Introduction

I was asked last spring by then Attorney General Michael Bryant to make recommendations after my retirement as Chief Justice of Ontario about the role of financial assistance for victims of violent crime within the spectrum of victim services and programs provided by the Ministry of the Attorney General ("the Ministry"). This request followed the release of the Ontario Ombudsman's report Adding Insult to Injury into the operation of the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board ("the CICB"). 1

The Ministry currently provides financial assistance to victims of violent crime through two separate programs. The CICB hears applications for financial assistance for expenses and losses, as well as pain and suffering, relating to criminal injuries. The Victim Quick Response Program ("the VQRP") is an administrative pilot program established by Ministry policy in July 2007 that provides immediate financial assistance for emergency expenses, funeral expenses and short-term counselling.

Over the past few months, I have met with dozens of crime victims, victim advocates and victim service workers and I have received over 40 written submissions. I have also met with senior staff and adjudicators at the CICB, with senior staff with the Ontario Victim Services Secretariat ("the OVSS"), and with the board members of the Office for Victims of Crime ("the OVC"). I hosted a seminar with senior academics who have studied and written about crime victims and criminal injuries financial assistance. I have also consulted with senior criminal injury financial assistance officials in other jurisdictions and have reviewed the relevant literature.

As a result of my review, I have come to the conclusion that the Ontario government should continue providing financial assistance to victims of violent crime through programs that are similar to the CICB and the VQRP. The international community, through the United Nations Declaration of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime and Abuse of Power ("Declaration of Basic Victim Principles"), has long recognised the importance of providing financial assistance to victims of violent crime. 2 Ontario is a leader in providing assistance to victims of crime, including financial assistance to victims of violent crime. The financial assistance remains a very important component in the spectrum of Ontario's victim services and programs. While financial assistance can never erase the emotional or physical consequences of violent crime, it can be of tremendous aid to victims recovering from the impact of such crime.

At this point, I want to reflect on the term "compensation". This term in the context of a criminal injuries financial program for crime victims is a misnomer since money can never compensate a victim for the trauma inflicted by violent crime. "Compensation" implies damages akin to those in a civil tort action, but the CICB awards were never intended to replicate civil damages. "Financial assistance" is a more appropriate phrase that more accurately reflects the purpose of criminal injuries financial programs.

I am further of the view that the Ontario government should appoint a Victim Advocate who reports directly to the Legislature. Having worked in the criminal justice system for more than 50 years, including five years as a Chief Justice of the Superior Court of Justice, 11 years as Chief Justice of Ontario, and 10 years as Attorney General for Ontario, I have long had considerable concern about how victims of crime are treated. They are often the forgotten individuals of the criminal justice system, sometimes viewed as third party interlopers in a system that is focused primarily on the criminal trial and the rights of the accused. While Ontario has taken significant steps in the past few decades to assist victims of crime, much of this assistance is linked to supporting victims through the criminal proceedings, and does not address the significant needs faced by victims of violent crime that are unrelated to the prosecution process. A Victim Advocate, consistent with Ontario's public commitment "to ensuring victims of violent crime have a strong voice" 3, would advocate on behalf of victims of violent crime in Ontario.


  1. Ombudsman of Ontario, "Adding Insult to Injury" Investigation into the Treatment of Victims by the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board, (Ontario: Office of the Ombudsman, February 2007) [Ombudsman's Report]..
  2. GA Res.40/34, 29 November 1985, A/CONF.121/22/Rev.1, s. 12..
  3. Ministry of the Attorney General, Backgrounder, "Victim Services in Ontario" (March 2, 2007), online: http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/english/news/2007/20070302-cicb-bg.php.

INTRODUCTION

Le printemps dernier, après que j'eus pris ma retraite à titre de juge en chef de l'Ontario, Michael Bryant, alors procureur général, m'a demandé de formuler des recommandations sur le rôle de l'aide financière aux victimes de crimes violents au sein de l'éventail de programmes et de services d'aide aux victimes qu'offre le ministère du Procureur général (« le ministère »). Cette demande faisait suite à la publication du rapport de l'ombudsman de l'Ontario, L'art de faire double injure, concernant le fonctionnement de la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels (« la Commission »). 1

Le ministère accorde actuellement de l'aide financière aux victimes de crimes violents par l'entremise de deux programmes différents. La Commission entend les demandes d'aide financière pour dépenses et pertes ainsi que pour souffrances et douleurs relatives à des actes criminels. Le Programme d'intervention rapide auprès des victimes (« le PIRV ») est un projet pilote administratif créé en vertu d'une politique ministérielle en juillet 2007 qui offre une aide financière immédiate pour les frais d'urgence et funéraires ainsi que pour les services de consultation à court terme.

Au cours des derniers mois, j'ai rencontré des dizaines de victimes d'actes criminels, d'intervenants en faveur des victimes et de professionnels de l'aide aux victimes et ai reçu plus de 40 mémoires. J'ai également rencontré la haute direction et les arbitres de la Commission, ainsi que la haute direction du Secrétariat ontarien des services aux victimes (« le SOSV ») et les membres du conseil de l'Office des affaires des victimes d'actes criminels. J'ai animé un séminaire auquel participaient des universitaires ayant étudié et écrit sur le sujet des victimes d'actes criminels et de l'aide financière versée à ces dernières. J'ai également consulté des hauts fonctionnaires responsables de l'aide financière versée aux victimes d'actes criminels dans d'autres territoires de compétence et ai étudié la documentation pertinente.

À la suite de cet examen, j'en suis venu à la conclusion que le gouvernement de l'Ontario devrait continuer à accorder une aide financière aux victimes de crimes violents par l'entremise de programmes semblables à celui de la Commission et au PIRV. La communauté internationale, par l'entremise de la Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité et aux victimes d'abus de pouvoir des Nations Unies (« Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes »), reconnaît depuis longtemps l'importance de verser une aide financière aux victimes de crimes violents 2. L'Ontario est un chef de file en matière d'aide aux victimes d'actes criminels, notamment de crimes violents. L'aide financière demeure un élément très important de l'éventail de programmes et de services d'aide aux victimes en Ontario. Bien que cette aide ne puisse jamais effacer les répercussions morales ou physiques d'un crime violent, elle peut constituer une aide considérable pour les victimes qui s'en remettent.

À ce stade-ci, je souhaite m'arrêter sur le terme « indemnisation ». Utilisé dans le contexte d'un programme d'aide financière aux victimes d'actes criminels, ce terme est impropre étant donné que l'argent ne peut jamais compenser une victime pour le traumatisme subi à la suite d'un crime violent. La notion d'« indemnisation » sous-entend des dommages analogues à ceux invoqués dans une action en responsabilité civile délictuelle, mais les indemnités versées par la Commission n'ont jamais eu pour objectif de faire office de réparations civiles. Le terme « aide financière » est plus approprié et reflète avec plus de précision l'objectif des programmes d'aide financière aux victimes d'actes criminels.

De plus, je suis d'avis que le gouvernement de l'Ontario devrait nommer un intervenant en faveur des victimes relevant directement de l'Assemblée législative. Ayant travaillé au sein du système de justice pénale durant plus de 50 ans, dont 5 ans à titre de juge en chef de la Cour supérieure de justice, 11 ans à titre de juge en chef de l'Ontario et 10 ans à titre de procureur général de l'Ontario, je suis depuis longtemps très préoccupé par la façon dont on traite les victimes d'actes criminels. Celles-ci sont souvent les laissés-pour-compte du système de justice pénale, parfois perçues comme des tiers interlopes dans un système qui met l'accent principalement sur le procès criminel et les droits de l'accusé. Bien que l'Ontario ait pris des mesures importantes au cours des dernières décennies en vue d'aider les victimes d'actes criminels, cette aide vise dans la majorité des cas à soutenir les victimes au cours des instances criminelles et ne tient pas compte des besoins des victimes de crimes violents qui ne sont pas reliés au processus de poursuite. Un intervenant en faveur des victimes, qui est en accord avec l'engagement public de l'Ontario à « donner voix au chapitre aux victimes d'actes criminels violents » 3, défendrait les intérêts de ces personnes en Ontario.


  1. Ombudsman de l'Ontario, « L'art de faire double injure », Enquête sur le traitement infligé aux victimes par la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels, Ontario, Bureau de l'ombudsman, février 2007 [Rapport de l'ombudsman].
  2. Rés. 40/34 de l'AG, 29 novembre 1985, A/CONF.121/22/Rev. 1, art. 12.
  3. Ministère du Procureur général, Document d'information, « Les services aux victimes en Ontario », 2 mars 2007, en ligne : http://www.attorneygeneral.jus.gov.on.ca/french/news/2007/20070302-cicb-bg.php.