Frequently Asked Questions about the Juror Questionnaire

Why is the questionnaire sent?

Each year, approximately 500,000 questionnaires are mailed out across the province to prospective jurors.

The Juror Questionnaire is used to determine whether a questionnaire recipient may be eligible for jury duty.

The questions in the “questionnaire” are based on eligibility requirements in the Juries Act.

Eligibility to serve as a juror is based on the recipient’s answers to each of the eligibility questions on the questionnaire.

Upon completing and returning a juror questionnaire, if an individual is eligible for jury duty, they may be chosen at random to receive a “summons to juror notice” that requests that the individual attend court on a specific date and time to be considered further for jury duty. They may also be chosen to serve as jurors at a coroner’s inquest.

Can I receive a juror questionnaire more than once?

Yes, it is possible to receive the questionnaire in multiple years, since your name continues to be on the third party source lists used to obtain names for the jury roll (e.g. Municipal Property Assessment Corporation).

If you received a questionnaire and the address is not correct and you are uncertain as to how you may have been included on MPAC’s list, their contact information is found on the following website: https://www.mpac.ca/AboutMPAC/ContactUs. Alternatively, you may contact MPAC by calling them at 1-866-296-6722 and ask that they update their database with your correct and updated information.

Deceased Individuals, Individuals with a Disability, Same Name Residing at Same Location

I have received a questionnaire for someone who has died. What do I do?

If someone has died, you should note it on the Questionnaire next to their name and, if available, enclose a copy of a Certificate of Death and return in the envelope provided. We apologize for any distress this document may have caused.

I have received a questionnaire and believe I have a disability that would prevent me from serving as a juror (this may include the effects of a medical treatment, physical or mental health, intellectual or neurological disability or medical condition). How do I answer the questionnaire?

Every effort will be made to provide necessary accommodations for you to serve on a jury. This may include use of assistive devices, sign language interpreters, or other supports. If you think that any accommodations would enable you to serve on a jury, your answer to this question should be "No."

If you are summoned for jury duty, you will be able to ask the court for the accommodation you need. Please contact the court office indicated on your summons to speak with the jury clerk and to request the accommodation. The presiding judge will decide whether your request for accommodation can be granted.

If you have a disability, which may include the effects of a medical treatment, physical, mental health, intellectual, neurological or medical disability or medical condition that would prevent you from being a juror, and you cannot be accommodated, your answer to this question should be “Yes”.

You are not required to provide medical documentation explaining the effects of a medical treatment, physical or mental health, intellectual, neurological or medical disability or medical condition that would prevent you from being a juror.

What do I do if two people with the same name live in the same address where the questionnaire was sent?

If two people with the same name live at the same address and both are over the age of 18, only one person needs to complete the form.

If two or more persons at a household have received the questionnaire, each person must complete and return the form.

Unable to Complete the Questionnaire, it is Past Due

I have received a questionnaire and want to respond quickly but cannot complete it myself. Can I have someone help me?

If you are unable to complete the questionnaire yourself, you may have someone help you and sign it on your behalf. Please note their relationship to you at the bottom of the questionnaire.

I was away on vacation and the return date is past due. Do I need to still complete the form?

Yes. If the return date for the completed questionnaire is past due, complete the form as soon as possible and return it in the envelope provided.

I am no longer at the address shown on the form. Do I need to notify someone?

If your address is incorrect or has changed from the address shown on the form, make corrections in the space to the right of your old address then complete and return the questionnaire.

If you are uncertain as to how you may have been included on MPAC’s list, their contact information is found on the following website: https://www.mpac.ca/AboutMPAC/ContactUs. Alternatively, you may contact MPAC by calling them at 1-866-296-6722 and ask that they update their database with your correct and updated information.

I have completed the questionnaire but cannot find the return envelope with the address. Where do I mail the questionnaire?

If you have misplaced your envelope and need the return mailing address for the completed questionnaire, it is:

Provincial Jury Centre
P.O. Box 666, Station A
Oshawa, Ontario
L1H 9Z9

I have received a questionnaire for someone who no longer lives at this address or is away attending a College or University. What should I do with the questionnaire?

If the person named on the questionnaire is not living at the address shown on the questionnaire, or is living away from home for school, you can note this on the space next to the address and return the questionnaire in the envelope provided.

For comments or additional questions related to jury duty, please email juryduty@ontario.ca

For further information about the Juror Questionnaire

For information about Jury Duty

Foire aux questions sur le questionnaire des jurés

Pourquoi le questionnaire est-il envoyé?

Chaque année, environ 500 000 questionnaires sont envoyés dans toute la province à des jurés potentiels.

Le questionnaire des jurés est utilisé pour déterminer si la personne qui le reçoit est habile à être juré.

Les questions qui y sont posées se fondent sur des exigences d’habileté prévues par la Loi sur les jurys.

L’habilité à être juré dépendra des réponses à chacune des questions sur l'habileté que contient le questionnaire.

Si une personne qui a renvoyé un questionnaire de juré dûment rempli est jugée habile à être juré, elle pourrait être choisie au hasard pour recevoir un avis d'assignation qui la convoque au tribunal à une date et à une heure précises pour subir d’autres étapes de sélection aux fonctions de juré. Cette personne pourrait aussi être choisie pour servir de juré à une enquête du coroner.

Puis-je recevoir un questionnaire de juré plus d'une fois?

Oui, il est possible de recevoir le questionnaire plusieurs fois, mais pour des années différentes, car votre nom demeure sur les listes de tiers qui sont utilisées comme sources de constitution du tableau des jurés (p. ex., Société d'évaluation foncière des municipalités).

Si vous avez reçu le questionnaire pour la sélection d’un jury mais que votre adresse n’est pas correcte et que vous ne comprenez pas comment vous avez figuré sur la liste de la MPAC, communiquer avec la MPAC aux coordonnées indiquées à l’adresse Web suivante : https://www.mpac.ca/AboutMPAC/ContactUs. Vous pouvez aussi appeler la MPAC au 1 866 296-6722 pour lui demander de corriger votre adresse dans sa base de données.

Personnes décédées, personnes souffrant d'une invalidité, portant le même nom et résidant à la même adresse

J'ai reçu un questionnaire adressé à une personne décédée, que dois-je faire?

Si une personne est décédée, veuillez l'indiquer sur le questionnaire où paraît son nom et, si c'est possible, joignez-y une copie du certificat de décès et retournez-nous le tout dans l'enveloppe prévue à cette fin. Nous nous excusons de toute souffrance que ce document a pu vous causer à vous ou votre famille.

J'ai reçu un questionnaire et je crois que j'ai un handicap qui m'empêcherait de faire partie d'un jury (cela inclut les effets d’un traitement médical, d’un trouble de la santé physique ou mentale, d’une déficience intellectuelle ou neurologique ou d’une pathologie). Comment dois-je répondre au questionnaire?

Nous ferons tout notre possible pour vous offrir les accommodements qui vous permettront de faire partie d’un jury. Par exemple : des accessoires personnels, un interprète gestuel ou d’autres soutiens. Si vous pensez qu’une mesure d’adaptation vous aiderait à faire partie du jury, votre réponse à cette question doit être « non ».

Si vous recevez une assignation pour remplir la fonction de juré, vous pourrez demander au tribunal la mesure d’adaptation dont vous avez besoin. Veuillez communiquer avec le greffe indiqué sur votre assignation pour demander au préposé à la sélection des jurés la mesure d’adaptation dont vous avez besoin. Le juge qui préside décidera s’il est possible de satisfaire à votre demande.

Si vous avez un handicap, qui pourrait être causé par les effets d’un traitement médical, d’un handicap physique ou mental, d’un trouble mental, d’une déficience intellectuelle, d’une déficience neurologique ou d’une pathologie qui vous empêcherait de remplir les fonctions de juré et que votre demande de mesure d’adaptation est refusée, votre réponse à cette question devrait être « Oui ».

Vous n’êtes pas tenu(e) de fournir un document médical expliquant les effets d’un traitement médical, d’un handicap physique ou mental, d’un trouble mental, d’une déficience intellectuelle, d’une déficience neurologique ou d’une pathologie qui vous empêcherait de remplir les fonctions de juré.

Que dois-je faire si deux personnes portant le même nom résident à la même adresse où est envoyé le questionnaire?

Si deux personnes portant le même nom résident à la même adresse et ont toutes deux plus de 18 ans, l'une d'elles seulement doit remplir le questionnaire.

Si deux personnes ou plus du même ménage ont reçu le questionnaire, chacune doit remplir le questionnaire et le retourner.

Incapable de répondre au questionnaire, questionnaire en retard

J'ai reçu un questionnaire et je veux m'assurer de répondre promptement, mais je ne peux remplir la formule moi-même. Est-ce que quelqu'un peut m'aider?

Si vous n'êtes pas en mesure de remplir le questionnaire vous-même, vous pouvez demander à quelqu'un de vous aider et de signer en votre nom, en indiquant son lien avec vous au bas du questionnaire.

J'étais en vacances et la date de retour du questionnaire a passé. Est-ce que je dois toujours remplir la formule?

Oui. Si la date de retour du questionnaire a passé, remplissez la formule aussitôt que possible et retournez-la dans l'enveloppe prévue à cette fin.

Je ne réside plus à l'adresse indiquée sur la formule. Est-ce que je dois en informer quelqu'un ?

Si l'adresse indiquée sur la formule est inexacte ou si votre adresse a changé, apportez les changements pertinents dans l'espace à droite de l'adresse inexacte, puis remplissez et retournez le questionnaire.

Si vous ne comprenez pas comment vous avez figuré sur la liste de la MPAC, communiquez avec la MPAC aux coordonnées suivantes : https://www.mpac.ca/AboutMPAC/ContactUs. Vous pouvez aussi appeler la MPAC au 1 866 296-6722 pour lui demander de corriger vos coordonnées dans sa base de données.

J'ai rempli le questionnaire mais je ne peux trouver l'enveloppe-réponse avec l'adresse. À quelle adresse dois-je poster le questionnaire?

Si vous avez perdu l'enveloppe et si vous avez besoin de l'adresse postale pour envoyer votre questionnaire rempli, envoyez celui-ci à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau provincial de la sélection des jurés
case postale 666, succursale A
Oshawa, Ontario L1H 9Z9

J'ai reçu un questionnaire pour quelqu'un qui ne réside plus à cette adresse ou qui fréquente un établissement postsecondaire. Que dois-je faire du questionnaire?

Si la personne dont le nom est indiqué sur le questionnaire ne réside plus à cette adresse ou fréquente un établissement postsecondaire qui est loin de la maison, veuillez indiquer ce renseignement dans l'espace à côté de l'adresse et retourner le questionnaire dans l'enveloppe prévue à cette fin.

Pour faire part de vos commentaires ou questions, veuillez envoyer un courriel à l'adresse suivante : juryduty@ontario.ca

Pour en savoir plus sur le questionnaire des jurés

Pour des renseignements sur la fonction de juré