Free and confidential support for jurors after a trial

Free and confidential support for jurors after a trial

Jury duty is an important civic responsibility, and can be a very rewarding experience. In some cases, it can also be stressful. Talking to a qualified counsellor can help to ease the transition after a trial or inquest.

How the program works

Ontario now offers free, confidential and professional counselling to jurors. The Juror Support Program is available to jurors after they complete jury duty on a criminal trial, a civil trial or Coroner’s inquest.

Speak with a qualified and experienced counsellor, toll-free, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

  • 1‑844‑JUROR‑ON (1‑844‑587‑6766)
  • TTY: 1‑877‑338‑0275

To request counselling, jurors need to provide the following information:

  • location of the court where their jury trial or inquest took place
  • start and end date of the trial/inquest and
  • name of the case or inquest

Jurors initially receive up to four one-hour counselling sessions. They can choose to receive counselling services over the phone, in-person, via email or videoconference and in English or French. They will also receive disability accommodation.

Eligibility

The Juror Support Program is available to jurors after they complete jury duty on a criminal trial, a civil trial or Coroner’s inquest. Jurors can access counselling services by calling 1‑844‑JUROR‑ON (1‑844‑587‑6766).

In-person counselling

Jurors can arrange for an in-person counselling session over the phone, if they would prefer to meet a counsellor in person.

The phone representative will match jurors with an experienced counsellor. In-person counselling sessions are available across Ontario. When a counsellor has been found, the counsellor will contact the juror to arrange a date and location to meet.

Other methods of counselling

Jurors can choose to receive counselling over the phone, via email or videoconference, depending on their preference.

Confidentiality

The Juror Support Program is completely confidential. It is operated by Morneau Shepell, a service provider that is independent from the Government of Ontario.

© Queen's Printer for Ontario, 2008 - 2016
Last modified: January 30, 2017

Soutien gratuit et confidentiel pour les jurés après un procès

Soutien gratuit et confidentiel pour les jurés après un procès

La fonction de juré est une responsabilité civique importante qui peut être très gratifiante. Toutefois, dans certains cas, elle peut être stressante. Parler à un conseiller qualifié facilite souvent le retour à la vie quotidienne après un procès ou une enquête sur un décès.

Comment fonctionne le programme

L’Ontario offre désormais aux jurés des services de counseling professionnels, gratuits et confidentiels. Le Programme de soutien aux jurés est mis à la disposition des jurés après qu’ils ont rempli leurs fonctions de juré dans le cadre d’un procès criminel, d’un procès civil ou d’une enquête du coroner.

Les jurés peuvent parler à un conseiller qualifié et chevronné, gratuitement, 24 heures sur 24, sept jours sur sept.

  • 1 844 JUROR‑ON (1 844 587‑6766)
  • ATS : 1 877 338‑0275

Pour demander des services de counseling, les jurés doivent fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • L’adresse du tribunal où ils ont rempli leurs fonctions de juré dans le cadre d’un procès ou d’une enquête sur un décès;
  • La date de début et de fin du procès ou de l’enquête;
  • Le nom du dossier ou de l’enquête.

Les jurés reçoivent initialement jusqu’à quatre séances de counseling d’une heure chacune. Ils peuvent choisir de recevoir des services de counseling par téléphone, en personne, par courriel ou par vidéoconférence, en anglais ou en français. Ils recevront également une mesure d’adaptation pour cause de handicap.

Admissibilité

Le Programme de soutien aux jurés est mis à la disposition des jurés après qu’ils ont achevé leurs fonctions de juré dans le cadre d’un procès criminel, d’un procès civil ou d’une enquête du coroner. Les jurés peuvent avoir accès aux services de counseling en composant le 1 844 JUROR‑ON (1 844 587‑6766).

Counseling en personne

Les jurés peuvent demander par téléphone de participer à une séance de counseling en personne, s’ils préfèrent rencontrer le conseiller en personne.

Le préposé à la ligne téléphonique cherchera un conseiller expérimenté qui répond aux besoins du juré. Des séances de counseling en personne sont offertes dans tout l’Ontario. Dès que le préposé trouve un conseiller, ce dernier se mettra en rapport avec le juré pour fixer une date et un lieu de rendez-vous.

Autres méthodes de counseling

Les jurés peuvent choisir de recevoir des services de counseling par téléphone, par courriel ou par vidéoconférence, selon leurs préférences.

Confidentialité

Le Programme de soutien aux jurés est entièrement confidentiel. Il est géré par Morneau Shepell, un fournisseur de services qui est indépendant du gouvernement de l’Ontario.