Report of Appointee’s Five-Year Review of Paralegal Regulation in Ontario

About paralegal regulation in Ontario

In 2006, the Law Society Act was amended by the Access to Justice Act, 2006, to provide for the regulation of paralegals. Under the Act, all paralegals practicing in Ontario must be licensed by the Law Society of Upper Canada.

Ontario became the first jurisdiction in North America to regulate paralegals on May 1, 2007.

Five-year progress reports

To help ensure that paralegal regulation has been implemented successfully, the Act required that two progress reviews be conducted after five years. The first report, conducted by the Law Society of Upper Canada, was delivered to the Attorney General on June 28, 2012.

The Act also required that a person who is neither a lawyer nor a paralegal be appointed to review the regulation of paralegals in Ontario and provide a report to the Attorney General. Mr. David Morris, a professional writer, communicator and strategist, was appointed to lead this review. Mr. Morris submitted his report on November 1, 2012.

Read the reports

Read the reports to the Attorney General of Ontario, pursuant to Section 63.1 of the Law Society Act, as prepared by:

Rapport après cinq ans de la personne nommée sur la réglementation de la profession de parajuriste en Ontario

Au sujet de la réglementation de la profession de parajuriste en Ontario

En 2006, la Loi sur le Barreau a été modifiée par la Loi de 2006 sur l'accès à la justice, de façon à permettre la réglementation des parajuristes. En vertu de cette loi, tous les parajuristes qui exercent en Ontario doivent obtenir un permis délivré par le Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Le 1er mai 2007, l'Ontario est devenu le premier territoire de compétence d'Amérique du Nord à réglementer la profession de parajuriste.

Rapports d'étape après cinq ans

Pour assurer une mise en œuvre réussie de la réglementation, la Loi exige que deux examens soient menés après cinq ans. Le premier rapport d'examen, mené par le Barreau du Haut-Canada, a été remis au procureur général le 28 juin 2012.

La Loi sur le Barreau exige également qu'une personne qui n'est ni avocate ni parajuriste soit nommée pour examiner la réglementation des parajuristes en Ontario et soumettre un rapport au procureur général. M. David Morris, écrivain professionnel, communicateur et stratégiste, a été chargé de diriger cet examen. M. Morris a remis son rapport le 1er novembre 2012.

Lire les rapports

Lire les rapports remis au procureur général de l'Ontario conformément à l'article 63.1 de la Loi sur le Barreau, préparés par :