Entitlement to Compensation - The Legal Framework

(a) A Civil Cause of Action

In Canada, there is no legal entitlement to compensation for a wrongful conviction. Unless a wrongfully convicted person can establish a civil cause of action, such as a claim in tort for malicious prosecution, negligent investigation, prosecutorial misconduct, or false imprisonment, or perhaps a claim for breach of rights protected under the Charter, he has no remedy for the wrongful conviction. In this case, the Court of Appeal refused to attribute blame to anyone responsible for the investigation or prosecution of Mr. Truscott. There is, accordingly, no finding of the Court that would offer support to any civil cause of action.

Nevertheless, it has been suggested by Mr. Truscott's counsel that he might have a claim for negligent investigation, a cause of action recently recognized by the Supreme Court of Canada in Hill v. Hamilton-Wentworth Regional Police Services Board 1 I do not propose to engage in an examination of the merits of such a claim nor, indeed, can I. It does bear repeating, however, that the Court of Appeal refused to assign any blame to the investigative authorities for Mr. Truscott's wrongful conviction. The Court also noted that the information relied upon to suggest that the police had improperly focussed their investigation on Mr. Truscott was "in the nature of first and second-hand hearsay" and was "too speculative and inconclusive" to be given any weight. 2

Moreover, given the years that have passed since the events in question, I expect that, realistically speaking, it would not be possible to successfully maintain any such claim. Despite the unprecedented degree of scrutiny that this case has received - both in and out of the courts - there do not appear to be any plausible accusations of blameworthy conduct on the part of the investigating or prosecuting authorities. Accordingly, if Mr. Truscott is to receive compensation, it can only be obtained as an ex gratia payment by the state.

(b) Ex Gratia Payment by the State

In recent years, there has been growing recognition in Canada and elsewhere that persons who have been wrongfully convicted and imprisoned should receive compensation from the state. Despite this growing recognition, there is no legal entitlement in Canada to compensation either by way of a statutory scheme or otherwise. Absent any recovery through a civil action, a wrongfully convicted person can obtain compensation only through an ex gratia payment by the state - a payment that, by definition, is made voluntarily, as a favour out of kindness or grace, and without recognition of any legal obligation.

Notwithstanding that there is no legal obligation to make any payment to the wrongfully convicted, as a matter of policy, the desirability of granting compensation to persons who have been so convicted has been officially recognized. In August 1976, Canada ratified the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights. Article 14(6) of the Covenant provides that persons who have been convicted as a result of a miscarriage of justice should generally be compensated by the state. It states as follows:

When a person has by a final decision been convicted of a criminal offence and when subsequently his conviction has been reversed or he has been pardoned on the ground that a new or newly discovered fact shows conclusively mat there has been a miscarriage of justice, the person who has suffered punishment as a result of such conviction shall be compensated according to law, unless it is proved that the non-disclosure of the unknown fact in time is wholly or partly attributable to him.

No legislation has been enacted to give effect to the Covenant. However, the principles expressed in it appear to have informed a joint set of guidelines relating to compensation for the wrongfully convicted, formulated by the federal and provincial ministers of justice in 1988. The Federal/ Provincial Guidelines on Compensation for Wrongfully Convicted and Imprisoned Persons (the "Guidelines") contain a number of criteria which must be met before a person can be considered eligible for compensation. Among other things, the Guidelines expressly limit the payment of compensation to the person who was wrongfully convicted and require a determination that the wrongfully convicted person was factually innocent of the crime charged. The Guidelines state as follows:

  1. The wrongful conviction must have resulted in imprisonment, all or part of which has been served.
  2. Compensation should only be available to the actual person who was wrongfully convicted and imprisoned.
  3. Compensation should only be available to an individual who has been . wrongfully convicted and imprisoned as a result of a Criminal Code or other federal penal offence.
  4. As a condition precedent to compensation, there must be a free pardon granted under section 748(2) of the Criminal Code or a verdict of acquittal entered by an Appellate Court pursuant to a referral made by the Minister of Justice pursuant to section 696.3.
  5. Eligibility for compensation would only arise when sections 696.3 and 748 were exercised in circumstances where all available appeal remedies have been exhausted and where a new or newly discovered fact has emerged, tending to show that there has been a miscarriage of justice.

    As compensation should only be granted to those persons who did not commit the crime for which they were convicted (as opposed to persons who are found not guilty), a further criteria would require:

    • If a pardon is granted under section 748, a statement on the face of the pardon based on an investigation that the individual did not commit the offence; or
    • If a reference is made by the Minister of Justice under section 696.3, a statement by the Appellate Court, in response to a question asked by the Minister of Justice pursuant to section 696.3(2), to the effect that the person did not commit the offence.

    It should be noted that sections 696.3 and 748 may not be available in all cases in which an individual has been convicted of an offence which he did not commit, for example, where an individual had been granted an extension of time to appeal and a verdict of acquittal had been entered by an Appellate Court. In such a case, a Provincial Attorney General could make a determination that the individual be eligible for compensation, based on an investigation which has determined that the individual did not commit the offence. 3

It is important to bear in mind that the Guidelines are not binding legislation and have not been treated as such. Many if not most of the awards of compensation that have been made in the last 20 years departed in some manner from the criteria proposed by the Guidelines.

For example, in the matter of compensation for Donald Marshall Jr., the Honourable Gregory Evans recommended that compensation be paid to Mr. Marshall's parents,4 despite the fact that the Guidelines limit entitlement to compensation to the actual person who was wrongfully convicted. 5

As a further example, in the Thomas Sophonow Inquiry, the Honourable Peter Cory recommended that Mr. Sophonow receive $1.75 million for non-pecuniary damages, despite the fact that the Guidelines mandate a cap on such damages in the amount of $100,000. 6 In refusing to apply the mandated cap, Justice Cory noted that the Guidelines are not an act of the Legislature but simply a guideline. 7 I agree.

Just as the Guidelines do not create any legal right to compensation, by the same token, they cannot create any legal bar to compensation. Payment of compensation remains within the absolute discretion of the Crown. 8 In certain cases, the interests of justice may require that the Crown exercise its discretion in accordance with the Guidelines, but equally, in other cases, they may require a result that departs from the Guidelines. As matters stand, it is for the Crown to decide in the exercise of its discretion whether or not to make an ex gratia payment.

Nevertheless, I have considered the Guidelines carefully in determining whether an ex gratia payment ought to be recommended here. With one exception, Mr. Truscott meets all of the Guidelines' requirements:

  • he was convicted and imprisoned;
  • his conviction and imprisonment have been found to be a miscarriage of justice; and
  • he was acquitted by the Court of Appeal following a Reference directed by the Minister of Justice pursuant to section 696.3 of the Criminal Code.

However, in Mr. Truscott's case, there has not been any declaration or determination that he did not commit the crime. He cannot meet the Guidelines requirement that there be a finding of factual innocence.

(c) Proof of Factual Innocence

Other jurisdictions, like Canada, require a determination of factual innocence before paying compensation to a wrongfully convicted person. The rationale for this requirement has been articulated in the following terms:

[M]inisters, being accountable for the expenditure of public money, are rightly circumspect about making gratuitous payments to members of the public; and the need for circumspection is particularly great where the recipient may be a wholly innocent victim of mistake or misidentification, or may be a serious criminal who is very fortunate to have escaped his just desserts. While the public might approve sympathetic treatment of the former, they would be understandably critical if significant sums of public money were paid to the latter. 9

Put another way, it would not be in the interests of justice to provide a person who had committed the offence, but whose guilt could not be proved, with the means of profiting from the commission of his crime.

Consonant with this rationale, it appears that in all of the cases to date where compensation has been paid the innocence of the wrongfully convicted person has been established by some means - whether by DNA evidence, 11 or by subsequent conviction of the true perpetrator, 12 or by determination following a police investigation or judicial inquiry that there was no evidence that the wrongfully convicted person committed the crime, 13 or where there was no evidence that a crime had even been committed. 14

However, a rule limiting the state's payment of compensation to those persons who can prove their factual innocence has been criticized as unduly harsh, because it would deny compensation to an innocent person who, for whatever reason, was unable to conclusively prove his innocence. In his oft-quoted article on compensation for the wrongfully convicted, Professor H. Archibald Kaiser argues that to require proof of innocence is inconsistent with the fact that the Canadian criminal legal system has only two possible verdicts - guilty and not guilty:

It is argued that persons who have been wrongfully convicted and imprisoned are ipso facto victims of a miscarriage of justice and should be entitled to be compensated. To maintain otherwise introduces the third verdict of "not proved" or "still culpable" under the guise of a compensatory scheme . . . 15

A similar argument is made by Professor Peter MacKinnon, who states that to introduce any notion of "factual innocence", as opposed to the legal verdict of "not guilty", runs contrary to the presumption of innocence:

[0]ne who is acquitted or discharged is innocent in the eyes of the law and the sights of the rest of us should not be set any lower ... 16

Indeed, Professor MacKinnon states that any state-sponsored compensation scheme should avoid even trying to determine factual innocence, because such an exercise would undermine the presumption of legal innocence that accompanies an acquittal. He writes:

We may not be able to prevent suspicion that lingers, but there ought not to be official pronouncements of probable guilt, whether implicit in assessments of "innocence in fact" for the purpose of cost awards, or anywhere else. 17

In a recent decision, the Ontario Court of Appeal expressed a similar view, holding that it would be contrary to public policy for the Court to issue "pronouncements" of innocence. In R. v. Mullins-Johnson, although the Court found that there was "no evidence of a crime" and "no case against the [accused]", it refused to declare Mr. Mullins-Johnson to be innocent. It gave two reasons for its refusal:

  1. it did not have the jurisdiction to issue such a declaration; and
  2. there were "important policy reasons for not, in effect, recognizing a third verdict, other than 'guilty' or 'not guilty', of' 'factually innocent'." 18

If proof of innocence is a condition precedent to the payment of compensation, then the question arises whether innocence must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt in each and every case, or whether there may be cases where a less onerous standard of proof, namely, proof on a balance of probabilities, is appropriate.

In my opinion, there may well be cases where the circumstances are such that requiring an individual to prove his innocence beyond a reasonable doubt is manifestly unfair. That exacting standard has to date been applied only to the Crown in the context of a criminal prosecution. As Professor Kent Roach states (albeit in the slightly different context of a discussion related to the granting of free pardons):

In principle, it is difficult to justify requiring an individual to bear the burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. Such a high standard of proof in all other contexts is only imposed on the state with its superior resources and coercive powers. Although it is possible to posit cases in which an individual could satisfy such an extraordinary burden, such cases will generally be limited to DNA exonerations. 19

Moreover, even the lesser standard of a balance of probabilities still imposes a substantial burden on an individual. Professor Roach states:

(The balance of probabilities standard could often be a difficult standard for a convicted person to satisfy especially in cases where it remains clear that a crime has been committed; where there is no DNA evidence; and where the perpetrator remains at large. In most wrongful conviction cases, there will be reasonable and probable grounds to charge the person and circumstantial evidence that is suggestive of the person's guilt. Such evidence will make it more difficult for the person to establish innocence on a balance of probabilities. 20

The question of the appropriate standard of proof, and the broader question of whether a determination of factual innocence should or should not be a mandatory prerequisite to the payment of compensation are important policy issues. They are a matter for study and debate in the context of the development of a legislative scheme designed to provide a systematic basis upon which compensation for the wrongfully convicted can be determined. Such study and debate and the resolution of any issues arising therefrom are, of course, beyond the scope of my mandate.

My mandate extends only to providing advice on whether ex gratia compensation should be paid in the circumstances of the present case, "based upon and accepting the findings" of the Court of Appeal. It is to that question that I now turn.

As discussed in the section which follows, the highly unusual circumstances of this case, combined with the frailty of such evidence as remains against Mr. Truscott, as outlined above, have led me to conclude that compensation should be paid to Mr. Truscott.


  1. [2007] SCC 41.
  2. Decision of the Court of Appeal, supra note 10 at paras. 285-288.
  3. This last provision is commonly referred to as the "basket clause"..
  4. Commission of Inquiry Concerning the Adequacy of Compensation Paid to Donald Marshall, jr., June 1990, at p. 17.
  5. Federal/ Provincial Guidelines on Compensation for Wrongfully Convicted and Imprisoned Persons, B.2.
  6. The Honourable Peter Cory, The Inquiry Regarding Thomas Sophonow: The Investigation, Prosecution and Consideration of Entitlement to Compensation (2001) (hereinafter "The Sophonow Inquiry Report"), "Compensation: Non-Pecuniary Compensation"..
  7. Ibid, "Compensation: Recommendation"..
  8. H. Archibald Kaiser, "Wrongful Conviction and Imprisonment: Towards an End to the Compensatory Obstacle Course", Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice, Vol. 9 (1989) at 120.
  9. Re McFarland, [2004] UKHL 17 at para. 7 (as per Lord Bingham of Cornhill).
  10. For a discussion of this point, see the dissent of Charron J. in Hill v. Hamilton-Wentworth Regional Police Services, [2007] S.C.C. 41 at para. 158.
  11. For example, in the cases of Guy Paul Morin, David Milgaard, Randy Druken, Herman Kaglik and Gregory Parsons..
  12. For example, in the cases of David Milgaard, Donald Marshall and Richard Norris..
  13. For example, in the case of Thomas Sophonow..
  14. For example, in the case of Clayton Johnson..
  15. H. Archibald Kaiser, "Wrongful Conviction and Imprisonment: Towards an End to the Compensatory Obstacle Course", Windsor Yearbook of Access to justice, Vol. 9 (1989) at 139.
  16. Peter MacKinnon, "Costs and Compensation for the Innocent Accused" (1988), 67 Can. Bar Rev. 489 at 498.
  17. Ibid at 498-499.
  18. R. v. Mullins-Jobnson, [2007] ONCA 720 at paras. 24-25.
  19. Professor Kent Roach, "Report Relating to Paragraph 1(f) of the Order in Council for the Commission of Inquiry into Certain Aspects of the Trial and Conviction of James Driskell", at page 42.
  20. Ibid at pages 42-43.

|

DROIT À L'INDEMNISATION - LE CADRE JURIDIQUE

a) Cause d'action civile

Au Canada, une déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée ne donne pas droit à une indemnisation. À moins que la personne déclarée coupable à tort ne puisse intenter une cause d'action civile, comme une réclamation en responsabilité civile pour poursuite malveillante, enquête négligente, conduite blâmable de la poursuite, ou emprisonnement arbitraire, ou encore une réclamation pour violation des droits garantis par la Charte, elle n'a aucun autre recours contre sa déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée. Dans l'affaire qui nous occupe, la Cour d'appel a refusé de désavouer ceux qui ont mené l'enquête ou la poursuite contre M. Truscott. La Cour n'a donc formulé aucune conclusion appuyant le recours à une cause d'action civile.

Quoiqu'il en soi, les avocats de M. Truscott ont suggéré qu'ils pourraient présenter une réclamation pour enquête négligente, une cause d'action qu'a récemment reconnue la Cour suprême du Canada dans l'arrêt Hill c. Commission des services policiers de la municipalité régionale de Hamilton Wentworth. 1 Je n'ai pas l'intention d'examiner le bien-fondé d'une telle réclamation, ni ne le puis-je d'ailleurs. Il est utile de répéter, toutefois, que la Cour d'appel a refusé de blâmer les autorités chargées de l'enquête pour la déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée prononcée à l'égard de M. Truscott. La Cour a également noté que les renseignements utilisés pour suggérer que la police avait, de manière irrégulière, orienté son enquête sur M. Truscott étaient assimilables à une preuve par ouï-dire, c'est-à-dire à des renseignements rapportés de première ou de seconde main, et qu'ils étaient trop conjecturaux et trop peu concluants pour qu'on leur accorde un crédit quelconque. 2

De plus, compte tenu du nombre d'années qui se sont écoulées depuis les événements en question, j'imagine qu'on ne pourrait, réalistiquement, maintenir avec succès une telle réclamation. Malgré la minutie sans précédent avec laquelle cette affaire a été examinée, à la fois par les tribunaux et hors de leur enceinte - il ne semble pas que l'on puisse porter d'accusations plausibles de conduite répréhensible de la part des autorités chargées de l'enquête ou de la poursuite. Par conséquent, si l'on veut indemniser M. Truscott, son indemnisation ne peut que prendre la forme d'un paiement à titre gracieux de l'État.

b) Paiement à titre gracieux par l'État

Depuis quelques années, on reconnaît de plus en plus souvent, au Canada comme ailleurs, que les personnes qui ont été déclarées coupables à tort et emprisonnées devraient être indemnisées par l'État. Malgré cette reconnaissance croissante, au Canada, aucun régime législatif ou autre ne prévoit le droit à une indemnisation. En dehors d'un recouvrement par voie d'action civile, une personne déclarée coupable à tort ne peut obtenir d'indemnisation que sous la forme de paiement à titre gracieux de l'État - paiement qui, par définition, est versé volontairement comme une faveur accordée par bienveillance ou une grâce, et sans reconnaissance d'aucune obligation légale.

Bien qu'il n'y ait pas d'obligation légale de verser un paiement à une personne déclarée coupable à tort, le fait qu'il est souhaitable d'indemniser ces personnes est officiellement reconnu comme un politique à suivre. En août 1976, le Canada a ratifié le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques. Le paragraphe 14 (6) du Pacte prévoit que les personnes déclarées coupables à la suite d'une erreur judiciaire devraient être indemnisées par l'État. Il stipule comme suit :

Lorsqu'une déclaration de culpabilité pénale définitive est ultérieurement annulée ou lorsque la grâce est accordée parce qu'un fait nouveau ou nouvellement révélé prouve qu'il s'est produit une erreur judiciaire, la personne qui a subi une peine à raison de cette déclaration de culpabilité sera indemnisée, conformément à la loi, à moins qu'il ne soit prouvé que la non-révélation en temps utile du fait inconnu lui est imputable en tout ou partie.

Aucune loi n'a été adoptée pour rendre exécutoire le Pacte. Toutefois, les principes qui y sont énoncés ont conduit les ministres provinciaux et fédéral responsables de la justice à publier, en 1988, une série de lignes directrices sur l'indemnisation des personnes déclarées coupables à tort. Les lignes directrices fédérales-provinciales établies pour l'indemnisation des personnes condamnées et emprisonnées injustement (les « lignes directrices ») contiennent un certain nombre de critères qui doivent être satisfait avant qu'une personne ne soit considérée comme admissible à une indemnisation. Les lignes directrices fixent, entre autre, le plafond de l'indemnisation des personnes déclarées coupables à tort et exigent qu'elles aient été jugées innocentes des faits entourant le crime dont elles ont été accusées. Les lignes directrices prévoient comme suit :

  1. La déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée doit avoir entraîné l'emprisonnement, et la peine été intégralement ou partiellement purgée.
  2. L'indemnisation ne doit être offerte qu'à la personne qui a été déclarée coupable à tort et emprisonnée.
  3. L'indemnisation ne doit être offerte qu'à la personne qui a été déclarée coupable à tort et emprisonnée à la suite d'une infraction au Code criminel ou de toute autre infraction pénale fédérale.
  4. Comme condition préalable à l'indemnisation, un pardon absolu doit être accordé en vertu du paragraphe 748 (2) du Code criminel ou un verdict d'acquittement prononcé par une cour d'appel conformément à un renvoi par le ministre de la Justice en vertu de l'article 696.3.
  5. La question de l'admissibilité à l'indemnisation ne se posera que si les articles 696.3 et 748 s'appliquent lorsque toutes les autres possibilités d'appel ont été épuisées et en présence d'un fait nouveau, ou nouvellement révélé, qui laisse supposer qu'il y a eu erreur judiciaire.

    Puisque l'indemnisation ne devrait être accordée qu'aux personnes qui n'ont pas commis le crime dont elles ont été déclarées coupables (par opposition aux personnes jugées non coupables), d'autres critères devraient également s'appliquer :

    1. un pardon accordé en vertu de l'article 748 devrait comporter une déclaration, fondée sur une enquête, portant que la personne en cause n'a pas commis l'infraction;
    2. dans le cas d'un renvoi par le ministre de la Justice en vertu de l'article 696.3, la cour d'appel devrait déclarer, en réponse à une question posée par le ministre de la Justice sous l'empire du paragraphe 696.3 (2), que la personne en cause n'a pas commis l'infraction.

    On notera que les articles 696.3 et 748 ne s'appliquent pas nécessairement chaque fois qu'une personne a été déclarée coupable d'une infraction qu'elle n'a pas commise, par exemple, lorsqu'une personne s'est vue accorder une prorogation du délai d'appel et qu'un verdict d'acquittement a été prononcé par une cour d'appel. Dans ce cas, le procureur général de la province concernée peut décider que la personne a droit à une indemnisation, si l'enquête a déterminé qu'elle n'a pas commis l'infraction reprochée. 3 (Traduction)

Il est important de ne pas perdre de vue que les lignes directrices n'ont pas force exécutoire et n'ont pas été traitées comme telles. Un grand nombre, sinon la plupart, des indemnités qui ont été versées au cours de 20 dernières années s'éloignaient d'une certaine manière des critères proposés dans les lignes directrices.

Par exemple, pour ce qui est de l'indemnisation de Donald Marshall Jr., l'honorable Gregory Evans avait recommandé qu'elle soit versée à ses parents 4 et ce, malgré le fait que les lignes directrices limitent le droit à l'indemnisation à la personne qui a été déclarée coupable à tort. 5

Voici un autre exemple, dans l'Enquête sur Thomas Sophonow, l'honorable Peter Cory avait recommandé que M. Sophonow reçoive 1,75 million de dollars pour dommages moraux, bien que les lignes directrices fixent le plafond de ces dommages à 100 000 $ 6. Pour expliquer son refus d'appliquer le plafond prescrit, le juge Cory avait déclaré que les lignes directrices ne sont pas une loi de la Législature, mais de simples directives. 7 Je suis d'accord avec lui.

Puisque les lignes directrices ne donnent pas droit à une indemnisation, elles ne peuvent pas non plus constituer un obstacle juridique à son octroi. Le paiement d'une indemnisation relève du pouvoir discrétionnaire absolu de la Couronne. 8 Dans certains cas, l'intérêt de la justice peut nécessiter que la Couronne exerce son pouvoir discrétionnaire conformément aux lignes directrices, et dans d'autres que l'on s'en éloigne. En l'espèce, c'est à la Couronne de décider d'exercer son pouvoir discrétionnaire et d'accorder, ou non, un paiement à titre gracieux.

Quoiqu'il en soit, j'ai examiné les lignes directrices avec beaucoup de soin pour savoir s'il conviendrait de recommander un paiement à titre gracieux dans l'affaire qui nous occupe. M. Truscott satisfait à toutes les exigences des lignes directrices à une exception près :

  • il a été déclaré coupable et emprisonné;
  • on a jugé que sa déclaration de culpabilité et son emprisonnement résultaient d'une erreur judiciaire;
  • il a été acquitté par la Cour d'appel sur renvoi enjoint par le ministre de la Justice conformément à l'article 696.3 du Code criminel.

Toutefois, dans le cas de M. Truscott, aucune déclaration ni décision n'a été formulée à l'effet qu'il n'avait pas commis le crime qui lui était reproché. Il ne peut satisfaire à l'exigence des lignes directrices visant la déclaration d'innocence de fait.

c) Preuve de l'innocence de fait

D'autres ressorts, comme le Canada, exige que l'innocence de fait soit établie avant de verser une indemnisation à une personne déclarée coupable à tort. Le raisonnement à l'appui de cette exigence a été formulé en ces termes :

Étant responsables des deniers publics, les ministres se montrent très prudents, et à juste titre, lorsqu'il s'agit d'accorder des paiements à titre gracieux à des membres du public; la nécessité d'être prudent est d'autant plus grande que le bénéficiaire peut être l'innocente victime d'une erreur ou d'une fausse identification, ou bien un dangereux criminel qui a la chance d'échapper au châtiment qu'il mérite. Si le public est plutôt favorable au traitement compatissant de l'innocente victime, il n'admettra pas, c'est naturel, que des montants importants de fonds publics soient versés à un criminel. 9 (Traduction)

Autrement dit, il ne serait pas dans l'intérêt de la justice de permettre à une personne qui a commis une infraction, mais dont la culpabilité ne peut être prouvée, de profiter des fruits de son crime. 10

Si l'on suit ce raisonnement, on voit que, jusqu'à présent, dans toutes les affaires où une indemnisation a été versée l'innocence de la personne déclarée coupable à tort a été établie d'une manière ou d'une autre - soit par une preuve d'ADN 11, soit par l'inculpation ultérieure du véritable auteur du crime 12, soit par la conclusion rendue à l'issue d'une enquête de police ou d'une enquête judiciaire, à savoir qu'il n'y a pas de preuve que la personne déclarée coupable à tort ait commis le crime 13, ou lorsqu'il n'y a pas de preuve qu'un crime ait été commis. 14

Quoiqu'il en soit, l'instauration d'une règle qui limite le montant d'indemnisation que l'État peut verser aux personnes en mesure de prouver leur innocence de fait a été critiquée comme étant indûment sévère, car elle reviendrait à priver d'indemnisation une personne innocente qui, pour une raison ou une autre, ne peut prouver irréfutablement son innocence. Dans un article souvent cité sur l'indemnisation des personnes déclarées coupables à tort, le professeur H. Archibald Kaiser explique qu'exiger une preuve d'innocence est incompatible avec le fait que le système de justice pénal canadien ne prévoit que deux verdicts possibles - coupable ou non coupable :

On fait valoir que les personnes qui ont été déclarées coupables et emprisonnées à tort sont ipso facto victimes d'erreur judiciaire et devraient avoir droit à une indemnité. Prétendre le contraire introduit le troisième verdict de « culpabilité non prouvée » ou de « personne toujours coupable » sous le couvert d'un régime d'indemnisation…. 15

Le professeur Peter MacKinnon formule un argument semblable lorsqu'il dit qu'introduire la notion d' « innocence de fait », au lieu du verdict de « non-culpabilité », est contraire à la présomption d'innocence :

[…] celui qui est acquitté ou absous est innocent aux yeux de la loi et il n'y a pas lieu de le considérer comme étant moins innocent… 16

Selon le professeur MacKinnon, tout régime d'indemnisation appuyé par l'État devrait éviter la tentation même de déterminer l'innocence de fait, car cet exercice pourrait aller à l'encontre de la présomption d'innocence qui va de pair avec l'acquittement. Il écrit :

Nous ne pourrons peut-être pas empêcher le doute de subsister, mais il est important d'éviter tout prononcé formel de culpabilité probable, qu'il soit implicite lorsqu'on évalue l'« innocence de fait » aux fins d'attribuer des dépens, ou dans quelqu'autre contexte que ce soit. 17 (Traduction)

Dans une décision récente, la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario a exprimé une opinion similaire, déclarant qu'il serait contraire à la politique publique d'émettre des « prononcés » d'innocence. Dans l'arrêt R. c. Mullins Johnson, bien que la Cour ait jugé qu'il n'y avait « aucune preuve du crime » et qu'« aucune charge ne pouvait être retenue contre l'[accusé] », elle avait refusé de déclarer M. Mullins-Johnson innocent, elle donnait deux raisons pour expliquer ce refus :

  1. elle n'avait pas compétence pour émettre une telle déclaration;
  2. il existait d'« importantes raisons de politique de ne pas reconnaître un troisième verdict, celui de « l'innocence de fait », en dehors des verdicts de « coupable » ou « non coupable ». 18 (Traduction)

Si la preuve de l'innocence est une condition préalable au paiement de l'indemnisation, la question qui se pose alors est de savoir si l'innocence doit être prouvée au-delà de tout doute raisonnable dans chaque cas ou si, dans certains cas, il convient d'appliquer une norme de preuve moins exigeante, à savoir une preuve selon la prépondérance des probabilités.

À mon avis, il y a des cas où les circonstances sont telles qu'exiger d'un prévenu qu'il prouve son innocence au-delà de tout doute raisonnable est manifestement inique. À ce jour, cette norme sévère n'est appliquée qu'au ministère public dans le contexte d'une poursuite pénale. Comme le note le professeur Kent Roach (bien que dans le contexte quelque peu différent d'une discussion sur l'octroi de pardons absolus) :

En principe, il est difficile de justifier qu'on exige d'un prévenu qu'il assume le fardeau de la preuve au-delà de tout doute raisonnable. Dans tous les autres contextes, on n'impose une norme de preuve aussi élevée qu'à l'État, car il est doté de ressources importantes et d'un pouvoir coercitif. Bien qu'il soit possible de citer des cas où un prévenu pourrait assumer ce considérable fardeau, ces cas sont généralement limités aux disculpations par l'ADN. 19 (Traduction)

De surcroît, même la norme moins sévère de la prépondérance des probabilités impose un lourd fardeau au prévenu. Selon le professeur Roach :

Il est souvent difficile pour une personne déclarée coupable de satisfaire la norme de la prépondérance des probabilités, surtout lorsqu'il est clair qu'un crime a été commis; qu'il n'y a pas de preuve d'ADN; et lorsque l'auteur du crime court toujours. Dans la plupart des affaires de déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée, il existe des motifs raisonnables et probables d'inculper la personne et un élément de preuve circonstancielle indicatif de sa culpabilité. Il sera plus difficile pour la personne d'établir son innocence selon la prépondérante des probabilités à cause de cet élément de preuve. 20 (Traduction)

La question de la norme de preuve appropriée, et la question plus générale de décider si la détermination de l'innocence de fait devrait ou non être une condition préalable au paiement d'une indemnisation sont d'importantes questions de politique. Elles doivent être étudiées et débattues dans le contexte de l'élaboration d'un régime législatif qui permette de calculer l'indemnisation des personnes déclarées coupables à tort selon une approche méthodique. Cette étude et ce débat et le règlement de toutes les questions qu'ils soulèvent échappent bien entendu à la portée de mon mandat.

Mon mandat se limite à offrir des conseils sur la question de savoir s'il convient de verser une indemnisation à titre gracieux dans l'affaire qui nous occupe compte tenu des conclusions de la Cour d'appel. C'est de cette question dont je vais m'occuper maintenant.

Comme je l'indique dans le chapitre qui suit, les circonstances tout à fait exceptionnelles qui entourent cette affaire, et la fragilité des éléments de preuve qui restent contre M. Truscott, mentionnées plus tôt, m'ont amené à conclure qu'une indemnisation devrait être versée à M. Truscott.


  1. [2007] CSC 41.
  2. Décision de la Cour d'appel, note 10 précitée aux par. 285-288.
  3. Cette dernière disposition est communément appelée " clause omnibus "..
  4. Commission of Inquiry concerning the Adequacy of Compensation Paid to Donald Marshall, Jr., juin 1990, au par. 17.
  5. Lignes directrices fédérales-provinciales sur l'indemnisation des personnes condamnées et emprisonnées injustement, B.2.
  6. L'honorable Peter Cory, The Inquiry Regarding Thomas Sophonow : The Investigation, Prosecution and Consideration of Entitlement to Compensation (2001) (ci-après le « Rapport d'enquête Sophonow », « Compensation : Non-Pecuniary Compensation » .
  7. Idem, « Indemnisation : Recommendation »..
  8. H. Archibald Kaiser, « Wrongful Conviction and Imprisonment: Towards an End to the Compensatory Obstacle Course », Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice, Vol. 9 (1989) p. 120.
  9. Re McFarland, [2004] UKHL 17, au par. 7 (selon Lord Bingham de Cornhill).
  10. On trouvera une discussion sur ce point dans les motifs dissidents formulés par la juge Charron dans l'arrêt Hill c. Commission des services policiers de la municipalité régionale de Hamilton Wentworth, [2007], C.S.C. 41, au par. 158.
  11. Par exemple, dans le cas de Guy Paul Morin, de David Milgaard, de Randy Druken, d'Herman Kaglik et de Gregory Parsons..
  12. Par exemple, dans le cas de David Milgaard, de Donald Marshall et de Richard Norris..
  13. Par exemple, dans le cas de Thomas Sophonow..
  14. Par exemple, dans le cas de Clayton Johnson..
  15. H. Archibald Kaiser, « Wrongful Conviction and Imprisonment: Towards an End to the Compensatory Obstacle Course », Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice, Vol. 9 (1989), p.139.
  16. Peter MacKinnon, « Costs and Compensation for the Innocent Accused » (1988), 67 R. du B. can. 489 et 498.
  17. Idem, 498-499.
  18. R. c. Mullins Johnson, [2007] ONCA 720, aux par. 24-25.
  19. Professeur Kent Roach, « Report Relating to Paragraph l(f) of the Order in Council for the Commission of Inquiry into Certain Aspects of the Trial and Conviction of James Driskell », page 42.
  20. Idem, aux pages 42 et 43.