Executive Summary

Victims of violent crime have five principal needs independent of safety concerns and their need for information and support relating to the criminal justice process: (i) financial assistance, (ii) counselling, (iii) acknowledgment of victimization, (iv) an opportunity to relate what happened to them in a hearing, and (v) individual assistance in navigating through the network of victim programs and services.

Financial assistance to victims of violent crime remains an important component in the spectrum of Ontario's victim services and programs and should not be eliminated. The importance of providing financial assistance to victims of violent crime has been long recognized by the international community through the United Nations Declaration of Basic Principles of Justice for Victims of Crime and Abuse of Power. While money can never erase the emotional or physical consequences of violent crime, it can be of invaluable assistance to victims recovering from the impact of such crime. The term "financial assistance" should replace "compensation" as it is a more appropriate phrase that more accurately reflects the purpose of criminal injuries financial programs.

Crime victims are often the forgotten individuals of the criminal justice system and are sometimes treated with less attention, respect and sensitivity than they deserve. The government should appoint an independent Victim Advocate who reports directly to the Legislature and who is mandated to speak out on behalf of victims of violent crime.

The government should adopt the current Victim Quick Response Program (which provides immediate financial assistance for emergency expenses, funeral expenses and short-term counselling) as the model to legislate a permanent administrative early financial assistance program for victims of violent crime.

The government should reconstitute the Criminal Injuries Compensation Board ("CICB") as the Criminal Injuries Financial Assistance Board ("the Board"), which would adjudicate applications for financial assistance made by victims of violent crime pursuant to a legislative framework similar to the Compensation for Victims of Crime Act. Victims should be able to request an oral hearing if that is how they prefer the Board to consider their application, although the final decision with respect to an oral hearing will remain with the Chair of the Board. The Board should be able to continue to make awards for pain and suffering, which serve as an important gesture of societal compassion and acknowledgment of victimization. Victims should be given the benefit of the doubt where the evidence before the Board is equally balanced. An offender or an alleged offender should not participate in a Board hearing. Correspondingly, there should be no right of subrogation in respect of financial assistance given to victims, and the publication of information identifying the alleged offender in cases where there has been no criminal conviction should be statutorily prohibited.

Victims of violent crime often find it overwhelming to navigate through the network of victim services and programs to determine which agency has the services most appropriate to their needs or to make the necessary contacts or complete the necessary paperwork. Within the spectrum of existing victim services and programs, the government should also provide victims of violent crime with individualized assistance to access appropriate victim services and programs.

The interests of victims of violent crime would also be better served if they could apply to either (or both) financial assistance program by submitting one application form to a single organization such as a newly constituted Financial Assistance Branch within the Ontario Victim Services Secretariat ("the OVSS"). The Ministry of the Attorney General ("the Ministry") should consider renaming the OVSS as the Victim Services Division, which name better reflects its role within the Ministry.

A Financial Assistance Branch could also centrally administer both financial assistance programs. The CICB appears to have often been treated as an orphan of government. By integrating the provision of administrative support to the Board within a single Victim Services Division, several benefits would be realised. These include encouraging the cross-pollination of ideas and resources, and fostering a consistent approach to the delivery of victim services and victim financial assistance.

The police usually play a very important role in the lives of violent crime victims, and are well situated to provide them with information about various victim services and programs, including financial assistance programs. Police should also provide, on a timely basis, information required by either financial assistance program. The government should address both these issues through province-wide protocols that should eventually lead to legislative requirements.

The Ministry should set performance measures for the early financial assistance program and, in conjunction with the Chair of the Board, should do so as well in respect of the Board. These would serve as important tools to identify areas requiring attention before problems spiral to the extent that occurred with respect to the CICB, which led to the Ombudsman's report last spring. The Ministry should also publish an annual report of victim services and programs, including a summary of revenues and expenditures relating to the Victims' Justice Fund. Finally, the Ministry and the Victim Advocate should regularly review the evolving needs of victims of violent crime.

Ontario has been, and continues to be, a leader in providing assistance to victims of crime. Moving away from providing victims of violent crime with direct financial assistance is not consistent with a truly compassionate, fair and responsive approach. Financial assistance is a significant and positive feature of Ontario's victim services and programs and should be continued. Further, as the Ombudsman's report, Adding Insult to Injury, makes clear, the Ministry must provide adequate and consistent funding to ensure the integrity of its financial assistance to victims of violent crime.

RESUME

Les victimes de crimes violents présentent cinq besoins principaux outre les préoccupations concernant la sécurité et le besoin de renseignements et de soutien en ce qui a trait au processus de justice pénale : i) l'aide financière, ii) les services de consultation, iii) la reconnaissance de leur victimisation, iv) la possibilité de raconter ce qui leur est arrivé au cours d'une audience et v) le soutien personnalisé leur permettant de naviguer dans le réseau de programmes et de services d'aide aux victimes.

L'aide financière accordée aux victimes de crimes violents, qui demeure un élément important de l'éventail de programmes et de services d'aide aux victimes en Ontario, ne devrait pas être éliminée. L'importance de l'aide financière accordée aux victimes de crimes violents est depuis longtemps reconnue dans la Déclaration des principes fondamentaux de justice relatifs aux victimes de la criminalité et aux victimes d'abus de pouvoir des Nations Unies. Bien que l'argent ne puisse jamais effacer les conséquences morales ou physiques d'un crime violent, il peut constituer une aide inestimable pour les victimes qui s'en remettent. Le terme « aide financière » devrait remplacer le terme « indemnisation », car il est plus approprié et reflète avec plus de précision l'objectif des programmes d'aide financière aux victimes d'actes criminels.

Les victimes d'actes criminels sont souvent les oubliés du système de justice pénal et ne sont parfois pas traitées avec la considération, le respect et la sensibilité qu'elles méritent. Le gouvernement devrait nommer un intervenant indépendant en faveur des victimes qui relèverait de l'Assemblée législative et qui aurait le mandat de parler au nom des victimes de crimes violents.

Le gouvernement devrait adopter le Programme d'intervention rapide auprès des victimes actuel (qui permet d'accorder de l'aide financière immédiate pour les frais d'urgence et de funérailles et la prestation de services de consultation à court terme) comme modèle servant à instituer par la voie législative un programme administratif permanent d'aide financière aux victimes de crimes violents.

Le gouvernement devrait reconstituer la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels en Commission d'aide financière aux victimes d'actes criminels (« la Commission »), qui examinerait les demandes d'aide financière soumises par les victimes de crimes violents en vertu d'un cadre législatif semblable à celui de la Loi sur l'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels. Les victimes devraient être en mesure de demander une audience si elles préfèrent que la Commission étudie leur demande de cette façon, bien que la décision finale concernant la tenue d'une audience revienne au président de la Commission. Cette dernière devrait pouvoir continuer à accorder des indemnisations pour souffrances et douleurs, qui constituent un geste important de compassion sociale et de reconnaissance de la victimisation. Les victimes devraient se voir accorder le bénéfice du doute si la preuve présentée devant la Commission ne permet pas de trancher. Un contrevenant ou un présumé contrevenant ne devrait pas participer à l'audience de la Commission. En conséquence, il ne devrait y avoir aucun droit de subrogation relativement à l'aide financière accordée aux victimes et la publication de renseignements permettant d'identifier le présumé contrevenant dans des causes n'ayant pas fait l'objet d'une condamnation au criminel devrait être interdite par la loi.

Les victimes de crimes violents trouvent souvent qu'il est accablant de naviguer dans le réseau des programmes et des services d'aide aux victimes afin de déterminer l'organisme qui offre les services qui conviennent le mieux à leurs besoins, d'établir les contacts adéquats ou de remplir la paperasse nécessaire. Dans l'éventail actuel de programmes et de services d'aide aux victimes, le gouvernement devrait également offrir aux victimes de crimes violents une aide personnalisée leur permettant d'accéder aux programmes et aux services appropriés.

Les intérêts des victimes de crimes violents seraient en outre mieux servis si ces dernières pouvaient soumettre une demande en vertu de l'un des deux (ou des deux) programmes d'aide financière en présentant un formulaire de demande à un seul organisme, tel que la Direction de l'aide financière nouvellement constituée au sein du Secrétariat ontarien des services aux victimes (« le SOSV »). Le ministère du Procureur général (« le ministère ») devrait envisager de changer le nom du SOSV pour la Division des services aux victimes, qui reflète mieux le rôle de cet organisme au sein du ministère.

Une Direction de l'aide financière pourrait administrer centralement les deux programmes d'aide financière. Il semble que le gouvernement ait souvent traité la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels comme un orphelin. L'intégration de la prestation de soutien administratif aux tâches de la Commission au sein d'une seule Division des services aux victimes offrirait plusieurs avantages, dont la promotion de la pollinisation croisée des idées et des ressources et celle d'une démarche cohérente en matière de prestation de services et d'aide financière aux victimes.

Les agents de police jouent généralement un rôle très important dans la vie des victimes de crimes violents et sont bien placés pour leur fournir des renseignements sur les divers programmes et services d'aide aux victimes, notamment les programmes d'aide financière. Ils devraient également fournir, en temps opportun, les renseignements nécessaires à la participation à l'un ou l'autre des programmes d'aide financière. Le gouvernement devrait aborder ces deux questions par l'entremise de protocoles s'appliquant à l'échelle de la province, qui devraient à terme mener à l'adoption de dispositions législatives.

Le ministère devrait établir des mesures de rendement pour le programme d'aide financière rapide et en faire autant avec la Commission, en collaboration avec le président de celle-ci. Ces mesures serviraient d'outils importants permettant de déterminer les secteurs requérant une attention particulière avant que l'ampleur des problèmes n'atteigne celle qu'a connue la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels et qui a mené au rapport de l'ombudsman du printemps dernier. Le ministère devrait également publier un rapport annuel des programmes et des services d'aide aux victimes, notamment un résumé des revenus et des dépenses du Fonds de la justice pour les victimes. Enfin, le ministère et l'intervenant en faveur des victimes devraient évaluer régulièrement les besoins des victimes de crimes violents.

L'Ontario a été et continue d'être un chef de file en matière d'aide aux victimes d'actes criminels. L'élimination de l'aide financière directe aux victimes de crimes violents n'est pas cohérente avec une démarche réellement compatissante, juste et sensible. L'aide financière, qui est une caractéristique importante et positive des programmes et des services d'aide aux victimes en Ontario, devrait être maintenue. De plus, comme l'indique clairement le rapport de l'ombudsman, L'art de faire double injure, le ministère doit offrir un financement adéquat et régulier afin d'assurer l'intégrité de l'aide financière qu'il verse aux victimes de crimes violents.