Ministry of the Attorney General Français
Ministry of the Attorney General

Guide for Newly Appointed Commissioners for Taking Affidavits

Ministry of the Attorney General

Congratulations on your appointment as a commissioner for taking affidavits! This guide outlines your new powers and responsibilities.

Please read this guide carefully and review the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act and Ontario Regulation 431/20, Administering Oath or Declaration Remotely, before you do any work as a commissioner.

General

The Ministry of the Attorney General does not provide legal advice or opinions to commissioners for taking affidavits. If you have a question about how this information applies to your circumstances, please consult a lawyer.

Subject to any limitations specified in your Appointment Certificate, as a commissioner for taking affidavits you may administer oaths and take affidavits, declarations and affirmations where permitted or required by law.

Inquiries

For more information, please visit our website.

If you have a question about the appointment of commissioners for taking affidavits, please contact:

Ministry of the Attorney General
Legal Appointments Office
c/o Ministry of Government Services
77 Wellesley St W, BOX 720
Toronto ON M7A 1N3
Phone: (416) 326-4064
Fax: (416) 326-4065
E-mail: appointments@ontario.ca

Responsibilities

Section 9 of the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act provides:

Administration of oath, declaration

In person

9 (1) Every oath and declaration shall be taken by the deponent or declarant in the physical presence of the commissioner, notary public or other person administering the oath or declaration. 2020, c. 7, Sched. 4, s. 6.

Not in person

(2) Despite subsection (1), if the regulations made under this Act so provide and the conditions set out in the regulations are met, an oath or declaration may be taken by a deponent or declarant in accordance with the regulations without being in the physical presence of a commissioner, notary public or other person administering the oath or declaration. 2020, c. 7, Sched. 4, s. 6.

Duty of commissioner, etc.

(3) A commissioner, notary public or other person administering an oath or declaration shall satisfy himself or herself of the genuineness of the signature of the deponent or declarant and shall administer the oath or declaration in the manner required by law before signing the jurat or declaration.

The duties identified in section 9 must be followed. Failure to adhere to section 9 or to the limits of your appointment may threaten the legal validity of the declaration or affidavit that you commission.

As a commissioner, you may be called into court to establish that the oath, affirmation or declaration was administered properly. You may also be personally liable for improperly taking affidavits or declarations. Section 10 of the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act makes it an offence, punishable by a fine of up to $2000, for a commissioner to:

Additionally, section 138 of the Criminal Code of Canada makes it an indictable offence, punishable by up to two years’ imprisonment, to sign a writing that purports to be an affidavit or statutory declaration and to have been sworn or declared before him or her when:

Your commission may be revoked if you break these laws or fail to comply with your duties under the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act.

Commissioners should ensure that services provided both in-person and remotely are accessible for people with disabilities in a manner that is consistent with the Ontario Human Rights Code and the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act, 2005 (AODA).

Consider reviewing the Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation (IASR) under the AODA for information on accessible formats and communication supports. This may be particularly relevant for commissioners who choose to provide remote commissioning services. As set out in the IASR, communications supports may include but are not limited to, captioning, alternative and augmentative communication supports, plain language, sign language and other supports that facilitate effective communications. Accessible formats may include, but are not limited to, large print, recorded audio and electronic formats, braille and other formats usable by persons with disabilities.

Other examples of providing accessible services could include the use of an interpreter, assistive technologies such as dictation services or screen-readers, and leveraging audio-visual platforms that offer closed captioning functionality.

Steps for Taking Written Declarations and Affidavits

Note: Commissioners cannot take their own affidavits or declarations.

1. Verify the Signature

It is your obligation to satisfy yourself of the genuineness of the signature. The affidavit or declaration must therefore be signed before you and the deponent/declarant must provide proof of identity.

2. Administer the Declaration, Oath or Affirmation

Declarations

The Ontario Evidence Act and the Canada Evidence Act both prescribe the following form for solemn declarations (italicized words added):

“I, (name of the declarant) , solemnly declare that (state the fact or facts declared to), and I make this solemn declaration conscientiously believing it to be true, and knowing that it is of the same force and effect as if made under oath.

Declared before me (signature of commissioner) at (city or town) this (date) day of (month) , 20 (year) .”

Oaths and Affirmations

The Ontario Evidence Act requires the commissioner to take oaths and affirmations in a manner that the deponent (the person taking the oath or making the affirmation) declares to be binding on the deponent’s conscience. Examples could include making an oath, with or without a religious text or icon, or affirming solemnly.

There is no prescribed wording for oaths in the way that there are for declarations. Common formulations of oaths and affirmations are listed below. After administering the affidavit, you may also wish to confirm with the witness, “Are you bound by this oath/affirmation?”

  1. Oath

    “Do you swear that the contents of this affidavit as subscribed by you are true, so help you God?”

  2. Affirmation

    “Do you solemnly affirm and declare that the contents of this affidavit as subscribed by you are true?”

  3. Where the deponent requires an interpreter

    “Do you swear / solemnly affirm and declare that you understand the (name of interpreted language) language and the English language, that you shall well and truly interpret the oath to the deponent and all other matters and things as shall be required of you, to the best of your skill and understanding, so help you God?”

3. Complete the Jurat

The jurat is the part of the document where you certify when and where you took the affidavit or declaration. It is usually written at the foot of the document. A common form of jurat:

Sworn (or Affirmed or Declared) before me at the (City, Town, etc.) of ..................... in the (County, Regional Municipality, etc.) of ....................., on (date).

………………………………………………………

Commissioner for Taking Affidavits

(AN IMPRINT OF YOUR STAMP MUST BE PLACED HERE)

Signing the jurat is the final step in the process. The affidavit or declaration is now complete.

Administering an Oath or Declaration Remotely

Section 9 of the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act specifies that an oath and declaration shall be taken by the deponent or declarant in the physical presence of a commissioner and that an oath or declaration may be taken without being in the physical presence of a commissioner if and only if the conditions set out in Ontario Regulation 431/20 Administering Oath or Declaration Remotely are met.

IMPORTANT: There is nothing in the Commissioners for Taking Affidavits Act or Ontario Regulation 431/20, Administering Oath or Declaration Remotely, that obliges a party or receiving organization to accept a document that has been commissioned remotely. Before entering a remote commissioning transaction, clients should be urged to verify that the receiving organization is able to accept it. If the receiving organization is unsure or unable to accept a remotely commissioned document, clients should be encouraged to seek in-person commissioning services.

Subsection 45(2) of the Evidence Act provides that an affidavit sworn outside Ontario before a commissioner for taking affidavits in Ontario has the same effect as if the affidavit had been sworn in Ontario. Accordingly, there is no requirement that a commissioner be located in Ontario at the time of signing.

Administering an oath or declaration remotely would involve the same steps set out above but with some additional rules.

Electronic Communication:

The oath or declaration must be administered by an electronic method of communication in which the commissioner and deponent or declarant can see, hear and communicate with each other in real time throughout the entire transaction.

For clients that require disability-related accommodations, you may wish to consider using platforms that support:

In selecting an electronic method of communication, you could consider:

Record Keeping:

You must maintain a record of every act of remote commissioning that you perform.

Completing the Jurat

When conducting remote commissioning, a modified version of the jurat must be completed and must indicate:

An example of a modified jurat for a remotely commissioned document, based on the common form as seen above:

Sworn (or Affirmed or Declared) remotely by (client’s name) stated as being located inat the (City, Town, etc.) of …......... in the (County, Regional Municipality, etc.) of …........., before me at the (City, Town, etc.) of ..................... in the (County, Regional Municipality, etc.) of ....................., on (date), in accordance with O. Reg 431/20, Administering Oath or Declaration Remotely. ………………………………………………………

Commissioner for Taking Affidavits

(AN IMPRINT OF YOUR STAMP, OR THE INFORMATION CONTAINED THEREIN, MAY BE PLACED HERE.

If the stamp imprint or information is not placed here it must appear in full elsewhere on the commissioned document.)

The same information that appears on your physical stamp must also appear on the document being commissioned remotely.

Precautions:

If you choose to offer remote commissioning services, it is expected that you take reasonable precautions in the execution of your duties as a commissioner to minimize the risks associated with remote commissioning and work with the deponent or declarant to ensure they understand what is being signed.

This does not mean providing legal advice but could include ensuring that the deponent understands what they are signing. As an example, if the affidavit is in a language unknown to the deponent, you might consider inquiring further about the deponent’s understanding.

Taking reasonable precautions in the execution of your duties as a commissioner could also extend to how you verify the deponent’s identity, how you satisfy yourself of the genuineness of the deponent’s signature, the steps you take to administer an oath or declaration for someone who is blind, or the steps you take to administer an affidavit in any of the special cases set out below.

Special Cases: Additional Rules for Taking Affidavits

The various rules of court may contain specific additional requirements for taking affidavits that will be used in proceedings to which those rules apply. These rules are available online through the Ontario Courts website.

For your information, certain commonly used rules are highlighted below. However, it is your responsibility to determine what your obligations are in any specific instance, including obligations to provide accessible services. If you are uncertain about how the rules may apply in your case, you should consult a lawyer.

Exhibits Attached To Affidavits

Rules of Civil Procedure, R. 4.06(3)

Criminal Proceedings Rules, R. 4.06(3)

Rules of the Ontario Court of Justice in Criminal Proceedings, R.4.06(3)

Under these rules, an exhibit that is referred to in an affidavit shall be marked as such by the person taking the affidavit.

Before marking the exhibit, it is useful to confirm with the deponent: “Is this the document referred to in your affidavit?”

One common way of marking the exhibit is to write the following above your signature:

“This is exhibit ‘A’ referred to in the affidavit of (name of the deponent) sworn before me this (date) day of (month) , 20 (year) .”

Many commissioners will also initial each page of the exhibit to illustrate that no pages were added after the fact.

Affidavit by Two or More Deponents

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(4)

Criminal Proceedings Rules, R. 4.06(4)

Rules of the Ontario Court of Justice in Criminal Proceedings, R.4.06(4)

Under these rules, where an affidavit is made by two or more deponents, there shall be a separate jurat for each deponent, unless all the deponents make the affidavit before the same person at the same time, in which case one jurat containing the words “Sworn (affirmed) by the above-named deponents” may be used.

Affidavit for a Corporation

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(5)

Criminal Proceedings Rules, R. 4.06(5)

Rules of the Ontario Court of Justice in Criminal Proceedings, R.4.06(5)

Where these rules require an affidavit to be made by a party and the party is a corporation, the affidavit may be made for the corporation by an officer, director or employee of the corporation.

Affidavit for a Partnership

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(6)

Where rules require an affidavit to be made by a party and a party is a partnership, the affidavit may be made for the partnership, by a member or employee of the partnership.

Affidavit By A Person Who Is Blind Or Cannot Read

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(7)

Where it appears to a person taking an affidavit that the person is illiterate or blind, the person shall certify in the jurat that the affidavit was read in his/her presence to the deponent, and that the deponent appeared to understand it, and that the deponent signed the affidavit or placed his or her mark on it in the presence of the person taking the affidavit.

Affidavit By A Person Who Does Not Understand The Language

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(8)

Where it appears to a person taking an affidavit that the deponent does not understand the language used in the affidavit, the person shall certify in the jurat that the affidavit was interpreted to the deponent in the person’s presence by a named interpreter who took an oath or made an affirmation before him or her to interpret the affidavit correctly.

Alterations To An Affidavit

Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 4.06(9)

Criminal Proceedings Rules, R. 4.06(6)

Rules of the Ontario Court of Justice in Criminal Proceedings, R.4.06(6)

Under these rules, any alteration in an affidavit shall be initialed by the person taking the affidavit and, unless so initialed, the affidavit shall not be used without leave of the presiding judge or officer.

In the below example, a commissioner demarcates the changes by placing his initials (A.B.) next to each change and a check mark at the beginning and end of each change.

I served the affidavit on the fifth day of June, 2011.

Some commissioners will ask the deponent to also initial any changes.

Oaths and Affirmations Not Related To Affidavits

Below are examples of oaths and affirmations that are commonly used when taking oaths other than for affidavits. As above, it is your responsibility to inquire with the deponent as to what kind of oath or affirmation will bind his or her conscience.

Ministère du Procureur général English
Ministère du Procureur général

Guide à l’intention des nouveaux commissaires aux affidavits

Ministère du Procureur général

Félicitations pour votre nomination à titre de commissaire aux affidavits! Le présent guide décrit vos nouveaux pouvoirs et responsabilités.

Veuillez lire attentivement le présent guide et consulter la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits et le Règlement de l’Ontario 431/20 – Prestation des serments ou réception des déclarations à distance avant de commencer d’exercer des fonctions de commissaire.

Généralités

Le ministère du Procureur général n’offre ni conseils juridiques ni opinions aux commissaires aux affidavits. Si vous avez des questions sur la façon dont ces renseignements s’appliquent à vous, veuillez consulter un avocat.

En tant que commissaire aux affidavits vous êtes habilité à faire prêter serment, à recevoir des affidavits et des affirmations ou des déclarations solennelles lorsque la loi le permet ou l’exige, et ce, dans le respect des restrictions précisées dans votre certificat de nomination.

Renseignements

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez visiter notre site Web.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la nomination des commissaires aux affidavits, veuillez communiquer avec :

Ministère du Procureur général
Bureau des nominations judiciaires
a/s Ministère des Services gouvernementaux
77, rue Wellesley Ouest, C.P. 720
Toronto (Ontario) M7A 1N3
Tél. : 416 326-4064
Télécopieur : 416 326-4065
Courriel : appointments@ontario.ca

Responsabilités

L’article 9 de la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits stipule ce qui suit :

Assermentation et réception de déclarations

Présence en personne requise

9 (1) Tout serment est prêté et toute déclaration est faite par le déposant ou le déclarant en présence physique du commissaire, du notaire ou d’une autre personne qui fait prêter le serment ou reçoit la déclaration. 2020, chap. 7, annexe 4, art. 6

Présence en personne non requise

(2) Malgré le paragraphe (1), si les règlements pris en vertu de la présente loi le prévoient et que les conditions qui y sont prévues sont remplies, un déposant ou un déclarant peut prêter serment ou faire une déclaration conformément aux règlements sans être en présence physique d’un commissaire, d’un notaire ou d’une autre personne qui fait prêter le serment ou reçoit la déclaration. 2020, chap. 7, annexe 4, art. 6.

Devoir du commissaire

(3) Le commissaire, le notaire ou l’autre personne qui fait prêter un serment ou reçoit une déclaration s’assure de l’authenticité de la signature du déposant ou du déclarant et fait prêter le serment ou reçoit la déclaration de la manière exigée par la loi avant de signer le constat d’assermentation ou la déclaration. 2020, chap. 7, annexe 4, art. 6

Les tâches décrites à l’article 9 doivent être suivies. Le fait de ne pas se conformer à l’article 9 ou aux restrictions de votre nomination pourrait remettre en question la validité juridique de la déclaration ou de l'affidavit que vous recevez.

En tant que commissaire, vous pourriez être appelé au tribunal pour établir que le serment, l'affirmation ou la déclaration a été correctement administré. Vous pouvez aussi être tenu personnellement responsable d’avoir fait prêter serment ou reçu une déclaration de façon irrégulière. Selon l’article 10 de la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits, est coupable d’une infraction punissable d’une amende d’au plus 2 000 $ le commissaire qui :

Par ailleurs, selon l’article 138 du Code criminel du Canada, est coupable d’un acte criminel passible d’un emprisonnement maximal de deux ans, quiconque signe un écrit donné comme étant un affidavit ou une déclaration solennelle et comme ayant été fait sous serment ou déclaré devant lui,

Votre nomination pourrait être révoquée si vous enfreignez ces lois ou omettez de vous conformer à vos tâches, conformément à la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits.

Les commissaires doivent veiller à ce que les services fournis en personne et à distance soient accessibles pour les personnes handicapées comme l’exigent le Code des droits de la personne et la Loi de 2005 sur l’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées de l’Ontario (LAPHO).

Il est recommandé de passer en revue le règlement Normes d’accessibilité intégrées pris en vertu de la LAPHO qui contient des renseignements sur les formats accessibles et les aides à la communication. Ces renseignements sont particulièrement utiles pour les commissaires qui choisissent de fournir des services d’assermentation et de réception de déclarations à distance. Comme le prévoit le règlement Normes d’accessibilité intégrées, les aides à la communication englobent, mais sans s’y limiter le sous-titrage, la communication suppléante et alternative, le langage clair, le langage gestuel et d’autres aides qui facilitent une communication efficace. Les formats accessibles sont notamment un format en gros caractères, un format audio ou électronique enregistré, le braille et d’autres formats que peuvent utiliser les personnes handicapées.

Autres exemples de services accessibles : services d’interprétation, technologies fonctionnelles comme services de dictée ou de lecture d’écran, et plateformes audio-visuelles qui offrent une fonctionnalité de sous-titrage.

Étapes pour la réception des déclarations et des affidavits par écrit

À noter : Les commissaires ne peuvent pas attester leurs propres affidavits ou déclarations.

1. Vérifier la signature

Vous avez l’obligation de vous assurer de l’authenticité de la signature. L’affidavit ou la déclaration doit par conséquent être signé devant vous, et le déposant ou déclarant doit fournir une preuve d’identité.

2. Faire prêter serment ou recevoir des déclarations ou affirmations solennelles

Déclarations

La Loi sur la preuve de l’Ontario et la Loi sur la preuve au Canada prescrivent toutes deux la forme de déclaration solennelle suivante (texte en italique ajouté) :

« Je (nom du déclarant), déclare solennellement que (exposer le ou les faits déclarés), et je fais cette déclaration solennelle, la croyant consciencieusement vraie et sachant qu’elle a la même force et le même effet que si elle était faite sous serment.

Déclaré devant moi (signature du commissaire) à (ville ou localité) ce (date) jour de (mois), 20 (année).”

Serments et affirmations solennelles

La Loi sur la preuve de l’Ontario exige que le commissaire fasse prêter serment ou reçoive les affirmations solennelles d’une manière qui, selon le déposant (la personne qui fait le serment ou l’affirmation solennelle), engage sa conscience. Cela comprend, à titre d’exemple, de faire un serment, avec ou sans texte ou icône religieux, ou une affirmation solennelle.

Il n’y a pas de formulation prescrite pour les serments de la même façon qu’il y en a pour les déclarations. Ci-dessous, vous trouverez des formulations courantes de serments et d’affirmations solennelles. Après avoir administré l’affidavit, il serait bon de confirmer avec le témoin, « Êtes-vous lié par ce serment/cette affirmation solennelle? »

  1. Serment

    « Jurez-vous que le contenu de l'affidavit que vous avez signé est véridique, que Dieu vous vienne en aide? »

  2. Affirmation solennelle

    « Affirmez-vous solennellement que le contenu de l'affidavit que vous avez signé est véridique? »

  3. Lorsque le déposant a besoin d’un interprète

    « Jurez-vous / affirmez-vous solennellement que vous comprenez aussi bien la langue (nom de la langue d’interprétation) que la langue française, que vous allez traduire fidèlement le serment au déposant ainsi que toute autre chose qui vous sera demandée, au mieux de vos connaissances et aptitudes? »

3. Remplir le constat d’assermentation

Le constat d’assermentation fait partie du document que vous certifiez au moment et à l’endroit où vous recevez l’affidavit ou la déclaration. Il figure habituellement au bas du document. Un constat d’assermentation est couramment rédigé comme suit :

Déclaré sous serment (ou affirmé ou déclaré solennellement) devant moi dans la (ville, localité, etc.) de ……………………….. dans le/la (comté, municipalité régionale, etc.) de.............................., le (date).

………………………………………………………

Commissaire aux affidavits

(UNE EMPREINTE DE VOTRE TAMPON DOIT ÊTRE PLACÉE ICI)

Signer le constat d’assermentation est la dernière étape du processus. L’affidavit ou la déclaration est maintenant complet.

Prestation des serments et réception des déclarations à distance

L’article 9 de la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits précise que tout serment est prêté et toute déclaration est faite par le déposant ou le déclarant en présence physique du commissaire, du notaire ou d’une autre personne qui fait prêter le serment ou reçoit la déclaration, mais qu’un déposant ou un déclarant peut prêter serment ou faire une déclaration conformément aux règlements sans être en présence physique d’un commissaire, si le Règlement de l’Ontario 431/20 (Prestation des serments ou réception des déclarations à distance) le prévoit et que les conditions qui y sont prévues sont remplies.

IMPORTANT : Aucune disposition de la Loi sur les commissaires aux affidavits ou du Règlement de l’Ontario 431/20 (Prestation des serments ou réception des déclarations à distance) n’oblige un particulier ou un organisme à accepter un document qui a été assermenté ou reçu à distance. Avant de demander à un commissaire de faire prêter serment ou de recevoir une déclaration à distance, le client doit vérifier auprès de la personne qui recevra ce document si elle l’accepte. Si cette personne n’est pas sûre de pouvoir l’accepter, le client devrait être encouragé à prêter serment et à faire la déclaration en personne.

Le paragraphe 45 (2) de la Loi sur la preuve stipule qu’un affidavit fait à l’extérieur de l’Ontario devant un commissaire aux affidavits pour l’Ontario a, à toutes fins, la même validité et le même effet que s’il était fait en Ontario. En conséquence, il n’est pas nécessaire que le commissaire se trouve en Ontario au moment de la signature.

La prestation d’un serment ou la réception d’une déclaration à distance suit la même démarche que celle qui est précisée ci-dessus plus quelques règles additionnelles.

Communication électronique :     

Le serment prêté ou la déclaration faite doit être reçu par une méthode de communication électronique, permettant à la personne qui fait prêter le serment ou reçoit la déclaration et au déposant ou au déclarant de se voir, de s’entendre et de communiquer entre eux en temps réel tout au long de la formalité. 

Pour des clients qui ont besoin d’un aménagement pour un handicap, vous devriez utiliser des plateformes qui permettent l’utilisation :

Facteurs à prendre en considération dans le choix d’une méthode de communication électronique :

Tenue des dossiers :

Vous devez tenir un dossier de chaque serment prêté ou déclaration reçue à distance.

Remplir le constat d’assermentation

Lorsqu’un serment est prêté ou qu’une déclaration est reçue à distance, une version modifiée du constat d’assermentation doit être remplie. Cette version modifiée du constat d’assermentation doit indiquer :

Exemple d’une version modifiée du constat d’assermentation pour un document reçu à distance, selon la version générique ci-dessus :

Déclaré sous serment (ou affirmé ou déclaré solennellement) à distance par (nom du client), qui a déclaré se trouver à/dans (la ville, localité, etc.) de …......... dans le/la (comté, municipalité régionale, etc.) de.............................., le (date), conformément au Règl. de l’Ont. 431/20 - Prestation des serments ou réception des déclarations à distance.

………………………………………………………

Commissaire aux affidavits

UNE EMPREINTE DE VOTRE TAMPON OU LES RENSEIGNEMENTS QU’IL INDIQUE DOIVENT ÊTRE PLACÉS ICI.

Si l’empreinte du tampon ou les renseignements ne sont pas placés ici, ils doivent apparaître entièrement ailleurs sur le document reçu.

Les renseignements qui sont indiqués sur le tampon physique doivent également apparaître sur le document reçu à distance.

Précautions :

Si vous choisissez d’offrir des services de prestation de serments ou de réception de déclarations à distance, il est attendu que vous preniez des mesures raisonnables dans l’exercice de vos fonctions de commissaire pour minimiser les risques associés à des services à distance et que vous veilliez à ce que le déposant ou le déclarant comprenne ce qui est signé.

Cela ne signifie pas donner un avis juridique, mais plutôt s’assurer que le déposant comprend ce qu’il signe. Par exemple, si l’affidavit est rédigé dans une langue que le déposant ne comprend pas, vérifier s’il comprend de quoi il s’agit.

Prendre des mesures raisonnables dans l’exercice de ses fonctions de commissaire signifie aussi vérifier l’identité du déposant, être convaincu de l’authenticité de la signature du déposant, prendre des mesures particulières pour faire prêter un serment ou recevoir une déclaration d’une personne aveugle ou prendre des mesures particulières pour recevoir un affidavit dans l’une des situations spéciales décrites ci-dessous.

Cas spéciaux : règles supplémentaires pour la réception des affidavits

Les diverses règles du tribunal peuvent contenir certaines exigences supplémentaires pour la réception des affidavits, lesquelles sont suivies dans les instances auxquelles ces règles s’appliquent. Ces règles sont disponibles en ligne sur le site Web des tribunaux de l’Ontario.

À titre d'information, nous avons reproduit ci-dessous certaines règles couramment utilisées. Vous êtes cependant responsable de déterminer quelles sont vos obligations dans toute situation donnée, y compris l’obligation de fournir des services accessibles. Si vous n’êtes pas certain de la façon dont les règles peuvent s’appliquer à votre cas, vous devriez consulter un avocat.

Pièces jointes aux affidavits

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (3)

Règles de procédure en matière criminelle R. 4.06(3)

Règles de procédure de la Cour de justice de l’Ontario en matière criminelle, R. 4.06 (3)

Aux termes de ces règles, une pièce dont fait mention un affidavit est marquée comme telle par la personne qui reçoit l’affidavit.

Avant de marquer la pièce, il serait utile de confirmer avec le déposant : « Ce document est-il mentionné dans votre affidavit? »

Une façon courante de marquer la pièce est d’écrire ce qui suit au-dessus de votre signature :

« Il s'agit de la pièce "A" mentionnée dans l'affidavit de (nom du déposant) assermenté devant moi ce (date) jour de (mois), 20(année). »

De nombreux commissaires vont également parapher chaque page de la pièce pour confirmer qu’aucune page n’a été ajoutée par la suite.

Affidavit par deux déposants ou plus

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (4)

Règles de procédure en matière criminelle R. 4.06(4)

Règles de procédure de la Cour de justice de l’Ontario en matière criminelle, R. 4.06 (4)

Aux termes de ces règles, s’il y a plusieurs déposants, un constat d’assermentation distinct est rempli pour chacun d’eux, à moins qu’ils ne prêtent serment en même temps et devant la même personne, auquel cas il peut n’y avoir qu’un seul constat portant la mention « déclaré sous serment (ou affirmé solennellement) par les déposants susnommés ».

Affidavit par une personne morale

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (5)

Règles de procédure en matière criminelle R. 4.06(5)

Règles de procédure de la Cour de justice de l’Ontario en matière criminelle, R. 4.06 (5)

Si les présentes règles exigent un affidavit d’une partie qui est une personne morale, un de ses dirigeants, administrateurs ou employés peut prêter serment au nom de celle-ci.

Affidavit par une société en nom collectif

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (6)

Si les présentes règles exigent un affidavit d’une partie qui est une société en nom collectif, un de ses membres ou employés peut prêter serment au nom de celle-ci.

Affidavit par une personne aveugle ou illettrée

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (7)

Si la personne qui reçoit le serment constate que le déposant est illettré ou aveugle, elle certifie dans le constat d’assermentation que l’affidavit a été lu au déposant en sa présence, que le déposant a semblé en comprendre la teneur et qu’il l’a signé ou y a apposé sa marque en sa présence.

Affidavit par une personne qui ne comprend pas la langue

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (8)

Si la personne qui reçoit le serment constate que le déposant ne comprend pas la langue utilisée dans l’affidavit, elle certifie dans le constat d’assermentation que l’affidavit a été traduit au déposant en sa présence par l’interprète dont elle indique le nom, après avoir fait prêter serment à l’interprète d’en donner une traduction fidèle ou lui avoir fait faire une affirmation solennelle à cet effet.

Modifications à un affidavit

Règles de procédure civile R. 4.06 (9)

Règles de procédure en matière criminelle R. 4.06(6)

Règles de procédure de la Cour de justice de l’Ontario en matière criminelle, R. 4.06 (6)

Aux termes de ces règles, les modifications dans un affidavit sont paraphées par la personne qui a reçu le serment. À défaut, l’affidavit ne peut être utilisé sans l’autorisation du juge ou de l’officier de justice qui préside.

Dans l’exemple ci-dessous, un commissaire marque les changements en apposant ses initiales (A.B) à côté de chaque changement, ainsi un crochet au début et à la fin de chacun.

J'ai signifié l'affidavit le 5e jour de juin, 2011.

Certains commissaires demandent aussi au déposant de parapher tout changement.

Serments et affirmations solennelles non reliées à des affidavits

Voici des exemples de serments et d’affirmations qui sont couramment utilisés dans des situations autres que des affidavits. Comme mentionné ci-dessus, vous avez la responsabilité de demander au déposant quel type de serment ou d’affirmation solennelle est susceptible d’engager sa conscience.