The Annual Jury Selection Process

Jury selection in Ontario is a year-round process. These are the steps.

Jury Roll Process

May:

Required number of jurors is calculated

Jurors can be required for criminal trials, civil trials and Coroner's inquests. Each of the 50 Superior Court of Justice locations in Ontario calculates the number of jurors they will need for the upcoming year. They consider several factors, such as the number of jurors required in previous years and the anticipated number of trials. They send their estimates to the Provincial Jury Centre.

September – November:

Questionnaires sent to potential jurors

Video clip: "Questionnaires are the first step"

To meet the estimated demand for jurors, juror questionnaires are mailed to people who are selected randomly from the most recent municipal enumeration (voters’) lists. For people living in a First Nation community, other lists, like Band lists, are used.

The questionnaire mailing includes a letter from the Attorney General, an instruction sheet and prepaid reply envelope.

People completing the questionnaire are invited to call one of two toll-free lines: one line provides recorded instructions on how to complete the questionnaire and one line reaches representatives at the Provincial Jury Centre who can answer questions about the questionnaire or the summons.

People who receive a questionnaire complete and return it in the pre-paid envelope. The completed questionnaires are used to determine whether a person is eligible for jury duty.

December:

Jury roll created and certified

Questionnaires are sorted for eligibility for jury duty. Jurors need to be Canadian citizens and at least 18 years old. Anyone who has attended court for jury duty in the previous three years cannot serve again. People in certain professions like firefighters, police officers and doctors as well as people convicted of a broad range of criminal offences are excluded from serving.

People who are eligible to serve are put on a list of potential jurors called the jury roll. The jury roll includes the name, address and occupation of the potential jurors. Once the jury roll is created, it is certified as accurate and complete. Jury panels are randomly selected from this list.

Jury Panel Process

January – December of the following year
(Year-round):

Jury panels are established

Video clip: "Being summoned"

Each court estimates the number of jurors they need for upcoming trials and sends the request to the Provincial Jury Centre. The Provincial Jury Centre uses a computer program to randomly select jury panels from the jury roll.

Criminal record checks are conducted through the Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC) on individuals randomly selected from the jury panel list. Those with a criminal record are removed from the list.

A jury panel is typically a group of 50 to 300 people who are summoned to a specific courthouse.

The summons indicates the date and court location to attend for jury duty. The court date for the jury panel members is at least 21 days after the date their summons is mailed.

About 180,000 people in Ontario are summoned for jury duty each year.

Jury Selection

January – December of the following year
(Year-round):

Juries selected

Jury panel members gather at the court location and on the date noted on their summons. The Court Services Officer divides them into groups for each trial that day. Panel members are then called into the courtroom so that all the parties can see the prospective jurors. Prospective jurors who are not selected may be assigned to another panel on the same day or asked to return the following day.

Each panel member has an assigned number which appears on a ballot card. Inside the courtroom, court staff randomly selects ballot cards and calls out the number of the panel member. In many courtrooms, these ballot cards are chosen lottery-style from a drum.

Panel members are given the opportunity to let the judge know of any difficulties they may experience in attending court on the date of their summons because of employment, schooling or a scheduled vacation. The judge may defer the panel member’s service to a later date, excuse the panel member or require them to serve on the jury. Whether selected for jury duty or excused, panel members are ineligible for jury duty for the next three years.

Note: Deferral and excusal requests may also be made to the local court office in advance of the summons date. These requests are considered by a judge.

Criminal Trials

Twelve people sit on a jury in a criminal trial.

In a criminal trial, the prospective juror goes to the front of the courtroom and faces the accused. At that point, the person is either accepted by each of the lawyers or rejected by one of them.

The Crown attorney and defence counsel can reject a limited number of prospective jurors without giving a reason. That is known as a peremptory challenge.

In some cases, counsel pose a few pre-determined questions to each prospective juror to ensure that they will be able to decide the case free of prejudice or bias such as:

Would your ability to judge the evidence in this case without bias be affected by anything you have heard or read about this case in the media?

This is called a challenge for cause.

Criminal juries are occasionally used to review applications by offenders serving jail sentences who are asking to be eligible for parole sooner.

Video Clip: "How the Crown and defense select jurors"

Civil Trials

Six people sit on a jury in a civil trial.

In a civil trial, the names of six prospective jurors are randomly drawn and those six people are seated in the jury box. At that point, counsel for the plaintiff and counsel for the defendant are asked if they wish to challenge any of the jurors. If a juror is challenged, he or she leaves the jury box and is replaced by another juror, called randomly from the panel.

The judge decides if the panel members who have been challenged return to the general panel or are dismissed from jury duty obligations.

Coroner’s Inquests

Five people sit on a jury in a Coroner’s inquest.

A Coroner’s inquest is a public hearing, presided over by a coroner. A coroner is a physician who is trained to investigate suspicious and unexpected deaths. Coroner’s inquest findings are used to generate recommendations to help improve public safety and prevent deaths in similar circumstances.

Trial

January – December of the following year
(Year-round):

Video clip: "Role of the judge"
Video clip: "Role of the Crown attorney and the defence counsel"

If selected to serve on a jury, jurors go to the court location on the date and time specified by the judge. Most trials begin on the same day as the jury is selected and last between a couple of days and a couple of weeks.


Serving as a Juror

It is the civic duty of all Canadian citizens 18 years of age and older to serve as a juror if selected. The experience may be different than you think. Find out more.

Video clip: "Why serve as a juror"
Video clip: "Serving as a juror"

Video: "Jury Duty and You" When people arrive at a courthouse to report for jury duty, they are shown a video outlining the role of the juror and what to expect if they are selected as a juror. This is that video.

Le processus annuel de sélection des jurés

La sélection des jurés en Ontario est un processus qui dure toute l'année. En voici les étapes.

Le processus de composition de la liste des jurés

Mai :

Calcul du nombre de jurés requis

Des jurés peuvent être nécessaires pour des procès criminels, des procès civils et des enquêtes du coroner. Chacun des 50 tribunaux de la Cour supérieure de justice en Ontario calcule le nombre de jurés dont il aura besoin pour l'année qui vient. À cet effet, il tient compte de divers facteurs, comme le nombre de jurés des années précédentes et le nombre anticipé de procès. Ces tribunaux envoient leurs estimations au Centre provincial de sélection des jurés.

Septembre – Novembre :

Envoi des questionnaires aux jurés potentiels

Clip vidéo : Questionnaires are the first step (« Le questionnaire est la première étape » - en anglais seulement)

Pour déterminer le nombre estimé de jurés qui seront nécessaires, un questionnaire du juré est envoyé aux personnes qui ont été sélectionnées au hasard sur la plus récente liste de recensement municipale (liste d'électeurs). Pour des personnes qui vivent dans une communauté des Premières Nations, d'autres listes sont utilisées, comme des listes de membres de bande.

L'envoi contient également une lettre du procureur général, une feuille d'instructions et une enveloppe réponse préaffranchie.

Les personnes qui remplissent le questionnaire sont invitées à appeler l'une de deux lignes d'information gratuites : une ligne fournit des instructions enregistrées pour remplir le questionnaire et l'autre donne accès à des représentants du Centre provincial de sélection des jurés, qui peuvent répondre à des questions sur le questionnaire ou l'assignation.

Les personnes qui reçoivent un questionnaire doivent le remplir et le retourner dans une enveloppe préaffranchie. Les questionnaires dûment remplis sont utilisés pour déterminer si une personne est habile à remplir la fonction de juré.

Décembre :

Création de la liste des jurés et certification

Les questionnaires sont triés pour déterminer qui est admissible à remplir la fonction de juré. Les jurés doivent être des citoyens canadiens et avoir au moins 18 ans. Les personnes qui ont déjà rempli la fonction de juré au cours des trois dernières années sont exclues. Certaines professions sont exclues, comme les pompiers, les agents de police et les médecins, ainsi que les personnes reconnues coupables d'un vaste éventail d'infractions criminelles.

Les personnes admissibles à remplir la fonction de juré sont inscrites à la liste des jurés potentiels, qu'on appelle la liste des jurés. Cette liste contient le nom, l'adresse et la profession des jurés potentiels. Une fois que la liste des jurés est dressée, elle est certifiée exacte et complète. Les tableaux des jurés sont sélectionnés au hasard de cette liste.

Le processus de composition du tableau des jurés

Janvier – Décembre de l'année qui suit
(toute l'année) :

Établissement des tableaux des jurés

Clip vidéo : Being summoned (« L'assignation » - en anglais seulement)

Chaque tribunal estime le nombre de jurés dont il aura besoin pour les procès à venir et envoie la demande au Centre provincial de sélection des jurés. Ce centre utilise un programme informatique pour sélectionner au hasard des tableaux des jurés à partir de la liste des jurés.

Les vérifications du casier judiciaire des personnes choisies au hasard sur les tableaux des jurés sont effectuées par le biais du Centre d'information de la police canadienne (CIPC). Les personnes qui ont un casier judiciaire sont retirées de la liste.

Un tableau des jurés contient généralement entre 50 et 300 personnes, qui sont assignées à se présenter à un palais de justice particulier.

L'assignation indique la date et l'adresse du tribunal où la personne doit se présenter pour remplir la fonction de juré. L'assignation est envoyée au moins 21 jours avant la date où la personne doit se présenter.

Environ 180 000 personnes en Ontario sont assignées à se présenter pour être membre d'un jury chaque année.

La sélection des jurés

Janvier – Décembre de l'année qui suit
(toute l'année) :

Sélection des membres du jury

Les membres du tableau des jurés se présentent au tribunal indiqué à la date précisée sur l'assignation. L'agent des services aux tribunaux les répartit en groupes pour chaque procès de la journée. Les membres du tableau sont ensuite convoqués dans la salle d'audience, pour que toutes les parties puissent voir les jurés potentiels. Les jurés potentiels qui ne sont pas sélectionnés peuvent être assignés à un autre tableau, le même jour, ou être convoqués pour le lendemain.

Chaque membre du tableau des jurés se voit assigner un numéro qui apparaît sur un bulletin de vote. À l'intérieur de la salle d'audience, le personnel du tribunal sélectionne au hasard les bulletins de vote et appelle le numéro de la personne. Dans de nombreuses salles d'audience, ces bulletins sont tirés d'une boîte, comme dans une loterie.

Les membres du tableau des jurés ont la possibilité de porter à l'attention du juge toute difficulté qu'ils pourraient avoir à se présenter au tribunal à la date indiquée sur l'assignation, que ce soit en raison d'un emploi, d'études ou de vacances prévues. Le juge peut ordonner que l'obligation de la personne d'être juré soit remise à une date ultérieure, excuser complètement la personne ou exiger qu'elle remplisse ses fonctions de juré. Qu'elle soit sélectionnée pour être juré ou excusée, la personne ne peut pas être juré pour les trois prochaines années.

Nota : les demandes de remise ou d'excuse peuvent également être présentées au greffe local avant la date de l'assignation. Ces demandes sont examinées par un juge.

Procès criminels

Douze personnes siègent à un jury dans un procès criminel.

Dans un procès criminel, le juré potentiel se tient face à l'accusé dans la salle d'audience. Elle est soit acceptée par les deux avocats, soit récusée par l'un d'entre eux.

Le procureur de la Couronne et l'avocat de la défense peuvent récuser un nombre limité de jurés potentiels sans fournir de motif. C'est ce qu'on appelle la récusation péremptoire.

Dans certains cas, l'avocat pose quelques questions préétablies à chaque juré potentiel pour déterminer s'il sera capable de prendre une décision impartiale sur l'affaire. Exemple de question :

Votre capacité de juger les éléments de preuve dans cette affaire d'une façon impartiale sera-t-elle influencée par ce que vous avez entendu ou lu au sujet de l'affaire dans les médias?

C'est ce qu'on appelle une récusation motivée.

Les jurés dans un procès criminel sont parfois utilisés pour passer en revue des demandes de contrevenants purgeant une peine d'emprisonnement qui souhaitent être admissibles à la libération conditionnelle plus rapidement.

Clip vidéo : How the Crown and defense select jurors (« Comment l'avocat de la Couronne et l'avocat de la défense sélectionnent les jurés » - en anglais seulement)

Procès civils

Six personnes composent le jury dans un procès civil.

Dans un procès civil, les noms de six jurés potentiels sont tirés au hasard. Ces six personnes sont assises sur le banc des jurés. L'avocat du demandeur et l'avocat du défendeur décident s'ils veulent récuser un des jurés. Si un juré est récusé, il doit quitter le banc des jurés et est remplacé par un autre juré, choisi au hasard sur le tableau des jurés.

Le juge décide si les membres du tableau qui ont été récusés seront retournés sur le tableau des jurés ou excusés complètement.

Enquêtes du coroner

Cinq personnes composent le jury dans une enquête du coroner.

L'enquête du coroner est une audience publique, présidée par un coroner. Le coroner est un médecin spécialement formé pour mener des enquêtes sur des décès suspects et inattendus. Les conclusions de l'enquête du coroner sont utilisées pour formuler des recommandations qui visent à améliorer la sécurité publique et prévenir des décès dans des circonstances semblables.

Procès

Janvier – Décembre de l'année suivante
(toute l'année) :

Clip vidéo : Role of the judge (« Le rôle du juge » - en anglais seulement)

Clip vidéo : Role of the Crown attorney and the defence counsel (« Le rôle de l'avocat de la Couronne et de l'avocat de la défense » - en anglais seulement)

Les personnes sélectionnées pour remplir la fonction de juré se rendent au tribunal à la date et à l'heure précisées par le juge. La plupart des procès commencent le jour même de la sélection des jurés et durent quelques jours ou quelques semaines.

Remplir les fonctions de juré

C'est une obligation civique pour tous les citoyens canadiens de plus de 18 ans qui sont sélectionnés. C'est une expérience particulière. Pour en savoir plus :

Clip vidéo : Why serve as a juror (« Pourquoi faire partie d'un jury » - en anglais seulement)

Clip vidéo : Serving as a juror (« Remplir les fonctions de juré » - en anglais seulement)

Clip vidéo : « La fonction de juré et vous » (doublée en français). Lorsque les personnes arrivent au palais de justice pour remplir leurs fonctions de juré, elles doivent visionner une vidéo expliquant le rôle du juré et ce qui est attendu du juré, s'il est sélectionné. Il s'agit de cette vidéo.