Chapter III: Extent and Nature of Teacher-Student Sexual Misconduct

Introduction

This chapter examines what is known from the research literature and the reported cases about educator sexual misconduct towards students, including the nature and extent of the misconduct, the characteristics of offenders and victims, student disclosures of offences, and the impact of teacher sexual misconduct on students. Certain myths or stereotypical assumptions which serve to hinder effective identification and prevention are also examined. These include the notion that truthful disclosures will be immediate, that only a pedophile would sexually abuse a young child, and that outwardly minor offences cannot leave emotional consequences that extend into adulthood.

Prevalence of Teacher-Student Misconduct

Studying covert behaviour is never easy because numerous cases are never discovered by authorities. Many cases remain undisclosed. Even where complaints are disclosed, it may not be possible to substantiate them, even if truthful.

However, during the course of this review, accounts of teacher-student sexual misconduct in Ontario and Canada, as documented in reported criminal cases, disciplinary and arbitration decisions and media accounts, indicate the following:

  • Between 1989 and 1996, over 100 cases of sexual misconduct by teachers involving students were dealt with by the Ontario Teachers' Federation.
  • Since assuming jurisdiction over teacher discipline from the OTF in 1997, the Ontario College of Teachers has dealt with about 20 such cases.
  • There have been approximately 100 reported cases in Canada since 1986 of criminal proceedings against teachers, principals, volunteers and other school employees. Many cases, including guilty pleas, go unreported. The DeLuca case is an example.
  • The news media provide accounts of cases that often do not appear in print anywhere else. A media search revealed a substantial number of cases of teachers charged with or convicted of sexual abuse of students. Indeed, since the review began, reports have appeared with alarming frequency in our daily newspapers of criminal and disciplinary cases against teachers for sexual offences against students. Twelve separate examples of Ontario cases are summarized in the Report.

Moreover, a number of studies from the United States indicate that a high number of students report having been the target of some sort of sexual misconduct by a teacher.

As both teachers' unions and school boards have properly stressed, the incidence of sexual misconduct is small relative to the large number of teachers and students in our school system. However, the incidence is certainly frequent enough and serious enough to deserve more attention than it presently receives.

Characteristics of Teacher-Student Misconduct

It is evident from the relevant research literature that there is no typical offence or offender. While sexual misconduct by teachers is perpetrated overwhelmingly by males, and overwhelmingly against females, it occurs in all combinations of gender. There is no single "molester profile", and the origins of sexually abusive behaviours vary. The popular conception that anyone who sexually abuses a child is a pedophile is simply wrong. In fact, teachers who engage in sexual misconduct with children and adolescents are not pedophiles in most cases. Terms such as "boundary violators", "romantic/bad judgment abusers" or "situational offenders" have been used to describe different types of abusers.

Disclosure by Victimized Students

Students abused by teachers probably delay disclosure by reason of deference to an authority figure, embarrassment, guilt and fear--fear of retaliation by the offender, fear that no one will believe them, fear of being blamed and fear of some sort of punishment. A child's desire to comply with the requests of an adult he or she trusts and by whom he or she wishes to be accepted is another inhibitor of disclosure. The genuine affection a child may have for the teacher, especially one who promotes the "special relationship" and who has spent a great deal of time in the grooming phase, should not be underestimated. Studies of child disclosure have contributed greatly to our understanding of disclosure. For example, it is estimated that only 30 percent of sexually abused children disclose their abuse during their childhoods.

Effects of Sexual Abuse on Students

The impact of sexual victimization on children has been widely researched and reported on in the mental health literature. The impact is often less correlated with the severity or intrusiveness of the sexual behaviour than with the pre-abuse relationship to the abuser, the vulnerability of the victim or the way in which disclosure of abuse was responded to. Accordingly, a seemingly minor incident of sexual touching by a close and trusted adult can have a profound and lasting impact.

It must be concluded that the DeLuca case is neither aberrant or out of date. Teacher sexual misconduct is sufficiently prevalent to warrant special attention. Arguments to the contrary should not be allowed to forestall efforts to understand the problem, and actively address it.

Chapitre III : Ampleur et nature de l'inconduite sexuelle enseignant-élève

Introduction

Ce chapitre se penche sur ce que l'on connaît des travaux de recherche et des cas rapportés d'inconduite sexuelle d'un enseignant à l'égard d'élèves, notamment sur la nature et l'ampleur de l'inconduite, les caractéristiques des auteurs de l'infraction et des victimes, les divulgations d'infractions par des élèves, ainsi que l'impact de l'inconduite sexuelle de l'enseignant sur l'élève. Certains mythes ou certaines hypothèses stéréotypées qui gênent l'efficacité de l'identification et de la prévention sont aussi étudiés. Ce sont notamment la notion que les divulgations véridiques sont faites sur-le-champ, que seul un pédophile infligerait des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel à un jeune enfant, et que les infractions apparemment mineures ne peuvent pas laisser de conséquences émotionnelles qui remontent à l'âge adulte.

Fréquence de l'inconduite enseignant-élève

Il n'est jamais facile d'étudier les comportements cachés parce que de nombreux cas ne sont jamais découverts par les autorités. De nombreux cas ne sont jamais révélés. Et même lorsque des plaintes sont divulguées, il ne sera peut-être pas possible d'en établir le bien-fondé, même si elles sont véridiques.

Toutefois, au cours du présent examen, les comptes rendus d'inconduite sexuelle d'un enseignant à l'endroit d'un(e) élève en Ontario et au Canada, tels que documentés dans des décisions publiées en matière criminelle, dans des décisions disciplinaires et d'arbitrage et dans des rapports des médias, révèlent ce qui suit :

  • Entre 1989 et 1996, plus de 100 cas d'inconduite sexuelle par des enseignants à l'endroit d'élèves ont été traités par l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario.
  • Depuis qu'il s'occupe des questions de discipline des enseignants et des enseignantes de l'OEEO, soit depuis 1997, l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario a réglé environ 20 cas de ce genre.
  • Depuis 1986, il y a eu environ 100 décisions publiées au Canada. Elles portaient sur des poursuites pénales contre des enseignants, des directeurs d'école, des bénévoles et d'autres employés d'école. De nombreuses décisions, dont des plaidoyers de culpabilité, demeurent inédites. L'affaire DeLuca en est un exemple.
  • Les médias dressent des comptes rendus de cas qui, souvent, ne sont imprimés nulle part ailleurs. Une recherche effectuée par les médias a révélé un nombre considérable de cas d'enseignants accusés ou condamnés pour mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel à l'endroit d'élèves. De fait, depuis le début de l'examen, nos quotidiens ont publié à une fréquence alarmante des rapports de dossiers criminels et disciplinaires contre des enseignants ayant commis des infractions d'ordre sexuel contre des élèves. Douze exemples distincts de cas survenus en Ontario sont résumés dans le Rapport.
  • De plus, certaines études réalisées aux États-Unis révèlent qu'un grand nombre d'élèves disent avoir été la cible d'une certaine forme d'inconduite sexuelle de la part de leur enseignant.
  • Comme l'ont souligné à juste titre les syndicats d'enseignants et les conseils scolaires, l'incidence de l'inconduite sexuelle est faible par rapport au grand nombre d'enseignants et d'élèves dans notre système scolaire. Toutefois, cette incidence est certes assez fréquente et grave pour recevoir davantage d'attention que maintenant.

Caractéristiques de l'inconduite de l'enseignant envers l'élève

Les documents de recherche pertinents révèlent manifestement qu'il n'existe pas d'infraction ou d'auteur d'une infraction type. Bien que l'inconduite sexuelle par des enseignants soit surtout perpétrée par des hommes et le plus souvent contre des femmes, elle se produit dans toutes les combinaisons de sexe. Il n'existe pas seulement un « profil d'agresseur » et les origines des comportements de mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel varient. La conception populaire selon laquelle quiconque inflige des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel à un enfant est un pédophile est tout simplement erronée. De fait, les enseignants qui se livrent à une inconduite sexuelle envers des enfants et des adolescents ne sont pas, dans la plupart des cas, des pédophiles. Des expressions comme les « contrevenants limites », les « agresseurs romantiques/qui ont un mauvais jugement » ou les « agresseurs circonstanciels » ont été utilisées pour décrire divers types d'agresseurs.

La divulgation par des élèves victimes

Des élèves qui ont subi les mauvais traitements d'enseignants ont probablement retardé la divulgation de ces mauvais traitements par respect pour une personne en autorité, parce qu'elles étaient embarrassées, parce qu'elles se sentaient coupables et parce qu'elles avaient peur de subir des mesures de représailles de la part de l'auteur de l'infraction, de n'être crues par personne, d'être blâmées et d'être punies d'une manière ou d'une autre. Le désir d'un enfant d'accéder aux demandes d'un adulte en qui il a confiance et dont il souhaite être accepté constitue un autre facteur qui l'empêche de procéder à la divulgation. Il ne faut pas non plus sous-estimer l'affection véritable que peut éprouver un enfant à l'endroit de l'enseignant, particulièrement si ce dernier favorise la « relations spéciale » et a consacré beaucoup de temps à la préparation de l'enfant. Des études sur les divulgations effectuées par des enfants ont largement contribué à nous faire comprendre le phénomène de la divulgation. À titre d'exemple, on estime que seulement 30 % des enfants victimes de mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuels révèlent ces mauvais traitements pendant leur enfance.

Effets des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel sur les élèves

L'impact de la victimisation de nature sexuelle sur les enfants a fait l'objet de nombreuses recherches et de nombreux rapports dans les documents sur la santé mentale. Il arrive fréquemment que cet impact corresponde moins à la gravité ou au caractère importun du comportement d'ordre sexuel qu'à la relation qu'entretenait l'agresseur avant les mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel, à la vulnérabilité de la victime ou à la façon dont on a réagi à la divulgation de ces mauvais traitements. Par conséquent, un cas d'attouchement sexuel en apparence mineur par un adulte proche et en qui l'enfant avait confiance peut avoir des répercussions profondes et durables.

Il faut donc conclure que l'affaire DeLuca n'est ni anormale ni dépassée. L'inconduite sexuelle d'un enseignant survient assez fréquemment pour justifier une attention particulière. Les arguments à l'effet contraire ne devraient pas suffire à prévenir les efforts déployés pour comprendre le problème et le régler.