Who can help me with my civil case?

Back to Civil Cases - Suing and Being Sued in the Superior Court of Justice page

Court staff cannot provide you with any legal advice. They also cannot fill out forms for you. A lawyer is in the best position to advise you about your legal rights and responsibilities. If you retain a lawyer, consultations with your lawyer are private and confidential.

The Law Society Referral Service at findlegalhelp.ca refers Ontario residents to lawyers or paralegals for free, up to 30 minute phone or in-person consultations. Lawyers and paralegals who speak various languages are available. You can also request to speak with a lawyer who accepts legal aid certificates.

Monday to Friday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., a crisis line is available for people unable to use the online referral service, such as those in custody, a shelter, or in a remote community without internet access. The crisis line is available at 416-947-5255 (TTY: 416-644-4886) or toll-free at 1-855-947-5255.

People may also search for an Ontario lawyer or paralegal at lawyerandparalegal.directory. The directory is searchable by name, city, postal code and area of law/legal service. Using this directory does not guarantee you a free consultation and you will need to discuss fees directly with the lawyer or paralegal you contact.

Parties under a disability and parties acting in a representative capacity must be represented by a lawyer. A party under a disability is defined as a minor, or a person who is mentally incapable within the meaning of the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992, whether he or she has a guardian or not, or an absentee within the meaning of the Absentee Act.

Corporations must be represented by a lawyer, unless the court allows otherwise. Any other party to a proceeding can either represent themselves or be represented by a lawyer.

For more information about finding a lawyer, visit the Justice Ontario section of the Ministry website.

Back to Civil Cases - Suing and Being Sued in the Superior Court of Justice page

Qui peut m'aider?

Retour à la page principale

Le personnel du greffe ne peut vous donner aucune consultation juridique. Il ne peut pas non plus vous aider à remplir les formules. Un avocat est le mieux qualifié pour vous dire quels sont vos droits et vos responsabilités. Une fois que vous aurez retenu les services d'un avocat, les communications entre lui et vous-même sont privées et confidentielles.

Le Service de référence du Barreau à findlegalhelp.ca renvoie les résidents de l’Ontario à des avocats et des parajuristes qui offrent des consultations gratuites de 30 minutes maximum par téléphone ou en personne. Vous pouvez demander des avocats et parajuristes qui offrent des services dans d’autres langues que les langues officielles. Vous pouvez aussi demander de parler avec un avocat qui accepte les certificats d’aide juridique.

Du lundi au vendredi, de 9 h à 17 h, une ligne d’urgence est offerte aux personnes qui n’ont pas accès au service de référence en ligne, parce qu’elles sont en détention, dans un refuge ou dans une région éloignée sans accès Internet. La ligne d’urgence est au 416 947-5255 (ATS : 416 644-4886) ou sans frais au 1 855 947-5255.

On peut aussi chercher un avocat ou un parajuriste en Ontario dans repertoireavocatsparajuristes.ca. Le répertoire est consultable par nom, ville, code postal et domaine de droit ou de services juridiques. Ce répertoire ne garantit pas que vous aurez une consultation gratuite, et vous devrez discuter des honoraires directement avec l’avocat ou le parajuriste que vous contacterez.

Les personnes incapables et celles qui les représentent doivent être représentées par avocat. Aux termes des Règles de procédure civile, partie incapable s'entend du mineur, de la personne mentalement incapable au sens de la Loi de 1992 sur la prise de décisions au nom d'autrui, qu'elle soit dotée d'un tuteur ou non, et de la personne absente au sens de la Loi sur les absents.

Les personnes morales doivent être représentées par avocat, sauf dispense accordée par le tribunal. Toute autre partie à une instance peut soit occuper pour elle-même soit se faire représenter par avocat. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon de trouver un avocat, consultez la section Justice Ontario du site Web du ministère.

Retour à la page principale