Section II: Summary Of The Major Findings Of The 1997 McCamus Report

I. DEVELOPMENT OF THE LEGAL AID SYSTEM IN ONTARIO

a) Historical Framework

The first major shift in the delivery of legal aid services in Ontario began in 1967. Prior to that time, the delivery of legal assistance to low-income Ontarians was viewed as a charitable service by the legal profession. The three key principles underlying the introduction of the Legal Aid Act, 1967 were: 1) the delivery of legal aid services was to be based on the judicare model, whereby certificates would be issued to members of the private bar providing legal aid services and paid by the government; 2) the enabling legislation conferred an entitlement to legal aid to anyone who met the eligibility criteria; and 3) it was to operate as a partnership between the province and the Law Society of Upper Canada, with the Law Society responsible for the day-to-day administration. The governance framework, funding structure, and delivery models established by the Legal Aid Act, 1967 continued to operate for almost three decades.

b) Signing of the Memorandum of Understanding

By the 1990s, the soaring costs of legal aid became a significant concern to the Ontario government. As a result, in 1994, in the context of a deep recession in the province and a growing government deficit, the Ontario government announced that the funding of legal aid certificates was to be subject to a fixed annual government contribution. At about the same time, the federal government started to provide its financial contribution to legal aid in fixed amounts unrelated to the actual need in the provinces and territories, and withdrew its funding of certain areas of law, such as refugee matters, as well as Northern legal services administered by the Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services Corporation.

The result of these financial factors was the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) entered into by the Law Society and the provincial government in September 1994. The MOU required the Ontario Legal Aid Plan (OLAP), for the first time since its inception, to operate within a predetermined funding level for certificates. The MOU also set out a four-year funding commitment.

c) Implementation of the MOU

In order to implement the new funding restrictions required by the MOU, the OLAP imposed service cuts in 1994, 1995, and 1996, which resulted in 150,000 fewer certificates being issued per year. The availability of legal aid services for non-family civil law was severely restricted. In order to effect further reductions, prioritization of the types of services offered was also undertaken in the areas of family law, criminal law and refugee and immigration law. A justice strategy was also established to help lower legal aid costs, which included diversion programs and early Crown charge screening. In 1996 the Law Society eliminated all block-fee billing in criminal matters, introduced maximum billing caps on certificates, and implemented stricter client financial eligibility requirements.

II. THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE 1997 LEGAL AID REVIEW

On December 13, 1996, then-Attorney General Charles Harnick, established the Ontario Legal Aid Review ("the Review"), an independent task force to be chaired by Professor John McCamus, former Dean of Osgoode Hall Law School. This was the first comprehensive review of Ontario's legal aid system since the modern program's inception. 1 The mandate of the Review was to undertake a thorough analysis of the existing legal aid system in the province, and to make recommendations as to its future direction. It was directed to study the implications of capped funding on the system's future design, administration and governance, and to identify the prevailing common legal needs of low-income Ontarians. To accomplish this, the Review distributed a consultation paper, and received 170 written submissions in response. In addition, a number of background papers were commissioned to examine current unmet legal needs. 2 The result of the Review was the publication of the 1997 Report, "A Blueprint for Publicly Funded Legal Services" ("the McCamus Report"). The McCamus Report laid the groundwork for the Legal Aid Services Act, 1998 and the establishment of Legal Aid Ontario. The Report formulated its overall findings in ninety-two recommendations for reforming Ontario's legal aid system.

III. THE 1997 LEGAL AID REVIEW'S FINDINGS

a) The Legal Needs of Low-Income Ontarians

The Review found that the lives of low-income people are regulated in ways that are overarching, complex, intersecting, and intrusive. 3 As many of the submissions to the Review iterated, low-income people require access to legal representation when the law intrudes in their lives in extreme ways, i.e. child apprehension, incarceration, or involuntary treatment. The Review reached several key conclusions regarding the legal needs of low-income Ontarians, including:

  • low-income individuals have legal needs which differ from those with resources;
  • factors which may contribute to a person's financial need, such as disability, age, or race, can result in specific legal needs; and
  • the allocation of legal aid resources should rest on the development of mechanisms to assess the particular and changing legal needs of low-income Ontarians.

IV. A FRAMEWORK FOR SETTING PRIORITIES FOR LEGAL AID SERVICES

a) The State's Obligation to Provide Legal Aid

The Report noted that a legal aid system operating within a capped budget must undertake priority-setting exercises in order to determine how the budget will be allocated between the competing claims.

The McCamus Report examined normative justifications for providing legal aid, and determined that the state has an obligation in various circumstances to facilitate access to law. Legal aid is one, but not the only, means for meeting that obligation. The Report also set out the state's legal obligations under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, as well as the Young Offenders Act 4, the Criminal Code, and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, to provide legal counsel in certain contexts. The Report found that the Charter may require that areas of law other than criminal law be funded by legal aid in the future.

b) Priority Setting: the Recent Experience

At the time the Review was undertaken, priority-setting for the legal aid system was done in two separate contexts: certificates and clinics. For the certificate side of the system, the Legal Aid Committee, subject to review by the Law Society, was responsible for setting the priorities of the legal aid plan. Following the signing of the MOU, a prioritization of services in the areas of criminal law, family law and immigration and refugee law was done in order to adjust to the capped funding. For the clinic system, each clinic's community board sets its priorities. The clinics have operated within capped budgets since their inception, and consequently had developed a great deal of experience with priority-setting and adjusting their services in response to demand.

c) Towards a New Model for Priority-Setting

The Report foresaw that priority-setting would continue to be a major focus for those overseeing the legal aid system if the system were to continue to operate within a capped budget. The Report recommended that the following eight themes be considered when the legal aid system engages in priority-setting:

  • The importance of consultation and environmental scanning of needs;
  • The importance of responding to a broad range of needs;
  • The need for strategic oversight at the system-wide level coupled with responsiveness to local conditions;
  • The limitations of the "risk of incarceration test" in setting service priorities;
  • The importance of integrating delivery-model issues within the priority-setting process;
  • The importance of focusing the priority-setting debate on client impact;
  • The importance of using resources strategically to facilitate access to law; and
  • The importance of priority-setting being subject to revision in light of experience in an evolving social and legal environment.

d) The Legal Aid System in Context

A central tenet of the McCamus Report is that the legal aid system must be regarded as an integral component of the overall justice system in Ontario. The Report emphasized that in envisioning an improved model for the delivery of legal aid the existing justice system should not be viewed as static.

The Report found that legal aid has a role to play in instigating and propelling legal reform. The Report discusses the proposed changes in criminal, family, refugee and civil law that came out of the research papers commissioned for the Review. 5 One incentive for such reforms to be implemented is the cost-savings that would accrue to legal aid as a result. The Report concluded that for legal reform efforts to be successful, there must be an ongoing focus on incremental change through continuous design, experimentation, implementation, and evaluation exercises. 6

e) The Choice of Delivery Models for Legal Aid

The McCamus Report identified the need for the future legal aid governance body to be willing to explore and experiment with a wide variety of delivery models.

The Report made the case for greater diversity and creativity in the delivery models of legal aid services in Ontario, taking into account the specific needs of individual clients, the types of legal services being provided, and the geographic locations being served. The ultimate goal of this approach is to obtain the maximum benefit from the finite resources available. Several principles were identified to guide the design of the new system, including:

  • the need to provide a greater mix of legal services 7 to help reduce the divide between full legal representation and no legal representation, and thereby assist a greater percentage of the public with their legal problems;
  • delivery models should be reflective of the legal, geographic and client context;
  • it can be beneficial for the delivery models to be in competition with one another;
  • quality considerations must always be kept in mind; and
  • independent evaluations of these programs should be conducted intermittently.

V. A BLUEPRINT FOR LEGAL AID SERVICES IN ONTARIO

a) Renewing the Commitment to Legal Aid

The McCamus Report emphasized that the successful implementation of any reforms to the legal aid system would be predicated on the ability of the government and the legal aid system to establish shared goals pertaining to the fundamental purpose of legal aid. One such goal identified by the Report is access to justice. That is, the fundamental objective of the legal aid system should be to promote equal access to justice by identifying and meeting the diverse legal needs of qualifying individuals and communities. It was also thought necessary for there to be a commitment by the government to the principles of independence, funding and systemic reform in relation to the legal aid system.

The legal aid system itself needs to have a special commitment to the following areas: priority setting in a needs-based system, quality of service, cost-effectiveness and accountability, service delivery models, law reform, diverse needs, and governance.

b) Governance

One of the key considerations of the Review was whether the Law Society should continue to have a governing role in the administration of Ontario's legal aid plan. The Report considered the governance of legal aid in other jurisdictions in Canada, as well as the United States, Australia and the United Kingdom. The Report outlined the following goals and objectives in making a case for change in governance of the legal aid plan in Ontario: independence; accountability for efficient use of public funds; obtaining adequate resources for legal aid; ability to deliver quality services in a broad range of areas of the law; capacity to promote confidence in the legal aid system; responsiveness to client needs; efficient governance; coordinated management of the entire legal aid system; and innovation and experimentation. The Report recognized that it is difficult for the Law Society to insulate itself from the interests of the legal profession. The Law Society would thus face special challenges in implementing reforms to the judicare system.

Taking all of the above-listed goals into consideration, the McCamus Report recommended that the governance of the legal aid system be transferred from the Law Society to an independent statutory agency. This new agency could more effectively: understand, assess and respond to the broad range of legal needs of low-income Ontarians; integrate management and financial expertise at the highest level of governance; conduct a greater level of experimentation and innovation with delivery models; coordinate the certificate system and clinic system; and promote confidence in the legal aid system. The Report recommended that the mandate of the agency be set out in the enabling legislation, which should require that the agency provide services in the areas of criminal law, family law, immigration and refugee law, and poverty law.

The government's primary role in relation to the new agency would be to appoint its members and to assume political responsibility for defining the agency's mandate. The government would also need to ensure adequate multi-year funding. The government must also, however, allow the agency to determine its own method of priority-setting and service delivery in providing the mandated services.

The Report outlined a strategy to implement the proposed governance changes, including establishing the enabling legislation, identifying the appropriate individuals to serve on the inaugural board, and working with the Law Society to ensure a smooth transfer to the new administration.

The Report concludes with a summary of its ninety-two recommendations.


  1. The previous study was the Report of the Joint Committee on Legal Aid, tabled in April 1965.
  2. Background Papers:
    1. Current Utilization Patterns and Unmet Legal Needs by William A. Bogart, Colin Meredith and Danielle Chandler
    2. Special Legal Needs of People with Mental Disabilities by Patti Bregman
    3. Legal Aid, Aboriginal People, and the Legal Problems Faced by Persons of Aboriginal Descent in Northern Ontario by Donald Auger
    4. Legal Aid Needs of Aboriginal People in Urban Areas and on Southern Reserves by Jonathan Rudin
    5. Normative Justifications for the Provision of Legal Aid by David Dyzenhaus
    6. The Legal and Constitutional Requirements for Legal Aid by Nathalie Des Rosiers
    7. Legal Aid Delivery Models by Susan Charendoff, Mark Leach and Tamara Levy
    8. An Economic Analysis of Legal Aid Delivery Mechanisms by Hamish Stewart
    9. Quality Control and Performance Measures by Sandra Wain
    10. Legal Aid and Criminal Justice in Ontario by Alan N. Young
    11. The Provision of Legal Aid Services Under the Young Offenders Act by Ron Levi
    12. Case Study in the Provision of Legal Aid: Family Law by Brenda Cossman and Carol Rogerson
    13. Poverty Law-A Case Study by Janet Mosher
    14. Report on Immigration and Refugee Law by Audrey Macklin
    15. Governance of Legal Aid Schemes by Martin L. Friedland
    16. A Cross-Jurisdictional Study of Legal Aid: Governance, Coverage, Eligibility, Financing, and Delivery in Canada, England and Wales, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States by David Crerar
  3. At 59.
  4. Now the Youth Criminal Justice Act.
  5. See note 2.
  6. At 103.
  7. For example, with public legal education, duty counsel, supervised paralegals, community legal clinics, judicare, and block contracting..

|

Chapitre II Sommaire des principales conclusions du rapport McCamus de 1997

I. MISE SUR PIED DU RÉGIME D’AIDE JURIDIQUE DE L’ONTARIO

a) Le cadre historique

C’est en 1967 que le premier grand tournant a été pris dans le domaine de la prestation de services d’aide juridique en Ontario. Auparavant, les avocats estimaient qu’il faisaient œuvre de charité en offrant une aide juridique aux Ontariennes et Ontariens à faible revenu.  Trois principes fondamentaux sous-tendaient l’adoption de la Loi de 1967 sur l’aide juridique : 1) la prestation des services d’aide juridique devait s’appuyer sur le modèle fondé exclusivement sur les certificats (judicare), c’est-à-dire que des certificats seraient délivrés à des avocats du secteur privé qui fournissaient des services d’aide juridique et étaient payés par le gouvernement; 2) la loi habilitante conférait le droit à quiconque remplissait les conditions d’admissibilité d’avoir recours à l’aide juridique et 3) le système d’aide juridique reposerait sur un partenariat entre la province et le Barreau du Haut-Canada, le Barreau étant responsable de l’administration courante.  Le cadre de gestion, la structure de financement et les systèmes de prestation établis par la Loi de 1967 sur l’aide juridique ont été appliqués pendant presque trente ans.

b) Signature du protocole d'entente

Dès les années 1990, la montée en flèche du coût de l’aide juridique a commencé à sérieusement inquiéter le gouvernement de l’Ontario.  En 1994, donc, alors que la province vivait à l’heure d’une profonde récession et que le déficit du gouvernement était à la hausse, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a annoncé qu’il verserait désormais tous les ans un montant fixe pour financer les certificats d’aide juridique. Vers la même époque, le gouvernement fédéral a plafonné son financement de l’aide juridique, sans égards aux besoins réels des provinces et territoires, et a annoncé le retrait de sa contribution à certains domaines de la loi, dont les affaires d’asile et les services d’aide juridique dans le Nord que gère la Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services Corporation.

Face à cette situation financière, le Barreau du Haut-Canada et le gouvernement provincial ont conclu en septembre 1994 un protocole d'entente (PE).  Le PE exigeait que, pour la première fois depuis la création du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario (RAJO), le programme de certificats soit exploité dans les limites d’un budget prédéterminé.  Le PE établissait également un engagement de quatre ans en matière de financement.

c) Mise en ouvre du PE

Afin de s’adapter au plafonnement des ressources financières à la suite de la conclusion du protocole d'entente, le RAJO a imposé une série de réductions de services en 1994, 1995 et 1996, ce qui a entraîné la délivrance de 150 000 certificats de moins par an.  Les services d’aide juridique dans le domaine du droit civil non relié au bien-être de la famille ont été considérablement restreints.  Afin d’effectuer d’autres réductions, le RAJO a commencé à hiérarchiser les types de services offerts dans les secteurs du droit de la famille, du droit pénal et du droit des réfugiés et des immigrants, de sorte que les certificats ne soient accordés qu'aux cas les plus prioritaires.  On a également assisté à la mise en place d’une stratégie pour tenter de diminuer le coût de l’aide juridique, dont programmes de déjudiciarisation et rapide examen préalable à l’inculpation par un procureur de la Couronne.  En 1996, le Barreau a éliminé la facturation d'honoraires fixes dans les affaires criminelles, a introduit des plafonds pour la facturation des certificats et a mis en place des conditions d’admissibilité à l’aide financière plus strictes.

II. ÉTABLISSEMENT  DE L’EXAMEN DU RÉGIME D’AIDE JURIDIQUE DE 1997

L'Examen du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario a été annoncé le 13 décembre 1996 par le procureur général de l'Ontario de l’époque Charles Harnick. Le comité d’examen indépendant, sous la présidence du professeur John McCamus, ancien doyen de la faculté de droit d’Osgoode Hall, était chargé d’effectuer un Examen du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario (l’« Examen »).  Il s’agissait de la première étude complète du Régime d’aide juridique de l’Ontario depuis la création du programme moderne 1.  Le mandat du comité d'examen était d'analyser en profondeur le régime d’aide juridique de la province et de formuler des recommandations sur son orientation future. Il était chargé d'évaluer les effets de l'imposition de plafonds sur la forme future du système, sur son mode de gestion et sa structure administrative et de circonscrire les besoins prédominants des Ontariennes et Ontariens à faible revenu en matière d’aide juridique.  Pour ce faire, le comité d’examen a distribué un document de discussion, qui lui a valu de recevoir plus de 170 observations. En outre, il a retenu les services de consultants pour rédiger un certain nombre de documents de travail qui l’aiderait à étudier les besoins insatisfaits dans le secteur de l’aide juridique 2.  Le comité d’examen a publié ses conclusions dans un rapport publié en 1997 sous le titre de « Plan d’action pour les services juridiques publics subventionnés » (le « rapport McCamus »).  Le rapport McCamus a jeté les bases de la Loi de 1998 sur les services d’aide juridique et de la création d’Aide juridique Ontario.  Les conclusions générales du comité d’examen étaient regroupées en quatre-vingt-douze recommandations visant la réforme du Régime d’aide juridique de l’Ontario.

III. CONCLUSIONS DE L'EXAMEN DU REGIME D'AIDE JURIDIQUE DE 1997

a) Les besoins juridiques des personnes a faible revenu

Le comité d’examen a conclu que la vie des personnes à faible revenu était réglementée par des mesures autoritaires, complexes, envahissantes et qui se recoupaient 3. Comme le soulignaient de nombreuses observations faites au comité d'examen, les personnes à faible revenu doivent avoir accès à une représentation juridique lorsqu'elles entrent en contact avec des types d'institutions légales qui interviennent dans leur vie par des moyens excessifs (p.ex., placement des enfants hors de leur famille, emprisonnement ou traitements involontaires).  Le comité d’examen en est arrivé à plusieurs conclusions clés à propos des besoins juridiques des Ontariennes et Ontariens à faible revenu, y compris les suivantes :

  • les personnes à faible revenu ont des besoins juridiques différents de celles qui ont davantage de moyens;
  • certains facteurs, comme un handicap, l'âge et la race, qui contribuent à la pauvreté d'une personne, créent des besoins juridiques spécifiques;
  • l'attribution de ressources en matière d'aide juridique devrait se fonder sur l'élaboration de mécanismes visant à évaluer les besoins spécifiques et changeants des Ontariens et Ontariennes à faible revenu.

IV. UN CADRE POUR ÉTABLIR LES PRIORITÉS EN MATIÈRE DE SERVICES D'AIDE JURIDIQUE

a) L'obligation de l'Etat de fournir des services d'aide juridique

Le rapport notait qu’un système d'aide juridique doté d'un budget prescrit doit entreprendre des initiatives d'établissement des priorités pour déterminer la façon dont le budget sera alloué entre les demandes concurrentes.   

Le rapport McCamus a étudié les fondements normatifs de l'aide juridique et a conclu que l'État a l'obligation dans différentes situations de faciliter l’accès à la justice.  L’aide juridique constitue un moyen, mais pas le seul, de remplir cette obligation. Le rapport énonce également les obligations juridiques de l’État en vertu de la Charte des droits et libertés, ainsi que de la Loi sur les jeunes contrevenants 4, du Code criminel etdu Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, de donner accès à un avocat dans certaines circonstances. Le rapport indique que la Charte pourrait exiger qu’à l’avenir l’aide juridique finance d’autres domaines du droit que les causes criminelles.

b) Etablissement des priorites :

Au moment où l’examen a été entrepris, l’établissement des priorités dans le cadre du système d'aide juridique s’effectuait dans deux contextes différents: les certificats et les cliniques. Le Comité d'aide juridique établissait les priorités du programme des certificats, sous réserve de l'approbation du Barreau, et était responsable de l’établissement des priorités pour administrer le régime d'aide juridique. Après la signature du PE, les services dans les domaines du droit criminel, du droit de la famille et du droit de l’immigration et des réfugiés ont été hiérarchisés pour s’adapter au plafonnement du financement. Dans le réseau des cliniques, le conseil d'administration local de chaque clinique s'occupait de l'établissement des cas prioritaires. Les cliniques, qui disposaient depuis toujours de budgets fixes, avaient acquis une grande expérience en ce qui concerne l’établissement des priorités et avaient dû apprendre à adapter leurs services en fonction de la demande.

c) Vers un nouveau modele d'etablissement des priorites

Le rapport prévoyait que l'établissement des priorités du système d'aide juridique en Ontario dans le cadre d'un budget prescrit continuerait sans aucun doute à préoccuper grandement les gestionnaires du système. Le rapport recommandait au régime d’aide juridique de prêter attention aux huit thèmes suivants pour établir des priorités :

  • importance de la consultation et d'une exploration des besoins du milieu;
  • importance de répondre à des besoins nombreux et diversifiés;
  • nécessité d'assurer une supervision stratégique de l'ensemble du système, tout en tenant compte des conditions locales;
  • réduction du poids accordé au critère de la « liberté négative » dans l'établissement des priorités;
  • importance d'intégrer les questions relatives aux modèles de prestation dans le processus d'établissement des priorités;
  • importance d'axer le débat concernant l'établissement des priorités sur les conséquences pour les clients;
  • importance d'utiliser les ressources de façon stratégique pour faciliter l'accès à la justice;
  • importance de réviser les mécanismes d'établissement des priorités à la lumière de l'expérience afin de tenir compte de l'évolution de la société et du droit.

d) L'aide juridique dans son contexte

L'un des préceptes fondamentaux du rapport McCamus est qu'il faut voir l'aide juridique comme composante du système judiciaire global en Ontario. Le rapport fait valoir que, lors du processus d’amélioration du système d’aide juridique, il ne faut pas considérer le système judiciaire existant comme un système immuable. 

Selon le rapport, il ne faut pas minimiser le rôle que peut jouer le régime d’aide juridique dans la mise en place d’une réforme. Le rapport analyse les modifications proposées dans les documents de travail des consultants 5 dans les domaines du droit criminel, du droit de la famille et du droit des réfugiés. L’un des motifs pour mettre en œuvre ces réformes serait les économies de coûts qui pourraient être réalisés et se répercuteraient sur l’aide juridique. Le rapport conclut que des tentatives efficaces de réforme exigent que l'on ne perde jamais de vue l'importance des changements cumulatifs et que l'on déploie des efforts soutenus en matière d'élaboration, d'expérimentation, de mise en œuvre et d'évaluation des réformes. 6

e) Le choix des modeles de prestation de l'aide juridique

Le rapport McCamus indique que le système d'aide juridique aura besoin d'une structure de gestion permettant l'exploration et la mise à l’essai d'un vaste éventail de modèles de prestation. 

Le rapport encourage le système ontarien d’aide juridique à adopter un ensemble beaucoup plus diversifié et novateur de systèmes de prestation, tout en tenant compte des besoins spéciaux des clients, des types de services juridiques offerts et du contexte géographique dans lequel ils sont fournis.  L’ultime objectif de cette méthode est de tirer le plus parti des ressources limitées disponibles.  Selon le rapport, plusieurs principes doivent guider la conception du nouveau système :

  • fournir un ensemble beaucoup plus éclectique et diversifié de modèles de services juridiques 7 pour essayer de combler les vides entre la représentation entière et la représentation nulle, et aider ainsi un plus grand nombre de citoyens à régler leurs problèmes juridiques;
  • un système de prestation adapté aux particularités des catégories de services juridiques, des lieux géographiques et des situations particulières des clients;
  • reconnaître les avantages considérables que comporte la création d’une concurrence entre les différents systèmes de prestation;
  • toujours garder à l’esprit la qualité des services;
  • effectuer de temps à autre des évaluations de ces programmes.

V. UN PLAN D'ACTION POUR LES SERVICES D'AIDE JURIDIQUE EN ONTARIO

a) Un engagement renouvele a l'egard de l'aide juridique

D’après le rapport McCamus, la réussite de la mise en œuvre de la réforme reposera sur  l’aptitude du gouvernement et du régime d’aide juridique à percevoir de la même façon l'objectif fondamental de l'aide juridique. Le rapport fait état d’un but particulier, soit l'accès à la justice pour tous. L'objectif fondamental du régime d'aide juridique devrait être de promouvoir l'égalité d'accès à la justice en définissant les divers besoins juridiques des personnes admissibles et des communautés, et en y répondant. En outre, selon le rapport,  il faudrait que le gouvernement s'engage à respecter l'indépendance du système d'aide juridique, à le réformer et à en assurer le financement. 

Le régime d’aide juridique doit de son côté prendre des engagements en ce qui concerne l’établissement des priorités selon les besoins, la qualité des services, l’efficience et la responsabilité financière, les modèles de prestation des services, la réforme du droit, les besoins divers et la gestion.

b) Gestion

En matière de gestion, l’une des questions centrales de l’examen était de déterminer si le Barreau du Haut-Canada devait continuer à administrer le régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario. Le rapport étudiait les structures de gestion dans d’autres provinces canadiennes et à l’étranger, notamment aux États-Unis, en Australie et au Royaume-Uni.  Le rapport faisait ressortir les buts et objectifs suivants pour défendre une réforme de la gestion du régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario : indépendance, responsabilité à l'égard de l'utilisation à bon escient des deniers publics, obtention de ressources suffisantes pour l'aide juridique, prestation de services de qualité dans un vaste éventail de domaines juridiques, capacité d’accroître la confiance dans le régime d’aide juridique, possibilité de répondre aux besoins des clients, gestion efficiente, gestion coordonnée de tout le régime d’aide juridique, innovation et expérimentation.  Le rapport reconnaissait que comme il était difficile au Barreau de se détacher des intérêts de la profession juridique, celui-ci se buterait alors à des difficultés particulières pour mettre en œuvre les réformes d’un système fondé exclusivement sur les certificats. 

Après examen des raisons énoncées ci-dessus, le rapport McCamus recommandait que la gestion du système d'aide juridique de l'Ontario soit transférée du Barreau à un nouvel organisme indépendant établi par la loi. Ce nouvel organisme pourrait mieux comprendre et évaluer le vaste éventail des besoins juridiques des personnes défavorisées et y répondre,  intégrer plus efficacement les compétences nécessaires en matière de gestion et de finances au palier le plus élevé de la gestion, assurer un niveau supérieur d'expérimentation et d'innovation en matière de prestation de services, coordonner plus efficacement le programme des certificats et le réseau des cliniques et accroître la confiance dans le système d'aide juridique.  Le rapport recommandait que le mandat du nouvel organisme soit énoncé dans la loi habilitante le créant, mandat qui devrait expressément prévoir la prestation de services d'aide juridique dans des domaines aussi divers que le droit pénal, le droit de la famille, le droit des immigrants et des réfugiés, et le « droit de la pauvreté ».

Le gouvernement jouerait un rôle central dans la nomination des membres de l'organisme et devrait assumer la responsabilité politique de définir son mandat. Le gouvernement devrait aussi assurer un financement pluriannuel suffisant.  Toutefois, le gouvernement devrait également permettre à l’organisme d’établir sa propre méthode en ce qui concerne l’établissement des priorités et la prestation des services.

Le rapport présentait une stratégie pour mettre en œuvre la réforme de la gestion proposée, dont établir la loi habilitante, trouver les personnes voulues pour siéger au premier conseil d’administration et travailler de concert avec le Barreau pour que la transition se déroule sans accroc.

Le rapport se termine par un résumé des quatre-vingt-douze recommandations.


  1. L’étude précédente était le document s’intitulant Report of the Joint Committee on Legal Aid, déposé en avril 1965.
  2. Documents de travail :
    1. Current Utilization Patterns and Unmet Legal Needs de William A. Bogart, Colin Meredith et Danielle Chandler   
    2. Special Legal Needs of People with Mental Disabilities de Patti Bregman
    3. Legal Aid, Aboriginal People, and the Legal Problems Faced by Persons of Aboriginal Descent in Northern Ontario de Donald Auger   
    4. Legal Aid Needs of Aboriginal People in Urban Areas and on Southern Reserves de Jonathan Rudin
    5. Normative Justifications for the Provision of Legal Aid de David Dyzenhaus
    6. The Legal and Constitutional Requirements for Legal Aid de Nathalie Des Rosiers   
    7. Legal Aid Delivery Models de Susan Charendoff, Mark Leach et Tamara Levy   
    8. An Economic Analysis of Legal Aid Delivery Mechanisms de Hamish Stewart   
    9. Quality Control and Performance Measures de Sandra Wain   
    10. Legal Aid and Criminal Justice in Ontario d’Alan N. Young
    11. The Provision of Legal Aid Services Under the Young Offenders Act de Ron Levi
    12. Case Study in the Provision of Legal Aid: Family Law de Brenda Cossman et Carol Rogerson   
    13. Poverty Law-A Case Study de Janet Mosher   
    14. Report on Immigration and Refugee Law d’Audrey Macklin
    15. Governance of Legal Aid Schemes de Martin L. Friedland   
    16. A Cross-Jurisdictional Study of Legal Aid: Governance, Coverage, Eligibility, Financing, and Delivery in Canada, England and Wales, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States de David Crerar
  3. À la page 59.
  4. Aujourd’hui la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents
  5. Voir la note 2.
  6. À la page 103.
  7. Par exemple, éducation juridique du public, services d'avocat de service, parajuristes surveillés, cliniques juridiques communautaires, certificats, contrats de services regroupés.