Domestic violence and family arbitration

The government is working to ensure that arbitration remains an option to those who choose to use it, while also strengthening the safeguards around arbitrations to better protect vulnerable parties.

In arbitration, the arbitrator makes a decision based on the law. The decision is taken out of the hands of both sides in the dispute, so that the ability of a victim of violence to stand up to the other party in a negotiation or mediation is not in question.

However, the arbitration process depends on the real consent of both spouses to arbitrate. If there is a question about the genuineness of the consent — if the arbitrator feels that one person is being bullied or does not fully understand his or her rights — then an arbitrator should refuse to continue with the arbitration.

The arbitrator may adopt a procedure that provides safeguards to make the process safer for everybody involved.

The court has what is known as a " parens patriae" power to watch out for the interests of those less able to look out for themselves. This power allows the court to step into a dispute involving children if necessary.

All arbitration awards that involve children must consider the best interests of the child. If not, they will not be enforceable in court.

The Child and Family Services Act, as amended in 2006, makes it an offence for arbitrators not to report suspected cases of domestic violence involving a child to the appropriate child welfare agency or to the police.

Violence familiale et arbitrage familial

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

Le gouvernement met tout en œuvre pour assurer que l'arbitrage demeure une option pour ceux qui choisissent d'y recourir, tout en renforçant les protections applicables à l'arbitrage pour mieux protéger les parties vulnérables.

Dans l'arbitrage, l'arbitre rend une décision fondée sur le droit. La décision ne repose plus entre les mains des parties au différend, donc la capacité d'une victime de violence de s'opposer à l'autre partie à la négociation ou la médiation n'est pas pertinente.

Toutefois, le processus d'arbitrage dépend du consentement réel des conjoints à soumettre leur différend à l'arbitrage. Si la réalité de ce consentement est remise en question - si l'arbitre sent qu'une des parties est intimidée et qu'elle ne comprend pas vraiment ses droits - il devrait refuser de poursuivre l'arbitrage.

L'arbitre peut adopter une procédure qui prévoit des protections assurant la sécurité du processus pour toutes les personnes concernées.

Le tribunal détient une compétence appelée parens patriae qui lui permet de veiller aux intérêts des personnes qui sont moins aptes à se protéger. Ce pouvoir permet au tribunal d'intervenir dans un litige qui met en jeu des enfants, au besoin.

Toutes les sentences arbitrales qui mettent en jeu un enfant doivent tenir compte de l'intérêt véritable de l'enfant, faute de quoi elles ne seront pas exécutoires devant les tribunaux.

La Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille, dans sa version modifiée en 2006, stipule que l'omission, pour un arbitre, de signaler à une agence de bien-être de l'enfance compétente ou à la police tout soupçon de violence familiale concernant un enfant constitue une infraction.