Section 3 - Legislative Principles

The legislative principles that ought to guide a framework that properly addresses the five identified needs of victims of violent crime are highlighted in this section.

A. Declaration of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime and Abuse of Power

In 1985, the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted the Declaration of Basic Victim Principles, which remains an international milestone in the history of victim rights. 1 It sets out a code of conduct that prescribes, among other things, that victims "should be treated with compassion and respect for their dignity" and "should receive the necessary material, medical, psychological and social assistance through governmental, voluntary, community-based and indigenous means". 2 Section 12(a) specifically provides:

When compensation is not fully available from the offender or other sources, States should endeavour to provide financial compensation to victims who have sustained significant bodily injury or impairment of physical or mental health as a result of serious crimes.

The United Nations' Handbook on Justice for Victims, a detailed guide advising countries how to apply the Declaration of Basic Victim Principles, reinforces the importance of financial assistance to victims of violent crime:

Crime victim compensation is one of the pillars of victim assistance. For many victims worldwide, it serves as the primary means of financial aid in the aftermath of victimization. […] While the physical and psychological impact of crime may be the most obvious and serious toll taken by a crime, the financial impact can also be devastating. 3

B. Canadian Statement of Basic Principles for Victims of Crime 4

In 2003, all the federal, provincial and territorial Ministers of Justice endorsed the Canadian Statement of Basic Principles, which affirms that the "needs, concerns and diversity of victims should be considered in the development and delivery of programs and services, and in related education and training."

C. Victims' Bill of Rights, 1995 ("Victims' Bill of Rights") 5

Ontario proclaimed the Victims' Bill of Rights in 1996. Like the national and international declarations of basic victim principles that preceded it, the Victims' Bill of Rights provides that victims should be treated with courtesy, compassion and respect, and that they should have access to services and information about the prosecution process. The Victims' Bill of Rights also created the Victims' Justice Fund, which is used to "assist victims, whether by supporting programs that provide assistance to victims, by making grants to community agencies assisting victims or otherwise". 6


  1. M. Cherif Bassiouni, "International Recognition of Victims' Rights" (2006) 6:2 Human Rights Law Review 203 at 278.
  2. Supra note 2, ss. 4, 14
  3. United Nations Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention, Handbook on Justice for Victims (New York: 1999) at 44, online: http://www.uncjin.org/Standards/9857854.pdf.
  4. Department of Justice (Canada), Canadian Statement of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime, 2003, online: http://www.justice.gc.ca/eng/pi/pcvi-cpcv/pub/03/princ.html.
  5. S.O. 1995, c. 6.
  6. Ibid., s. 5(4).

|

PRINCIPES LÉGISLATIFS

Les principes législatifs devant guider un cadre de référence qui répond adéquatement aux cinq besoins des victimes de crimes violents sont décrits en détail dans la présente section.

A. Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité et aux victimes d'abus de pouvoir

En 1985, l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies a adopté la Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes, qui demeure un événement déterminant de l'histoire des droits des victimes à l'échelle internationale 1. Elle établit un code de conduite qui prescrit, entre autres, que les victimes « doivent être traitées avec compassion et dans le respect de leur dignité » et « doivent recevoir l'assistance matérielle, médicale, psychologique et sociale dont elles ont besoin par la voie d'organismes étatiques bénévoles, communautaires et autochtones » 2. Le paragraphe 12 a) prévoit spécifiquement :

Lorsqu'il n'est pas possible d'obtenir une indemnisation complète auprès du contrevenant ou d'autres sources, les États doivent s'efforcer d'assurer une indemnisation financière aux victimes qui ont subi un préjudice corporel ou une atteinte importante à leur intégrité physique ou mentale par suite d'actes criminels graves.

Le Handbook on Justice for Victims des Nations Unies, un guide détaillé conseillant les pays sur la façon d'appliquer la Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes, renforce l'importance de l'aide financière versée aux victimes de crimes violents :

L'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels est l'un des piliers de l'aide versée aux victimes. Pour bon nombre de victimes dans le monde, elle constitue la principale source d'aide financière dans la période qui a suivi la victimisation. [...] Bien que les répercussions physiques et psychologiques puissent être les effets néfastes les plus évidents et les plus sérieux d'un crime, les répercussions financières peuvent également être dévastatrices. [traduction] 3

B. Déclaration canadienne de 2003 des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité 4

En 2003, tous les ministres de la Justice des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont appuyé la Déclaration canadienne de 2003 des principes fondamentaux, aux termes de laquelle « il convient de tenir compte des besoins, des préoccupations et de la diversité des victimes dans l'élaboration et la prestation des programmes et des services, ainsi que dans la formation et la promotion ».

C. Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels 5

L'Ontario a adopté la Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels en 1996. À l'instar des déclarations nationale et internationale des principes fondamentaux de justice aux victimes qui la précède, la Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels prévoit que les victimes doivent être traitées avec courtoisie, compassion et respect et doivent avoir accès aux services et aux renseignements concernant le processus de poursuite. La Charte de 1995 des droits des victimes d'actes criminels a également créé le Fonds de la justice pour les victimes, qui sert à « aider les victimes, notamment en appuyant les programmes d'aide aux victimes ou en subventionnant les organismes communautaires qui offrent une telle aide » 6.


  1. M. Cherif Bassiouni, « International Recognition of Victims' Rights », 6:2 Human Rights Law Review, 2006, nº 203, p. 278.
  2. Supra, note 2, articles 4 et 14.
  3. United Nations Office for Drug Control and Crime Prevention, Handbook on Justice for Victims, New York, 1999, p. 44, en ligne (en anglais) : http://www.uncjin.org/Standards/9857854.pdf.
  4. Ministère de la Justice (Canada), Déclaration canadienne de 2003 des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité, en ligne : http://www.justice.gc.ca/fra/pi/cpcv-pcvi/pub/03/princ.html.
  5. L.O. 1995, chap. 6.
  6. Ibid., para. 5 (4).