Section 5 - Non-financial Victim Services And Programs

In keeping with Ontario's long tradition of local delivery of victim services and programs, virtually all the non-financial services and programs for crime victims in Ontario today are delivered by local organizations funded in whole or in part by the OVSS. These provide crime victims with invaluable assistance and support and serve as a model to other Canadian and international jurisdictions.

A. Overview of Ministry's victim services and programs

A chronological overview of these non-financial victim services and programs is set out below.

1980Sexual assault/rape community and hospital based crisis centres
These centres, located in about 30 communities across Ontario, provide a variety of supports for victims of sexual assault and domestic violence, including counselling, public education and advocacy.
1986Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic
The Ministry funds a legal service for assaulted women at this multi-service agency for female victims of violence.
1987Victim Crisis Assistance and Referral Services Program
VCARS is a community based program that is delivered by local agencies using trained volunteers who provide immediate on-site crisis intervention as well as community referrals for further assistance.
1987Victim/Witness Assistance Program ("V/WAP")
V/WAP provides information, assistance, referrals and support to victims and witnesses of violent crime in all court districts across the province.
1991Child Victim/Witness Centres
The four Child Victim/Witness Centres provide court assistance and preparation to children who are victims or witnesses of violent crime.
1996Victim Support Line
This is a province-wide information line that provides victims with referrals to community agencies, information on the criminal justice system and access to information about the status and scheduled release date of provincially incarcerated offenders.
1997Domestic Violence Court Program
This program facilitates the prosecution of domestic assault cases and early intervention in abusive domestic situations through teams of police, Crown Attorneys, V/WAP staff, probation officers, and community agency staff workers.
1998Support Link Program
This program provides victims of domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking with intensive safety planning and 911-programmed cell phones in 20 Ontario locations.
2002Bail Safety Pilot Project
This program, found in 10 locations in Ontario, provides for specially trained teams of Crown Attorneys, victim services staff and police to conduct in-depth interviews with victims of domestic violence at the bail stage of criminal proceedings.

The OVSS also provides time-limited community grants each year to organizations across Ontario to support projects that directly benefit victims and address gaps in supports and services to victims. Since 2005, the government has provided $15 million in grant funding to 247 community organizations. Two examples are the Phoenix Centre for Children and Families in Pembroke, which received a community grant to provide programs for children and youth who are victims of trauma, and the Ininew Friendship Centre in Cochrane, which received a community grant for an art therapy program for children who have been victimized by domestic violence.

B. Renaming the Ontario Victim Services Secretariat as the Victim Services Division

Although it also funds several community initiatives and programs administered by other ministries, the OVSS' primary role is to administer or deliver the victim-based programs and services provided by the Ministry. Renaming the OVSS as the Victim Services Division would have its name better reflect its function within the Ministry and would assist victims and the public to better understand its role.

C. VCARS agencies

The VCARS program, which I mentioned earlier, is a community-based program that provides immediate on-site help to victims of crime, disaster, or other tragic circumstances 24 hours a day, seven days a week. VCARS agencies, through teams of trained volunteers, provide emotional support to victims, accompany victims to shelters or hospitals, assist with arranging for crime scene clean-up, and refer victims to other community services for longer-term assistance. The VCARS agencies were also given the responsibility of delivering the VQRP in their communities. 1

There are currently 50 VCARS agencies in Ontario, each governed by its own independent Board of Directors. Each VCARS agency enters into a separate funding agreement with the Ministry that prescribes province-wide guidelines and criteria for the delivery of the VCARS program. The VCARS agencies have established a provincial association called the Ontario Network of Victim Service Providers and all but three VCARS agencies are members.

The local service delivery model that is the basis of the VCARS program is advantageous for a number of reasons. A victim receives emotional and practical assistance on-site immediately following an incident, which often helps victims cope more effectively and may also mitigate the impact of a traumatic event. The VCARS agencies are also able to develop relationships with the local police services. The police refer about 95% of the victims assisted by VCARS agencies. Similarly, the VCARS agencies are able to develop relationships with other local community agencies and programs that can provide more long-term assistance to victims of crime.

A very significant and impressive component of the VCARS agencies is the extensive involvement of volunteers. There are about 10,000 individuals in Ontario who volunteer to provide emergency assistance to victims through the VCARS program. These individuals receive 36 hours of training and are on call for up to three 12-hour shifts each month. They respond to about 50,000 victims each year. VCARS volunteers provide an invaluable service to their communities, giving selflessly of their time to assist those in need.

VCARS services are clearly extremely beneficial to crime victims. I met with family members of murder victims who had received assistance from their local VCARS agency. They very eloquently expressed their appreciation for the early support they received and the tremendous difference this support made to them as they struggled to cope with the consequences of the loss of their loved ones. It is important to emphasize, however, that VCARS services, as beneficial as they are, do not provide on-going assistance to victims of violent crime.

D. Victims' Justice Fund

All of the victim programs and agencies referred to above, including the VCARS agencies, receive funding through the Victims' Justice Fund, which consists of victim surcharges imposed by the courts on provincial and federal fines. 2 The monies in the Victims' Justice Fund must be used to "assist victims, whether by supporting programs that provide assistance to victims, by making grants to community agencies assisting victims or otherwise". 3 The OVSS, which receives about 60% of its budget from the Victims' Justice Fund, has administrative responsibility for the Fund. Subject to approval by the Management Board of Cabinet, the OVSS distributes monies to programs and organizations for purposes that are consistent with the Victims' Bill of Rights.

While the CICB's primary source of funding is the government's consolidated revenue fund, 4 I am advised that the Ministry has regularly supplemented the CICB's budgets with funds transferred from the Victims' Justice Fund.

E. Office for Victims of Crime

The OVC, although not strictly a victim service or program, advances the interests of crime victims in Ontario through its advisory role. The OVC is a statutory body established pursuant to the Victims' Bill of Rights. 5 Its members are victims of violent crime or individuals who have worked with crime victims and its mandate is to advise the Attorney General on issues relating to crime victims.

When it was originally formed in 1998, the OVC established a Special Victims Unit with three full-time staff who engaged in victim advocacy by linking crime victims with appropriate community agencies or case managing where a victim's circumstances were particularly difficult or complicated. The Special Victims Unit was disbanded a few years ago and the OVC currently focuses primarily on its legislated advisory mandate.

If the Attorney General continues to receive advice on victims' issues from an expert body such as the OVC, it would be preferable to rename it the Crime Victims Advisory Panel, thereby highlighting its advisory role and reducing confusion with the Victim Advocate (which I recommend further on) and with the OVSS.

F. Victim-centred approach

The Ministry has the dual responsibility of prosecuting criminal offences, as well as providing or funding the majority of Ontario's victim services and programs. While the Ministry provides many important victim programs, many are related to the prosecution process, rather than addressing the needs of victims that are unrelated to the trial process.

The Ministry's website identifies its five major program areas as: "prosecuting crime and preserving public order and personal safety; supporting victims of crime throughout the criminal justice system; providing criminal, civil and family courts and related justice services that are fair, timely and accessible; providing decision-making and justice support services to vulnerable people; and providing legal advice and services to government [emphasis added]." 6 Similarly, the OVSS' webpage states: "[The] OVSS works to ensure that victims of crime are treated with respect and receive the information and services they need throughout the various stages of the criminal justice process [emphasis added]." 7

Court-based victim services are extremely important and supportive of crime victims. The trial process can be very emotionally traumatic for victims and these services provide them with information about the court process as well as assistance and support during the various stages of proceedings. However, the majority of victims of violent crime do not report the crime to the police and so court-based services simply do not address their needs. 8 Additionally, victims of crime have many personal needs that are independent of the criminal trial process. It is critical, therefore, that the Ministry shift its current victim paradigm, which views crime victims too often through the relatively narrow lens of the criminal trial process, and move to a paradigm that has victims' needs at the centre of the lens.


  1. A list of the VCARS and other victim service agencies in Ontario involved in delivering the VQRP can be found at Appendix F.
  2. Victim fine surcharges are amounts added onto provincial or federal fines pursuant to the Provincial Offences Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. P.33, s.60.1 and the Criminal Code, supra note 43, s. 737.
  3. Victims' Bill of Rights, supra note 13, s. 5(4).
  4. The consolidated revenue fund refers to the "aggregate of all public monies on deposit to the credit of the Minister of Finance or in the name of any agency of the Crown approved by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario". See Ministry of Finance, "Ontario Budget 2008:Glossary", online: http://ontariobudget.ca/english/glossary.html.
  5. Supra note 13, s. 5.1.
  6. Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, Annual Reports, "Ministry Overview", online: http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/about/pubs/mag_annual/annual-rpt.php#O-VIEW
  7. Ontario Ministry of the Attorney General, Victim Services, "An Overview", online: http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/about/vw/
  8. Statistics Canada, Criminal Victimization in Canada, 2004 by Marie Gannon and Karen Mihorean, Juristat Catalogue 85-002-XPE, vol. 25, no. 7 (Ottawa: Statistics Canada, 2005) at 25.

|

SERVICES ET PROGRAMMES D'AIDE NON FINANCIERE AUX VICTIMES

Conformément à la longue tradition de l'Ontario en matière de prestation locale de services et de programmes d'aide aux victimes, presque tous les services et programmes non financiers offerts actuellement aux victimes d'actes criminels dans la province le sont par des organismes locaux financés en totalité ou en partie par le SOSV. Ces organismes offrent aux victimes une aide et un soutien inestimables et servent de modèle aux autres territoires de compétence canadiens et internationaux.

A. Aperçu des services et des programmes d'aide du ministère

Voici un aperçu chronologique des programmes et services non financiers d'aide aux victimes :

1980Centres communautaires ou hospitaliers d'aide immédiate aux victimes d'agression sexuelle ou de viol
Ces centres, présents dans environ 30 collectivités de l'Ontario, offrent divers services de soutien aux victimes d'agression sexuelle ou de violence conjugale, notamment des services de consultation, d'éducation publique et de défense des droits.
1986Barbara Schlifer Commemorative Clinic
Le ministère finance un service juridique s'adressant aux femmes victimes d'agression par l'entremise de cet organisme de services polyvalents pour les femmes victimes de violence.
1987Programme Services d'orientation et d'aide immédiate aux victimes
Le SOAIV est un programme communautaire offert par des organismes locaux ayant recours à des bénévoles qui effectuent une intervention immédiate sur place en cas de crise et qui offrent des services d'aiguillage vers des organismes communautaires offrant une aide plus approfondie.
1987Programme d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins (« PAVT »)
Le PAVT fournit des renseignements, de l'aide, des services d'aiguillage et du soutien aux victimes et aux témoins de crimes violents dans tous les districts judiciaires de la province.
1991Centres d'aide aux enfants victimes et témoins
Les quatre centres d'aide aux enfants victimes et témoins offrent aux enfants victimes ou témoins de crimes violents de l'aide et des services de préparation pour comparaître devant le tribunal.
1996Ligne d'aide aux victimes
Il s'agit d'une ligne d'information provinciale qui permet d'aiguiller les victimes vers les organismes communautaires, de leur fournir des renseignements sur le système de justice pénale ainsi qu'un accès à l'information concernant la situation des contrevenants incarcérés dans les établissements provinciaux et la date prévue de leur libération.
1997Programme de tribunaux pour l'instruction des causes de violence conjugale
Ce programme facilite l'instruction des causes de violence conjugale et une intervention rapide dans les situations de violence conjugale par l'entremise d'équipes composées d'agents de police, de procureurs de la Couronne, d'employés du PAVT, d'agents de probation et d'employés d'organismes communautaires.
1998Programme SupportLink
Ce programme offre aux victimes de violence conjugale, d'agression sexuelle et de harcèlement des services de planification intensive en matière de sécurité ainsi que des téléphones cellulaires avec composition automatique programmée du 911, dans 20 emplacements en Ontario.
2002Projet pilote de mise en liberté sous caution
Ce programme, offert dans 10 emplacements en Ontario, permet à des équipes de procureurs de la Couronne ayant reçu une formation particulière, au personnel des services aux victimes et à la police de mener des entrevues approfondies avec les victimes de violence conjugale, à l'étape de la mise en liberté sous caution des instances criminelles.

Le SOSV accorde également chaque année des subventions à durée limitée à des organismes ontariens afin de soutenir les projets qui procurent un avantage direct aux victimes et qui comblent les lacunes en matière de soutien et de services aux victimes. Depuis 2005, le gouvernement a accordé 15 millions de dollars en subventions à 247 organismes communautaires. Parmi ceux-ci, mentionnons le Phoenix Centre for Children and Families, de Pembroke, qui a reçu une subvention en vue d'offrir des programmes aux enfants et aux jeunes victimes de traumatismes, et l'Ininew Friendship Centre, de Cochrane, qui a reçu une subvention relativement à un programme de thérapie par l'art destiné aux enfants ayant été victimes de violence conjugale.

B. Changement de nom du Secrétariat ontarien des services aux victimes pour la Division des services aux victimes

Bien qu'il finance également plusieurs initiatives et programmes communautaires gérés par d'autres ministères, le SOSV a comme rôle principal d'administrer ou d'offrir les programmes et les services centrés sur la victime offerts par le ministère. Le fait de changer le nom du SOSV pour la Division des services aux victimes permettrait de mieux refléter la fonction de l'organisme au sein du ministère et aiderait les victimes et le public à mieux comprendre son rôle.

C. Organismes de SOAIV

Le programme des SOAIV, dont j'ai traité précédemment, est un programme communautaire qui permet d'offrir de l'aide immédiate sur place aux victimes d'actes criminels, de désastres ou d'autres circonstances tragiques, en tout temps. Les organismes des SOAIV, par l'entremise de bénévoles compétents, offrent un soutien affectif aux victimes, accompagnent celles-ci à des refuges ou à l'hôpital, collaborent à l'organisation du nettoyage des lieux du crime et aiguillent les victimes vers d'autres organismes communautaires pour qu'elles y reçoivent de l'aide à plus long terme. Les organismes des SOAIV ont également la tâche d'assurer la prestation du PIRV dans leur collectivité 1.

Il y a actuellement 50 organismes des SOAIV en Ontario, chacun étant dirigé par son propre conseil d'administration. Chaque organisme des SOAIV conclut un accord de financement distinct avec le ministère, qui énonce les lignes directrices et les critères provinciaux de prestation des SOAIV. Les organismes de SOAIV ont créé une association provinciale nommée Réseau ontarien des prestateurs de services d'aide aux victimes, dont tous les organismes de SOAIV sont membres, à l'exception de trois.

Le modèle de prestation locale de services qui constitue la base du programme de SOAIV est avantageux pour un certain nombre de raisons. Les victimes reçoivent un soutien affectif et une aide pratique sur place immédiatement après un incident, ce qui les aide souvent à faire face à la situation de façon plus efficace et qui peut également atténuer les répercussions d'un événement traumatisant. Les organismes de SOAIV sont aussi en mesure d'établir des relations avec les services de police locaux. La police renvoie environ 95 % des victimes vers les organismes de SOAIV. De même, ces derniers peuvent établir des relations avec les organismes communautaires locaux et les responsables de programmes pouvant offrir une aide à plus long terme aux victimes d'actes criminels.

L'un des éléments importants et impressionnants des organismes de SOAIV est la participation considérable de bénévoles. En Ontario, environ 10 000 personnes se portent volontaires pour offrir de l'aide d'urgence aux victimes par l'entremise du programme de SOAIV. Ces personnes reçoivent une formation d'une durée de 36 heures et sont en disponibilité pendant un maximum de trois quarts de 12 heures chaque mois. Elles assistent environ 50 000 victimes chaque année. Les bénévoles des SOAIV rendent un service inestimable à leur collectivité, donnant généreusement de leur temps afin d'aider ceux qui sont dans le besoin.

Il est évident que les SOAIV sont très bénéfiques aux victimes d'actes criminels. J'ai rencontré des membres de familles de victimes de meurtre, qui avaient reçu de l'aide de leur organisme de SOAIV local. Ils ont exprimé leur gratitude de façon très éloquente en ce qui a trait au soutien rapide qu'ils ont reçu et à l'énorme différence que ce soutien a entraînée pour eux, alors qu'ils faisaient face aux conséquences de la perte d'un être cher. Il est important de souligner, toutefois, que les SOAIV, aussi bénéfiques soient-ils, n'offrent pas d'aide prolongée aux victimes de crimes violents.

D. Fonds de la justice pour les victimes

Tous les programmes et organismes d'aide aux victimes mentionnés précédemment, y compris les organismes de SOAIV, reçoivent du financement par l'entremise du Fonds de la justice pour les victimes, qui se finance par le biais de suramendes compensatoires sur les amendes fédérales et provinciales imposées par les tribunaux 2. Les sommes du Fonds de la justice pour les victimes doivent servir à « aider les victimes, notamment en appuyant les programmes d'aide aux victimes ou en subventionnant les organismes communautaires qui offrent une telle aide 3. » Le SOSV, dont le budget est financé à environ 60 % par le Fonds de la justice pour les victimes, assume la responsabilité administrative de ce Fonds. Sous réserve de l'approbation du Conseil de gestion du gouvernement, le SOSV distribue les sommes aux programmes et aux organismes aux fins prévues par la Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels.

Bien que la première source de financement de la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels soit le Trésor public 4, on m'a informé que le ministère a régulièrement suppléé les budgets de la Commission avec des sommes provenant du Fonds de la justice pour les victimes.

E. Office des affaires des victimes d'actes criminels

L'Office des affaires des victimes d'actes criminels, bien qu'il ne soit pas un service ou un programme ciblant uniquement les victimes, fait progresser les intérêts des victimes d'actes criminels en Ontario grâce à son rôle consultatif. L'Office est un organisme constitué en vertu de la Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels 5. Ses membres sont des victimes de crimes violents ou des personnes ayant travaillé auprès de victimes d'actes criminels, et son mandat est de conseiller le procureur général sur les questions liées aux victimes de tels actes.

Lors de sa création en 1998, l'Office des affaires des victimes d'actes criminels a établi une unité spéciale d'aide aux victimes composée de trois employés à temps plein participant à la défense des droits des victimes en faisant la liaison entre les victimes d'actes criminels et les organismes communautaires adéquats ou en faisant de la gestion de cas lorsque les circonstances entourant la victime étaient particulièrement difficiles ou complexes. L'unité spéciale d'aide aux victimes a été dissoute il y a quelques années et, aujourd'hui, l'Office met principalement l'accent sur son mandat de conseiller prévu par la loi.

Si le procureur général continue à recevoir des conseils sur les questions liées aux victimes d'un organisme expert comme l'Office, il serait préférable de renommer celui-ci Comité consultatif des affaires des victimes d'actes criminels, soulignant ainsi son rôle consultatif et diminuant la confusion à propos de l'intervenant en faveur des victimes (qui fait plus loin l'objet d'une recommandation) et le SOSV.

F. Démarche axée sur la victime

Le ministère a la double responsabilité d'intenter des poursuites criminelles et d'offrir ou de financer la majorité des programmes et des services ontariens d'aide aux victimes. Bien que le ministère offre d'importants et nombreux programmes d'aide aux victimes, bon nombre de ceux-ci sont reliés au processus de poursuite plutôt qu'aux besoins des victimes qui n'ont rien à voir avec le processus judiciaire.

Le site Web du ministère décrit ses cinq principales sphères d'activités comme suit : « intenter des poursuites dans les cas d'actes criminels et assurer l'ordre public et la sécurité personnelle; offrir du soutien aux victimes d'actes criminels au sein du système de justice pénale; veiller à ce que les services des cours criminelles, civiles et de la famille et les services de justice connexes soient équitables, opportuns et accessibles; fournir aux personnes vulnérables des services de soutien pour la prise de décisions et pour la justice et fournir des conseils et des services juridiques au gouvernement ». [italiques ajoutées] 6 De même, le site Web du SOSV indique ce qui suit : « Le SOSV veille à ce que les victimes d'actes criminels soient traitées avec respect et reçoivent l'information et les services dont elles ont besoin aux différentes étapes du processus de justice pénale ». [italiques ajoutées] 7

Les services judiciaires aux victimes sont extrêmement importants et appuient les victimes d'actes criminels. Pour celles-ci, le processus judiciaire peut être très traumatisant du point de vue affectif et ces services permettent de leur offrir des renseignements sur ce processus ainsi que de l'aide et du soutien aux différentes étapes des instances. Toutefois, la majorité des victimes de crimes violents ne signalent pas le crime à la police et, par conséquent, les services judiciaires ne permettent tout simplement pas de répondre à leurs besoins 8. De plus, les victimes d'actes criminels ont de nombreux besoins personnels qui sont indépendants du processus de justice pénale. Il est essentiel, par conséquent, que le ministère réoriente son paradigme actuel, qui perçoit trop souvent les victimes d'actes criminels à travers le regard relativement étroit du processus de justice pénale, vers un paradigme qui met l'accent sur les besoins des victimes.


  1. Une liste des SOAIV et d'autres organismes ontariens de services aux victimes participant à la réalisation du PIRV est présentée à l'annexe F
  2. Les suramendes sont des montants ajoutés aux amendes fédérales ou provinciales en vertu de la Loi sur les infractions provinciales, L.R.O. 1990, chap. P. 33, art. 60.1 et du Code criminel, supra, note 43, art. 737
  3. Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels, supra, note 13, para. 5 (4)
  4. Le Trésor fait référence à l'« ensemble des fonds que perçoit le ministère des Finances en son nom ou au nom d'un organisme de la Couronne approuvé par le lieutenant-gouverneur de l'Ontario ». Voir ministère des Finances, « Budget de l'Ontario 2008 : Glossaire », en ligne : http://ontariobudget.ca/french/glossary.html
  5. Supra, note 13, art. 5.1
  6. Ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario, Rapports annuels, « Vue d'ensemble du ministère », en ligne : http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/about/pubs/mag_annual/annual-rpt.php
  7. Ministère du Procureur général de l'Ontario, Rapports annuels, Services aux victimes, « Aperçu », en ligne : http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/about/vw/Default.php
  8. Statistique Canada, La victimisation criminelle au Canada, 2004, par Marie Gannon et Karen Mihorean, Catalogue Juristat, 85-002-XPE, vol. 25, n° 7, Ottawa, Statistique Canada, 2005, p. 25