Section 7 - Conclusion

There was almost unanimous agreement among those I heard from that Ontario should not abolish its tradition of providing direct financial assistance to victims of violent crime through an independent adjudicative process. However, there has been a shift in Canada and elsewhere from providing crime victims with direct financial assistance to supporting them through various non-financial victim programs and services, and from criminal injuries hearings to limited administrative financial assistance schemes without any formal hearings. These shifts are not consistent with a truly compassionate, fair and responsive approach to the needs of victims of violent crime.

The Ministry, in reviewing reform options for the CICB, has used the number of victims served as one measure of assessing these options. The true value of criminal injuries financial assistance, however, lies not in the number of victims who choose to apply for it, but lies in the very significant and positive impact that financial assistance has in the lives of each of the victims who do apply successfully. Government-funded victim services and programs alone may not be adequately responsive to the particular needs of individual crime victims. Financial assistance can enable victims of violent crime to move forward with their lives in the manner they determine to be best for them.

Financial assistance for victims of violent crime remains a very significant and positive feature of Ontario's victim services and programs that should be continued. Further, as the Ombudsman's report makes clear, the Ministry must provide adequate and consistent funding to ensure the success of any financial assistance program.

CONCLUSION

Les personnes que j'ai rencontrées convenaient à la quasi unanimité que l'Ontario ne devrait pas abolir sa tradition de fournir une aide financière directe aux victimes de crimes violents par le biais d'un processus d'arbitrage indépendant. Cependant l'aide aux victimes d'actes criminels au Canada et ailleurs a évolué, passant d'une aide financière directe à un soutien par le biais de divers programmes et services autres que financiers, et les audiences des victimes d'actes criminels ont fait place à des mécanismes administratifs limités d'aide financière sans audience officielle. Ces changements ne concordent pas avec une démarche réellement compatissante, juste et réceptive aux besoins des victimes de crimes violents.

Pour examiner les possibilités de réforme de la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels, le ministère s'est servi, entre autres, du nombre de victimes desservies comme critère de mesure. La réelle valeur de l'aide financière aux victimes d'actes criminels, cependant, repose non pas sur le nombre de victimes qui choisissent d'en faire la demande, mais sur ses répercussions déterminantes et positives dans les vies de chacune des victimes dont la demande est acceptée. Seuls, les services et les programmes d'aide aux victimes financés par le gouvernement pourraient ne pas répondre adéquatement aux besoins particuliers de chacune des victimes d'actes criminels. Une aide financière peut permettre aux victimes de crimes violents de reprendre leurs vies de la façon qu'ils jugent la plus appropriée pour eux.

L'aide financière accordée aux victimes de crimes violents demeure un volet essentiel et positif des services et des programmes ontariens d'aide aux victimes, et elle doit se poursuivre. De plus, comme le Rapport de l'ombudsman le dit clairement, le ministère doit fournir un financement adéquat et constant pour assurer le succès de tout programme d'aide financière.