Obtaining copies of a judgment

Back to Civil Cases - Suing and Being Sued in the Superior Court of Justice page

Once a judgment has been issued in your case, you may obtain a copy of the judgment from your lawyer or from the court office.

A photocopy fee will apply if you wish to make a copy of the judgment from the court file. You may also obtain a copy of a judgment in a case to which you were not a party upon payment of the prescribed fee.

Currently, the Ministry has no central database where current and past cases can be accessed. Certain judgments from all levels of court in Ontario are available online through the Canadian Legal Information Institute. Most Ontario Court of Appeal decisions are available online at the Ontario Court of Appeal website.

Certain judgments can also be obtained by accessing a retail legal software database. You may wish to consult a librarian at a law library to find out more information about companies, which provide such software and services.

Print copies of reported decisions may also be available through local law libraries. Links to law library websites are available on the Canadian Association of Law Libraries website.

Back to Civil Cases - Suing and Being Sued in the Superior Court of Justice page

Comment se procurer les copies d'un jugement

Retour à la page principale

Une fois le jugement rendu dans votre cause, vous pourrez vous en procurer une copie soit auprès de votre avocat soit au greffe du tribunal.

Vous devrez verser des frais de photocopie si vous voulez tirer une photocopie du jugement conservé dans le dossier du tribunal. Vous pourrez aussi, sur paiement des frais réglementaires, vous procurer la copie du jugement dans une affaire à laquelle vous n'avez pas été partie.

À l'heure actuelle, le ministère n'a pas de base de données centrale qui permettrait de consulter des affaires en cours ou classées. Certains jugements rendus par les différentes instances des tribunaux de l'Ontario sont affichés en ligne par l'Institut canadien d'information juridique. La plupart des décisions de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario sont consultables en ligne sur le site Web de la Cour d'appel.

Certains jugements sont également consultables sur une base de données informatique de détail destinée au milieu juridique. Le bibliothécaire d'une bibliothèque de droit pourrait vous aider à trouver des renseignements sur les sociétés qui vendent ces logiciels et services.

Des copies papier des décisions rapportées sont consultables dans les bibliothèques de droit locales. Les liens aux sites Web des bibliothèques de droit sont proposés sur le site Web de l'Association canadienne des bibliothèques de droit.

Retour à la page principale