General Information about the Jury System in Ontario

The Jury Roll Process

The Juries Act sets out the process to select juries. Names of potential jurors are taken from the most recent enumeration (voters) lists that the Ministry obtains from the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation.

The enumeration (voters) lists are updated only once every four years and do not reflect changes within that time period, such as deaths, name changes, marriages or if someone moves to another community, unless information is provided directly by the people living at that address.

When the enumeration (voters) lists are updated, people indicate their date of birth and their citizenship. When the random selection process for potential jurors is requested, the Municipal Property Assessment Corporation selects people for each county or district who have indicated that they are over 18 years of age and are Canadian citizens.

Questionnaires are mailed out to the randomly selected individuals to determine whether they may be considered as potential jurors. People are not automatically summoned for jury duty if they receive and complete a questionnaire.

Establishing a Jury Panel

Completed Questionnaires are received and sorted for eligibility for jury service. Jury Panels are selected based on local court needs. The Provincial Jury Centre, in Toronto, using a computer-based random selection process, selects jury panels on a weekly basis from the jury rolls as required by the courts. The jury panel is not a jury. Rather, it is a large group of people from whom one or more juries will be selected.

To verify the Questionnaire information, the Sheriff conducts criminal record checks, through the Canadian Police Information Centre (CPIC), on individuals randomly selected from the Jury Panel list.

Summonses, indicating a date and location to attend for jury service, are sent to individuals identified on the jury panel lists.

Jury Selection

Jury panel members go for jury selection to the court location identified on their summons.

If selected to serve on a jury, those jurors go to the court location on the date and time specified by the judge.

It is possible to receive a questionnaire each year even though you have previously served on a jury panel.

According to the Juries Act, however, whether selected for jury duty or dismissed, individuals on the panel list are ineligible for jury service for the next three years following their service.

For information about the Juror Questionnaire

For information about Jury Duty

Renseignements généraux sur le système du jury en Ontario

Le processus de sélection du tableau des jurés

Le processus de sélection des jurés est décrit dans la Loi sur les jurys. Les noms des jurés sont tirés des listes de recensement (électorales) les plus récents que nous obtenons de la Société d'évaluation foncière des municipalités.

Les listes de recensement (électorales) sont mises à jour une fois tous les quatre ans et ne tiennent pas compte des changements aux circonstances personnelles durant cette période : les décès, les changements de noms, les mariages ou les déménagements, à moins que ces renseignements sont fournis par ceux qui habitent à cette adresse.

Lorsque les listes de recensement (électorales) sont mises à jour, ceux qui sont recensés indiquent leurs adresse et date de naissance. Lorsque le processus de sélection au hasard est demandé, la Société d'évaluation foncière des municipalités choisit ceux, pour chaque district, qui ont indiqué dans la formule de recensement qu'ils sont âgés de plus de 18 ans et qu'ils sont des citoyens canadiens.

Des questionnaires sont envoyés par la poste à des personnes choisies au hasard pour déterminer si elles peuvent être considérées comme d’éventuels jurés. Personne n'est automatiquement convoqué à faire partie d’un jury après avoir reçu et rempli un questionnaire.

Constituer un tableau des jurés

Les questionnaires remplis sont triés en fonction de l’admissibilité à l’exercice de la fonction de juré. Les tableaux des jurés sont sélectionnés selon les besoins des tribunaux locaux. Grâce à un processus informatisé de sélection au hasard, le Bureau provincial de la sélection des jurés choisit chaque semaine les tableaux des jurés dans les listes des jurés, selon les besoins des tribunaux.

Afin de vérifier les renseignements fournis dans les questionnaires, le shérif procède, par l’entremise du Centre d’information de la police canadienne (CIPC), à une vérification du casier judiciaire des membres du tableau des jurés choisis au hasard.

Les assignations, qui précisent la date et le lieu de l’exercice de la fonction de juré, sont envoyées aux personnes choisies parmi les membres du tableau des jurés.

Sélection du jury

Les membres du tableau des jurés se présentent au tribunal mentionné sur leur assignation pour être soumis à la sélection des jurés.

S’ils sont sélectionnés pour remplir la fonction de juré, ces membres comparaissent devant le tribunal à la date et l’heure indiquées par le juge.

Il est possible que vous receviez un questionnaire chaque année, même si vous avez déjà fait partie d’un tableau de jurés.

Conformément à la Loi sur les jurys, toutefois, qu’ils soient choisis ou non comme jurés, les membres du tableau des jurés ne pourront plus prétendre à la fonction de juré pendant trois ans.

Pour en savoir plus sur le questionnaire des jurés

Pour en savoir plus sur la fonction de juré