Chapter I: The Nature and Scope of the Review

Background

On April 9, 1996, Kenneth DeLuca pleaded guilty to 14 sexual offences, involving 13 victims. The crimes took place from 1972 to 1993. Each was committed while DeLuca was a teacher with the former Sault Ste. Marie Roman Catholic Separate School Board. All of his victims were females; all but one were students. Their ages ranged from 10 to 18.

DeLuca's crimes represent the ultimate breach of the trust reposed in a teacher. He was every parent's nightmare-a teacher who sexually preys on students. His conduct severely damaged his victims' physical and emotional well-being and, in some cases, has had a devastating impact on their lives.

As early as 1973 and at numerous times thereafter, complaints were made about DeLuca's sexually abusive conduct to principals, other teachers and school board officials. Though the complaints were well-founded, they were not acted upon. The crimes continued unabated for over 20 years. Indeed, DeLuca easily moved from school to school, leaving behind emotionally wounded victims, with a fresh opportunity to victimize others.

When DeLuca's crimes were belatedly exposed through the criminal process, it became clear that the educational system had failed his victims. The community was understandably shocked and wanted to know what went so terribly wrong and why. How could this abuse have gone unchecked for 20 years? What protocols or procedures existed to protect children from such abuse? What can be done to ensure that this will not happen again?

These questions raise issues of great importance and require serious attention. After all, children are our most precious asset. Schools are intended to be healthy and nurturing environments within which children can safely learn and grow. When a school environment is poisoned by sexual crimes or harassment, it is of fundamental concern to us all.

The vast majority of teachers are unquestionably highly dedicated and caring professionals who seek to ensure a safe learning environment for their students. They are no doubt appalled by conduct such as DeLuca's, and are understandably concerned that such conduct may unfairly reflect upon them and their profession. Some are also concerned that a heightened sensitivity to sexual abuse may inhibit an appropriate nurturing relationship between teacher and student and deprive children of the warmth and compassion of those who educate them. Most are concerned about false allegations of sexual abuse and the terrible damage that can result when such accusations are made against a teacher. One must remain mindful of these concerns.

However, DeLuca's case is not unique. There are abusive teachers who, like DeLuca, are "opportunistic" sexual predators motivated by power, control and sexual gratification. Some are pedophiles who prefer to have sex with children and have chosen to work in schools so they can better access their targets. Others have "romantic/bad judgment" relationships with students, believing that their conduct is either harmless or is acceptable because the students are said to be doing what they want to do. Still others engage in sexual harassment or insensitive and inappropriate, though not necessarily criminal, conduct. The unhappy reality is that cases of sexual misconduct are more prevalent than the public and the teaching profession may believe.

While reliable statistics are hard to come by, the law reports, disciplinary cases, arbitration cases and media accounts indicate a significant number of cases in which Ontario teachers, and teachers elsewhere, have engaged in sexual misconduct against students. Moreover, it can be safely assumed that many, perhaps most, incidents of sexual misconduct remain hidden and unreported. Some studies suggest that a sizable percentage of students find sexual harassment by teachers within their school environment to be a problem. In short, it would appear that the reported cases of sexual misconduct represent only the tip of the iceberg.

Nor can the response to DeLuca's victims be regarded as unique. Reluctance on the part of teachers to report suspected sexual misconduct by a colleague, intimidation of victims and their parents to prevent or discourage disclosure, failure to act upon disclosures of misconduct, the inadequacy of records documenting complaints made, the transfer of a suspected perpetrator from school to school, the absence of screening procedures on the hiring of new teachers have all been seen, to varying degrees, in both the DeLuca case and in numerous other cases and in the literature documenting sexual misconduct in schools.

Of course, the physical and emotional impact of sexual abuse on DeLuca's victims is far from unique. Tragically, it is to be expected.

The DeLuca case provides an important framework for an evaluation of how suspected and proven sexual misconduct by teachers upon students is addressed and how it can be prevented or better identified and dealt with in the future. Though, since DeLuca, important changes have been made, they do not completely address these issues and, in any event, practices widely vary from jurisdiction to jurisdiction within Ontario. As the Report simply states: "the problem remains".

The Report examines the issues raised by the DeLuca case and the lessons to be learned from it. Recommendations for change are designed in the hope that they will facilitate the identification and prevention of sexual misconduct within the Ontario school system, and thus better protect our students.

The Mandate

By Order in Council dated May 5, 1999, the Honourable Sydney L. Robins, a former judge of the Court of Appeal for Ontario, was appointed to conduct a review into and report on the following matter:

The incidents involving Kenneth DeLuca which gave rise to charges and the prosecution and guilty pleas of Mr. DeLuca with respect to the sexual assault of female students enrolled in the former Sault Ste. Marie Roman Catholic Separate School Board from the late 1970s to the early 1990s to the extent appropriate to make recommendations regarding protocols, policies and procedures to effectively identify and prevent sexual assault, harassment or violence.

The Order in Council permitted the Chair to request any person to provide information or records, meet with any person and rely on any transcripts or record of legal proceedings relating to any criminal, civil or administrative proceedings respecting DeLuca. The Order in Council authorized a review, not a public inquiry. During a review, witnesses cannot be compelled to testify under oath. Interested parties have no opportunity to test the accuracy or veracity of other parties. Given these and other limitations, neither findings of credibility nor disputed findings of misconduct could fairly be made. Indeed, the Chair was precluded, as is also the case in a public inquiry, from finding civil or criminal responsibility of any person or organization or making recommendations regarding such responsibility.

However, the voluminous documentary record fully enabled the Chair to identify what went wrong in the DeLuca case and to make recommendations as to how similar events might be prevented in the future. For example, a realistic appraisal of the undisputed evidence available to the review made clear that the response of the School Board and its employees to complaints or disclosures made by the victims was completely inadequate and, indeed, harmful. It involved, at times, stereotypical notions of what could be expected from a truthful victim, a minimizing of the seriousness of DeLuca's misconduct, a lack of objectivity and a self-serving approach to these complaints, a failure to properly investigate or document these complaints and a complete absence of appropriate policies, protocols and procedures to identify and investigate suspected abuse and prevent its continuation.

The public has had very limited information on what transpired during the DeLuca affair. Criminal and civil proceedings were resolved or settled without the necessity of trials. This lack of information doubtless contributed to the community of Sault Ste. Marie's understandable outrage and its continuing concern for the safety and well-being of its children. The factual component of the Report is designed not only to provide a basis for the systemic recommendations which follow, but also to inform the community of what happened here and facilitate the healing process.

The Report contains 101 recommendations for change. They specifically address teacher-student sexual misconduct in the elementary and secondary schools. However, it is hoped that the recommendations will be received, as they were intended - as part of a larger strategy, directed at contributing to a healthier school environment generally. It is important to remember that policies and protocols designed to identify and prevent sexual misconduct by educators may, and indeed, should be established within larger initiatives designed to create a school environment free from violence, abuse, harassment and discrimination. These initiatives could address student-to-student or student-to-teacher activities as well as a wide range of conduct, including physical abuse or harassment unrelated to sexual misconduct. It is hoped that the policies and protocols recommended in this Report can be integrated with analogous policies.

Definitions of Sexual Misconduct, Abuse and Harassment

Throughout the Report, the terms "sexual abuse" and "sexual harassment" are discussed. These terms admit of some confusion. "Sexual abuse" is generally understood by many to describe conduct that involves physical contact between the abuser and victim which is criminal and which involves a significant age differential between the parties. (DeLuca's criminal activity is appropriately so described.) "Sexual harassment" is often used to describe non-criminal but offensive conduct, including comments about a student's physical characteristics, suggestive or offensive remarks, propositions of physical intimacy and other behaviour which is unwelcome and sexual in nature. The Report introduces the term "sexual misconduct" to address the full range of activities by teachers which should be proscribed and to avoid labels which are too easily misunderstood. Generally, it constitutes offensive conduct of a sexual nature which may affect the personal integrity or security of any student or the school environment. Chapters IV and VI of the Report contain a more precise delineation of the boundaries set by this definition.

Survivors of DeLuca's Abuse

The Report reflects the input, including the insight and helpful suggestions, of a number of the survivors of DeLuca's abuse with whom the review met. These women, who demonstrated great courage in the affirmative steps they took to overcome their ordeals, are "survivors" in the fullest and most positive sense of that word.

In order to protect the privacy of these survivors, and to avoid their re-victimization, the Report refers to them by initials unrelated to their actual names.

The Process

The review sought the views of as many different stakeholders as possible. A toll free line was set up and an advertisement was placed in local Sault Ste. Marie newspapers inviting interested parties to file submissions, propose recommendations and provide information relevant to the review. Many did. In addition, members of the review staff met with representatives of many stakeholders from across Ontario, including teachers' federations and associations, trustees' associations, school boards, the Ontario College of Teachers, child or victim-witness organizations, the Crown Attorneys' Association, the Criminal Lawyers' Association, faculties of education, counsel for many of these stakeholders and academia. Interested parties included a number of DeLuca's victims, in some cases, their parents, and other interested parties in Sault Ste. Marie.

Questionnaires were sent to all school boards and authorities and children's aid societies in Ontario. Submissions were also requested from 17 of the province's larger police service boards or police forces and from principals' associations, parents' associations and students' associations.

This extensive consultative process across Ontario was important to a fuller understanding of what transpired in the DeLuca case and the formulation of systemic recommendations.

Structure of the Report

The Report is comprised of six chapters. Recommendations for change, reproduced in bold print, appear throughout Chapters IV to VI. They are again reproduced, without supporting commentary, at the end of the Report. The Appendices which follow include, amongst other things, several policies and protocols currently in use by school boards in Ontario.

Chapter I provides an overview of the entire Report.

Chapter II outlines the facts directly arising from the DeLuca affair. These facts relate to DeLuca's conduct, the response to complaints about his conduct and the impact of these events upon DeLuca's victims. Commentary upon these facts is contained in italicized passages throughout the chapter and in a summary and conclusion at the end of the chapter. The Report's conclusions as to what went wrong in the DeLuca case provide a basis for later recommendations.

Chapter III examines the extent and nature of the problem of sexual misconduct by teachers as reflected in the reported criminal and disciplinary cases, media accounts and in the literature.

Chapter IV of the Report examines the laws pertaining to sexual misconduct by teachers upon students to the extent necessary to fulfill the review's mandate and to make recommendations for change. The chapter addresses the relevant provisions of the Criminal Code, the Ontario Human Rights Code, the Child and Family Services Act, and education-related statutes, such as the Education Act, the Teaching Profession Act, and the Ontario College of Teachers Act, 1996. Certain deficiencies in existing legislation are highlighted. Civil liability is also briefly canvassed. Much of the chapter is dedicated to the special evidentiary and procedural considerations which obtain when a sexual complainant or child witness' account is relevant to criminal or administrative proceedings. Recommendations relating to this particular section are directed at minimizing the re-victimization of complainants after they have disclosed misconduct in a way compatible with the interests of all affected parties.

Chapter V focusses on concerns raised by teachers, including false accusations of sexual misconduct. The fear that a heightened sensitivity to potential sexual misconduct will have a chilling effect on a friendly and nurturing school environment is also explored. Several recommendations in this chapter better promote a fair and accurate evaluation of sexual misconduct allegations. The views espoused by teachers on the issues examined in the Report are not confined to this chapter; they find expression in various chapters.

Chapter VI extensively examines existing policies, protocols and procedures which are relevant to the systemic issues under consideration and makes recommendations for change. Many of the concerns raised by this review are best addressed, not through legislative intervention, but through comprehensive policies and protocols adopted by school boards across Ontario. The chapter concludes with a detailed checklist to assist school boards in developing their own policies and protocols.

Chapitre I : Nature et portée de l'Examen

Contexte

Le 9 avril 1996, Kenneth DeLuca a plaidé coupable à 14 infractions d'ordre sexuel ayant fait 13 victimes. Les crimes ont eu lieu entre 1972 et 1993. Chacun d'eux a été commis alors que DeLuca était enseignant à l'ancien Conseil scolaire des écoles catholiques romaines séparées de Sault Ste. Marie. Toutes ses victimes étaient des femmes. Elles étaient toutes des élèves, sauf une. Elles avaient entre 10 et 18 ans.

Les actes criminels commis par DeLuca équivalent, en définitive, à trahir la confiance accordée à un enseignant. Il représentait le cauchemar de tout parent : un prédateur sexuel enseignant aux élèves. Sa conduite a nui considérablement au bien-être physique et émotif de ses victimes. Dans certains cas, elle a eu un effet dévastateur sur leur existence.

Dès 1973 et en de nombreuses occasions par la suite, des directeurs d'école, d'autres enseignants et des responsables du conseil scolaire ont reçu des plaintes au sujet des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel infligés par DeLuca à ses victimes. Ces plaintes étaient fondées. Cependant, elles n'ont pas eu de suite. Les actes criminels se sont poursuivis pendant plus de 20 ans sans que rien ne change. De fait, DeLuca est passé facilement d'une école à une autre en laissant derrière lui des victimes brisées émotivement et en bénéficiant chaque fois d'une nouvelle occasion de faire de nouvelles victimes.

Quand les actes criminels perpétrés par DeLuca ont été tardivement mis au jour dans le cadre du processus pénal, il est apparu clairement que le système d'éducation avait laissé tomber ses victimes. Naturellement, la collectivité était en état de choc et voulait connaître la nature et le pourquoi de ce terrible dérapage. Comment ces mauvais traitements ont-ils pu être infligés sans vergogne pendant 20 ans? Quels protocoles ou quelles procédures protégeaient les enfants contre de tels mauvais traitements? Que pouvait-on faire pour s'assurer qu'une telle situation ne se reproduise plus?

Ces questions soulèvent des problèmes cruciaux sur lesquels il faut se pencher sérieusement. Après tout, les enfants ne représentent-ils pas notre actif le plus précieux? Les écoles doivent être des milieux sains et stimulants dans lesquels les enfants peuvent apprendre et grandir en toute sécurité. Lorsque des actes criminels d'ordre sexuel, et notamment du harcèlement criminel, empoisonnent le milieu scolaire, ce problème nous interpelle tous et toutes au premier chef.

La grande majorité des enseignants sont indiscutablement des professionnels très dévoués et bienveillants qui cherchent à créer un environnement d'apprentissage sécuritaire pour leurs élèves. Il va sans dire qu'ils sont consternés par une conduite comme celle de DeLuca et qu'ils craignent naturellement qu'un tel comportement se reflète injustement sur eux et sur leur profession. Certains craignent également que les vives réactions à l'égard des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel puissent nuire à l'établissement d'une relation à la fois revalorisante et appropriée entre l'enseignant et son élève et privent les enfants de la chaleur et de la compassion des personnes qui les éduquent. La plupart des enseignants et des enseignantes se préoccupent des fausses allégations de mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel et des dommages terribles que peuvent occasionner de telles accusations portées contre un enseignant. Il faut garder ces préoccupations à l'esprit.

Toutefois, le cas DeLuca n'est pas unique. Comme DeLuca, certains enseignants pervers sont des prédateurs sexuels « opportunistes » motivés par le pouvoir, le contrôle et la gratification sexuelle. Certains sont des pédophiles qui préfèrent avoir des rapports sexuels avec des enfants et qui ont choisi de travailler dans des écoles pour pouvoir accéder plus facilement à leurs victimes. D'autres ont des rapports « teintés de romantisme et de mauvais jugement » avec des élèves et croient que leur conduite est soit inoffensive soit acceptable parce que selon eux, les élèves font ce qu'ils veulent bien faire. D'autres encore se livrent à du harcèlement sexuel ou adoptent une conduite insensible et inopportune, quoique pas nécessairement criminelle. La triste réalité, c'est que les cas d'inconduite sexuelle sont plus fréquents que le public et les membres de la profession enseignante peuvent le croire.

Bien qu'il soit difficile d'obtenir des statistiques fiables, les recueils de jurisprudence, les audiences disciplinaires, les cas d'arbitrage et les comptes rendus des médias font état d'un nombre considérable de dossiers dans lesquels des enseignants de l'Ontario et d'ailleurs se sont livrés à une inconduite sexuelle contre des élèves. De plus, on peut présumer sans risque d'erreur que de nombreux cas d'inconduite sexuelle, et peut-être même la plupart d'entre eux, restent cachés et n'ont pas été signalés. Certaines études révèlent qu'une proportion appréciable d'élèves estiment que le harcèlement sexuel de professeurs de leur milieu scolaire pose problème. Bref, il semble que les cas déclarés d'inconduite sexuelle constituent seulement la pointe de l'iceberg.

La réaction aux victimes de DeLuca ne peut pas non plus être considérée comme exceptionnelle. L'hésitation des enseignants et des enseignantes à signaler un collègue soupçonné d'inconduite sexuelle, l'intimidation de victimes et de leurs parents pour empêcher ou décourager la divulgation, le défaut de donner suite aux divulgations d'inconduite, le caractère inadéquat des dossiers qui justifient les plaintes déposées, la mutation d'une école à l'autre de la personne soupçonnée d'être l'auteur d'un crime, l'absence de procédures de présélection lors de l'embauche de nouveaux enseignants ont tous été constatés à des degrés divers dans l'affaire DeLuca, dans de nombreux autres cas et dans la documentation sur l'inconduite sexuelle dans les écoles.

Bien sûr, les répercussions physiques et émotionnelles des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel infligés par DeLuca à ses victimes ne sont pas uniques, tant s'en faut! Ce qui est tragique, c'est qu'il faille s'y attendre.

L'affaire DeLuca constitue un cadre important qui permet d'évaluer comment les cas d'inconduite sexuelle soupçonnés et prouvés d'enseignants à l'égard d'élèves sont traités et comment ils peuvent être prévenus ou mieux cernés et réglés dans l'avenir. Même si, depuis l'affaire DeLuca, des changements importants ont été apportés, ils ne règlent pas tout à fait ces problèmes. Quoi qu'il en soit, les pratiques varient beaucoup d'un territoire à l'autre en Ontario. Comme l'énonce simplement le Rapport : «le problème demeure ».

Le Rapport étudie les problèmes que soulève l'affaire DeLuca et les leçons qu'il faut en tirer. Nous avons élaboré des recommandations de changement en espérant qu'elles faciliteront l'identification et la prévention de l'inconduite sexuelle dans le système scolaire de l'Ontario, et que nos élèves seront ainsi mieux protégés.

Le mandat

Par décret daté du 5 mai 1999, l'honorable Sydney L. Robins, ancien juge à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, a été nommé pour procéder à un examen et faire rapport de la question suivante :

[Traduction]
Les incidents impliquant Kenneth DeLuca qui ont donné lieu aux accusations et la poursuite et les plaidoyers de culpabilité de M. DeLuca en ce qui concerne l'agression sexuelle d'étudiantes inscrites à l'ancien Conseil scolaire des écoles catholiques romaines séparées de Sault Ste. Marie de la fin des années 1970 au début des années 1990, dans la mesure nécessaire pour formuler des recommandations concernant les protocoles, les politiques et les procédures en vue d'identifier et de prévenir efficacement les agressions sexuelles, le harcèlement sexuel ou la violence sexuelle.

Le Décret autorisait le président à demander à toute personne de fournir de l'information ou des dossiers, à rencontrer quelque personne que ce soit et à s'appuyer sur des transcriptions ou des enregistrements de procédures judiciaires concernant toute procédure pénale, civile ou administrative sur DeLuca. Le Décret autorisait un examen, et non une enquête publique. Au cours d'un examen, les témoins ne peuvent être contraints de témoigner sous serment. Les parties intéressées n'ont pas l'occasion de vérifier l'exactitude ou la véracité des dires des autres parties. Compte tenu de ces limites, et d'autres, il était impossible de tirer quelque conclusion équitable que ce soit au sujet de la crédibilité ou des conclusions contestées d'inconduite. De fait, le président était frappé de l'interdiction, comme c'est également le cas lors d'une enquête publique, de conclure à la responsabilité civile ou criminelle de quelque personne ou organisation que ce soit ou de formuler des recommandations concernant une telle responsabilité.

Toutefois, la preuve documentaire volumineuse a largement permis au président de déterminer ce qui a cloché dans l'affaire DeLuca et de formuler des recommandations sur la façon de prévenir des cas semblables dans l'avenir. À titre d'exemple, une évaluation réaliste de la preuve non contestée dont l'examen disposait a permis d'établir clairement que la réaction du Conseil scolaire et de ses employé(e)s aux plaintes ou aux divulgations faites par les victimes était tout à fait inadéquate et, en définitive, préjudiciable. Cette réaction s'inspirait parfois de notions stéréotypées des attentes possibles à l'égard d'une victime qui dit la vérité, minimisait la gravité de l'inconduite de DeLuca, manquait d'objectivité et montrait une approche égoïste de ces plaintes, un défaut de bien s'interroger au sujet de ces plaintes et de les appuyer par des pièces justificatives et une absence totale de politiques, de protocoles et de procédures appropriés pour identifier les mauvais traitements soupçonnés, faire enquête à leur sujet et empêcher qu'ils se perpétuent.

Le public a été très peu informé de ce qui s'est dit pendant l'affaire DeLuca. Des poursuites criminelles ou civiles ont été réglées sans que des procès soient nécessaires. Ces renseignements insuffisants ont certes contribué à l'indignation toute compréhensible de la collectivité de Sault Ste. Marie et à sa préoccupation incessante pour la sécurité et le bien-être de ses enfants. Le volet factuel du Rapport est conçu non seulement pour tenir lieu de fondement aux recommandations systémiques qui suivent, mais également pour renseigner la collectivité sur ce qui s'est produit et pour faciliter le processus de guérison.

Le Rapport renferme 101 recommandations de changement. Elles portent expressément sur l'inconduite sexuelle des enseignants et enseignantes à l'endroit d'élèves des écoles primaires et secondaires. Toutefois, souhaitons que les recommandations seront reçues - tel était l'objectif - dans le cadre d'une stratégie plus globale visant à rendre le milieu scolaire en général plus sain. Il importe de se souvenir que les politiques et les protocoles élaborés pour identifier et prévenir l'inconduite sexuelle de la part des éducateurs peuvent, et devraient effectivement être établis dans la foulée d'initiatives plus vastes conçues pour créer un milieu scolaire exempt de violence, de mauvais traitements, de harcèlement et de discrimination. Ces initiatives pourraient porter sur des activités élève-élève ou élève-enseignant et sur une multitude de comportements, dont la violence physique ou le harcèlement qui n'a pas de lien avec l'inconduite sexuelle. Souhaitons que les politiques et les protocoles recommandés dans le présent Rapport puissent être intégrés à des politiques analogues.

Définitions de l'inconduite sexuelle, des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel et du harcèlement sexuel

Tout au long du Rapport, il est question des termes « mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel » et « harcèlement sexuel ». Ces termes peuvent porter à confusion. De nombreuses personnes estiment que l'expression « mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel » décrit une conduite criminelle qui comporte un contact physique entre l'agresseur et la victime et une différence d'âge considérable entre les parties. (C'est ainsi qu'il convient de décrire l'activité criminelle de DeLuca.) Par ailleurs, on utilise souvent l'expression « harcèlement sexuel » pour décrire un comportement non criminel, mais offensant, qui se caractérise notamment par des observations au sujet des caractéristiques physiques de l'élève, des remarques suggestives ou offensantes, des propositions d'intimité physique et d'autres conduites inopportunes de nature sexuelle. Le Rapport introduit l'expression « inconduite sexuelle » pour traiter d'une multitude d'activités auxquelles les enseignants s'adonnent et qui devraient être interdites et pour éviter les étiquettes qui font trop facilement l'objet de malentendus. Règle générale, l'expression « inconduite sexuelle » désigne une conduite offensante de nature sexuelle qui peut affecter l'intégrité personnelle ou la sécurité de l'élève ou le milieu scolaire. Les chapitres IV et VI du Rapport établissent avec plus de précision les limites de cette définition.

Les survivantes des mauvais traitements d'ordre sexuel de DeLuca

Le Rapport reflète la contribution, y compris les idées et les suggestions utiles, de certaines des survivantes aux mauvais traitements infligés par DeLuca que l'examen a rencontré. Ces femmes, qui ont fait preuve de beaucoup de courage en décidant de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour surmonter leur rude épreuve, sont des « survivantes » au sens le plus complet et le plus positif du terme.

Pour protéger la vie privée de ces survivantes et pour éviter qu'elles soient de nouveau victimes, le Rapport les désigne par des initiales différentes de celles de leur nom véritable.

Le processus

L'examen a demandé le point de vue du plus grand nombre d'intervenants possible. Une ligne sans frais a été créée et de la publicité est parue dans des journaux locaux de Sault Ste. Marie pour inviter les parties intéressées à présenter des observations, à proposer des recommandations et à fournir de l'information pertinente à l'examen. Bon nombre de personnes et de groupes l'ont fait. De plus, les membres de l'équipe de l'examen ont rencontré des représentants de nombreux intervenants de toute l'Ontario, dont des fédérations et associations d'enseignantes et d'enseignants, des associations d'administrateurs et d'administratrices, des conseils scolaires, l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario, des organismes de défense des droits des enfants ou des témoins et des victimes, la Ontario Crown Attorneys Association, la Criminal Lawyers' Association, les facultés d'éducation, les avocats de bon nombre de ces intervenants et des universitaires. Parmi les parties intéressées, on trouvait certaines des victimes de DeLuca, parfois leurs parents, et d'autres parties intéressées de Sault Ste. Marie.

On a fait parvenir des questionnaires à tous les conseils scolaires et aux autorités ainsi qu'aux sociétés d'aide à l'enfance de l'Ontario. On a également demandé des observations de 17 des plus grandes commissions des services policiers ou corps policier de la province et des associations de directeurs d'école, des associations de parents et des associations d'élèves.

Ce processus de consultation exhaustif qui a été mené dans toute l'Ontario était important pour bien faire comprendre ce qui avait ressorti de l'affaire DeLuca et la formulation de recommandations systémiques.

Structure du Rapport

Le Rapport comprend six chapitres. Les recommandations de changement, reproduites en caractères gras, se trouvent dans les chapitres IV à VI. Elles sont de nouveau reproduites, sans commentaires justificatifs, à la fin du Rapport. Les annexes qui suivent comprennent notamment plusieurs politiques et protocoles actuellement utilisés par des conseils scolaires en Ontario.

Le chapitre I donne un aperçu de l'ensemble du Rapport.

Le chapitre II décrit les faits qui sont survenus directement dans l'affaire DeLuca. Ces faits ont trait à la conduite de DeLuca, à la réaction aux plaintes concernant son comportement et à l'impact de ces événements sur les victimes de DeLuca. Des commentaires au sujet de ces faits sont reproduits en italiques dans l'ensemble du chapitre ainsi que dans un résumé et dans une conclusion à la fin du chapitre. Les conclusions du Rapport sur ce qui a cloché dans l'affaire DeLuca constituent le fondement de recommandations ultérieures.

Le chapitre III étudie l'ampleur et la nature du problème de l'inconduite sexuelle par des enseignants ou des enseignantes comme en font foi les dossiers criminels et disciplinaires mentionnés, les comptes rendus des médias et la documentation.

Le chapitre IV du Rapport se penche sur les lois qui portent sur l'inconduite sexuelle par des enseignants à l'endroit d'élèves dans la mesure nécessaire pour que l'examen s'acquitte de son mandat et pour formuler des recommandations de changement. Le chapitre traite des dispositions pertinentes du Code criminel, du Code des droits de la personne de l'Ontario, de la Loi sur les services à l'enfance et à la famille, des lois en matière d'éducation, comme la Loi sur l'éducation, la Loi sur la profession enseignante et la Loi de 1996 sur l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario. Nous faisons ressortir certaines lacunes de la législation existante. En outre, il est brièvement question de la responsabilité civile. La plus grande part du chapitre est consacrée aux règles de preuve et de procédure qui sont en vigueur quand le compte rendu d'un plaignant ou d'une plaignante en matière sexuelle ou d'un enfant témoin est pertinent à une procédure pénale ou administrative. Les recommandations relatives à cette partie en particulier visent à éviter que les plaignants et les plaignantes soient de nouveau victimes après leur divulgation, et ce d'une manière conforme aux droits de toutes les parties concernées.

Le chapitre V est centré sur les préoccupations soulevées par les enseignants et les enseignantes, y compris les fausses accusations d'inconduite sexuelle. Il se penche aussi sur la crainte qu'une sensibilité exacerbée à l'égard des possibilités d'inconduite sexuelle ait un effet refroidissant sur un milieu scolaire amical et stimulant. Plusieurs recommandations de ce chapitre favorisent une évaluation juste et exacte des allégations d'inconduite sexuelle. Les points de vue adoptés par les enseignants et les enseignantes sur les questions étudiées dans le Rapport ne sont pas limités à ce chapitre; ils sont exprimés dans divers chapitres.

Le chapitre VI étudie en profondeur les politiques, les procédures et les protocoles existants qui sont pertinents aux problèmes systémiques examinés et formule des recommandations de changement. La meilleure façon d'apaiser bon nombre des préoccupations soulevées par cet examen est non pas une intervention du législateur, mais bien l'application de politiques et de protocoles exhaustifs adoptés par les conseils scolaires de l'Ontario. Le chapitre conclut par une liste de vérification détaillée en vue d'aider les conseils scolaires à élaborer leurs propres politiques et protocoles.