Complaints Procedure - Ontario Mandatory Mediation Program

I. PURPOSE

Under Rule 24.1 of the Rules of Civil Procedure, each Local Mediation Committee (LMC) is responsible for receiving and responding to complaints about mediators. The following guidelines shall be used by each LMC to ensure that complaints are handled consistently, fairly and in the public interest.

II. SCOPE

The parties to a mediation under the Mandatory Mediation Program (MMP) and their lawyers, if the parties are represented, have a right to make a complaint regarding the conduct of a mediator who is on a roster of mediators in accordance with Rule 14.1 of the Rules of Civil Procedure.

III. ADMINISTRATION

  1. The Chair of the Local Mediation Committee may appoint a Complaints Subcommittee to respond to complaints in accordance with this complaints procedure. Where a Complaints Subcommittee has been appointed, any responsibility of the LMC Chair under these procedures shall be deemed to be the responsibility of the Complaints Subcommittee.
  2. A complaint shall be made in writing to the Local Mediation coordinator.
  3. On behalf of the LMC Chair, the Local Mediation Coordinator will maintain records of all complaints received and any records related to a complaint for a period of two years following the resolution or conclusion of the complaint.
  4. The LMC Chair has the discretion to extend the time limits set out in these procedures where appropriate.

IV. MAKING A COMPLAINT

  1. At any time during a mediation and up to 60 days after the last day of a scheduled mediation, a party or the party's lawyer may make a written complaint to the Local Mediation Coordinator about the conduct of the mediator.
  2. The Local Mediation Coordinator will advise the mediator and the LMC Chair in writing of the nature of the complaint within 15 days of its receipt
  3. The mediator will have 15 days to respond in writing to the complaint.
  4. Where the mediator referred to in (1) is the LMC Chair or LMC member, the Local Mediation Coordinator shall transfer the complaint to the Local Mediation Coordinator and LMC Chair of a different court jurisdiction for administration and investigation.
  5. The Local Mediation Coordinator and/or the LMC Chair will attempt to facilitate an informal resolution of the complaint and take appropriate action in a timely fashion.

V. INVESTIGATION OF COMPLAINTS

  1. The LMC Chair may direct the Local Mediation Coordinator or any other person to investigate a complaint.
  2. The investigator will review any available documents. The investigator may request information from the complainant, the mediator and any other appropriate person, but has no authority to require that such information be provided. The investigator may invite the complainant and the mediator to present information by telephone, in writing or at an informal meeting.
  3. Following the investigation, the investigator will make a recommendation to the LMC Chair. Based on the recommendation, the LMC Chair may decide whether or not further action is required. The LMC Chair will notify the complainant and the mediator in writing of this decision.

VI. REVIEW BY COMPLAINTS PANEL

  1. If the LMC Chair decides that further action is required, the LMC Chair will appoint a Complaints Panel of three LMC members to review the complaint.
  2. The Complaints Panel will review the results of the investigation and may give the complainant and the mediator an opportunity to present additional information concerning the complaint. The Complaint Panel may conduct the review in any manner it deems appropriate.
  3. Following the review, the Complaints Panel may make one or more of the following dispositions:
    • take no further action, if the complaint is without merit or has been dealt with appropriately;
    • counsel the mediator verbally or in writing;
    • reprimand the mediator verbally or in writing; or
    • remove the mediator from the roster.
  4. The Complaints Panel will inform the complainant and mediator of its decision, with reasons in writing.

Procédure relative aux plaintes - Programme de médiation obligatoire de l&Ontario

I. OBJET

Aux termes de la Règle 24.1 des Règles de procédure civile, les plaintes concernant des médiateurs doivent être adressées au comité local de la médiation (CLM) qui a la responsabilité d'y donner suite. Les CLM doivent utiliser les lignes directrices suivantes pour veiller à ce que les plaintes soient traitées de façon équitable et cohérente.

II. APPLICATION

Dans le cadre du Programme de médiation obligatoire (PMO), la Règle 24.1 des Règles de procédure civile donne aux parties à une médiation et à leurs avocats, le cas échéant, le droit de déposer une plainte à propos de la conduite d'un médiateur inscrit sur la liste de médiateurs du Programme.

III. ADMINISTRATION

  1. Le président du comité local de la médiation peut nommer un sous-comité des plaintes chargé de donner suite aux plaintes conformément à la présente procédure. Si un tel sous-comité a été créé, toutes les responsabilités qui incombent au président ou à la présidente du CLM aux termes de cette procédure doivent être considérées comme faisant partie des responsabilités du sous-comité des plaintes.
  2. Toutes les plaintes doivent être présentées par écrit au coordonnateur local de la médiation.
  3. Au nom du président du CLM, le coordonnateur local de la médiation conserve un registre de toutes les plaintes reçues ainsi que les dossiers relatifs à chaque plainte, pendant deux ans suivant la résolution ou la conclusion de la plainte.
  4. Le président du CLM peut prolonger les délais définis dans ces procédures s'il le juge opportun.

IV. DÉPÔT D'UNE PLAINTE

  1. À tout moment durant la médiation et dans les 60 jours suivant le dernier jour d'une médiation, une partie peut déposer une plainte écrite auprès du coordonnateur des services locaux de médiation concernant la conduite du médiateur.
  2. Dans les 15 jours suivant la réception de la plainte, le coordonnateur des services locaux de médiation en avise par écrit le médiateur et le président du CLM en précisant la nature de la plainte.
  3. Le médiateur doit répondre par écrit à la plainte dans les 15 jours qui suivent.
  4. Le coordonnateur local de la médiation et/ou le président essaient de trouver une solution à l'amiable à la plainte et prendront sans délai les mesures appropriées.

V. ENQUÊTE SUR LES PLAINTES

  1. Le président du CLM peut ordonner au coordonnateur des services locaux de médiation ou à toute autre personne de mener une enquête sur une plainte.
  2. L'enquêteur examine les documents disponibles. Il peut demander des renseignements au plaignant, au médiateur et à toute autre personne appropriée, mais n'a pas le pouvoir d'exiger la production de ces renseignements. L'enquêteur peut inviter le plaignant et le médiateur à fournir des renseignements par téléphone, par écrit ou dans le cadre d'une réunion informelle.
  3. Après l'enquête, l'enquêteur soumet sa recommandation au président du CLM. Sur la base de cette recommandation, le président du CLM décide s'il convient ou non de poursuivre l'affaire. Le président du CLM avisera le plaignant et le médiateur de sa décision, par écrit.

VI. EXAMEN PAR LE COMITÉ D'EXAMEN DES PLAINTES

  1. Si le président du CLM décide qu'il convient de poursuivre l'affaire, il nomme un comité d'examen des plaintes, composé de trois membres du CLM, chargé d'examiner la plainte.
  2. Le comité d'examen des plaintes passe en revue les résultats de l'enquête et peut accorder au plaignant et au médiateur la possibilité de présenter des renseignements additionnels au sujet de la plainte. Le comité d'examen des plaintes peut effectuer son examen de la manière qu'il estime convenable.
  3. Après son examen, le comité peut prendre une ou plusieurs des décisions suivantes :
    • ne pas poursuivre l'affaire, si la plainte n'est pas fondée ou si elle a été convenablement réglée;
    • fournir des conseils au médiateur verbalement ou par écrit;
    • réprimander le médiateur verbalement ou par écrit;
    • radier le médiateur de la liste.
  4. Le comité d'examen des plaintes informe le plaignant et le médiateur de sa décision, en leur remettant ses motifs par écrit.