Section III: The Statutory Framework For Legal Aid In Ontario

In response to the McCamus Report, the government of Ontario enacted legislation creating a new framework for the provision of legal aid services in the province.

The stated purpose of the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998, is to promote access to justice for low-income Ontarians by providing consistently high quality legal aid services in a cost-effective manner, by encouraging flexibility and innovation in the provision of legal aid services while recognizing current successful mechanisms, and by recognizing the diverse legal needs of low-income individuals and disadvantaged communities.

I. GOVERNANCE

As recommended in the McCamus Report, the Act created a new, independent agency to provide legal aid services across the province.

The Legal Aid Services Act, 1998, establishes Legal Aid Ontario as an independent not-for-profit statutory corporation. LAO's mandate is to create and administer a cost-effective and efficient system for providing high quality legal aid services to low-income Ontarians.

The Act establishes a board of directors for Legal Aid Ontario, responsible for the governance and management of the corporation. The board establishes operational policy and develops strategic plans through the assessment of current and future needs for legal aid services. The board also develops performance standards and quality control mechanisms.

Membership of the board largely follows the recommendations in the McCamus Report. The board consists of the chair and ten regular members, appointed by the Attorney General, five from a list of persons recommended by the Law Society of Upper Canada. The chair is chosen from a list recommended by a committee established jointly by the Law Society and the Attorney General.

In selecting members, the Attorney General must ensure that the board has knowledge and experience in:

  • business management;
  • the operation of courts and tribunals;
  • the operation of clinics; and
  • the special legal needs and attendant social circumstances of low-income individuals and disadvantaged communities.

The Attorney General must also ensure geographic diversity, and must appoint a majority of non-lawyers.

Board members are appointed for two- or three-year terms, and may be reappointed. To protect the corporation's independence, board members' appointments may not be terminated except for cause.

The Act requires the board to establish an audit committee and a clinic committee, composed of board members. In addition, the board is required to establish three advisory committees, in the areas of criminal law, family law and clinic law. The board also appoints a president, who is chief executive officer of the corporation and who is responsible for implementing the policies of the board. The president is a non-voting member of the board.

II. LEGAL AID SERVICES

The Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 gives LAO broad authority in the design and administration of the legal aid system in Ontario. This independence allows for flexibility and innovation in the design of legal services, and allows LAO to adapt services in recognition of the diversity of special needs in the province.

In designing the legal aid program, LAO is required to:

  • determine the needs of low-income individuals and disadvantaged communities in Ontario;
  • establish priorities in terms of areas of law and types of proceedings; and
  • determine the appropriate means of providing legal aid services in each area of law or type of proceeding.

The Act also requires LAO to have regard to the fact that the private bar is the foundation for the provision of legal aid services in the areas of criminal law and family law, and that clinics are the foundation for the provision of legal aid services in the area of poverty law.

Section 13 of the Act specifies that LAO must provide legal aid services in the areas of criminal law, family law, clinic law and mental health law. LAO may cover other areas of civil law, subject to the government's power to specifically exclude an area of civil law or type of civil proceeding if it chooses.

Within those limits, LAO is authorized to provide legal aid services by any method it considers appropriate, including, but not limited to:

  • issuing certificates to lawyers and service providers;
  • entering into block agreements with lawyers or groups of lawyers for the provision of services;
  • funding clinics;
  • operating legal aid staff offices;
  • funding Aboriginal legal services corporations;
  • providing duty counsel;
  • offering public legal education;
  • providing summary assistance; and
  • authorizing alternative dispute resolution services.

This mixed model allows LAO to tailor its services to the needs of the individuals and communities being served and to the funding available to the corporation.

a) Duty Counsel

The McCamus Report recommended a broad range of services in the provision of criminal law, with the use of duty counsel expanded for situations involving limited preparation. The Report also recommended increasing the use of duty counsel in family law cases.

Duty counsel lawyers assist people who are unrepresented in criminal, family and youth court. They also provide advice and assistance on legal matters outside the court system and attend fly-in courts in remote northern areas.

The Act allows LAO to employ duty counsel and to enter into contracts with the private bar to provide duty counsel services. Currently, LAO has a network of over 130 staff lawyers and 1700 private lawyers providing duty counsel services.

The regulations establish classes of duty counsel and list their functions, including the assistance they may provide at different stages of a proceeding. The regulations also require duty counsel to make reports to LAO and to obtain approval before representing by certificate a person previously represented through the duty counsel program.

b) Certificate Program

Under the certificate program, an individual is assessed for financial eligibility through one of the 51 legal aid offices in the province. If eligible, the individual can take the certificate to any lawyer who accepts legal aid cases. Certificate lawyers are paid according to the tariff prescribed by regulation.

The Act provides a governance mechanism for the certificate program. The Act requires LAO's board to divide the province into designated areas, then to establish an area committee and appoint an area director for each area.

The area director selects panels of lawyers and other service providers who may accept legal aid certificates. The area director also reviews applications for certificates. An application must meet statutory and regulatory requirements, including financial eligibility, along with the policy and priority requirements of the board. The area director may attach conditions to a certificate, and may amend or cancel a certificate at any time.

The area director must refer some decisions to the area committee, such as requests for certificates to cover an appeal. A certificate for legal aid services for a group of individuals or for an individual who is not ordinarily resident in Ontario requires the approval of LAO's president.

The area committee is responsible for determining whether to issue a certificate in cases referred to it by the area director, hearing appeals from the area director's refusal to grant a certificate (with further appeal to a person designated by the board), and other functions as assigned by the board.

c) Staff Offices

The McCamus Report recommended establishing a pilot program of staff offices to provide legal aid services in the areas of criminal law and family law. The legislation enables the creation of staff offices, and currently there are three criminal law, three family law and one refugee law staff offices in the province. The family law and refugee law offices have become permanent, following positive evaluations of the pilot projects. The evaluation of the criminal law offices was just recently completed.

d) Clinics

As recommended by the McCamus Report, clinics continue to be the foundation for the provision of poverty law legal aid services in the province. Clinics are independent, non-profit organizations that provide services in areas such as social benefits, housing, and worker's compensation.

The Act grants LAO the authority to provide funding to clinics for up to three years at a time. In deciding whether to fund a clinic, LAO may consider matters such as the legal needs of the individuals or community served, the cost-effectiveness of providing services through a clinic, the past performance of an individual clinic, and the legal needs of other communities also seeking funding. Funding must comply with government transfer payment accountability requirements, and LAO may impose any other terms on the funding that it considers appropriate.

Under the Act, LAO designates a person to consider applications for funding by clinics. This person may make a decision or may refer the matter to the clinic committee of the board of directors. An applicant may request that the clinic committee reconsider a decision.

LAO is required to monitor the operation of a clinic. Clinics must provide LAO with audited financial statements, a summary of legal aid services provided, a summary of complaints received by the clinic and any other information requested. LAO's board of directors may reduce or suspend clinic funding if it believes a clinic is not complying with the Act or with the terms and conditions of the funding.

The board of directors of a funded clinic is responsible for ensuring that the clinic complies with the Act, the terms and conditions attached to the funding, and the operational standards established by LAO. The clinic board must also ensure that the clinic provides clinic law legal aid services in accordance with the needs of its community. There are currently 80 clinics in Ontario.

III. FUNDING

The Act establishes a funding mechanism that essentially follows the recommendations of the McCamus Report, with funding provided on a rolling, three-year basis and legislated reporting responsibilities.

Under the Act, LAO must submit its annual budget for the next fiscal year to the Attorney General for approval, and it must contain projected operating budgets for the following two years. Once the Attorney General approves the budget, it is included in the estimated budget of the Ministry of the Attorney General.

Under the legislation, LAO is permitted to enter into arrangements with other entities to receive additional funding. LAO currently has additional funding arrangements with the federal government and with the Law Foundation of Ontario.

A small amount of funding also comes from client contributions. The Act allows LAO to require an applicant to agree to contribute toward the cost of legal services to be provided. A determination of an applicant's ability to contribute is made in accordance with the Act.

LAO is also authorized by the Act to deduct the cost of legal aid services from any amount recovered by the applicant in respect of the matter for which legal aid services were provided. The regulations establish mechanisms for determining the appropriate amount to be paid to LAO.

IV. ACCOUNTABILITY

While the Act establishes LAO as an independent corporation, the government remains accountable for the use of public funds. To this end, the Act establishes some restrictions on LAO's financial management. The Act includes criteria for the choice of banks and investment agents and requires government approval of real property transactions. The government also retains the power to regulate the borrowing and investment powers of the board.

LAO is required to maintain a contingency reserve fund, which the government prescribes through regulation. LAO must notify the Attorney General of each withdrawal of capital from the fund, and must obtain approval from the Attorney General for any withdrawal over $5,000,000.

a) Reporting Requirements

LAO must submit annual reports to the government that contain annual financial statements audited by the Auditor General, a statement on the nature and amount of legal aid provided, a statement on how LAO has met its performance standards and any other information the Attorney General may request.

The Attorney General and LAO must enter into a memorandum of understanding every five years, which requires the corporation to be accountable for the expenditure of public funds and for meeting its mandate by providing the Attorney General with:

  • annual business plans;
  • multi-year strategic plans;
  • an annual statement of LAO's policies and priorities for legal aid services;
  • an annual statement of LAO's investment policies and goals;
  • meeting agendas;
  • performance standards; and
  • any other matter required by the government.

LAO also must provide the Attorney General with quarterly financial reports on its contingency reserve fund.

V. GOVERNMENT ROLE

In addition to the financial oversight noted above, the Act preserves government authority to ensure responsible management of LAO through regulations on the scope of legal aid and the authority to appoint a temporary administrator.

a) Regulations

Under the Act, the government retains authority to make regulations on a number of substantive matters, including financial eligibility requirements for legal aid and the tariff of fees and disbursements. In addition, the government may control the overall scope of legal aid by excluding areas of civil law or types of cases.

i) Financial eligibility

The government and LAO jointly developed the financial criteria for legal aid, which are incorporated into government regulation. Under the regulation, LAO examines four factors:

  • an applicant's family unit, to identify which family members should be included in a financial assessment;
  • assets available to the family unit;
  • income of the family unit; and
  • a comparison of income and assets to the necessary budgetary requirements of the family unit.

ii) Tariff

The tariff of fees and disbursements is provided in a series of schedules to the regulations under the Act. The schedules list the legal services required for each type of case and indicate the maximum number of hours a lawyer may bill for each service.

The schedules must be read in conjunction with a series of notes in the regulation, which address exceptional circumstances, such as representation of more than one client, or the use of junior counsel.

The tariff has been reviewed and increased several times since the legislation was originally enacted. The Act and regulations do not, however, provide a mechanism for regular review of the tariff.

iii) Scope of legal aid

The government has not restricted the scope of legal aid beyond the prohibitions listed in the Act. The Act prohibits the provision of legal aid services in:

  • defamation actions;
  • relator actions;
  • proceedings for the recovery of a penalty where the proceedings may be taken by any person and the penalty in whole or in part may be payable to the person instituting the proceedings; and
  • proceedings relating to elections.

b) Temporary Administrator

If the Attorney General loses confidence in the board's ability to fulfill its mandate, the government retains the option of temporarily removing authority for the corporation from its board of directors. The Attorney General may apply to the Superior Court of Justice for an order appointing an administrator to take over administration of LAO. The court may make the order if it is satisfied that the appointment is in the public interest and is needed to ensure the continued and effective provision of legal aid services.


|

Chapitre III Le cadre légal de l’aide juridique en Ontario

Le rapport présentait une stratégie pour mettre en œuvre la réforme de la gestion proposée, dont établir la loi habilitante, trouver les personnes voulues pour siéger au premier conseil d’administration et travailler de concert avec le Barreau pour que la transition se déroule sans accroc.

Le rapport se termine par un résumé des quatre-vingt-douze recommandations.

I. GESTION

Comme le recommandait le rapport McCamus, la Loi a créé une société autonome pour fournir des services d’aide juridique dans toute la province. 

La Loi de 1998 sur les services d’aide juridique a créé Aide juridique Ontario, une société autonome sans but lucratif. Le mandat d’AJO est de mettre sur pied et de fournir d'une manière efficiente et efficace des services d'aide juridique de haute qualité aux Ontariennes et Ontariens à faible revenu par rapport au coût.  

La Loi établit un conseil d’administration pour Aide juridique Ontario, auquel incombe la gestion de la société. À partir d’évaluations des besoins actuels et futurs en matière de services d’aide juridique, le conseil d’administration élabore les politiques opérationnelles et les plans stratégiques. Le conseil d’administration prévoit également des normes de rendement et des mécanismes de contrôle de la qualité.  

La composition du conseil d’administration se fonde essentiellement sur les recommandations du rapport McCamus. Le conseil d’administration se compose du président et de dix membres réguliers, choisis par le procureur général à partir d’une liste de personnes recommandées par le Barreau du Haut-Canada.  Le président est choisi à partir d’une liste de personnes recommandées par un comité établi conjointement par le Barreau et le procureur général.

Lors du choix des membres du conseil d’administration, le procureur général veille à ce que le conseil dans son ensemble ait des connaissances, des compétences et de l’expérience dans les domaines et les questions suivantes :

  • gestion des affaires,
  • fonctionnement des tribunaux judiciaires et administratifs,
  • fonctionnement des cliniques,
  • besoins juridiques particuliers et situation sociale des particuliers à faible revenu et des collectivités défavorisées. 

Le procureur général doit également veiller à ce que le conseil d’administration compte des représentants des diverses régions de la province, et il doit nommer une majorité de  personnes qui ne sont pas avocats.
Les membres du conseil d’administration occupent leur poste pour un mandat de deux ou trois ans, et peuvent être reconduits dans leur fonction.  Pour protéger l’autonomie de la société, il ne peut être mis fin au mandat d’un membre nommé au conseil avant la date prévue de son expiration, si ce n’est pour un motif valable.

La Loi prévoit que le conseil d’administration établisse un comité de vérification et un comité des cliniques, se composant de ses membres.  En outre, le conseil d’administration doit former trois comités consultatifs, pour chacun des champs suivants du droit : le droit criminel, le droit de la famille, le champ de pratique des cliniques. Le conseil d’administration nomme aussi un président, qui est le chef de la direction de la société et auquel incombe la mise en œuvre des politiques du conseil d’administration.  Le président est membre non votant du conseil.

II. SERVICES D'AIDE JURIDIQUE

La Loi de 1998 sur les services d’aide juridiqueconfère de larges pouvoirs à AJO en ce qui concerne la conception et l’administration du Régime d’aide juridique en Ontario.  Cette indépendance permet à AJO de concevoir un système souple et novateur de services d’aide juridique et d’adapter ces derniers aux besoins divers et spéciaux de la population de la province.

Lors de la conception du programme d’aide juridique, AJO est tenue :

  • de déterminer les besoins des personnes à faible revenu et des collectivités défavorisées en Ontario;
  • d’établir des priorités en ce qui concerne les domaines juridiques et les instances judiciaires;
  • de déterminer les moyens qui conviennent pour fournir des services d’aide juridique dans chaque champ du droit ou type d’instance judiciaire.

La Loi exige aussi qu’AJO tienne compte du fait que les avocats du secteur privé jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la prestation de services d’aide juridique dans les domaines du droit criminel et du droit de la famille et que les cliniques jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la prestation de services d’aide juridique dans le domaine du droit de la pauvreté.   

L’article 13 de la Loi précise qu’AJO doit fournir des services d’aide juridique dans les champs du droit criminel, du droit de la famille et du droit de la santé mentale, ainsi que dans les domaines de pratique des cliniques.  L’AJO peut couvrir d’autres champs du droit civil, sous réserve que le gouvernement, en raison des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés, n’exclut pas un domaine du droit civil ou un type d’action au civil, s’il le choisit.   

AJO est autorisée, dans ces limites, à fournir des services d’aide juridique en ayant recours à toute méthode qu’elle juge appropriée, y compris, sans toutefois s’y limiter :

  • délivrance de certificats aux avocats et fournisseurs de services;
  • passation de contrats de service regroupés avec des avocats ou des groupes d’avocats;
  • financement des cliniques;
  • fonctionnement de bureaux de services d’aide juridique;
  • financement de sociétés autochtones de services juridiques;
  • affectation d’avocats de service;
  • éducation juridique du public;
  • offre de conseils sommaires;
  • autorisation de services de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends.

Ce système mixte permet à AJO d’adapter ses services aux besoins des particuliers et des communautés qu’elle dessert et aux moyens financiers dont elle dispose.  

a) Avocats de service

Le rapport McCamus recommandait qu’une vaste gamme de services soit offerte dans le domaine du droit criminel et que le recours à des avocats de service soit élargi aux situations exigeant peu de préparation.  Le rapport recommandait un programme élargi d'avocats de service pour la prestation des services juridiques en matière familiale.

Les avocats de service aident les personnes sans représentation dans les tribunaux criminels, ainsi que dans les tribunaux de la famille et de la jeunesse.  En outre, ils donnent aussi des conseils et des renseignements juridiques en dehors du système judiciaire et se rendent dans des tribunaux seulement accessibles par avion dans les régions éloignées du nord de la province.

La Loi autorise AJO à employer des avocats de service et à conclure des contrats avec des avocats du secteur privé pour qu’ils travaillent à titre d'avocats de service.  À l’heure actuelle, AJO compte un réseau de plus de 130 avocats salariés et 1 700 avocats du secteur privé qui fournissent des services d’aide juridique.

Les règlements prévoient des catégories d’avocats de service et dressent la liste de leurs fonctions, dont l’aide qu’ils peuvent fournir à différentes étapes de la procédure.  En vertu des règlements, les avocats de service sont aussi tenus de présenter des rapports à  AJO et de lui demander l’autorisation de représenter des personnes munies d’un certificat qui étaient auparavant représentées par un bureau d'avocats de service.

b) Programme des certificats

Conformément au programme des certificats, l’un des 51 bureaux d’aide juridique de la province évalue l’admissibilité financière d’une personne. Si celle-ci est admissible, la personne peut alors s’adresser à un avocat qui accepte des causes d'aide juridique.  Ces avocats sont rémunérés en fonction du tarif prescrit par le règlement.  

Le programme des certificats est géré en vertu d’un mécanisme prévu par la Loi.  Conformément à la Loi, le conseil d’administration d’AJO doit diviser la province en régions désignées, puis former un comité régional dans chaque région et y nommer un directeur régional.

Le directeur régional dresse une liste des avocats et d’autres fournisseurs de service qui acceptent des certificats d'aide juridique. Le directeur régional étudie aussi les demandes de certificat. Une demande doit satisfaire aux exigences de la loi et des règlements, y compris aux conditions d'admissibilité financière, ainsi qu’aux exigences du conseil d’administration en matière de priorités et de politiques. Le directeur régional peut assortir un certificat, à sa délivrance, des conditions qu'il juge appropriées et peut, à n'importe quel moment, modifier ou annuler un certificat.

Le directeur régional doit renvoyer certaines décisions devant le comité régional, notamment les demandes de certificats en rapport avec une procédure d'appel.  Les certificats d’aide juridique à un groupe de particuliers ou à un particulier qui ne réside pas ordinairement en Ontario doivent être approuvés par le président de l’AJO.

Il incombe au comité régional de délivrer ou pas un certificat dans les cas que le directeur régional a renvoyés devant lui, d’entendre les appels de refus de la directrice ou du directeur régional de délivrer un certificat (avec possibilité d’un second appel devant une personne désignée par le conseil d’administration) et de s’acquitter d’autres fonctions que lui confie le conseil d’administration.

c) Bureaux dotés en personnel

Le rapport McCamus favorisait l'établissement d’un programme pilote de bureaux dotés en personnel pour fournir des services d’aide juridique dans les champs du droit criminel et du droit de la famille.  La loi autorise la création de bureaux dotés en personnel, et, à l’heure actuelle, il y a dans la province trois bureaux dotés en personnel se spécialisant dans le droit criminel, trois dans le droit de la famille et un dans le droit des réfugiés.  Les bureaux de droit de la famille et de droit des réfugiés sont devenus permanents, à la suite d’évaluations positives du programme pilote.  Une évaluation des bureaux du droit criminel a récemment été terminée.

d) Cliniques

Comme le recommandait le rapport McCamus, les cliniques continuent de jouer un rôle de premier plan dans la prestation de services d'aide juridique relevant du « droit de la pauvreté ».  Les cliniques sont des organismes indépendants à but non lucratif qui fournissent des services dans des domaines de l'aide sociale, du logement et des accidents du travail.

La Loi autorise AJO à fournir un financement aux cliniques pour une période d'au plus trois ans. Afin de décider si elle doit ou non fournir un financement à une clinique, AJO tient compte de certains facteurs, comme les besoins sur le plan juridique des particuliers ou des collectivités que servira la clinique, la rentabilité de fournir des services d'aide juridique par l'entremise de la clinique, le rendement antérieur de la clinique et des besoins sur le plan juridique d'autres collectivités qui ont fait une demande de financement.  Le financement doit se conformer aux exigences du gouvernement relatives à la comptabilisation des paiements de transfert.  En outre, AJO peut imposer d’autres conditions au financement, comme elle le juge opportun. 

En vertu de la Loi, AJO désigne une personne pour étudier les demandes de financement que présentent les cliniques.  Cette personne peut prendre une décision au sujet de la demande ou la renvoyer au comité des cliniques pour un examen plus approfondi.  Une clinique peut demander au comité des cliniques de réexaminer une décision.

AJO est tenue de surveiller le fonctionnement des cliniques.  Les cliniques doivent fournir à AJO des états financiers vérifiés, un sommaire des services d'aide juridique qu’elles ont fournis, un sommaire des plaintes qu’elles ont reçues et tout autre renseignement qui leur est demandé.  Le conseil d’administration d’AJO peut réduire ou interrompre le financement d’une clinique s’il estime que celle-ci n'observe pas la Loi ou les conditions de son financement.

Le conseil d’administration d'une clinique que finance AJO doit veiller à ce que la clinique observe la Loi, et surveiller les conditions de son financement ainsi que les normes de fonctionnement établies par AJO.  Il  doit également vérifier que la clinique fournisse des services d'aide juridique correspondant aux besoins de la collectivité qu’elle sert.  Il existe à l’heure actuelle 80 cliniques en Ontario.

III. FINANCEMENT

La Loi prévoit un mécanisme de financement qui suit essentiellement les recommandations du rapport McCamus, le financement étant octroyé dans le cadre de cycles de trois années consécutives et d’exigences relatives aux déclarations établies par la loi.
En vertu de la Loi, AJO doit soumettre à l’approbation du procureur général son budget annuel pour l’exercice suivant, budget qui doit comprendre les prévisions des budgets de fonctionnement des deux années suivantes. Une fois que le procureur général a approuvé le budget, celui-ci est porté aux prévisions budgétaires du ministère du Procureur général.

En vertu de la Loi, AJO a le droit de conclure des ententes avec d’autres entités pour recevoir un financement additionnel.  À l’heure actuelle, AJO a des ententes financières additionnelles avec le gouvernement fédéral et la Fondation du droit de l'Ontario.

Les contributions des clients représentent une petite portion du financement.  En vertu de la Loi, AJO peut exiger que l’auteur d’une demande s’engage à contribuer au paiement du coût des services d’aide juridique qui doivent lui être fournis. AJO évalue la capacité de contribution de l’auteur de la demande conformément à la Loi.  

Toujours en vertu de la loi, AJO a le droit de déduire du coût des services d’aide juridique une somme que l’auteur d’une demande a recouvrée à l’égard de l’affaire pour laquelle il a reçu des services d’aide juridique.  Les règlements prévoient des mécanismes pour calculer le montant qui sera versé à AJO.

III. RESPONSABILITÉ

Si, en vertu de la Loi, AJO est une société indépendante, le gouvernement reste responsable de l’utilisation des fonds publics. C’est la raison pour laquelle, aux termes de la Loi, la gestion financière d’AJO fait l’objet de certaines restrictions. La Loi comprend des critères s’appliquant au choix des banques et des agents en placements et exige, en outre, que le gouvernement approuve les opérations immobilières.  Le gouvernement peut aussi prescrire les pouvoirs en matière d’emprunt et de placement du  conseil d’administration.

AJO doit maintenir un fonds de réserve pour éventualités, que le gouvernement prescrit dans un règlement. Elle est tenue d’aviser le procureur général chaque fois qu’elle effectue un retrait de fonds et d’obtenir son autorisation pour effectuer un retrait supérieur à 5 000 000 dollars.

a) Exigences en matière de rapports

AJO doit remettre au gouvernement un rapport annuel qui comprend les états financiers de l’exercice vérifiés par le vérificateur général, un compte rendu de la nature et de la quantité des services d’aide juridique fournis au cours de l’exercice, une indication de la manière dont elle a satisfait à ses normes de rendement et tout autre renseignement que demande le procureur général.

Le procureur général et AJO doivent conclure un protocole d’entente tous les cinq ans, lequel exige que la société rende des comptes en ce qui concerne la dépense des fonds publics et la prestation de services d’aide juridique aux particuliers à faible revenu. Pour ce faire, elle doit fournir au  procureur général :

  • ses plans annuels d’activités;
  • des plans stratégiques pluriannuels;
  • un énoncé annuel de ses politiques et de ses priorités en matière de prestation de services d’aide juridique;
  • un énoncé annuel de ses politiques et de ses objectifs en matière de placement;
  • les ordres du jour des réunions;
  • les normes de rendement;
  • tout autre élément qu’exige le gouvernement. 

AJO doit aussi fournir au procureur général des rapports financiers trimestriels sur son fonds de réserve pour éventualités.

V. RÔLE DU GOUVERNEMENT

Outre ses responsabilités en matière de surveillance financière mentionnées ci-dessus, le gouvernement garde le pouvoir, en vertu de la loi, d’une part d’assurer une gestion responsable d’AJO en adoptant des règlements sur l'étendue des services d'aide juridique et, d’autre part, de nommer un administrateur temporaire.  

a) Règlements

En vertu de la Loi, le gouvernement garde le pouvoir de prendre des règlements sur un certain nombre de sujets importants, dont les conditions d’admissibilité financière à l’aide juridique et le barème tarifaire et les débours. De surcroît, le gouvernement peut contrôler l’étendue générale de l’aide juridique en excluant des domaines du droit civil ou des types de causes ou d’instances civiles. 

i) Admissibilité financière

Le gouvernement et AJO ont élaboré de concert les critères financiers de l’aide juridique, lesquels font partie du règlement du gouvernement.  En vertu du règlement, AJO examine quatre facteurs :

  • la cellule familiale de l’auteur de la demande pour déterminer quels membres de la famille devraient être inclus dans l’évaluation financière;
  • les biens dont dispose la cellule familiale;
  • le revenu de la cellule familiale; 
  • une comparaison ente le revenu et des biens et les exigences budgétaires de la cellule familiale.

ii) Tarif

Une série d’annexes au règlement pris en application de la loi établit le barème tarifaire et les débours, dresse la liste des services juridiques qu’exige chaque cause et indique le nombre maximum d’heures qu’un avocat a le droit de facturer pour chaque service. 

Il faut lire les annexes corrélativement à une série de notes dans le règlement qui traite des cas exceptionnels, dont représentation de plus d’un client ou recours à des avocats adjoints.

Depuis l’adoption de la loi, le tarif a été revu et augmenté à plusieurs reprises.  Toutefois, ni la Loi ni le règlement ne prévoient de mécanisme pour le revoir régulièrement.

iii) Portée de l’aide juridique

Le gouvernement n’a pas limité davantage les services d’aide juridique au-delà des interdictions prévues dans la Loi. La Loi interdit la prestation de services d’aide juridique dans :

  • une instance ayant trait à la diffamation;
  • des actions intentées pour donner suite à la plainte d’autrui;
  • une instance en recouvrement d’une amende lorsque l’instance peut être introduite par toute personne et que l’amende peut être payée, en totalité ou en partie, à la personne introduisant l’instance;
  • une instance en matière d’élections.

b) Administrateur temporaire

Si le procureur général estime que le conseil d’administration n’est plus en mesure de remplir son mandat, le gouvernement peut écarter temporairement le conseil d’administration de la société.  Le procureur général peut demander à la Cour supérieure de justice une ordonnance nommant un administrateur pour administrer AJO.  Le tribunal peut rendre l’ordonnance s’il est convaincu que la nomination est dans l’intérêt public et qu’elle est nécessaire pour garantir une prestation continue et efficace des services d’aide juridique.