Section 7 - Simultaneous Interpreting

Simultaneous interpretation requires communicating the message in the target language almost at the same time as the speaker is delivering the message in the source language. The speaker does not pause for the interpreter.

Simultaneous interpreting is used in the courtroom primarily to help an accused or other parties understand what other participants in the trial (witnesses, lawyers, judge) are saying. Simultaneous interpreting in the courtroom is always from English or French into the language of an accused.

This interpretation is usually whispered to the accused and thus is often called "whispered interpreting." It is also called chuchotage, the French word for whispering.

The main advantage of simultaneous interpreting is its speed, as proceedings may go ahead in English or French with virtually no interruptions. To be proficient in this mode, interpreters need training and practice.

When do you interpret simultaneously in court?

The majority of court interpreting is done in the simultaneous mode. Whenever you are interpreting in court proceedings, you will be interpreting everything that is said in court so the party for whom you are interpreting can follow and understand.

What will be tested?

Both simultaneous interpreting exercises involve interpreting from English into your test language. The first consists of a dialogue (involving 2 or more speakers); the second consists of a monologue (1 speaker speaking at length). Speakers may be a judge, counsel or witness, including expert witnesses.

You will begin interpreting as soon as the recording starts to play. There will be no pauses for interpretation.

Each of the simultaneous interpreting exercises will take about 10 minutes.

Practicing simultaneous interpreting

You have been provided with six pre-recorded practice exercises for simultaneous interpreting - three English dialogues and three English monologues - along with written texts of the dialogues/monologues and a list of scoring units for the first dialogue and first monologue. You will interpret all of them into the test language.

For additional simultaneous interpreting practice, you can use English dialogues and monologues, preferably from court related documents and record them (without any pauses) prior to practice.

You will need two recording devices during the practice sessions: one to listen to the pre-recorded exercises and the other to record your performance.

If you do not have access to two recording devices, another person can read the passages aloud and your recording device can record your performance.

To practice simultaneous interpreting, follow the eight stages (each including several steps) identified below.

Stage 1: Preparation for simultaneous interpreting

  • Have a notepad and a pen ready.
  • Start playing the recorded source text. You should listen to the recording using a headset.
  • Start the other recorder. You will record your interpretation using this device.

Stage 2: Initial simultaneous interpreting

  • Listen attentively to the start of the passage.
  • Once you have heard an interpretable segment - a phrase, a clause, or a short sentence - start interpreting simultaneously. You will continue listening to the speaker's next segment while you interpret the previous segment. While you are allowed to take notes, it is difficult to listen, speak and take notes at the same time; so limit your note-taking to important names, dates and numbers.
  • Repeat this step for each segment, until you complete the last segment.
  • Stop the audio file and the voice recorder.

Stage 3: Comparison of initial simultaneous interpreting with recorded source text dialogue/monologue

  • Replay the first segment of the source text dialogue/monologue. You may listen to the sentence as often as necessary to grasp its meaning and take notes at this stage. Stop the audio file before moving on to the following step.
  • Start the voice recorder from the beginning. Listen carefully to your interpretation of sentence 1 and compare it with the source text dialogue/monologue. Note all the things that you have missed. Also note any poor expression in the target language.
  • Repeat these steps for each sentence, until you complete the last sentence.

Stage 4: Comparison of initial simultaneous interpreting with written text of dialogue/monologue

Note:
This stage helps if there are parts of the recorded source text that you have not heard well.

  • Start the voice recorder at the beginning of your interpretation.
  • Read the first sentence in the written text and compare your interpretation of that sentence against it. Underline in the written text the words, expressions and segments that appear wrong.
  • Repeat this step for each sentence, until you complete the last sentence.

Stage 5: Analysis and resolution of problems

  • Examine the notes you have taken during Stages 3 and 4 and analyse any words, expressions and segments that you missed or think are wrong. Try to determine why they caused you problems.
    Was it because:
    • you did not understand the word or expression?
    • you did not know the equivalent in the target language?
    • you did not remember something that was said earlier?
  • Think of ways you can correct these mistakes. Do any basic research required.

Note:
While some dictionary consultation may be necessary, avoid looking up too many words in dictionaries at this point. In actual situations, you may not have an opportunity to consult a dictionary during simultaneous interpreting; so you should not rely on a dictionary for too much help during practice of simultaneous interpreting. Try to understand source language words and expressions using the context (i.e. the surrounding text). Try to express the concepts using a phrase in the target language if a specific word does not come to mind.

Stage 6: Checking scoring units

  • If you are working on a simultaneous dialogue/monologue with scoring units provided, review the scoring units at this stage. Listen again to your recorded simultaneous interpretation, paying particular attention to the scoring units indicated. Note the units you got correct. Determine how to correct those you got wrong.
  • If you are working on a simultaneous dialogue/monologue which does not have scoring units provided, review the written dialogue/monologue and underline words and phrases that could be considered scoring units. Then listen again to your recorded simultaneous interpretation, paying particular attention to those words and phrases. Note the units you got correct. Determine how to correct those you got wrong.

Stage 7: Final simultaneous interpreting

  • Redo the simultaneous interpreting (following all of the steps of Stage 2), and try to perform a more accurate and smoother interpretation of the dialogue/monologue.

Stage 8: Comparison of final simultaneous interpreting with written text of dialogue

  • Repeat all the steps of Stage 4.
  • Note improvements in comparison with the initial simultaneous interpreting.

Note:
At the end of this exercise, you should use a dictionary or term bank to find equivalents for key words that you did not know and you should memorize them for future use.


‹ Previous page | Next page ›

Interprétation simultanée

L'interprétation simultanée exige que l'on communique le message dans la langue cible presque en même temps que le locuteur le fait dans la langue source. Le locuteur ne fait pas de pauses pour l'interprète.

L'interprétation simultanée est utilisée en salle d'audience principalement pour aider à l'accusé ou d'autres parties à comprendre ce que disent d'autres participants au procès (témoins, avocats, juge). Dans la salle d'audience, l'interprétation simultanée se fait toujours du français ou de l'anglais vers la langue de l'accusé.

Cette interprétation est habituellement chuchotée à l'accusé, de sorte qu'on l'appelle souvent « interprétation chuchotée ». On parle également de chuchotage.

Le principal avantage de l'interprétation simultanée est sa rapidité, car les débats peuvent se dérouler en français ou en anglais sans presque aucune interruption. Pour devenir compétents dans cette technique, les interprètes ont besoin de formation et de pratique.

Dans quelles circonstances la technique de l'interprétation simultanée est-elle utilisée par les tribunaux?

L'interprète judiciaire a en général recours à la technique de l'interprétation simultanée. En agissant comme interprète dans une instance judiciaire, vous interprétez tout ce qui est dit, de façon que la partie pour laquelle vous interprétez puisse suivre et comprendre le déroulement de l'instance.

Sur quoi l'épreuve portera-t-elle?

Les deux exercices d'interprétation simultanée consistent à interpréter de l'anglais vers la langue de l'épreuve. Le premier consiste en un dialogue (entre deux ou plusieurs locuteurs); le second consiste en un monologue (un seul locuteur). Les locuteurs peuvent être un juge, un avocat ou un témoin, y compris un témoin expert.

Vous commencerez à interpréter aussitôt que l'enregistrement commencera à jouer. Il n'y aura aucune pause pour l'interprétation.

Chacun des exercices d'interprétation simultanée durera environ 10 minutes.

Exercices de répétition

On vous a fourni six exercices d'interprétation simultanée préenregistrés - trois dialogues et trois monologues en anglais - de même que le texte écrit des dialogues ou monologues et une liste des unités de notation qui s'appliquent au premier dialogue et au premier monologue. Vous devez tous les interpréter dans la langue de l'épreuve.

Pour faire des exercices additionnels, vous pouvez utiliser des dialogues et des monologues anglais, tirés de préférence de documents judiciaires, et les enregistrer (sans aucune pause) avant de vous exercer.

Vous aurez besoin de deux appareils d'enregistrement pour les séances d'exercice : l'un pour écouter les exercices préenregistrés et l'autre pour enregistrer votre travail.

Si vous n'avez pas accès à deux appareils d'enregistrement, une autre personne peut lire les passages à voix haute et votre appareil d'enregistrement peut enregistrer votre interprétation.

Pour vous exercer à interpréter simultanément, suivez les huit phases (comprenant chacune plusieurs étapes) mentionnées ci-dessous.

Phase 1 :
Comment se préparer à une interprétation simultanée

  • Ayez un bloc-notes et un stylo à portée de la main.
  • Faites jouer le texte source enregistré. Vous devriez écouter l'enregistrement à l'aide d'un casque d'écoute.
  • Mettez en marche l'autre appareil d'enregistrement, au moyen duquel vous enregistrerez votre interprétation.

Phase 2 :
Interprétation simultanée initiale

  • Écoutez attentivement le début du passage.
  • Après avoir entendu le premier segment (une locution, une proposition ou une courte phrase), commencez à répéter. Vous continuerez à écouter le segment suivant du locuteur pendant que vous répéterez le segment antérieur. Vous pouvez prendre des notes, mais puisqu'il est difficile d'écouter, de parler et de prendre des notes en même temps, vous devriez vous en tenir aux noms, dates et chiffres importants.
  • Répétez cette étape pour chaque segment, jusqu'au dernier.
  • Fermez le fichier audio et l'appareil d'enregistrement.

Phase 3 :
Comparaison de l'interprétation simultanée initiale et du dialogue/monologue source enregistré

  • Faites de nouveau jouer le premier segment du dialogue/monologue du texte source. Écoutez la phrase aussi souvent qu'il le faut pour en saisir le sens et prenez des notes. Fermez le fichier audio avant de passer à l'étape suivante.
  • Mettez l'appareil d'enregistrement en marche. Écoutez attentivement votre interprétation de la première phrase et comparez-la à la première phrase du dialogue/monologue du texte source. Notez tous les éléments dont le sens vous a échappé. Notez également toute expression fautive dans la langue cible.
  • Répétez ces étapes pour chaque phrase, jusqu'à la dernière.

Phase 4 :
Comparaison de l'interprétation simultanée initiale et du texte écrit du dialogue/monologue

Nota :
Cette étape vous aidera s'il y a des parties du monologue enregistré du texte source que vous n'avez pas bien entendues.

  • Mettez l'appareil d'enregistrement en marche depuis le début de votre interprétation.
  • Lisez la première phrase du texte écrit en la comparant à votre répétition. Soulignez dans le texte écrit les mots, expressions et segments qui posent des problèmes.
  • Répétez cette étape pour chaque phrase jusqu'à la dernière.

Phase 5 :
Analyse et résolution des problèmes

  • Examinez les notes que vous avez prises au cours des phases 3 et 4 et analysez les mots, expressions et segments qui vous ont échappé ou qui semblent comporter des erreurs. Essayez de trouver pourquoi ils vont ont posé des problèmes. Est-ce parce que :
    • vous n'avez pas compris le mot ou l'expression?
    • vous ignoriez l'équivalent dans la langue cible?
    • vous ne vous rappeliez pas une chose qui avait été dite?
  • Songez à des façons de corriger ces erreurs. Faites les recherches de base nécessaires.

Nota :
Il vous faudra peut-être consulter un dictionnaire, mais il faut alors éviter d'y chercher un trop grand nombre de mots. Dans une situation réelle, vous n'aurez peut-être pas la possibilité de consulter un dictionnaire lorsque vous ferez une interprétation simultanée; vous ne devriez donc pas trop miser sur un dictionnaire pour vous aider dans vos exercices d'interprétation simultanée. Essayez de comprendre les mots et les expressions à l'aide du contexte (c'est-à-dire le texte qui les entoure). Tâchez d'exprimer les concepts à l'aide d'une locution dans la langue cible si un mot précis ne vous vient pas à l'esprit.

Phase 6 :
Vérification des unités de notation

  • Si vous effectuez un exercice de d'interprétation simultanée d'un dialogue ou d'un monologue pour lequel des unités de notation sont fournies, examinez-les. Écoutez encore une fois votre interprétation simultanée en prêtant une attention particulière aux unités de notation. Notez les unités qui étaient correctes. Trouvez une façon de corriger les erreurs.
  • Si vous effectuez un exercice d'interprétation simultanée d'un dialogue ou d'un monologue pour lequel aucune unité de notation n'est fournie, examinez le dialogue ou le monologue écrit et soulignez les mots et locutions qui pourraient être considérées comme des unités de notation. Écoutez ensuite de nouveau votre interprétation simultanée, en prêtant une attention particulière à ces mots et locutions. Notez les unités qui étaient correctes. Trouvez une façon de corriger les erreurs.

Phase 7 :
Interprétation simultanée finale

  • Effectuez de nouveau l'exercice d'interprétation simultanée (en suivant toutes les étapes de la phase 2) et essayez d'interpréter simultanément le dialogue ou le monologue d'une manière plus fidèle et plus fluide.

Phase 8 :
Comparaison de l'interprétation simultanée finale et du texte écrit du dialogue/monologue

  • Répétez toutes les étapes de la phase 4.
  • Notez les améliorations par rapport à l'interprétation simultanée initiale.

Nota :
À la fin de l'exercice, servez-vous d'un dictionnaire ou d'une banque de terminologie pour trouver des équivalents aux mots-clés que vous ne connaissiez pas, et mémorisez-les en vue d'un usage ultérieur.


< Page précédente | Page suivante >