Chapter V: Avoiding False Accusations

The review's mandate is designed to facilitate the identification and prevention of sexual misconduct by teachers. Its prime focus must inevitably be upon the relatively small, though significant, number of educators who sexually mistreat students. However, this focus did not blind the Chair to the concerns raised by teachers about false allegations of sexual impropriety. Recommendations as to the law and as to policies and protocols contained in this Report are designed to promote child safety, but not at the expense of fairness to teachers.

Teachers' concerns, however, are not confined to false accusations. Education and training of teachers, financial resources, enhancing the school environment, and sexual harassment policies are some of the topics that teachers' representatives raised with members of the review staff.

According to teachers, concerns about false accusations of sexual misconduct are presently manifested in various ways. Fear of false accusations causes some teachers to avoid the most innocent physical contact with students. After-hour activities with students are sometimes curtailed. Some teachers will never meet with a student alone. Classroom doors are kept open during such meetings that do take place. Teachers also maintain that a culture of over-reporting complaints which are either groundless or do not involve criminality may result in children's aid societies and police officers being brought in to address unclear boundary issues, or frivolous, ill-motivated complaints rather than true crimes.

There is no means of quantifying the number of false accusations of sexual impropriety made against teachers. Diametrically opposed views on the prevalence of false complaints were presented. The Report does not reach the conclusion that there is a plethora of false accusations of sexual impropriety made against teachers. In particular, it does not conclude that young children routinely or commonly lie about sexual abuse. Nor does the Report conclude that false accusations are extremely rare. However, this debate is beside the point. False complaints are made against teachers. These may represent a deliberately false accusation or a misinterpretation of a teacher's conduct. Once one recognizes that false complaints of sexual impropriety do occur, in whatever number, the issue must be addressed. Such complaints can be devastating to an accused person, and the stigma associated with the complaint may linger, regardless of its disposition.

The investigation and evaluation of sexual complaints must make the best interests of children paramount. However, the serious impact of false complaints compels an approach to such complaints which remains open-minded and fair in all respects. Each case should be evaluated on its own merits, devoid of stereotypical notions about either party or about sexual misconduct itself. Students need to feel that they will be heard, that their accounts will not be discounted or minimized solely because they are students and the alleged offender is a teacher. Teachers also need to feel that they will be heard and that complaints will not be accepted just because they are made by children.

Reference was earlier made to the fact that heightened awareness of sexual abuse may, as a byproduct, alter the ways in which teachers interrelate with children, sometimes to the detriment of those children. However, teachers are not rendered immune from false complaints by withdrawing from students and focussing on the possibility of false allegations. The Report concludes that better education and training of teachers, parents and students about boundary issues, and the existence of a system in place that is perceived by teachers to fairly address complaints offer the best hope for ensuring that teachers are not unduly inhibited in their appropriate interchanges with students.

Much of teachers' concerns regarding false accusations reflect, at least in part, in level of distrust between teachers' unions and children's aid societies. While a close examination of this issue was beyond the scope of the review, it is clear that the suspicion and distrust between children's aid workers and teachers is inconsistent with the ability of each to perform their respective jobs to their fullest potential. Recommendations 46 to 47 promote the education and training of children's aid society workers and teachers, including joint educational programming, on the investigation and evaluation of sexual misconduct. Such educational programming should address, among other things, the exchange of information between children's aid investigators and counsel for the suspected party during the investigative process. Recommendation 48 addresses concerns about "over-reporting" through further education as to the meaning and use of section 72 of the Child and Family Services Act.

Chapitre V : Éviter les fausses accusations

Le mandat de l'examen est conçu pour faciliter l'identification et la prévention de l'inconduite sexuelle par les enseignants. Il doit inévitablement être centré sur le nombre relativement petit, quoique important, d'éducateurs qui infligent des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel aux élèves. Toutefois, cette orientation n'a pas empêché le président de prendre connaissance des préoccupations de fausses allégations d'inconvenance sexuelle soulevées par les enseignants. Les recommandations sur le droit et sur les politiques et les protocoles que renferme le Rapport sont conçues pour promouvoir la sécurité des enfants, mais non aux dépens de l'équité à l'égard des enseignants.

Toutefois, les préoccupations des enseignants ne se limitent pas aux fausses accusations. L'éducation et la formation des enseignants, les ressources financières, l'amélioration du milieu scolaire et les politiques sur le harcèlement sexuel forment certains des thèmes que les représentants des enseignants ont soulevé auprès des membres de l'équipe de l'examen.

Selon les enseignants, les préoccupations sur les fausses accusations d'inconduite sexuelle se manifestent actuellement de différentes manières. La crainte des fausses accusations amène certains enseignants à éviter les contacts physiques les plus innocents avec les élèves. Les activités réalisées en dehors des heures normales de travail sont parfois limitées. Certains enseignants ne rencontreront jamais l'élève seuls. Les portes des salles de cours demeurent ouvertes pendant de telles rencontres. Les enseignants soutiennent en outre qu'une culture de surdéclaration de plaintes qui sont soit non fondées ou de nature non criminelles peut faire en sorte que des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance ou des policiers soient appelés pour trancher des questions de limites non claires ou des plaintes frivoles ou fondées sur de mauvais motifs plutôt que de véritables actes criminels.

Il n'existe aucune manière de quantifier le nombre de fausses accusations d'inconvenance sexuelle déposées contre des enseignants. Des points de vue sur la fréquence des fausses plaintes qui se situaient aux antipodes ont été présentés. Le Rapport n'en vient pas à la conclusion qu'une surabondance de fausses accusations d'inconvenance sexuelle ont été déposées contre des enseignants. Plus particulièrement, il ne conclut pas que les jeunes enfants mentent couramment ou fréquemment au sujet des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel. Le Rapport ne conclut pas non plus que les fausses accusations sont extrêmement rares. Toutefois, ce débat est tout à fait inutile. De fausses plaintes sont déposées contre des enseignants. Il peut s'agir d'accusations délibérément fausses ou de mauvaises interprétations de la conduite d'un enseignant. Une fois que l'on a reconnu que de fausses plaintes d'inconvenance sexuelle sont effectivement déposées, le problème doit être réglé, peu importe le nombre de ces plaintes. De telles plaintes peuvent être catastrophiques pour un accusé et le stigmate associé à la plainte peut subsister, peu importe la décision prise.

L'enquête sur les plaintes en matière sexuelle et l'évaluation de celles-ci doivent accorder la préséance aux meilleurs intérêts des enfants. Toutefois, les répercussions graves des fausses plaintes nous contraignent à adopter une approche de ces plaintes qui soit ouverte et équitable à tous égards. Chaque cas devrait être évalué selon son propre mérite, libre des notions stéréotypées au sujet de l'une ou l'autre partie ou de l'inconduite sexuelle elle-même. Les élèves doivent avoir le sentiment qu'ils seront entendus, que leurs comptes rendus ne seront pas écartés ou atténués seulement parce que ce sont des élèves et parce que l'auteur présumé de l'infraction est enseignant. Les enseignants doivent également avoir le sentiment qu'ils seront entendus et que les plaintes ne seront pas acceptées seulement parce qu'elles sont déposées par des enfants.

Nous avons déjà mentionné que la sensibilisation accrue aux mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel peut, à titre de produit dérivé, modifier les façons dont les enseignants entrent en relation avec les enfants, parfois au détriment de ces derniers. Toutefois, les enseignants ne deviennent pas immunisés contre les fausses plaintes en se retirant des élèves et se concentrant sur la possibilité de fausses allégations. Le Rapport conclut qu'une meilleure éducation et une meilleure formation des enseignants, des parents et des élèves au sujet des questions de limites, de même que l'existence du système en place qui est perçu par les enseignants comme un système qui règle les plaintes de manière équitable offrent les meilleurs espoirs de faire en sorte que les enseignants ne soient pas indûment inhibés dans leurs échanges appropriés avec des élèves.

La plupart des préoccupations des enseignants au sujet des fausses accusations témoignent, tout au moins en partie, d'un certain niveau de méfiance entre les syndicats des enseignants et les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance. L'étude rigoureuse de cette question dépassait les compétences de l'examen. Cependant, les doutes et la méfiance entre les travailleurs de la société d'aide à l'enfance et les enseignants font manifestement en sorte que ces deux groupes ne peuvent pas accomplir leur travail respectif au meilleur de leurs capacités. Les recommandations 46 et 47 favorisent l'éducation et la formation des travailleurs des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance et des enseignants, y compris des programmes d'éducation conjoints sur les enquêtes relatives à l'inconduite sexuelle et l'évaluation de l'inconduite sexuelle. De tels programmes devraient notamment traiter de l'échange d'information entre les enquêteurs des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance et les avocats des parties soupçonnées pendant le processus de l'enquête. La recommandation 48 vise à apaiser les préoccupations relatives à la surdéclaration en éduquant davantage les intéressés au sujet de la signification et de l'utilisation de l'article 72 de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille.