temporary or final.

The order the judge makes on a motion would normally set out the arrangements that are to be followed until a final decision on the issue can be made. An example of a motion is a request by the moving party for a decision by the judge about where the children will live and whether child support is to be paid by one of the parties until a final decision can be made.

The court will usually decide a motion based on affidavit evidence. Affidavit evidence is where you set out the information or evidence you think the judge needs to make a decision in a written document that is called an affidavit. You must swear or affirm that the information in the affidavit is true and you must sign the affidavit in front of a person who is a commissioner for taking affidavits. If you do not know where to find a commissioner for taking affidavits, you can ask for help at the family court office.

More information about making a motion is found in A Guide to Family Procedures, Part 8: Motions.

If you are not able to work out the issues on your own or after attending conferences before a judge, it may be necessary to go to trial. At a trial, you and the other party will present the information and evidence in support of your position. You will also have the opportunity to bring witnesses to court to ask them questions about the issues in the case and you will have a chance to ask questions of any witnesses the other party brings to court.

The judge will make a final decision based on the information and evidence presented at trial. The decision will be set out in a judgment.

The Right Court For Your Family Case

There are three different courts in Ontario that deal with family law cases and it is important that you have the right court. They are:

When starting a family case, there are two factors that you must consider to ensure that you have the right court.

First, you must start your case in the municipality where you or the other person lives. However, if you are asking the court for custody of or access to a child, you must start the proceeding in the municipality where the child ordinarily lives.

For more information on where you should start a family law case, refer to the Family Law Rules, Rule 5: Where a Case Starts and Is to Be Heard, which is found on the Ministry of the Attorney General’s website at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Click on “Family Justice”, then scroll down and click on “Family Law Rules”.

Second, you need to determine which of the family courts can deal with the issues that you need to have resolved, e.g. Superior Court of Justice or Ontario Court of Justice. Court staff can assist you to determine if you are using the right court.

The Right Court

The Family Court Branch of the Superior Court of Justice is the only court in Ontario that can hear all types of family law cases.

In Ontario, the Family Court Branch of the Superior Court of Justice is located in:

If you live in one of these municipalities go to your local Family Court.

For all other municipalities, you would start your case in either the Superior Court of Justice or the Ontario Court of Justice, depending on the issues in your case. Only certain kinds of decisions can be made in each court.

The Superior Court of Justice can hear family law cases involving:

The Ontario Court of Justice can hear family law cases involving:

If you’re not sure which court you should go to, call the family court office in your municipality to ask. You can find the addresses and phone numbers for the family courts on the Ministry of the Attorney General’s website at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Go to “Court Services” and click on “Court Addresses”.

Resources

Legal Advice

Before choosing an option listed above, it is important to speak to a lawyer. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you of your legal rights and obligations and to help you understand the legal consequences of your decision.

Finding a lawyer can be confusing. Information is available to help you choose a lawyer that’s right for you, and taking the time to make the right choice is very important. When choosing a lawyer you should consider contacting:

If you chose to go to court, you can represent yourself, but you need to know that judges and court staff cannot give you legal advice. Only lawyers can do that. Parties who represent themselves are responsible for informing themselves about the law and the court’s procedures. You will be held to the same standard as parties who have lawyers representing them.

If you decide to hire a lawyer and you do not know whom to call, you can contact the Law Society Referral Service (LSRS) operated by the Law Society of Upper Canada. The LSRS can provide you with the name of a lawyer in your area, who practices family law and who will provide a free initial consultation of up to 30 minutes.

To access the LSRS visit www.lsrs.info and complete the online request form. If you are unable to use the online service, for example, you do not have access to the internet, are in custody or a shelter, you may call 416-947-5255 or toll free at 1-855-947-5255.

You may also wish to visit the Law Society Lawyer and Paralegal Directory at www.lawyerandparalegal.directory to search for a lawyer near you.

If you can’t afford a lawyer, you may wish to contact Legal Aid Ontario to see whether you would qualify to receive legal aid. You may contact Legal Aid Ontario by calling 1-800-668-8258 or by visiting www.legalaid.on.ca. You can also visit an Advice Lawyer (a lawyer provided by Legal Aid Ontario) at the Family Law Information Centre at the family court in your municipality. If you meet the financial requirements for legal aid, an Advice Lawyer can give you legal advice about your case. If you do not meet the financial requirements, an Advice Lawyer can still provide some general information about the family court process.

Family Law Information Centres

If you need help filling in the forms and don’t have a lawyer, you can visit a Family Law Information Centre (FLIC) where, at certain times an Advice Lawyer may be available to help you understand the basics of family law. If you meet Legal Aid financial requirements, the Advice Lawyer may also be able to provide you with some specific advice about your case. Visit www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca to find the location of a FLIC nearest you. Before visiting a FLIC, you should contact the court office for information about the availability of an Advice Lawyer.

Family Law Rules

The Family Law Rules set out the procedures that guide each step of your family case. The Family Law Rules can be found on the Ministry of the Attorney General’s website at www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Go to “Family Justice” and click on “Family Law Rules.”

Family Law Rules - Forms

The most recent family court forms can be found online at www.ontariocourtforms.on.ca/en/. Select your language of preference then select Family Law Rules Forms.

Ministère du Procureur général English
Ministère du Procureur général

Partie 1 : Renseignements utiles avant d’introduire une cause de droit de la famille

Guide des Procédures à la Cour de la famille

Ministère du procureur général

Avril 2012, révisé en juillet 2015

Le présent guide ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques. Nous recommandons à toutes les parties à la Cour de la famille de retenir les services d’un avocat dans la mesure du possible.

Dans ce guide

  1. Renseignements utiles avant d’introduire une cause de droit de la famille
  2. Introduire une cause de droit de la famille
    • Requête générale
    • Requête individuelle – pour divorce seulement
    • Requête conjointe
  3. Défence
  4. États financiers
  5. Déposer des documents
  6. Signifier des documents
  7. étapes à suivre
    • Programme d’information obligatoire
    • Première date d’audience
    • Conférences
  8. Motions
  9. Procès

Ce guide est également disponible en français.

ISBN 978-1-4435-8303-9 (Print)

ISBN 978-1-4435-8304-6 (PDF)

Partie 1 : Renseignements utiles avant d’introduire une cause de droit de la famille : le tribunal compétent et les ressources

Droit de la famille

Votre situation relève du droit de la famille lorsque vous avez des questions à régler portant sur les sujets suivants :

Sauf si la situation est urgente, il serait judicieux de vous renseigner sur les options qui s’offrent à vous pour résoudre vos conflits familiaux. Un avocat peut vous aider à comprendre vos options et les démarches les plus pertinentes dans votre situation. Il pourra également mieux vous informer sur vos droits et vos responsabilités.

Options pour régler les questions de droit de la famille

Il existe plusieurs façons de régler des questions de droit de la famille. Il y a notamment :

Pour plus de renseignements sur ces options, consultez le site Web du ministère du Procureur général au www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Choisissez votre langue de préférence et sélectionnez « Causes de droit de la famille ».

Toutes ces options ne s’appliquent pas à toutes les circonstances. Par exemple, la médiation n’est pas appropriée dans les cas de violence conjugale, où la meilleure option serait de porter la cause devant le tribunal.

Gardez à l’esprit que, lorsque vous allez au tribunal, vous demandez à une personne que vous ne connaissez pas et qui ne vous connaît pas de prendre des décisions importantes au sujet de votre famille. Un procès peut être coûteux et long, et les procédures judiciaires peuvent causer du stress chez vous, votre conjoint et vos enfants.

Aperçu

Une importante partie du droit de la famille est contenue dans la Loi sur le divorce, la Loi sur le droit de la famille, la Loi portant réforme du droit de l’enfance et la Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille. Vous trouverez ces lois sur le site Web suivant : www.e-laws.gov.on.ca. Par ailleurs, on retrouve également une partie considérable du droit de la famille dans les décisions écrites par des juges qu’on appelle la « jurisprudence ».

Vous devez suivre les Règles en matière de droit de la famille pour que votre cause soit entendue. Par exemple, la règle 8 dicte la façon d’introduire une cause et la règle 10 explique comment préparer sa défense à une cause. Il y a une règle pour chaque étape de la procédure judiciaire, et toutes les parties ayant recours aux services du tribunal sont tenues d’observer les procédures énoncées dans les Règles.

En général, chaque partie nommée dans une cause de droit de la famille doit avoir la possibilité de recevoir de la Cour les demandes formulées par l’autre ainsi que tous les renseignements à l'appui et d'y répondre. Une copie de tous les documents que vous soumettez à la cour doit être envoyée à l’autre partie en cause. Cette exigence permet de s’assurer que l’autre partie a la possibilité de répondre aux demandes et de raconter sa version des faits.

Le rôle des juges consiste à se prononcer sur les causes dont ils sont saisis, en se fondant sur la preuve et le droit. Les juges doivent rester neutres et impartiaux. Ils ne peuvent donner de conseils juridiques aux parties en cause. Les parties ne doivent pas essayer de contacter les juges pour discuter de leurs causes en dehors des audiences prévues. Un juge ne peut accepter ni tenir compte des renseignements qui n’ont pas auparavant été divulgués à l’autre partie.

Terminologie

La personne qui dépose une requête se nomme le requérant. La personne qui répond à la requête est l’intimé.

Pour introduire une cause en cour, vous devez d’abord remplir une requête qui indique au tribunal ce que vous demandez, par exemple, la garde d’un enfant, le divorce ou une pension alimentaire. La requête fournit des renseignements importants sur l’historique de votre relation avec votre conjoint et sur vos enfants, le cas échéant. Elle expose également les faits qui appuient votre demande. Pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur la façon de remplir une requête, reportez-vous à la Partie 2 : Introduire une cause de droit de la famille du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

Selon les questions soulevées dans le dossier, le requérant et l’intimé peuvent devoir participer à un programme d’information obligatoire (PIO). Un PIO est offert dans chaque emplacement de la Cour de la famille pour donner des renseignements sur l’impact de la séparation sur les parents et les enfants, les modes de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, les questions d’ordre juridique et le processus judiciaire. Pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur le PIO, reportez-vous à la Partie 7 : Étapes à suivre du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

Vous devez soumettre à l’intimé une copie de votre requête ainsi que toute autre formule et tout autre document appuyant les demandes faisant l’objet de la requête. Par exemple, toute demande de pension alimentaire doit être accompagnée d’un état financier. On entend par signification, la remise de copies des documents à l’autre partie. Pour obtenir des informations détaillées sur la signification, notamment sur les délais à respecter lorsque vous signifiez un document et sur les façons de le signifier, reportez-vous à la Partie 6 : Signifier des documents du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

L’intimé a la possibilité d’examiner les documents de la requête et d’y répondre en déposant une défense. Si vous êtes l’intimé, le dépôt d’une défense vous donne l’occasion d'informer le tribunal :

Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur la façon de remplir et de signifier une défense, reportez-vous à la Partie 3 : Défense du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

Des conférences ont lieu tout au long du processus judiciaire. Les conférences vous donnent, à vous et à l’autre partie, la possibilité de rencontrer le juge, de discuter avec lui de l’évolution de la cause et d’explorer des façons de régler certaines questions en litige ou toute la cause.

Les conférences permettent également au juge de s’assurer que les deux parties s’échangent tous les renseignements nécessaires au bon déroulement de la cause, et qu’elles ont signifié tous ces renseignements au tribunal.

Dans la plupart des cas, la première fois que vous vous présentez devant le juge se nomme la conférence relative à la cause. Il est très important que vous et l’autre partie vous échangiez tous les renseignements nécessaires. Vous devez également signifier ces renseignements au tribunal avant chacune des conférences. Pour ce faire, vous devez remplir et signifier à l’autre partie un mémoire de conférence.

Si vous n’êtes pas en mesure de régler toutes les questions lors d’une conférence relative à la cause, la prochaine étape consiste généralement à tenir une conférence en vue d’un règlement amiable.

Avant la tenue d’une conférence en vue d’un règlement amiable, les parties doivent s’échanger les mémoires de conférence en vue d’un règlement amiable et d’autres renseignements pertinents (par exemple, des états des biens familiaux nets). En général, lors de la conférence en vue d’un règlement amiable, vous discutez avec le juge des questions en litige, des positions des parties sur chacune de ces questions et des façons de les régler.

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur les conférences, reportez-vous à la Partie 7 : Étapes à suivre du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

Tout au long du déroulement de la cause, vous ou toute autre partie pouvez demander au tribunal de rendre une décision ou une ordonnance. Cette demande se nomme une motion. Une motion peut être présentée à tout moment après avoir participé à une conférence relative à la cause. Dans certaines situations, comme une urgence ou un préjudice, il est possible de présenter une motion avant la conférence relative à la cause.

La personne qui présente la motion est l’auteur de la motion. La personne qui répond à la motion s'appelle l’intimé. L’auteur de la motion introduit celle-ci en signifiant à l’autre partie un avis de motion. La décision rendue par le juge à la suite d’une motion se nomme une ordonnance. Une ordonnance peut être provisoire ou définitive.

En général, l’ordonnance rendue par le juge à la suite d’une motion énonce les mesures à prendre jusqu’à ce qu’une décision définitive soit rendue. Un exemple de motion est une demande de la part de l'auteur de la motion pour que le juge décide avec qui les enfants vivront et si une pension alimentaire doit être payée par l’une des parties, jusqu’à ce qu’une décision définitive soit rendue.

Lorsqu’une motion est présentée, la cour prend généralement une décision en fonction de la preuve par affidavit. Cette preuve est présentée dans un document écrit qu’on appelle affidavit. Celui-ci contient tous les renseignements et les éléments de preuve dont le juge a besoin selon vous pour rendre une décision. Vous devez prêter serment ou affirmer solennellement que l’information contenue dans l’affidavit est véridique et devez signer l’affidavit devant une personne qui agit à titre de commissionnaire aux affidavits. Au besoin, le personnel du greffe de la Cour de la famille peut vous aider à trouver un commissaire aux affidavits.

Pour obtenir plus de détails sur la façon de présenter une motion, reportez-vous à la Partie 8: Motions du Guide des procédures en droit de la famille.

Si les parties n’arrivent pas à s’entendre sur certaines questions en litige ou après avoir participé à des conférences devant un juge, il pourrait être nécessaire de porter la cause devant un tribunal. Devant le juge, vous et l’autre partie devez présenter des renseignements pertinents et des éléments de preuve à l’appui de votre position. Vous pouvez faire comparaître vos propres témoins et leur poser des questions, et avez la possibilité de poser des questions aux témoins de l’autre partie.

Le juge rendra une décision définitive en se fondant sur les renseignements et la preuve présentés en cour. Sa décision sera présentée sous forme de jugement.

Le tribunal compétent pour une cause de droit de la famille

En Ontario, trois tribunaux entendent les causes relatives au droit de la famille. Il est important de choisir le tribunal compétent parmi les suivants :

Lorsque vous introduisez une cause de droit de la famille, il y a deux facteurs à considérer pour vous assurer de traiter avec le tribunal compétent .

D’abord, vous devez introduire votre cause dans un tribunal de votre municipalité ou de la municipalité de l’autre partie. Toutefois, si vous demandez au tribunal la garde des enfants ou des droits de visite, vous devez introduire votre cause dans un tribunal de la municipalité où l’enfant vit habituellement.

Pour plus de renseignements sur la façon d’introduire une cause de droit de la famille, reportez-vous à la règle 5 : Lieu où une cause est introduite et doit être entendue des Règles en matière de droit de la famille. Vous trouverez ces règles sur le site du Web ministère du Procureur général au www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Cliquez sur « Causes de droit de la famille », défilez vers le bas et cliquez sur « Règles en matière de droit de la famille ».

Ensuite, vous devez déterminer laquelle des Cours de la famille peut entendre votre cause, par exemple, la Cour supérieure de justice ou la Cour de l’Ontario. Le personnel du greffe peut vous aider à choisir le tribunal compétent.

Le tribunal compétent

La Cour de la famille de la Cour supérieure de justice est le seul tribunal en Ontario qui peut entendre tous les types de causes de droit de la famille.

En Ontario, on peut trouver une Cour de la famille de la Cour supérieure de justice dans les villes suivantes :

Si vous habitez une de ces villes, présentez-vous à la Cour de la famille locale.

Dans toutes les autres municipalités, vous devez introduire votre cause soit en Cour supérieure de justice ou en Cour de justice de l’Ontario, selon les questions à régler. Chaque tribunal s’occupe de certains types de litige.

La Cour supérieure de justice entend les causes de droit de la famille qui touchent les sujets suivants :

La Cour de justice de l’Ontario entend les causes de droit de la famille qui touchent les sujets suivants :

Si vous ne savez pas à quel tribunal vous adresser, demandez au greffe de la Cour de la famille de votre municipalité. Vous trouverez les adresses et les numéros de téléphone des Cours de la famille sur le site Web du ministère du Procureur général au www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Sous la rubrique « Services aux tribunaux », cliquez sur « Liste des greffes des tribunaux ».

Ressources

Conseils juridiques

Avant de choisir un tribunal, il est important de consulter un avocat. Ce dernier est le mieux placé pour vous conseiller sur vos droits et obligations juridiques et vous aider à comprendre les conséquences juridiques de votre décision.

Il peut être déroutant de trouver un avocat. Plusieurs sources de renseignements sont à votre disposition pour vous aider à choisir l’avocat qui vous convient le mieux. Vous devez prendre le temps de faire un choix judicieux et devriez envisager de communiquer et de discuter avec :

Si vous choisissez de porter votre cause devant le tribunal, vous pouvez vous représenter vous-même, mais vous devez savoir que les juges et le personnel du greffe ne peuvent pas vous donner de conseils juridiques. Seuls les avocats peuvent le faire. Les parties qui se représentent elles-mêmes sont tenues de connaître les lois et les procédures de la cour. Elles y sont tenues au même titre que les parties représentées par des avocats.

Si vous songez à retenir les services d’un avocat, mais ne savez pas où en trouver un, vous pouvez communiquer avec le Service de référence du Barreau du Haut-Canada (SRB). Le SRB vous indiquera le nom d’un avocat qui exerce dans le domaine du droit de la famille dans votre région et qui offre une première consultation gratuite d’un maximum de 30 minutes.

Pour accéder au SRB, visitez le site www.lsrs.info/fr et remplissez la formule de demande en ligne. S’il vous est impossible d’utiliser le service en ligne, par exemple, si vous n’avez pas d’accès à Internet ou si vous êtes sous garde ou dans un foyer, vous pouvez appeler au 416 947-5255 ou, sans frais, au 1 855 941-5255.

Vous avez également la possibilité de consulter le répertoire des avocats et parajuristes au http://www.lsuc.on.ca/with.aspx?id=654 trouver un avocat près de chez vous.

Si vous n’avez pas les moyens de payer un avocat, communiquez avec l’Aide juridique Ontario en composant le 1 800 668-8258 ou en visitant son site Web www.legalaid.on.ca afin de déterminer si vous êtes admissible à une aide juridique. Vous pouvez également consulter un avocat-conseil (un avocat référé par l’Aide juridique Ontario) au Centre d’information sur le droit de la famille de la Cour de la famille de votre municipalité. Si vous êtes admissible à une aide juridique, un avocat-conseil pourra vous donner des conseils au sujet de votre cause. Si vous n’êtes pas admissible à l’aide juridique, un avocat-conseil pourra toujours vous donner quelques renseignements sur les procédures de la Cour de la famille.

Centres d’information sur le droit de la famille

Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour remplir les formules et que vous n’avez pas d’avocat, vous pouvez visiter un Centre d’information sur le droit de la famille (CIDF). À certaines heures, des avocats-conseils y sont présents pour vous aider à comprendre les fondements du droit de la famille. Si vous êtes admissible à une aide juridique, un avocat-conseil pourra vous donner des conseils adaptés à votre cause. Consultez le site Web www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca pour trouver le CIDF le plus près de chez vous. Avant de vous rendre à un CIDF, il est recommandé de communiquer avec le greffe du tribunal pour connaître les disponibilités des avocats-conseils.

Règles en matière de droit de la famille

Les Règles en matière de droit de la famille énoncent les procédures qui guident chaque étape de votre cause de droit de la famille. Les Règles en matière de droit de la famille sont détaillées sur le site Web du ministère du Procureur général au www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca. Cliquez sur « Causes de droit de la famille » et ensuite sur « Règles en matière de droit de la famille. »

Formules des Règles en matière de droit de la famille

Vous trouverez la version la plus récente des formules de la Cour de la famille sur le site www.ontariocourtforms.on.ca/fr/. Sélectionnez la langue puis cliquez sur Formules des Règles en matière de droit de la famille.