About Us

Court interpreters have a fundamental role in providing access to justice. Interpreters work in 179 court locations serving 250 communities across Ontario.

Section 14 of the Charter of Rights and Freedoms guarantees the right to the assistance of an interpreter for a party or witness who does not understand or speak the language in which the proceedings are being conducted. This right exists regardless of the language involved.

Through the Ministry of the Attorney General's Court Services Division, over 800 accredited freelance court interpreters provide interpretation in approximately 80 spoken languages, American Sign Language and Langue des signes du Québec.

Because of Ontario's diverse population, language interpretation services are in high demand. Each year, more than 150,000 courtroom hours of interpretation are provided.

Litigants who qualify for a waiver of court fees may ask the court to provide interpretation services in these instances. Waivers ensure fairness and consistency in the delivery of court services and provide accessible services for those who qualify.

View A Guide to Fee Waiver Requests.

For more information about how to request a court interpreter, visit our How to Request an Interpreter page.

Les services d'interprétation judiciaire en Ontario

Les interprètes judiciaires jouent un rôle fondamental dans l'accès à la justice. Ils travaillent dans 179 tribunaux desservant 250 collectivités partout en Ontario.

L'article 14 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit le droit à l'assistance d'un interprète lorsqu'une partie ou un témoin ne peut suivre les procédures parce qu'elle ou il ne comprend pas ou ne parle pas la langue employée. Ce droit s'applique quelle que soit la langue en question.

Par l'entremise de la Division des services aux tribunaux du ministère du Procureur général, environ 800 interprètes judiciaires indépendants agréés offrent des services d'interprétation dans environ 80 langues parlées, en American Sign Language et dans la langue des signes québécoise.

Compte tenu de la diversité de la population ontarienne, les services d'interprétation sont en forte demande. Chaque année, plus de 150 000 heures d'interprétation sont fournies dans les tribunaux.

Les parties admissibles à une dispense des frais judiciaires peuvent demander au tribunal de fournir des services d'interprétation dans les cas susmentionnés. Les dispenses garantissent l'équité et l'uniformité de la prestation des services judiciaires et permettent d'offrir des services accessibles aux parties admissibles.

Pour consulter le Guide des demandes de dispense des frais, veuillez cliquer ici.

Pour en savoir plus sur la voie à suivre afin de demander les services d'un interprète judiciaire, consultez notre page Demander les services d'un interprète.