Acknowledgments

In the past few months I have met with and heard from numerous victims of crime and those who provide victims with assistance, information, and services. I have benefited greatly from these meetings and submissions and thank these individuals and organizations for the time and opinions they shared with me. I also benefited greatly from my academic meeting with Zahra Dhanani and Professors Julie Goldscheid, Katherine Lippel, Melanie Randall, Lorne Sossin, Joanne Wemmers and Allan Young. Dean Nathalie Des Rosiers gave generously of her time and knowledge, chairing the public meetings as well as the academic meeting.

Government officials with the OVSS and the CICB promptly provided me with any information and data that was requested throughout my review. The Chairs and board members of the CICB and the OVC freely shared their insights. John Twohig, Neil Khanna, and Graham Boswell, counsel with the Policy Division of the Ministry, developed the review website and provided legal and research support, for which I am greatly appreciative.

The Policy Division of the Ministry, as well as Judy Bew and Sandy Prosa at Gowlings, provided able administrative support.

Jill Arthur, my legal counsel for the review, consulted with victims and others and organized my meetings, analyzed submissions, identified themes and issues for my consideration, and assisted with drafting the report. Lynn Mahoney, my partner at Gowlings, helped ensure that the review and the report remained focused. I am very grateful for their assistance.

While I appreciate all of the assistance and support I received, the views and recommendations expressed in this report are my own.

REMERCIEMENTS

Ces derniers mois, j'ai rencontré et entendu de nombreuses victimes et personnes qui les assistent en leur fournissant de l'aide, des renseignements et des services. J'ai grandement profité de ces rencontres et des mémoires déposés et je remercie ces personnes et ces organismes d'avoir partagé avec moi leur temps et leurs opinions. J'ai grandement profité de ma rencontre avec Mme Zahra Dhanani et les professeurs Julie Goldscheid, Katherine Lippel, Melanie Randall, Lorne Sossin, Joanne Wemmers et Allan Young. La doyenne Nathalie Des Rosiers a généreusement partagé son temps et ses connaissances en présidant les réunions publiques ainsi que la rencontre entre universitaires.

Les représentants du SOSV et de la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels m'ont promptement fourni tous les renseignements et toutes les données qui leur ont été demandés pendant mon examen. Les présidents et les membres de la Commission d'indemnisation des victimes d'actes criminels et de l'OAVAC ont librement partagé leurs réflexions. John Twohig, Neil Khanna et Graham Boswell, avocats à la Division des politiques du ministère, ont préparé le site Web de l'examen et ont fourni du soutien en matière juridique et de recherche, ce pour quoi je leur suis grandement reconnaissant.

La Division des politiques du ministère, ainsi que Judy Bew et Sandy Prosa, de Gowlings, ont fourni une aide administrative précieuse.

Jill Arthur, ma conseillère juridique pendant l'examen, a consulté des victimes et d'autres personnes et a organisé mes rencontres, a étudié les mémoires, a cerné les thèmes et les enjeux à prendre en compte et m'a secondé dans la rédaction du rapport. Lynn Mahoney, mon associée chez Gowlings, s'est assurée que l'examen et le rapport demeuraient bien centrés sur le sujet. Je leur suis très reconnaissant de leur aide.

Bien que je sois reconnaissant de toute l'aide et de tout le soutien que j'ai reçus, les opinions et les recommandations exprimées dans ce rapport sont les miennes.