Ministry of the Attorney General Français
Ministry of the Attorney General

Schedule A - TERMS OF REFERENCE

Ministry of the Attorney General

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Honourable Patrick J. LeSage has been retained by the Ministry of the Attorney General to review issues among various police organizations and the SIU, and to advise on potential resolutions to these issues.

Mr. LeSage will facilitate focused discussions and negotiations between police organizations and the SIU to explore the potential for consensus among police groups and the SIU on issues such as: the mandate of the SIU, including the definition of “serious injury” that would invoke SIU involvement in a case; the conduct and duties of officers in SIU investigations, including the right to counsel and note-taking; when and how the chief of police investigates and reports findings of an incident; purpose and content of the SIU press release at the conclusion of an investigation; and an ongoing process for resolving future issues between the SIU and police organizations.

If, after completing discussions on the issues, Mr. LeSage is able to identify additional SIU-related issues that are likely, in his opinion, to be resolved by a facilitated process, he will proceed to develop recommendations on those issues upon the approval of the Ministry.

Mr. LeSage will provide his best advice and recommendations, taking into account the position of interested parties and any consensus amongst those parties on any of the issues.

Mr. LeSage may conduct the process in the manner he determines to be appropriate having regard to all the circumstances. However, it is understood between the parties that the focus will be on small, by-invitation sessions.

The Attorney General may on occasion request that Mr. LeSage provide to him an update on the progress of the review.

Any notes, records, recollections, statements made and documents produced by Mr. LeSage or provided to him during the process would be confidential and the disclosure of such material to any person including the government would, except as required by law, be within his sole discretion.

Ministère du Procureur général English
Ministère du Procureur général

Annexe A - MANDAT

Ministère du Procureur général

MANDAT

Le ministère du Procureur général a confié à l'honorable Patrick J. LeSage le soin de procéder à l'examen de certaines questions opposant divers organismes policiers et l'UES, et de lui recommander des solutions possibles à ces questions.

Monsieur LeSage facilitera des discussions ciblées et des négociations entre les organismes policiers et l'UES en vue de l'atteinte d'un consensus entre les groupes policiers et l'UES sur des questions comme le mandat de l'UES, y compris la définition de « blessure grave » qui exige l'intervention de l'UES, la conduite et les responsabilités des agents dans le cadre des enquêtes de l'UES, y compris le droit à un avocat et la prise de notes, les modalités de l'intervention du chef de police pour mener une enquête sur un incident et faire rapport de ses conclusions; l'objet et le contenu des communiqués de presse de l'UES à l'issue d'une enquête, ainsi qu’un processus permanent pour régler les questions qui pourraient survenir à l’avenir entre l'UES et les organismes policiers.

Si, après les discussions sur les questions, Monsieur LeSage parvient à cerner d'autres questions liées à l'UES qu'il estime pouvoir être résolues dans le cadre d'un processus dirigé par un facilitateur, il formulera des recommandations à ce sujet sur approbation du ministère.

Monsieur LeSage prodiguera ses meilleurs conseils et recommandations, en tenant compte de la position des parties intéressées et de tout consensus entre les parties sur l'une ou l'autre des questions qui les opposent.

Monsieur LeSage procédera de la façon qu'il estime appropriée à la lumière de toutes les circonstances. Néanmoins, il est entendu qu'il privilégiera des séances en petits groupes, sur invitation.

Le procureur général pourra, de temps à autre, demander à Monsieur LeSage de le mettre au courant des progrès accomplis dans le cadre de l'examen.

Les notes, dossiers, souvenirs, déclarations et documents produits par Monsieur LeSage ou qui lui auront été remis dans le cadre de l'examen seront maintenus confidentiels. Leur divulgation à quiconque, y compris le gouvernement, est laissée à son entière discrétion, sauf dans les cas où la loi exige leur divulgation.