Independent Legal Advice

A lawyer who is independent (not acting for the other person) must provide advice about the nature and consequences of referring a dispute to family arbitration. For example, if the wife has a lawyer, that lawyer may provide independent legal advice to the wife, but not to the husband.

Independent legal advice for a person considering family arbitration is available from family lawyers. A lawyer who knows about family law can be found through the Lawyer Referral Service of the Law Society of Upper Canada.

The lawyer providing independent legal advice will provide a certificate of independent legal advice to his or her client after giving the advice (before the arbitration begins). A copy of the certificate must be attached to the family arbitration agreement.

Each side normally pays for his or her own lawyer. Legal aid is not usually available for family arbitrations.

According to the Family Law Act, independent legal advice is mandatory for family arbitrations. Any award from an arbitration that was done without both sides receiving independent legal advice will not be enforceable in court.

Avis juridique indépendant

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

Un avocat qui est indépendant (qui n'agit pas pour l'autre partie) doit donner un avis au sujet de la nature et des conséquences du renvoi d'un différend à l'arbitrage familial. Par exemple, si la femme a un avocat, cet avocat peut fournir un avis juridique indépendant à la femme, mais pas au mari.

La personne qui envisage l'arbitrage familial peut obtenir un avis juridique indépendant auprès d'un avocat spécialisé dans le droit de la famille. Il est possible d'obtenir le nom d'un avocat spécialisé en droit de la famille en appelant le service Assistance-avocats du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

L'avocat qui fournit l'avis juridique indépendant remplit un certificat d'avis juridique indépendant qu'il remet à son client après lui avoir fourni l'avis (avant le début de l'arbitrage). Une copie du certificat doit être jointe à la convention d'arbitrage familial.

En règle générale, chaque partie paie son propre avocat. L'aide juridique n'est généralement pas octroyée pour des arbitrages familiaux.

Selon la Loi sur le droit de la famille, les parties doivent obtenir un avis juridique indépendant pour les arbitrages familiaux. La sentence arbitrale d'un arbitrage qui a été effectué sans que les deux parties obtiennent un avis juridique indépendant est inexécutoire.