Section 1 - Introduction

The Ministry of the Attorney General (MAG) is pleased to provide this manual to help individuals prepare for the court interpreting test. Whether you are a currently accredited MAG court interpreter or considering becoming an accredited MAG court interpreter, this manual will be very helpful.

The role of a court interpreter is fundamental in ensuring that justice is administered fairly and comprehensively. Section 14 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms states: "A party or witness in any proceedings who does not understand or speak the language in which the proceedings are conducted or who is deaf has the right to the assistance of an interpreter." This is a right provided for all persons and in all languages. Accessibility to an interpreter ensures that a Charter right is not violated and that all parties can participate in the legal process.

Court interpreters are expected to bring a high level of skill and professionalism to their work. The responsibility of a court interpreter in the justice system is a tremendous one. The court interpretation test evaluates various skills required to interpret in court and the degree to which they are developed. This manual has been prepared by Vancouver Community College to provide an overview of what is included in the test and some practice exercises to familiarize you with the test format.

Along with the exercises provided in this manual, you are also encouraged to review basic legal terminology. A glossary of legal terms is available in both English and French on the MAG website.

Multilingual legal terminology is also available on the Vancouver Community College Multilingual Legal Glossary website.

Other ways of preparing for the test include:

  • Daily use and practice of your language;
  • Reading in your language;
  • Listening to radio and television broadcasts in your language;
  • Short-term memory development and training exercises; and
  • Shadowing (listening to a passage and repeating it simultaneously).

You can gain confidence in your simultaneous interpreting by practicing shadowing at the beginning and then, as you improve, by practicing simultaneous interpreting with those exercises you have already shadowed.

Whether you already interpret in the courts, or are interested in becoming a court interpreter, these exercises can help you develop and maintain court interpretation skills.

Thank you for your interest and commitment to providing high quality court interpreting services in Ontario's courts.

Lynn Norris
Director, Corporate Planning Branch
Ministry of the Attorney General


‹ Previous page | Next page ›

Introduction

C'est avec plaisir que le ministère du Procureur général (MPG) publie le présent guide afin d'aider les candidats à se préparer pour l'épreuve d'interprétation judiciaire. Ce guide vous sera fort utile, et ce, que vous soyez déjà interprète judiciaire agréé auprès du MPG ou que vous envisagiez de le devenir.

L'interprète judiciaire joue un rôle fondamental lorsqu'il s'agit d'assurer l'administration impartiale et exhaustive de la justice. L'article 14 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés prévoit ce qui suit : « La partie ou le témoin qui ne peuvent suivre les procédures, soit parce qu'ils ne comprennent pas ou ne parlent pas la langue employée, soit parce qu'ils sont atteints de surdité, ont droit à l'assistance d'un interprète. » Ce droit est reconnu à tous, dans toutes les langues. L'accessibilité à un interprète assure le respect des droits garantis par la Charte et la participation de tous les intéressés au processus judiciaire.

Le travail des interprètes judiciaires doit refléter un haut niveau de compétence et de professionnalisme. Dans le système de justice, l'interprète judiciaire assume une lourde responsabilité. L'épreuve d'interprétation judiciaire permet d'évaluer les diverses compétences nécessaires aux fins de l'interprétation devant les tribunaux ainsi que le niveau de ces compétences. Ce guide, préparé par le Vancouver Community College, vous donne un aperçu du contenu de l'épreuve et certains exercices pratiques pour vous permettre de vous familiariser avec le format de l'épreuve.

En plus des exercices du présent guide, nous incitons à prendre connaissance de la terminologie juridique élémentaire. Un glossaire de termes juridiques est disponible en français et en anglais sur le site Web du MPG à :
http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/glossary/ (Anglais)
http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/glossary/ (Français)

Le site Web du Vancouver Community College renferme également un glossaire juridique multilingue :
http://www.legalglossary.ca/dictionary/.

Vous pouvez également vous préparer, notamment :

  • en utilisant et en pratiquant chaque jour votre langue;
  • en lisant dans votre langue;
  • en écoutant des émissions de radio et de télévision dans votre langue;
  • en faisant des exercices de développement et d'entraînement de la mémoire à court terme;
  • en utilisant la « technique de l'écho » (le fait d'écouter un passage tout en le répétant en même temps).

Vous pouvez vous familiariser avec les exercices de répétition en commençant avec des passages au lent débit, puis par des passages au débit plus rapide au fur et à mesure que vous vous améliorez.

Ces exercices peuvent vous aider à acquérir et à maintenir des compétences en matière d'interprétation judiciaire que vous soyez déjà interprète judiciaire ou que vous vouliez le devenir.

Nous vous remercions de votre intérêt et de votre engagement à fournir des services d'interprétation judiciaire de grande qualité auprès des tribunaux de l'Ontario.

Lynn Norris
Directrice, Direction de la planification interne
Ministère du Procureur général


< Page précédente | Page suivante >