Access Plan - Ontario Mandatory Mediation Program

I. Purpose

  • This access Plan will be adopted by each Local Mediation Committee to ensure that litigants with limited financial resources are not denied access to mediation services under the Mandatory Mediation Program because of an inability to pay a mediator’s fees

II. Definition of "pro bono"

  • A pro bono mediation for the purposes of the MMP is defined as one in which the mediator’s fee is waived or reduced because a litigant is unable to pay for the mediator’s fee and the litigant has:
  1. obtained a legal aid certificate, or
  2. not obtained a legal aid certificate but otherwise meets the MMP financial eligibility test.
  • If the litigant has obtained a legal aid certificate, the fee for pro bono mediations will be in accordance with the applicable legal aid tariff.

III. Responsibilities

The Mediator

  • Mediators have a professional responsibility to provide competent services to persons seeking their assistance, including those unable to pay for such services. As a means of meeting the needs of the financially disadvantaged, a mediator should provide mediation services at a pro bono or a reduced rate of compensation whenever appropriate.
  • As a condition precedent to acceptance and placement on the roster, mediators under the MMP will undertake to conduct up to twelve hours of pro bono mediations pr year (12-month period starting from the time of admission to the roster).
  • If a litigant requests a pro bono mediation directly from a mediator, the mediator will inform the litigant of this Access Plan. The mediator will advise the litigant to obtain a legal aid certificate and/or refer the litigant to the Local Mediation Coordinator to conduct a financial eligibility test.
  • It is the mediator’s obligation to inform the Local Mediation Coordinator of any pro bono mediations he or she has conducted.
  • If a mediation is assigned to a mediator who has already conducted twelve hours of pro bono mediations in a 12-month period, the mediator may refer the case back to the Local Mediation Coordinator for assignment to another mediator.
  • The mediator will not disclose that mediation services are being conducted on a pro bono basis to anyone other than the Local Mediation Coordinator.

The Litigants

  • A litigant who is unable to pay for the mediator’s fee may seek pr bono mediation services by:
  1. obtaining a legal aid certificate prior to the commencement of the mediation session, or
  2. meeting the MPP financial eligibility test.
  • A litigant with a legal aid certificate will provide a copy upon request to the mediator or the Local Mediation Coordinator.
  • A litigant seeking pro bono mediation services and who does not have a legal aid certificate will apply to the Local Mediation Coordinator to determine financial eligibility.
  • In accordance with the financial eligibility test, a litigant will be required to provide financial information to the Local Mediation Coordinator and to complete a Financial Eligibility Form. A litigant who is unwilling to undergo the financial eligibility test will not qualify for pro bono mediation services.

The Local Mediation Coordinator

  • If a litigant seeking pro bono mediation services has not been able to obtain a legal aid certificate, the Local Mediation Coordinator will conduct a financial eligibility test and make a determination as to whether the litigant qualifies for pro bono mediation.
  • Where a litigant qualifies for a pro bono mediation under the Access Plan, the Local Mediation Coordinator will direct the mediator to conduct a mediation without charging a fee for the litigant who has qualified under this Access Plan.
  • The Local Mediation Coordinator will not knowingly assign a pro bono mediation to a mediator who has informed the Coordinator that he or she has conducted twelve hours of pro bono mediations in a 12-month period.
  • The Local Mediation Coordinator will not disclose that mediation services are being conducted on a pro bono basis to anyone other than the assigned mediator. Details of the litigant’s financial circumstances will be kept private and confidential.

DETERMINING FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY

In accordance with the MMP Access Plan, pro bono mediation services will be provided to a litigant who is unable to pay for the mediator’s fee if the litigant has either:

  1. obtained a legal aid certificate, or
  2. not obtained a legal aid certificate but otherwise meets the MPP financial eligibility test.

A litigant who has not obtained a legal aid certificate and who wishes to apply for pro bono mediation services will apply to the Local Mediation Coordinator to determine financial eligibility. The Local Mediation Coordinator will conduct a financial assessment in a short interview and the litigant will be required to complete the Financial Eligibility Form.

The financial eligibility test for mediation services is based on an income, liquidity and net worth test. Mediation services will not be provided on a pro bono basis if the litigant has income, liquid assets or a net worth above the income, liquidity and net worth measures as stipulated below.

A litigant seeking pro bono mediation services will be required to disclose financial information for all members of the family unit. The family unit includes the litigant, a spouse and any dependent children of the litigant, but does not include any other family members.

DEFINITIONS

A " dependent child" is a child who is unmarried, under age 18 or enrolled in a full-time program of education, and if age 16 or older has not withdrawn from parental control. A dependent child includes an adopted child.

" Gross income" is defined to include all payments of any kind received by or on behalf of the litigant, the spouse and any dependent children. This includes but is not limited to income from:

  • employment, including salaries, wages, commissions and bonuses;
  • social assistance, Canada pension, Old Age pension, other pensions and disability benefits;
  • employment insurance benefits;
  • workers compensation;
  • rental income;
  • support received;
  • investment income or income from annuities and income funds;
  • income from a business.

" Liquid assets" are defined as all assets owned by the litigant, the spouse or dependent children that can be readily converted to cash. This includes, but is not limited to: cash, Canada Savings Bonds, bonds, stocks, debentures, RRSPs (not locked in), Guaranteed Investment Certificates, mutual funds and any interest in assets held in trust. Liquid assets do not include vehicles, household furnishings, tools or equipment necessary for employment.

" Net worth" is defined as the difference between a) the value of all of a litigant’s assets and property holdings and b) the value of all his or her financial liabilities and debts.

" Spouse" is defined in accordance with the Family Law Act as:

  • a person who is legally married to the litigant who is either living with the litigant or apart from the litigant for reasons of employment, schooling, incarceration, institutionalization,
  • a person of the opposite sex who is living with the litigant and although not legally married to the litigant,
  • has cohabited continuously with the litigant for a period of not less than three three years; or
  • has cohabited with the litigant in a relationship of some permanence and is together with the litigant, the natural or adoptive parent of a child;
  • a person of the opposite sex who is living with the litigant and although not legally married to the litigant, self declares an equivalent to married status.

PART 1: INCOME TEST

If the primary source of family income is income from one of the sources listed below, pro bono mediation services will be provided without applying the eligibility test:

  • Welfare
  • Family Benefits
  • Old Age Pension with guaranteed income supplement
  • War Veterans Allowance
  • Canada Pension Plan (only if primary source of income)
  • Workers’ Compensation Benefits which are temporary and threatened.

If the primary source of family income is not from one of the above sources, a litigant seeking pro bono mediation services will record his or her total gross income from all sources (annual or monthly) on the Financial Eligibility Form by selecting the applicable income range. Those litigants with an income above the gross income cutoffs will not qualify for pro bono mediation services.

Gross Income Cutoffs:

The following chart outlines the gross income cutoffs according to family size:

Family Size Monthly Gross Income Annual Gross Income
1 $1,500.00 $18,000.00
2 $2,250.00 $27,000.00
3 $2,583.00 $31,000.00
4 $3,083.00 $37,000.00
5+ $3,583.00 $43,000.00

PART II: LIQUIDITY TEST

Liquid Assets

Where the total value of the litigant’s liquid assets exceed the liquidity measure of $1,500, the litigant does not qualify for pro bono mediation services.

PART III. NET WORTH TEST

Net Worth

Where the litigant’s net worth exceeds $6,000, the litigant does not qualify for pro bono mediation services.

PART IV: MISCELLANEOUS

Litigant Non-Cooperation

A litigant who is unwilling to undergo the financial assessment or refuses to provide financial information, including making the declaration on the Financial Eligibility Form, will not qualify for pro bono mediation services.

Verification of Financial Information

A litigant will provide financial information verbally to the Local Mediation Coordinator during the financial assessment interview. The litigant will be required to complete the Financial Eligibility Form and make the declaration. There is no requirement for the litigant to provide any other verification of financial information.

Confidentiality and Freedom of Information

In accordance with the MMP Access Plan, the Local Mediation Coordinator will not disclose that mediation services are being conducted on a pro bono basis to anyone other than the assigned mediator. Details of the litigant’s financial circumstances will be kept private and confidential.

A litigant will be entitled to a copy of the financial Eligibility Form if requested.

To be completed by litigants seeking pro bono mediation services under the MMP Access Plan.

Date: _____________ Location (county): ______________________________

yy mm dd

Name: __________________________________

First Last

 
  1. How many people are in your family unit, including you, your spouse and any dependent children?

1 2 3 4 5+

  1. What is the total gross income of your family unit annually (or monthly)?

o No income o Under $18,000 ($1,500) o $18,000-26,999 ($1,500-2,249)

o $27,000-30,999 ($2,250-2,582) o $31,000-36,999 ($2,582-3,082)

o $37,000-43,000 ($3,083-3,583) o Over $43,000 ($3,583)

  1. Does the total amount of your liquid assets exceed $1,500 including all bank accounts, bonds, stocks, RRSPs, GICs, mutual funds and similar assets? (Do not include vehicles, real property and household effects)

o yes o no

  1. Does your net worth exceed $6,000?

o yes o no


Declaration:

I, _____________________, of the ______________ of _____________, declare that the above information is true and correct and I make this statement conscientiously believing it to be true and knowing that it is of the same force and effect as if made under oath.

Declare before me at the __________ of __________ in the province of Ontario this

_____ day of ______________ 19 ___.

________________________ ____________________________

Local Mediation Coordinator Signature   Litigant Signature Counsel Signature

(if applicable)

Régime d'accès - Programme de médiation obligatoire de l’Ontario

I. Objet

  • Ce régime d’accès sera adopté par chacun des comités locaux de médiation pour garantir que les plaideurs aux ressources financières restreintes ne se verront pas refuser des services de médiation aux termes du Programme de médiation obligatoire pour le motif qu’ils ne sont pas en mesure de payer les honoraires d’un médiateur.

II. Définition de "médiation gratuite"

  • Une médiation gratuite, aux fins du PMO, est une médiation pour laquelle les honoraires du médiateur font l’objet d’une renonciation ou d’une réduction parce que le plaideur est incapable de les payer et qu’il :
  1. a obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique, ou
  2. n’a pas obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique, mais répond par ailleurs au critère d’admissibilité financière du PMO.
  • Si le plaideur a obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique, les honoraires applicables aux médiations gratuites seront établis en conformité avec le tarif pertinent de de juridique.

III. Responsabilités

Le médiateur

  • Le médiateur a l’obligation professionnelle de fournir des services compétents aux personnes qui sollicitent son aide, y compris aux personnes qui ne sont pas en mesure de payer de tels services. Afin de répondre aux besoins des personnes en difficultés financières, le médiateur devrait leur fournir des services de médiation gratuitement ou selon un taux moindre de rémunération dans les cas qui le justifient.
  • Pour pouvoir être agréés et figurer sur la liste, les médiateurs relevant du PMO s’engageront à effectuer jusqu’à 12 heures de médiation gratuite par année (période de 12 mois débutant à la date d’inscription du médiateur sur la liste).
  • Si un plaideur demande directement à un médiateur de bénéficier d’une médiation gratuite, le médiateur informera le plaideur du présent régime d’accès. Le médiateur lui conseillera d’obtenir un certificat d’aide juridique et/ou dirigera le plaideur vers le coordonnateur local de la médiation, qui verra s’il répond au critère d’admissibilité financière.
  • Le médiateur a l’obligation de signaler au coordonnateur local de la médiation les médiations gratuites qu’il a effectuées.
  • Si une médiation est assignée à un médiateur qui a déjà fait 12 heures de médiation gratuite au cours d’une période de 12 mois, le médiateur peut renvoyer l’affaire au coordonnateur local de la médiation, qui l’assignera à un autre médiateur.
  • Le médiateur ne révélera à personne, si ce n’est au coordonnateur local de la médiation, qu’une médiation est effectuée gratuitement.

Les plaideurs

  • Un plaideur qui n’est pas en mesure de payer les honoraires du médiateur peut bénéficier d’une médiation gratuite :
  1. en obtenant un certificat d’aide juridique avant le début de la séance de médiation, ou
  2. en répondant au critère d’admissibilité financière du PMO.
  • Un plaideur qui détient un certificat d’aide juridique en remettra sur demande un exemplaire au médiateur ou au coordonnateur local de la médiation.
  • Un plaideur qui sollicite une médiation gratuite et qui n’a pas de certificat d’aide juridique demandera au coordonnateur local de la médiation de déterminer son admissibilité financière.
  • En conformité avec le critère d’admissibilité financière, un plaideur sera tenu de fournir une information financière au coordonnateur local de la médiation et de remplir un formulaire d’admissibilité financière. Si le plaideur refuse de se soumettre au critère de l’admissibilité financière, il ne pourra pas se qualifier pour une médiation gratuite.

Le coordonnateur local de la médiation

  • Si un plaideur qui sollicite une médiation gratuite n’a pu obtenir un certificat d’aide juridique, le coordonnateur local de la médiation appliquera le critère d’admissibilité financière et décidera si le plaideur se qualifie pour une médiation gratuite.
  • Lorsqu’un plaideur se qualifie pour une médiation gratuite en vertu du régime d’accès, le coordonnateur local de la médiation ordonnera au médiateur d’effectuer pour ce plaideur une médiation sans lui demander d’honoraires.
  • Le coordonnateur local de la médiation ne pourra sciemment assigner une médiation gratuite à un médiateur qui a informé le coordonnateur qu’il a effectué 12 heures de médiation gratuite au cours d’une période de 12 mois.
  • Le coordonnateur local de la médiation ne révélera à personne, si ce n’est au médiateur retenu, qu’une médiation est effectuée gratuitement. Les détails de la situation financière du plaideur devront demeurer confidentiels.

Critère d’admissibilité financière
PROGRAMME DE MÉDIATION OBLIGATOIRE DE L’ONTARIO

ÉTABLISSEMENT DE L’ADMISSIBILITÉ FINANCIÈRE

En conformité avec le régime d’accès du PMO, une médiation gratuite sera effectuée au bénéfice d’un plaideur qui n’est pas en mesure de payer les honoraires du médiateur et qui :

  1. a obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique, ou
  2. n’a pas obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique, mais répond par ailleurs au critère d’admissibilité financière du PMO.

Un plaideur qui n’a pas obtenu un certificat d’aide juridique et qui sollicite une médiation gratuite demandera au coordonnateur local de la médiation de déterminer son admissibilité financière. Le coordonnateur local de la médiation procédera à une évaluation financière au cours d’une brève entrevue, et le plaideur devra remplir la formule d’admissibilité financière.

Le critère d’admissibilité financière applicable aux services de médiation est fondé sur une évaluation du revenu, des liquidités et de l’avoir net. La médiation ne sera pas effectuée gratuitement si le plaideur a un revenu, des liquidités ou un avoir net qui dépassent les mesures indiquées ci-après du revenu, des liquidités et de l’avoir net.

Un plaideur qui sollicite une médiation gratuite devra divulguer l’information financière se rapportant à tous les membres de sa cellule familiale. La cellule familiale comprend le plaideur, un conjoint et les enfants à charge du plaideur, à l’exclusion des autres membres de la famille.

DÉFINITIONS

Un "enfant à charge" est un enfant qui n’est pas marié, qui a moins de 18 ans ou est inscrit dans un programme scolaire à temps plein et qui, s’il est âgé de 16 ans ou plus, ne s’est pas soustrait à l’autorité parentale. Un enfant à charge englobe aussi un enfant adopté.

L’expression "revenu brut" comprend les paiements de toute sorte reçus par le plaideur ou en son nom, par le conjoint ou en son nom et par les enfants à charge ou en leur nom. L’expression englobe notamment :

  • les revenus d’emploi, y compris les salaires, les rémunérations, les commissions et les bonis;
  • les prestations d’aide sociale, les prestations du Régime de pensions du Canada, les prestations d’assurance-vieillesse et autres prestations de pension ou d’invalidité;
  • les prestations d’assurance-emploi;
  • les prestations versées au titre d’accidents du travail;
  • les revenus de location;
  • les pensions alimentaires reçues;
  • les revenus de placement ou revenus de rente et les fonds à revenu;
  • les revenus tirés d’une entreprise.

Le mot "liquidités" s’entend de tous les actifs qui appartiennent au plaideur, au conjoint ou aux enfants à charge et qui peuvent être facilement convertis en espèces. Il s’agit notamment du numéraire, des obligations d’épargne du Canada, des obligations, des actions, des débentures, des REER (non bloqués), des certificats de placement garantis, des fonds communs de placement et du droit sur des actifs détenus en fiducie. Les liquidités ne comprennent pas les véhicules, les meubles de maison, les outils et les équipements nécessaires pour le travail.

L’expression "avoir net" s’entend de la différence entre a) la valeur de tous les biens mobiliers et immobiliers du plaideur et b) l’ensemble de ses dettes et de son passif.

Le mot "conjoint" est défini ainsi dans la Loi sur le droit de la famille :

  • une personne qui est légalement mariée au plaideur et qui vit avec le plaideur, ou ne vit pas avec le plaideur pour des raisons de travail, de scolarité, d’incarcération ou de placement en établissement;
  • une personne du sexe opposé qui vit avec le plaideur et qui, bien qu’elle ne soit pas légalement mariée avec le plaideur,
  • a habité avec le plaideur d’une manière continue pendant une période d’au moins trois ans; ou
  • a habité avec le plaideur dans une relation présentant une certaine permanence et est, avec le plaideur, le parent naturel ou adoptif d’un enfant;
  • une personne du sexe opposé qui vit avec le plaideur et qui, bien qu’elle ne soit pas mariée légalement avec le plaideur, se dit engagée avec lui dans une relation qui équivaut à celle d’un couple légitime.

PARTIE 1: CRITÈRE DU REVENU

Si la source principale du revenu familial est un revenu qui provient de l’une des sources indiquées ci-après, une médiation gratuite sera effectuée sans que soit appliqué le critère d’admissibilité financière :

  • Prestations d’aide sociale
  • Prestations familiales
  • Prestations d’assurance-vieillesse, avec supplément de revenu garanti
  • Allocations d’ancien combattant
  • Régime de pensions du Canada (uniquement si c’est la principale source de revenu)
  • Prestations pour accident du travail, dans la mesure où elles sont temporaires et sur le point de prendre fin.

Si la source principale du revenu familial n’est pas l’une des sources ci-dessus, un plaideur qui sollicite une médiation gratuite indiquera sur la formule d’admissibilité financière son revenu brut total provenant de toutes sources (revenu annuel ou mensuel), en choisissant la fourchette applicable de revenu. Les plaideurs dont le revenu dépasse les seuils de revenu brut ne seront pas admissibles à une médiation gratuite.

Seuils de revenu brut

Le tableau suivant indique les seuils de revenu brut selon la taille de la famille :

 

Taille de la famille Revenu brut mensuel Revenu brut annuel
1 1 500,00 $ 18 000,00 $
2 2 250,00 $ 27 000,00 $
3 2 583,00 $ 31 000,00 $
4 3 083,00 $ 37 000,00 $
5+ 3 583,00 $ 43 000,00 $

PARTIE II: CRITÈRE DES LIQUIDITÉS

Liquidités

Lorsque la valeur totale des liquidités du plaideur dépasse la somme 1 500 $, le plaideur n’a pas droit à une médiation gratuite.

PARTIE III. CRITÈRE DE L’AVOIR NET

Avoir net

Lorsque l’avoir net du plaideur dépasse 6 000 $, le plaideur n’a pas droit à une médiation gratuite.

PARTIE IV: DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES

Non-coopération du plaideur

Un plaideur qui refuse de subir l’évaluation financière ou de présenter une information financière, notamment de faire la déclaration sur la formule d’admissibilité financière, n’aura pas droit à une médiation gratuite.

Vérification de l’information financière

Le plaideur communiquera oralement l’information financière au coordonnateur local de la médiation pendant l’entrevue d’évaluation financière. Il devra remplir la formule d’admissibilité financière et faire la déclaration. Il n’y a aucune obligation pour le plaideur de fournir une autre vérification de l’information financière.

Confidentialité et accès à l’information

En conformité avec le régime d’accès du MPO, le coordonnateur local de la médiation ne pourra révéler à quiconque, si ce n’est au médiateur retenu, qu’une médiation est effectuée gratuitement. Les détails de la situation financière du plaideur devront demeurer confidentiels.

Le plaideur aura droit à une copie de la formule d’admissibilité financière, s’il en fait la demande.

Doit être remplie par les plaideurs qui sollicitent une médiation gratuite en vertu du régime d’accès du MPO.

Date: _____________ Endroit (comté) : _____________________

Année/mois/jour

Nom : __________________________________

Prénom Nom de famille

  1. Combien de personnes y a-t-il dans votre cellule familiale (c’est-à-dire vous-même, votre conjoint et les enfants à charge)?

1 2 3 4 5+

  1. Quel est le revenu brut total annuel (ou mensuel) de votre cellule familiale?

~Aucun revenu

~ Moins de 18 000 $ (1 500 $) ~ 18 000 $-26 999 $ (1 500 $-2 249 $)

~ 27 000 $-30 999 $ (2 250 $-2 582 $) ~ 31 000 $-36 999 $ (2 582 $-3 082 $)

~ 37 000 $-43 000 $ (3 083 $-3 583 $) ~ Plus de 43 000 $ (3 583 $)

  1. La somme totale de vos liquidités dépasse-t-elle 1 500 $, qu’il s’agisse de comptes bancaires, d’obligations, d’actions, de REER, de CPG, de fonds communs de placement et autres actifs semblables? (Ne pas inclure les véhicules, les biens immeubles et les articles ménagers)

oui non

  1. Votre avoir net dépasse-t-il 6 000 $?

oui non

Déclaration :

Je soussigné(e), _____________________, de la ______________ de _____________, déclare que l’information ci-dessus est véridique et exacte, et je fais cette déclaration en croyant sincèrement qu’elle est véridique et en sachant qu’elle a la même valeur que si elle était faite sous la foi du serment.

Déclaré devant moi dans la __________ de __________, dans la province de l’Ontario, ce _____ jour de ______________ 19 ___.

 

__________________________________

Signature du coordonnateur local  

 

______________________________

Signature du plaideur de la médiation Signature de l’avocat (le cas échéant).