Special Investigations Unit

Text: Larger | Smaller

The Special Investigations Unit (SIU) is an arm’s length agency of Ontario’s Ministry of the Attorney General.

The SIU investigates events involving the police that have resulted in death, serious injury, or reports of sexual assault.

At the end of every investigation, the SIU director decides if there is evidence of criminal wrong-doing and whether criminal charges should be laid against the officer(s).

If no charges are laid, the SIU director gives a written report to the Attorney General.

Mandate

The government has paused a previously scheduled expansion of the mandate of the Special Investigations Unit. The government is currently reviewing and intends to consult to find the right balance on police oversight. This is part of the government’s commitment to fix the Police Services Act to better respect our frontline officers. The Special Investigations Unit mandate under the Police Services Act remains in force.

The mandate of the SIU is to maintain confidence in Ontario’s police services by assuring the public that police actions resulting in serious injury, death, or allegations of sexual assault are subjected to rigorous, independent investigations. Incidents which fall within this mandate must be reported to the SIU by the police service involved and/or may be reported by the complainant or any other person.

The objective of every SIU investigation is to determine whether there is evidence of criminal wrongdoing on the part of the police. It is not to determine whether the involved officer(s) may have committed some lesser offence, such as the breach of a provincial law or professional misconduct under the Code of Conduct of police officers.

L’Unité des enquêtes spéciales

Taille du Texte : plus grand | plus petit

L’Unité des enquêtes spéciales (UES) est un organisme indépendant du ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario.

L’Unité des enquêtes spéciales mène des enquêtes sur les incidents à l’origine de blessures graves, de décès ou d’allégations d’agressions sexuelles, dans lesquels des agents de police sont en cause.

À la fin de chaque enquête, le directeur de l’UES décide s’il y a une preuve d’un acte préjudiciable criminel et si des accusations criminelles devraient être portées contre l’agent ou les agents impliqués.

Si aucune accusation n’est portée, le directeur de l’UES remet un rapport au procureure générale.

Mandat

Le gouvernement a interrompu la mise en œuvre d’un changement prévu qui visait à élargir le mandat de l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales. Le gouvernement examine actuellement ce changement prévu et a l’intention de mener une consultation afin de trouver le juste équilibre dans la surveillance de la police. Cet effort s’inscrit dans l’engagement de modifier la Loi sur les services policiers de façon à renforcer le respect envers les agents de première ligne. Le mandat de l’Unité des enquêtes spéciales énoncé dans la Loi sur les services policiers demeure en vigueur.

L’UES a pour mandat de maintenir la confiance du public dans les services policiers de l’Ontario en veillant à ce que les blessures graves, les décès et les allégations d’agression sexuelle liés à la conduite de la police fassent l’objet d’enquêtes indépendantes et rigoureuses. Les inncidents qui relèvent de ce mandat doivent être signalés à l’UES par le service de police concerné et peuvent aussi être signalés par le plaignant ou toute autre personne.

Chaque enquête de l’UES vise à déterminer s’il y a des preuves d’action fautive criminelle de la part de la police. Elle ne vise pas à déterminer s’il y a des motifs de croire que l’agent ou les agents en question ont commis une infraction de moindre gravité, par exemple une infraction à une loi provinciale ou une faute professionnelle en vertu du code de déontologie de la police.