Acknowledgements

The completion of this comprehensive review of the legal aid system in Ontario could not have been achieved without the cooperation of literally hundreds of individuals across the province of Ontario. In chapter 1, we describe our consultation process which included a solicitation of briefs and a series of public hearings conducted in various centres across the province. The Review is very much indebted to all of those who made written submissions, participated in the hearings, and especially those, including local clinic staff and Area Directors of the Ontario Legal Aid Plan, who assisted the Review in organizing these hearings.

The Review was most fortunate in being able to appoint Professor Michael J. Trebilcock of the Faculty of Law of the University of Toronto as our Research Director. Professor Trebilcock, in turn, assembled an excellent team of scholars and researchers who produced a remarkable body of research on various aspects of legal aid. Those papers, from which we have drawn quite freely in drafting our report, are reproduced in Volumes II and III. In our view, they constitute a major contribution to the analysis of legal aid issues. We are very grateful to Professor Trebilcock, and the members of the team which he assembled, for this contribution to our work.

Our researchers, in turn, were greatly assisted by a variety of groups and individuals. A number of the research studies were, in effect, case studies on particular substantive areas of the law. For each of these studies, we assembled Advisory Teams, the members of which are listed in Appendix C to this report. Copies of briefs relevant to particular projects were forwarded to the researcher in question. The senior management and staff of the Plan were very cooperative and helfpul in responding to what may have seemed like an endless series of requests for information concerning the operations of the Plan from our researchers and from the Review staff.

We wish to acknowledge explicitly the generous support of the Review afforded by the Provincial Director of the Plan, Robert L. Holden; the Deputy Director, Legal, George A. Biggar; the Deputy Director, Appeals, Ruth Lawson; the Deputy Director, Finance, David Porter; and the Manager of Clinic Funding, Joana Kuras. Our relationship with the Plan's administration was nurtured by the Legal Aid Committee of the Law Society and its Chair, Mary Eberts, and the Law Society's Clinic Funding Committee and its Chair, Paul Copeland, to whom we are also very grateful.

Members of the Review and our staff also profited greatly from numerous conversations with members of the Bench and bar, government officials, academics, researchers, members of legal organizations and community groups, and other concerned individuals who simply telephoned or wrote letters to the Review. Though it would be impractical to attempt to list these individuals, we are most appreciative for all of this assistance.

The organization and carrying out of the work of the Review required an expert and dedicated staff. Our Executive Director, and Senior Counsel, Lori Newton played a pivotal role, as did our Counsel, Aneurin Thomas. Karen Andrews, of the Ontario Bar, and Sarah Pearce, LL.B., provided valuable assistance in the latter stages of our work. We are very grateful to our Administrative Assistants, Tina Afonso and Cora Calixterio, whose tireless devotion to the many tasks at hand kept our heads above water throughout the exercise, to Margot Hall, who provided similarly valuable assistance to Professor Trebilcock, and, to Felicidad Gerona who assisted in the early stages of our secretarial work. We note, as well, our indebtedness to Sam Samanta of the Ministry of the Attorney General who assembled relevant statistical information for us, and to our editors Beverley Endersby and Doreen Potter who skilfully edited a large volume of material in a very short period of time.

While the Review is most appreciative of the support and assistance of all of the above- named and unnamed individuals, we accept, of course, full responsibility for the recommendations we have made in this report, with respect to which we are unanimous.

Remerciements

Cet examen exhaustif du système d'aide juridique de l'Ontario n'aurait pu avoir lieu sans la collaboration de centaines de personnes de toutes les régions de la province. Nous décrivons dans le premier chapitre le processus de consultation que nous avons retenu et qui nous a permis de recueillir des mémoires et de tenir une série d'audiences publiques dans diverses villes de la province. Le comité chargé de l'Examen est reconnaissant à toutes les personnes et à tous les organismes qui nous ont communiqué des mémoires et qui ont participé aux audiences. Nous tenons aussi à remercier tout particulièrement le personnel des cliniques de même que les directeurs régionaux du Régime d'aide juridique de l'Ontario qui nous ont aidés à organiser ces audiences.

Le comité chargé de l'Examen a pu retenir les services de Michael J. Trebilcock, professeur à la faculté de droit de l'université de Toronto, à titre de directeur de la recherche. M. Trebilcock a réussi à constituer une équipe de grands chercheurs et de juristes qui ont constitué un corpus de recherches remarquable sur divers aspects de l'aide juridique. Ces documents, dont nous nous sommes grandement inspirés pour rédiger le présent rapport, figurent dans les volumes II et III. Ils représentent, selon nous, une grande contribution à l'analyse du dossier de l'aide juridique. Nous tenons à exprimer notre reconnaissance à M. Trebilcock et aux membres de son équipe de l'excellence de leur travail.

Nos chercheurs ont grandement bénéficié, quant à eux, de la collaboration de plusieurs groupes et personnes. Un certain nombre de projets de recherche constituaient en fait des études de cas dans certains domaines juridiques et nous avons constitué à l'égard de chacune de ces études des équipes consultatives. La liste des membres de ces équipes se trouve en annexe C. Des exemplaires des mémoires reliés à des projets particuliers ont été communiqués au chercheur approprié. Les cadres supérieurs et le personnel du Régime ont fait preuve d'une grande collaboration et ont répondu avec une infinie patience aux innombrables demandes de renseignements de nos chercheurs et du personnel du comité chargé de l'Examen.

Nous tenons à remercier notamment le directeur provincial du Régime, Robert L. Holden; le directeur adjoint, services juridiques, George A. Biggar; la directrice adjointe, appels, Ruth Lawson; le directeur adjoint, finances, David Porter, et la responsable du financement des cliniques, Joana Kuras. Le Comité d'aide juridique du Barreau et sa présidente, Mary Eberts, et le Comité de financement des cliniques du Barreau et son président, Paul Copeland, ont grandement facilité nos travaux et nos recherches. Nous leur en savons gré.

Les membres du comité chargé de l'Examen et notre personnel ont aussi grandement profité des nombreux entretiens qu'ils ont eus avec des membres du Barreau et du conseil d'administration du Barreau, des fonctionnaires, des universitaires, des chercheurs, des membres d'organismes juridiques et de groupes communautaires et d'autres personnes intéressées qui leur ont simplement téléphoné ou envoyé des lettres. Il est tout simplement impossible de dresser la liste de toutes ces personnes, mais nous les remercions de leur contribution.

L'organisation et l'exécution des activités du comité chargé de l'Examen ont nécessité l'embauche de personnes très compétentes. Notre directrice générale et avocate principale, Lori Newton, a joué un rôle particulièrement important, tout comme notre autre avocat, Aneurin Thomas. Karen Andrews, du Barreau du Haut-Canada, et Sarah Pearce, diplômée en droit, nous ont offert une aide précieuse lors des dernières étapes du projet. Nous voulons aussi remercier nos adjointes administratives, Tina Afonso et Cora Calixterio, qui nous ont grandement aidé à faire face aux nombreuses tâches monumentales qui nous attendaient, Margot Hall, la précieuse collaboratrice de M. Trebilcock, et Felicidad Gerona, qui a participé aux travaux de secrétariat au début du projet. Nous sommes reconnaissants à Sam Samanta, du ministère du Procureur général, d'avoir recueilli des données statistiques pertinentes, et à Beverley Endersby et à Doreen Potter, nos correctrices-réviseures, d'avoir su réviser d'une main de maître un grand nombre de documents en très peu de temps.

Même si le comité chargé de l'Examen a pu bénéficier de l'aide et de la collaboration de toutes les personnes nommées ci-dessus et de nombreuses autres personnes, il va sans dire que nous assumons l'entière responsabilité des recommandations énoncées dans le présent rapport, recommandations que les membres ont adoptées à l'unanimité.