English page template

Immediately following the release of the Ontario Court of Appeal's decision on the Reference directed by the federal Minister of Justice, I was retained by the Attorney General to provide independent advice and recommendations on the issue of whether compensation ought to be paid to Mr. Truscott and his immediate family "based upon and accepting the findings" of the Court of Appeal and, if so, in what amount and by which level of government.

I have received extensive submissions on all aspects of this matter from Hersh Wolch, Q.C. and Marlys Edwardh, counsel for Mr. Truscott. Their assistance is very much appreciated. I have also received written personal statements from Mr. Truscott and his wife, Marlene, which detail the impact that the wrongful conviction has had on their lives.

In addition, Mr. Truscott's mother, Doris Brennan, sent a letter offering some insight into the turmoil and upheaval that her family suffered as a result of her son's conviction and imprisonment. Sadly, Mrs. Brennan died before my mandate was completed. I pause to express my condolences to Mr. Truscott and his family, and to voice my regret that Mrs. Brennan did not live to see the issue of compensation finally resolved.

I have also heard from Lynne Harper's family. Lynne's brother, Barry, and her father, Les, made helpful submissions to me in writing through their counsel, Ian Smith. I recognize the emotional upset that this process must cause them, and thank them for their participation.

The process that I have followed has, by design, been non-adversarial. My goal throughout has been to avoid causing any additional trauma to the interested parties - be they the family of Steven Truscott or of Lynne Harper - while still obtaining all of the information needed in order to advise the Attorney General as to what a fair and equitable result would be. I have been assisted in this process by Julie Rosenthal, a very able young counsel with Goodmans LXP, whose contribution has been substantial.

In coming to my conclusions, I have taken into account not only the interests of the Truscott family, and the Harper family, but also the broader interests of the public as a whole and, in particular, the public interest in the administration of justice.

My task begins, as it must, with the death of Lynne Harper.


|

MON MANDAT

Immédiatement après la publication de la décision de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario sur le renvoi ordonné par le ministre fédéral de la Justice, j'ai été engagé par le procureur général pour lui fournir un avis indépendant et lui faire des recommandations sur la question de savoir s'il fallait verser une indemnisation à M. Truscott et sa famille immédiate compte tenu des conclusions de la Cour d'appel et, dans l'affirmative, quel devait en être le montant et quel palier de gouvernement devait en assumer la responsabilité.

J'ai reçu les observations exhaustives de Me Hersh Wolch, c.r., et de Me Marlys Edwardh, les avocats de M. Truscott, sur tous les aspects de cette affaire. Je leur suis très reconnaissant de leur aide. J'ai également reçu des déclarations écrites personnelles de M. Truscott et de sa femme, Marlene, décrivant en détail les répercussions que la déclaration de culpabilité injustifiée a eues sur leurs vies.

En outre, la lettre que m'a écrite la mère de M. Truscott, Doris Brennan, m'a donné une idée du drame et des épreuves que sa famille a vécues du fait de la déclaration de culpabilité et de l'emprisonnement de son fils. Malheureusement, Mme Brennan est décédée avant la fin de mon mandat. À cet égard, je tiens à présenter toutes mes condoléances à M. Truscott et à sa famille, et j'aimerais leur dire à quel point je regrette que Mme Brennan n'ait pas vécu assez longtemps pour voir la question de l'indemnisation enfin réglée.

J'ai également été en contact avec la famille de Lynne Harper. Le frère de Lynne, Barry, et son père, Les, m'ont fait parvenir des observations écrites très utiles par le biais de leur avocat, Me Ian Smith. Je mesure tout le chagrin que cette enquête a dû leur causer, et je les remercie de leur contribution.

J'ai choisi, à dessein, de suivre un processus non accusatoire. Mon objectif tout au long de cette enquête a été d'éviter d'ajouter à la douleur des parties concernées -- autant la famille de Steven Truscott que celle de Lynne Harper -- tout en réunissant tous les renseignements nécessaires pour pouvoir recommander une solution juste et équitable au procureur général. J'ai été aidé dans ma tâche par Me Julie Rosenthal, une jeune avocate très compétente de l'étude Goodmans LLP, dont la contribution a été considérable.

Pour tirer mes conclusions, j'ai tenu compte non seulement des intérêts de la famille Truscott et de la famille Harper, mais aussi de l'intérêt du public en général, et de son intérêt pour l'administration de la justice en particulier.

Ma tâche commence, comme il se doit, avec le décès de Lynne Harper.